• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
(e.g. Apr-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet friendly hotel! Doggie treats at check in. We are surrounded by wooded area with sidewalks perfect for walking your dog. All pets accepted. One time non refundable fee of 20.00 usd applied at check in.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cabela's
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Portland Headlight
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
L L Bean
Distance From Hotel:20.0MI
Attraction:
Freeport Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking for our guests. Ask about special park & flay packages available!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of suites:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0136

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia
View More

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia Sports, as well as downtown Portland offices. You'll stay productive whether you are preparing for a seminar in our well-appointed 24-hour business center with free Wi-Fi or conducting a meeting in the 650-sq ft meeting space in our hotel.

Since we're near Portland's Maine Mall, guests can enjoy great shopping just across the street at the largest and busiest mall in the state. We're also only minutes away from Portland's best attractions and activities. Whether you tour the Portland Museum of Art, watch the AHL Portland Pirates play hockey at Cumberland County Civic Center, or visit the Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth on the shores of Fort Williams Park, our hotel's spot in South Portland, Maine is close to it all!

And after a long day of meetings and tours, relax in our heated, indoor pool or recharge at the fitness center. Stay Smart in South Portland, and reserve a room today to enjoy free Wi-Fi and our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar.

View Less
Features
Our hotel's visitors in South Portland, Maine can delight in simple, convenient and complimentary amenities like Wi-Fi, which you will find throughout the hotel, so you can stay connected.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 197 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway from Boston Over the holidays my friends had given me recommendations of fun shops, restaurants, and bars to visit in Portland. In early February, my girlfriend and I were eager to get out of Boston and decided to make a quick trip to Portland to check it out. The Portland-By The Bay Hotel was within walking distance (even on a cold Feb. night) to many of the great restaurants and bars in the Old Port area of Portland. The hotel staff was friendly and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The overall experience was excellent and we would definitely stay here when we have a chance to visit Portland again. February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel with great staff! Enjoyed the privilege of staying at this Holiday Inn. February 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Downtown Hotel was within walking distance of all the downtown locations! Staff members were very friendly and helpful with entertainment suggestions. January 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine place to stay close to everything The staff makes the stay a wonderful time. The lounge can be a bit short handed as the bar tender has to play all parts, not a good idea but had to judge traffic. All in all I always enjoy my stay January 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely view and great extras I love staying at Portland-By The Bay! The room was absolutely luxurious with an incredible view of Casco Bay. We did not dine at the hotel's restaurant but I loved the free beverages in the lobby. It was such a nice touch. I also really appreciate the free parking at the hotel. We parked right near the door to the elevators that took us straight up to our room. I am looking forward to visiting Portland again and will certainly be staying at this hotel when I return. January 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location I had a great stay at this hotel. The views of Portland Harbor are impressive. January 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Water Views If you are lucky enough to get a room on the bayside, you are in for a treat. This Holiday Inn offers terrific water views....probably the best in the Portland Area. This is my third visit to this Holiday Inn and the staff always does their best to make my stay enjoyable. The pool and exercise room are welcome additions to a winter visit. My only concern is that at this time of the year the fact that this is an older property becomes most apparent. The central heating is continuously noisy in the bathroom, and the random heat from individual units doesn't contribute much to a relaxing environment. Certainly I will be back, but just not in the winter. January 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness The room wasn't very clean. There was a dirty plastic cup under the desk and a lot of food debris on heater and table. If this area was not cleaned I have to wonder how cleans the toilet and bed were. January 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We stayed during the New Year holiday, and loved this hotel! We had a great view of the bay with a very comfortable room. This location is walking distance to many restaurants, cafes and clubs, which was great since there was a parking ban downtown due to snow. Fortunately the Holiday Inn has indoor, free parking, so we had no issues parking the car we rented. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. And we opted to have a quick dinner in the lounge, and the food was really good. No complaints! January 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the 12/27/12 snowstorm The Room was clean,the beds were comfortable,the extra towels and pillow i asked for were in the room. the shuttle bus driver was execellent,. the pool area was well kept and clean. worth a repeat stay. the only drawback was they would not accomodate an early checkin that day of the storm. January 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We have always had good experiences at this hotel. Every time we travel through New England, we stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay, The room is clean, comfy, and in close proximity to the waterfront and easy to get to/from I-295. The bar is friendly and nice and the property is well maintained. January 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by okay to book when other nicer hotels are not avialable The hotel is below average. Room: When we entered the room for the first time there was a pile of bedding on the floor. We were not sure the room had been thoroughly cleaned and changed out or not. Called front desk and house keeping supervisor promptly corrected the issue and assured us the room was cleaned. HVAC unit in room stopped on its own. Maintenance showed us how to reset it so we could have heat. Bathroom: Hair, lent and dust behind the bathroom door. Strands of hair in the tub. Drain in tub was slow to drain. Called front desk on drain and it was dealt with quickly. Wad of hair pulled out of the drain. Chatted with housekeeping next day to have the area behind the door cleaned to remove lent, dust and hair. Bar and Restaurant: Bar was staffed with 1 bartender to tend to about 25 people at once in the bar area. Bar crowd was heavy due to restaurant not taking patrons because a 'big party' was booked. It made for a very frustrating evening to find dinner due to other places local to the hotel closed at 9:00 p.m. Other guest: Hotel was hosting a 'home grown' convention. This is the equivalent of a moderate number of marijuana users having issues navigating in the hotel from their rooms, to snacks to the convention area. I see in 1999 Maine legalized marijuana so that explains why the convention was booked. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed & furnishings. This is my 3rd stay here. The location is great & with your free covered parking garage we only have to use the car if we want to travel outside Portland. January 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Water Heater Broke We weren't able to take a shower because the water heater broke. It would have been nice if the hotel had told us prior to us having to call the desk. December 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always the best place to stay in Portland This hotel is always our first choice when visiting Portland Maine. The location is perfect for walking to any shops and bars. We love the comfort of the rooms and that they include a fridge and microwave. Loved the Bath and Body works amenties in the bathroom. I do wish they had a hot tub after a long day of walking,but the pool is also very nice. December 14, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service As a platinium member my profile indicates a no-smoking room. This was not the case when checked in. They offered to ozone room and a free breakfast. The room smelled of smoke and the front end people were rude and I felt like they just did not care. December 10, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by getting around shuttle was great to get picked up & dropped off!!! December 8, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Customer Service Let me start by saying that the room was very comfortable and clean. The issue that I had was with the customer service. I booked the hotel online through the hotel company's Priority Club without using any points on the purchase. When I checked out I asked for a receipt but I was told since I booked online they were unable to give me a receipt and it should come to me via email. The receipt did not arrive via email. I called the front desk a few days later and they still refused to give me a receipt saying that I had a contact Priority Club. I called Priority Club and they told me that the hotel needs to give me the receipt. Only after asking to speak to a manager did the Priority Club employee call the hotel and explained my situation. Even though they called the hotel to help me work things out, I was then forced to call back the hotel. The person that I spoke with at the hotel was rude, cut me off while I was speaking, and claimed that the reason they did not give me a receipt is because I told them I used my Priority Club points (which I did not say). Finally, they emailed me a receipt. Isn't being part of a Priority Club supposed to make you a priority. Not in this hotel apparently. Don't stay here, they care little about simple requests from their guests. November 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Our favorite hotel in Portland We stay at the Bayside Holiday Inn when we travel to Portland, at least twice per year. It is in a perfect location for exploring and enjoying all this great city has to offer. The view from the bay side rooms is spectacular! Though, the housekeeping staff could do a better job on keeping those windows clean. With that view, they should be sparkling! Staff are always friendly and helpful, the restaurant is good, typical fare and prices for the chain.. I must mention the lobster bisque... The waiter was correct when he proclaimed it the best! November 24, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and value, one glitch Like other Holiday Inns we've stayed at, the reception staff, housekeeping quality and overall comfort level were very good. The enclosed on-site parking garage in this downtown location was a bonus. The location, next door to the art museum, and a moderate walk to the Old Port district, was just right for our two-night midweek sightseeing stay. The dining experience was less satisfactory. We were in no particular rush, but it was more than an hour before our meals -- salads!! -- arrived. There were perhaps a dozen diners in the restaurant, hardly an overwhelming crowd. Maybe the chef was having a bad night. Our breakfasts the next morning was served promptly and well-prepared. November 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Atmosphere, great service and amenities My husband and I live about 2 1/2 hours away and we needed to just getaway for a nice weekend so we decided to use my points and stay in Portland, ME. I have to say our stay was great and the staff from the front desk, courtesy shuttle drivers, restaurant, bar and housekeeping were just fantastic. Our room very clean and comfortable, we had a beautiful ocean view from the 9th floor, we were pleasantly surprised to have a refrigerator in our room. The bartenders were fantastic, we could watch our favorite football team win The Patriots and had great service and excellent conversations. All of the staffs recommendations on places to eat and drink were great we went to many of them. The shuttle van is an absolutely amazing service, don't ever give it up. To be able to park at the hotel and go out for the day and not have to worry about drinking and driving and parking meters is a great amenity you offer. We also used your pool, it was very clean and the temperature of the water was great. What I also thought was such a great amenity was the fact that you have a handicap chair for people who can't use the stairs to get in the pool. You do not see that often at all and I wanted to point that out. November 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by West Side Story concert at Merrill Auditorium The staff was so kind and helpful. I brought three teenagers and the staff went out of their way to welcome them and our service dog. We were greeted with a gift bag, provided with quick shuttle service to Merrill Auditorium and were offered bottle water for the trip home. We always stay at the Holiday Inn when we see a performance at Merrill Auditorium and will continue to do so! November 16, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty wash cloth, bar of soap and a cloud of pot! The title likely sums it up- but here goes! We were on a smoking floor, guest services ionized our room for us and it would have been fine had there not been literally a cloud of pot smoke rolling down the hall both nights. (The second night we returned to our room early and requested another room). The dirty washcloth hanging over the shower curtain was gross- 2 phone calls later it was removed BUT shouldn't have been there to begin with. Second night room #2- bar of soap in shower-- Not from my party. Why bother complaining, used a piece of toilet paper and threw it out-- what is the cleaning process here folks??? Used to love visiting this hotel on trips to Portland but sadly won't be returning any time soon. The sign says we'll make it right or you won't pay for that part of your stay-- I didn't want to pay for any of it by the end of the weekend. VERY DISAPPOINTED November 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great accomodations and AWESOME shuttle service We were in town for a 50th party taking place about 1 1/2 miles from the hotel. We had a room with water view and it was gorgeous. The accomodations were great, very clean and comfortable. The best part for us though was the free shuttle service. There was probably about 20 of us in total staying at the hotel and the hotel was booked with (2) conventions also. However you would have thought we were the only guests. The shuttle drivers brought us to the party Saturday evening, from the party to a local club to hear music and dance, from the club back to the hotel. All we did was call the hotel from whereever we were and they came to get us. We had one or two different drivers throughout the night and they were courteuos and patient to a somewhat loud and rowdy group of middle-agers! To know we could leave our car at the hotel and travel about Portland without having to call a cab or use public transportation will make us come to Portland again, and again and recommend the hotel to others. Thanks for a great weekend! November 16, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of For the price we paid we should of gotten a continental breakfast vs. the choice to go to there restaurant for food we pay for. None of the soda machines had soda in them and we couldn't find any kind of snack machine. We spent two days there, would I return - unlikely. November 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Three-Night Stay I recently spent three nights here, starting on Halloween. I had originally planned to arrive on Oct 30th but my flight was cancelled, due to the lingering effects of "Superstorm Sandy". A quick call to the hotel's reservations desk and I was able to change my arrival date by one day, without hassle. I chose this hotel because of its location, around the corner from the Museum of Art - which was my main reason for visiting Portland in the first place - and because of its relatively attractive room rates. Upon checking in, I received a welcome bag of goodies, as I am a Holiday Inn Priority Club member. This was a nice touch. The room itself was clean and comfortable - large flat-screen tv, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. The bed was comfy and the window in the room afforded me an interesting view of part of the waterfront. My floor was very quiet, although that might be due to there being fewer travellers as a result of "Sandy". A minor quibble: the bedside clock-radio had a confusing alarm system so I relied on the front desk for a morning wake-up call instead. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of the historic district, downtown offices, the Civic Center and all of the restaurants along Congress Street. Hotel restaurant whipped up a decent breakfast; I did not have dinner there, so can't. comment on the quality of the dinner menu. Front-desk staff were efficient and courteous and helped arrange a lift for me to the airport, by way of the hotel shuttle van. Would stay there again. November 12, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 nice hotel in a nice location easy walking to main downtown area shops and restaurants. shuttle service to/from airport and train. i was very happy with my stay here, and the bed was amazing! it was hard to get out in the morning. this was the first time i've stayed in a holiday inn since i was a kid; i usually prefer non-chains just to enjoy the individuality of local hotels, but i figured for one night why not, and save a little money. but it was a great choice, and make me more likely to consider them in the future November 9, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Views Had a room with a beautiful view of the bay. Staff was he helpful. November 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and well appointed I was here on business but the stay was also relaxing. I enjoyed the late swim and the fitness room. The conference rooms where set up efficiently and quickly for our functions. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. November 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Pleased This hotel is in a great location and is in walking distance to everything. The room was clean and updated and the beds are comfortable. The price was very reasonable compared to the comps. There is a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and a gift/snack shop next to the lobby. Parking is free but the garage is only 2 levels and fills up fast. Overall we enjoyed our stay and were satisfied with the hotel and the service. November 3, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.