• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet friendly hotel! Doggie treats at check in. We are surrounded by wooded area with sidewalks perfect for walking your dog. All pets accepted. One time non refundable fee of 20.00 usd applied at check in.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sable Oaks Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Maine Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Cabela's
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Shopping and Dining
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking for our guests. Ask about special park & flay packages available!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of suites:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0136

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia
View More

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia Sports, as well as downtown Portland offices. You'll stay productive whether you are preparing for a seminar in our well-appointed 24-hour business center with free Wi-Fi or conducting a meeting in the 650-sq ft meeting space in our hotel.

Since we're near Portland's Maine Mall, guests can enjoy great shopping just across the street at the largest and busiest mall in the state. We're also only minutes away from Portland's best attractions and activities. Whether you tour the Portland Museum of Art, watch the AHL Portland Pirates play hockey at Cumberland County Civic Center, or visit the Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth on the shores of Fort Williams Park, our hotel's spot in South Portland, Maine is close to it all!

And after a long day of meetings and tours, relax in our heated, indoor pool or recharge at the fitness center. Stay Smart in South Portland, and reserve a room today to enjoy free Wi-Fi and our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar.

View Less
Features
Our hotel's visitors in South Portland, Maine can delight in simple, convenient and complimentary amenities like Wi-Fi, which you will find throughout the hotel, so you can stay connected.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 340 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Attendant was obnoxious Our stay at this hotel overall was very good. First let me point out what was Excellent: the room, housekeeping staff, and the overall cleanliness of the hotel (and my son had a blast in the pool too). The food in the restaurant was fine, nothing exceptional. I appreciated the server attending to my special order due to food allergies, although he was a tad condescending and did admit to wearing someone elses name tag that day when I called him by name. However, what puzzled me is why he gave us 2 bills for our breakfast. One was inclusive of the price of my 8 year-old son's meal (kids eat free), and one with his meal taken off the bill. Huh? Well my husband almost fell for it and nearly paid the more expensive bill. Having said all that, my initial impression at this hotel was destroyed by a front desk attendant #I think her name was "Amanda". I stood in a line of, well only me, for about 10 minutes watching another couple signing in and being given the most exceptional help, directions, and friendly customer service I rarely see. I noticed 2 other staff ("Amanda" and another male) typing away at their computers and refusing to even look up and acknowledge me. Normally I would have spoken up, but I was actually hoping to get the same girl helping the other couple. At any rate, I finally got a "are you with them?", and when I said no then I received a "oh, I couldda helped you". Right. From there I got the coldest, most unfriendly service as I was handed my room keys and (whippee) a half off coupon for a drink in the lounge. Nothing else. No directions to my room. No directions as to where we could unload our car, no directions to anything in the hotel. "I guess so" was the reply when I asked if I could use a dolley to bring our stuff to the room. Really?? I guess it was up to us to figure how to get around the hotel. I'll stop there. On a better note, that evening there were different staff at the front desk, and a young gentleman did produce a map of Portland and did a great job of recommending some eats for us as we were headed to dinner. I would stay here again, but hopefully somebody gets some customer service training in the meantime. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Perfect place to stay in Portland We were vacationing in New England for 16 days in August, 2013, and spent the first 2 days and last day of our trip at this Holiday Inn. We couldn't have been more pleased. In fact, the last night, they upgraded us to a deluxe king room. If you have the chance, be sure to get a bay side room that overlooks Casco Bay. Everyone on the staff was super accommodating. We scheduled a shuttle to return us to the Portland Jetport. The shuttle was unavailable so they gave us cash to cover a taxi that they called for us. This hotel is within easy 10-minute walking distance to Old Port and the harbor. Best place we stayed at during out entire trip. Thanks to the people who work there. August 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Holiday Inn Nice Holiday Inn with excellent location. Near all to do and see. Rooms were clean but could use an update. Did find a dark hair on pillow case. We have very light hair. Sometimes our room had a vague damp scent. We had a bay view which was wonderful. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast that was off the menu was very good. Would not get the buffet. The napkins over the hot food were a turn off. I was not recognized as a IHG Club member on arrival. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location and great service I have stayed here maybe 10 times in the last 10 years, and the hotel consistently exceeds expectations. Room servcie orders were pricey (as are most), but the portions more than compensated for the price. My only complaint is with the in-room coffee. We never received refills, cups, or sweeteners for our second night's stay. I asked for additional supplies at the front desk, a note was made, and we still never received the supplies after several hours. I then phoned down to the front desk after which we received additional coffee supplies. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Check in and check out service was very easy, Staff was attentive, answered all my questions, and accommodated a special request flawlessly. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great All around Totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was terrific!! Had breakfast every morning at the hotel it was very good. The waiter and the hostess were excellent. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Enjoyed!!!! Thanks August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and comfortable Walking distance to everything yet quiet and comfortable. Restaurant was excellent as well. August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An Affordable Choice for Families that Offers Cleanliness & Great Views We have stayed here a few times visiting family in Portland. The rooms are clean and the views of the harbor are stunning. There are no particular luxuries, but the location and views (if you get one and ask) make this a better choice than other family-priced hotels. On the down side, the full beds seem smaller than a regular full and now that my children are teenagers, they were hard to share. The bedding itself felt very institutional, like a hospital's, just not homy. I was also told the fee was all-inclusive, yet I was hit with a $10.00 parking fee for each night and a tax. If you don't care about the views and location, you might find a better price in South Portland, a place that offers complimentary breakfast and free parking. Really, the beds' size was the biggest problem. Also, the Wifi was really, really slow. August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great reservation coordinator, got the room I wanted on the bay side. Clean room, support help was appreciated, and friendly staff made my stay enjoyable! August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great I had a nice room, very clean, very quiet, for a very good price! August 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed I asked for a king bed and got two very small full beds. Too small for two people to sleep in the same bed. The hotel was too over priced for the condition and comfort of the room. I would rather pay more money to have something more comfortable. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and calm Nice place to stay. Good location for walking around Portland. Staff is very helpful, friendly, and kind August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bed was comfortable, nice pillows, had what you needed to relax I enjoyed my stay and the location was great, close enough to the wharf and other shopping areas. Easy to get around. The room for the most part was clean except for the mildew in the shower, I expected better. Airconditioning was louder than I would have appreciated. I had ordered the room under my name for multiple days and had another couple staying with me. I was surprised to learn that the hotel tried to charge the couple staying with me one day of room charges. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by parking Staying here for a few years now. Excellent customer service. Great asccomidations. Reserved room 5 months in advance was told at checkin they now charged a $10.00 parking fee and had to park on the lot next door with no connection to hotel. Hotel parking lot said full-it wasn't. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great stay! Whenever I travel to Portland, I always stay here. It's in the heart of downtown and you can walk everywhere in the downtown core. The rooms are great and the bed is super comfortable! August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convention Delight I attended the Delta Kappa Gamma Society Northeast Regional convention for four days in July at this hotel. The meeting rooms were pleasant and the main meeting area in the ballroom was excellent. Large screens made it easy to see the speakers no matter where one was seated. The food was superb and the wait staff was very accommodating throughout the conference. Our room overlooked the city, but the ones across the hall had a fabulous view of the bay. There was a restaurant inside the hotel and a nearby restaurant (less than a block away) with excellent food and drinks. The art museum lies directly across the street and there are many things to see and do in Portland. The hotel staff directed us to Exchange Street for shopping and to some local shops such as a cupcake store and an amazing candy store that had chocolate covered blueberries! The entire hotel was neat and clean and everyone went the extra mile to be sure we all had a great experience. I will return! August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Special Rates for Maine Med Patients and Families Thank you to the Holiday Inn by the Bay for the special rate available to patients being admitted to Maine Medical Center in Portland and their families. Because of the reduced rate, my husband and I, along with my mother, were able to stay comfortably at the Inn for the night before her surgery, then for two more nights while she was recovering at the hospital. This is a valuable service, and helped us during a most stressful time. We really appreciate this special consideration. Thank you. August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Normal room but bloked TV Movie selections on the Holiday Inn TVs for my kids was: 1 movie. I tried connecting my computer with an HDMI cable and also tried playing directly from my USB on the TV (I have the same model at home and it works great). Holiday Inn TVs are modified to block connections to any external source. Why? So you only have their poor selection of movies to watch at their rates. Seriously at the price of their room, this seems awfully cheap on their part. Trying to gouge every penny from your customers is not a great long-term strategy. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Discounted stay for local hospital visits We stayed at the HI by the Bay in order to monitor a parent who was having surgery at MaineMed. The HI provided a heavily discounted rate, which we greatly appreciated. Our stay started with two rooms, one being a handicap accessible (roll-in shower) unit. (Unfortunately, it had one bed, so my wife used a cot, which are never very comfortable.) The location for anything in Portland is great, with lots of nearby restaurants and walking distance to the Old Port and Waterfront sections. And only 0.8 miles from MaineMed. We never tried the pool, gym, or TV, so can't comment there. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice view from the 10th floor of the sunset and a bonus was the free apps in the lounge at the hotel My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn the last week in July 2013. Nice room, comfortable bed, free WIFI. The gym was small, no free weights, they do have a sauna but need a jacuzzi instead. Nice Keurigs in each room was also a bonus for us along with the free apps in the lounge and bonus drinks for IHG members. The sunsets were spectacular from our basic room ont the 10th floor facing the citiy. Not on the water but a 10 minute walk to commercial street so we felt it was a good value. The parking was $10/day but the spaces were extrremely tight so don't bring your big SUV. August 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by a very average hotel a fairly long walk to downtown ask for a bay view room. we asked them if the two vans parked outside would take us anywhere and the front desk said no, we don't shutttle. I thing we heard later that that' what the vans are for. We won't stay here next time August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not by the Bay. In my opinion, the name Holiday Inn by the Bay is deceiving. The walk to the bay was 0.9 miles down and then back up. The flooring in Room 706 was shabby; the air conditioner loud. The maid service was attentive to details; as was the front desk. The shuttle drivers helpful and informative. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This property was comfortable,and relaxing. The proximity to the waterfront and downtown section was perfect for both areas. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The shuttle service was unbelievably convenient! The workout room was a little too small for the size of the property and the increased population of people who work out. Overall a wonderful week was had at the HIBy the Bay. August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service The week of July 22-28 I was attending the NE Regional of Delta Kappa Gamma. This was a most pleasant experience. All employees were most accommodating and friendly. The dining room hostess was always very pleasant and eager to please. All wait staff was also extremely accommodating. I loved the Port of Call Lounge. It was so relaxing to just go in and enjoy the atmosphere and quiet. I was so surprised at this quality of the Holiday Inn. Thank you for making my experience in Portland so pleasant. Also the shuttle service is a grew service for your guest. I will reccomend this hotel to any one who is going to Port;and Mane. Thank you for making my trip to Maine so pleasant August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service The staff was very friendly. I was there during a conference when so many guests can be quite needy. All of the staff were great. The restaurant even stayed open a bit longer to accommodate all of us. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location Nice hotel in a quiet, centrally located area. Short walk to the water and great restaurants and shops. We loved our stay in Maine! July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You will love it!! July 20, 2013. We arrive at the Portland, Maine airport. Went straight to baggage claim to call for our free shuttle. (Nice) Arrive at the hotel checked in promptly. Got the room and it was facing the water nice view from being higher floor (sixth). for one night. Then my other reservation was for the remaining four nights was a great room. Two reservations because I already booked it from sat – wed. but I wanted to start my vacation in Portland on Friday.  So they told me to leave our bags and they will take care of the move. The room was great. We had coffee every morning in the room and half and half was available all day right by the lemonade and coffee station by the front desk. They think of everything. I could not remember everyone name because everyone was so nice. I have never had everything completely done for me and it was from the front desk to the lady who cleaned our room. She kept me fully stocked with coffee and cream. We are the kind who also does not need our room cleaned either every day. I got fresh towels and coffee and I was a happy lady. We had coupons for a free drink one night and I ate four bowls of popcorn while we sat there. It was so much fun and relaxing. The hotel was clean, my room was clean and floor and the bed were clean. The air condition was great, since we are from the south, the heat is bad. So I wasn’t ready to come home. I enjoyed everything about the hotel and Portland. I remember reading a lot of post about the hotel being on a hill. The Holiday Inn on the Bay is not on a hill it is a slight incline, which was great for me because I needed a nice walk every night after eating all my delicious meals at all the restaurants in town. Like a Hotel on Mason street in San Francisco in on a hill, because every night my husband had to push my back to get me up that hill a few years ago. This is a nice ten minute walk up from the main drag Commercial Street where all the restaurants are in the middle maybe 15 minutes if you were all the way down by at the end. Most of the time we walked fast and it was great. We felt safe everywhere. You would not get this great service and hospitality anywhere else but at the Holiday Inn. It was near restaurants and neighborhoods too. Wonderful and quaint. We found some great diners every morning like Marcy’s a block away. On Oak street small but we like to sit at the bar. Very good prices. Becky’s on Commercial street, take High Street to the water and you are there. All the other things we ate were places were good for chowder, lobster and lobster roll. First night we went to Gilbert’s great chowder. We just wanted soup that night. It was great. The second day went on a beer tour and a great big pretzel to go along with the great beers we tried on the Maine beer tour. We had a ball. That night we took some advice and tried J’s Oyster bar, another great find. I come from the gulf seafood, so I love fresh salty oysters and the blue point oysters were delicious. The chowder and the lobster stew were great I kept trying to eat my husband’s stew. Both were great. I thought, but all were great I thought by the time I left Portland. They had a great Italian restaurant too called Paciarino, one block down going towards town. We each got the lasagna and ate it all. We came for beer and lobster and all the other great foods we tried. If you go to Eventide, they do not have crackers, so you have to order fresh potato chips to put your oyster on with tabasco sauce. Duck Fat restaurant was great you have to get the fries. I got the ham Panini great, hubby got some tongue Panini. He said it was delicious. Down here cow’s tongue is a delicasee. If you can rent a car from Enterprise on Marginal Street we walked to from the hotel walk from the main street High street left went you walk out of the hotel. Drive to Kennebunkport for the sights, then drive back and go to Cape Elizabeth to Lobster shack at two lights it was a wonderful view and people brought their own table cloth and wine. They do not serve liquor. I got one lobster for 18.99 and the second one was 9.99, so I got two. My hubby had a lobster roll everywhere. Everybody was taking pictures from the rocks at Cape Elizabeth. They were by far the best lobster. Because it was pure lobster meat with one little dollop of mayo which he took off and a slice of pickle that was it. The Portlan Lobster shack was second. Nothing was hidden on there lobster roll either. I went shopping too, love it. K.Collette. I wish was my house. Motifs lots of neat home accessories I shipped everything home. I have to get back to my hotel subject. It was superb. The hotel topped it all off my whole trip... This trip was too good to be true. I thank you for having such a great group of people working here. I really appreciated it. Thank you thank you thank you!!! July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Stay! We were only in Portland for a night. We had never been to Portland before, and we were thrilled with the recommendation from the front desk for a great place for dinner. We stayed on the 11th floor, and had a beautiful view of the water - it was just perfect! The bed was really comfortable, and the little touches at check-in and within the room were appreciated. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Downtown Portland, ME Hotel We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Downtown Portland, ME and it was a great time. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk to the waterfront and all the restaurants, shops and bars. Plenty of parking on site. The king bedroom was definitely big enough for my wife and I. We never ate at the hotel other than one breakfast and that was on par with other places we've stayed at. The nightly rate was a good deal. We could have paid more to stay right in the waterfront area, but we saved roughly $75 per night at the Holiday Inn and with it being so close to everything we never used our car and just walked everywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are going to downtown Portland, ME. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - helpful desk staff In the three days we spent in this hotel, we never had to move the car. Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The view of the harbor (after we cleaned the window) was beautiful, especially at night. July 26, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading