• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet friendly hotel! Doggie treats at check in. We are surrounded by wooded area with sidewalks perfect for walking your dog. All pets accepted. One time non refundable fee of 20.00 usd applied at check in.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sable Oaks Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Maine Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Cabela's
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Shopping and Dining
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking for our guests. Ask about special park & flay packages available!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of suites:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0136

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia
View More

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia Sports, as well as downtown Portland offices. You'll stay productive whether you are preparing for a seminar in our well-appointed 24-hour business center with free Wi-Fi or conducting a meeting in the 650-sq ft meeting space in our hotel.

Since we're near Portland's Maine Mall, guests can enjoy great shopping just across the street at the largest and busiest mall in the state. We're also only minutes away from Portland's best attractions and activities. Whether you tour the Portland Museum of Art, watch the AHL Portland Pirates play hockey at Cumberland County Civic Center, or visit the Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth on the shores of Fort Williams Park, our hotel's spot in South Portland, Maine is close to it all!

And after a long day of meetings and tours, relax in our heated, indoor pool or recharge at the fitness center. Stay Smart in South Portland, and reserve a room today to enjoy free Wi-Fi and our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar.

View Less
Features
Our hotel's visitors in South Portland, Maine can delight in simple, convenient and complimentary amenities like Wi-Fi, which you will find throughout the hotel, so you can stay connected.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 350 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Stayed for a conference. Great location and helpful staff! November 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This place stinks (literally). I guess it's possible to gave a good stay here, in that maybe my experience is an isolated one. However, here's what happened to me: I checked into this hotel, got up to my room, and found that the room absolutely REEKED like red onions. A very distinct and pungent odor, and it slapped me in the face when I entered the room. I called the front desk immediately, the sent up someone who sprayed air freshener in the heater to cover the smell. I guess it worked for a little while, although it wasn't much of an improvement. Normally, I would've asked to be moved to a different room, but I overheard a hotel employee at the front desk tell someone that the hotel was completely booked out, so I knew that would not be a possibility. I left the room for several hours for dinner. When I came back, the smell was worse than ever, as if it had actually gotten worse while I was out. It was late, and I was very tired, and frankly I was too beat to complain about it (again) to the skeleton night crew. Well, I wish I would've been more tenacious, because the smell became overwhelming in about an hour or so, and I basically got no sleep at all that night because of the incredibly pungent and noxious smell in the room. There was no escaping it. At one point, I actually considered going down to my car in the garage and sleeping there- that's how desperate I was to get a few hours of sleep. When I was ready to check out, I called the front desk to tell them about this, so that at the very least someone else would not have to deal with that stench. They said they were sorry, but that was it- they didn't send anyone up to check it out, or offer anything beyond that. I went down to the front desk to check out, and again told them about the awful smell in the room. The front desk employee apologized, and took $25 off of my bill. Thanks, I guess. While I appreciated the sentiment, I left like the hotel didn't go very far to deal with this problem, at all. I guess I should've complained more and been more of a jerk about it, but frankly I was so tired from the sleepless night I didn't have it in me to make more of stink (pun intended). Also, how many times am I supposed to call with an issue like this? The room was unsuitable, it shouldn't have even been allowed to be rented. This wasn't a cheap room, so knocking $25 off of the bill doesn't really go very far, and I don't feel like they cared whether or not I was satisfied, and they just wanted get me out of the door. Based on this experience, I would never stay at this hotel again. If you plan on staying here, I hope you don't get room 914, or that you really like the smell of red onions. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great experience. My stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland was great overall. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The dining areas offered great atmosphere with delicious food. The shuttle service was on point and transported my colleagues and I safely. It definitely is the place to stay for a vacation atmosphere without too much cost involved. Although I had an overall great experience, there are a few things I'd like to note that may be irritating for potential customers. Listed below are 2 major items that people should be aware of. First, the internet is very slow. No matter where I was in the building, it was not working efficiently. Although it is understandable that with such a large capacity hotel, there is a lot of room for improvement. I also had a room with an ethernet router I can plug into that did not work. Second, the parking deck was very tight, very limited, and costly. I'm not sure how many potential customers would enjoy getting charged daily for a parking deck they can't even park in because attendees to events and conferences take up all the parking spaces. Also, the spots are very tight, which holds a high risk of cars being scratched. To conclude, other than the 2 major items that made my experience somewhat uncomfortable, everything else was great. I definitely enjoyed the people and the staff. Very friendly and very professional. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Excellent place to stay. Great location, perfect hotel, excellent customer service and nice bedding. November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great venue Nice ammenites , good food and responsive staff make for a great time. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, comfortable surroundings, great location We were greeted immediately upon arrival. The desk agent was extremely friendly, informative and professional. Our room was spotless. Impressive 40 inch television, great bedding and sitting area. We visited the bar soon after. Our bartender was super friendly. Gave us tips about the area and chatted sports with us at length, which we love! We actually made it a point our second day to visit him again. That is impressive in a city full of restaurants and bars. All in all it was a fabulous stay. We had a little hiccup at checkout, but it doesn't change our opinion on this hotel. We never ate at the restaurant, but the food we saw looked appetizing. They also offer free apps on the weekend afternoons. It was an easy walk to the downtown, also. I would suggest this hotel to friends and family. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Complimentary Water I enjoyed having complimentary coffee & tea in the front lobby but I would also like ice tap water. Thank you for the complimentary coffee & tea setup. I appreciate the small things. November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service The plug ins for electronics did not work, so I called front desk. After that, I had to endure 3 visits of the service personnel, who checked and rechecked all devices, replaced clock and lamp. However, the plug ins still did not work. It turned out the phone worked poorly too. Next day my room entry card stopped working. They replaced the card, but nobody cared to apologize for these problems. There was very large and noisy company in the next room, which came there at about mid night. The stay was miserable. Next time, I will stay in some motel: it will be not worse, and cheaper. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitable and clean The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly. There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable, with all the amenities we could have needed. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean hotel - great experience I requested a room with a view upon booking as we were celebrating my wife's birthday in Portland and I was really happy that they accommodated my request. The hotel lobby and was clean and checkin was fast. Parking was very convenient as well - we could come and go as we pleased and it was competitively priced to surrounding garages. I particularly liked it was self park and enclosed. Our only gripe was the sheets weren't as soft as we would have liked. We had housekeeping change the sheets and found they were still a bit too rough. I find it funny I am writing this as the negative for the hotel - I never thought I'd be picky about the sheets as I'm not that type of person. Otherwise we had a great stay and recommend the hotel. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome bag I was very appreciative of the welcome bag I received on check-in that contained snacks, a bottle of water, magazines, and coupons for free drinks. That was a very nice touch! I wish that the rooms with 2 beds had queen beds in them instead of doubles. That would have definitely made the stay more comfortable, though I was pleased with the hotel overall. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by October in Maine Very nice rooms with a great view of the Portland Harbor. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and impeccable cleanliness Everyone on the staff greted us with a smile and offered to help us, including shuttle drivers, front desk, housekeepers. The rooms, inlcuding meeting rooms and public restrooms were impeccably clean. The shuttle even took us to a good seafood restaurant. My only negative was that the food in the restaurant was boring and limited for people on healthy diets. The service in the lounge was poor - it seemed like the bartender had more than she could handle alone. October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shame about the restaurant What would have been an otherwise enjoyable stay was marred by our experience at the hotel restaurant. Service for the one dinner we had took was brusque and not the standard normally experienced at IHG properties. At breakfast the first morning we were seated and given the a la carte menu; no mention of the buffet option was made. Our waiter did inform us that this was available, so we asked for this the next day. The hostess said that the buffet was being 'taken down' and recommended a la carte. This was at 08.10 which seems very early. We took the buffet and as we were returning to our table the hostess commented: 'I told you the buffet was being taken down'. That certainly sounded like I'd been told-off for ignoring her recommendation. The room was fine, reception and room attendant staff were helpful and courteous. The hotel is in a good location with splendid views over the harbour. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was perfect Enjoyed a pleasant stay at this hotel. Everything was excellent. Highly recommended. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, Centrally located Really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were large and had a nice view of the bay. The shuttle service was a nice bonus. We used it almost daily to get to restaurants and sight seeing. Our only complaint was housekeeping. We asked for sheets to be changed and they were not, the 3rd day we asked again - they were not. We called and complained and finally got them changed. The floors were never swept or vacuumed our entire stay. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Respite from Nerves for Maine Half Marathon This property is exactly what I needed after a long drive North the day before the Maine Half Marathon. The staff were super nice, parking was easy (on site garage), wifi worked great, and was in walking distance of some great places to eat - convenient for my post race brunch. The room was clean and comfortable and QUIET. I was pleased to learn the morning of the race that there was a free shuttle from the hotel to the race. A relative of mine decided to stay at a much higher priced/ high-end hotel, which I will refrain from naming. The morning of the race I jumped on Twitter to read the hashtags for #mainemarathon to get psyched. I saw LOADS of complaints about that hotel and how 'runner' or guest UNFRIENDLY they were. My brother didnt get any sleep due to how loud it was among a host of other complaints. In any case, this isnt a review about that hotel...I digress. In the end I am pleased I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn and I plan to stay here again for race weekend 2014 and will suggest it for my annual girls weekend to Maine. THANKS October 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor food Food selection was poor. Buffet overpriced and poor selection. Needed more help in bar. Busy for conference (which they knew) and only one bartender. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay For a Holiday Inn this hotel was great. Great view, modern style furnishing. Housekeeping did a wonderful job. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely view and excellent service Portland's Holiday Inn by the Bay is the most expensive Holiday Inn I've ever stayed at, but it was also far and away the best. Service, from Shuttle pickup at the airport to front desk and restaurant was really first class. We were on the 10th floor (with an extra cost) and the view was lovely, even if it included a parking lot and was somewhat spoiled on Saturday morning by fog. Location was good; just across the street from the Portland Art Museum, not far from the Longfellow House, and catty-corner from a little Taproom where we had an excellent lunch. I'd stay there again. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Had a nice and comfortable stay here. good location near the centre. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Parking I have stayed at this properety twice this month. First time parking was free, second time $10.00 Not a big deal, but why? I would have thought that parking would be free for IHG members. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Surprises Very helpful staff. Shuttle service to airport and/or in town very nice. Great view from Harbor side rooms. September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Your hotel offered a more reasonable rate than other hotels in the area during our 3 day outing in Portland. We were very impressed with your Hotel Shuttle service. We used it four times during our stay. We met two drivers---- each one was courteous, friendly, professional, and PROMPT! They truly were outstanding representatives of your hotel. Thank you for providing such a service! September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and good AC temp. Overall pleasant stay. Enjoyed lemonade and coffee in lobby and restaurant breakfast was excellent. Beds were super comfy with lots of pillows.Need a bit of decorating upgrade in rooms and hallways, but pleasant entrance lobby, and comfy seating area. Only comment was tub didn't drain, and bath fan didn't work , but great water pressure and nice hot water. An outdoor garden area would be nice for sitting, but we enjoyed the walk downtown to the water view. September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent view We were at the hotel for 6 nights for a convention. Check in was quick and easy, even though our room was not ready upon arrival at 3 pm. We did receive the type of room we requested and were very pleased with the location in the hotel and the stunning view. The staff was very courteous and offered help even before being asked. The restaurant however was not prepared for the number of guests wanting to eat there. There were frequently long lines and a long wait time once you were seated. Some of the meals were just fair. Nothing to write home about. I heard many complaints about this during the convention. In fact we never ate at the hotel except for the luncheon and banquets due to the wait for a seat. We also had long waits in the bar for a drink. Even when there was bar service available at cocktail hour before the banquets. PLEASE have more than one bartender on duty!!! Overall I was pleased with our stay and enjoyed being within walking distance of the Old Port. We enjoyed the food, shopping and nightlife in Portland and hope we can visit again. September 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Servie!!! My Mother and I recently stayed at this hotel for a Convention of approximately 500 people. The staff were great and provided shuttle service wherever we wanted to go and picked us up within ten minutes of calling them. The hotel is conveniently located and has great views of the Bay. All meals were served promptly and even though this was a large convention, we received the meals while they were still hot. I've stayed at a lot of hotels, but this one will definitely be on my favorite list!!! September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service & Value with a View Loved the free shuttle from the small clean Portland ME airport. So enjoyed talking to Mike the driver. Fun Bawstan accent. ;-) Had requested a high floor room with a Casco Bay view (DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED - but away from the elevators. That's where the staff are, and can hear the door slam, at times often). Got there in the AM, room wasn't ready understandably, but offered a lower-floor room that was ready. I was ok with waiting, (and it was worth it). Staff were so friendly and professional. Joined their IHG Reward Club prior (free) and recommend it! Goodie bag waiting w/free drink coupons & snacks. Also gives you late check-out (2pm) usually no problem. Room was beautiful - clean, spacious, INCREDIBLE Casco Bay view. Free WiFI always a HUGE plus. Gym was very small, but clean. Indoor pool huge - clean and a great place to hang out esp when it gets cold. Bartender at lounge for (free) drink was so nice and informative of the happenings of the city. Free juice/lemonade & coffee in the lobby a plus. A wonderful stay, everything one could want, especially for the price point. And Portland is spectacular. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and very clean room I enjoyed my stay at Portland by the Bay very much. Your staff is very knowledgeable and courteous. As a matter of fact, I left a very important tri-fold poster in my room (415), called the hotel and the housekeeping staff found it, called me back and I expect to receive it by Friday. Of course, it's too large to mail and I agreed to pay the Fed Ex postage. Your housekeeping staff deserves a gold star. Again, tell them I said "Thanks" Bridie September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Service The staff were so attentive to the needs of our organization. How special we felt when able to call for pick-up from the shuttle. September 10, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading