• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: HARTFORD
  • Distance From Hotel: 15.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except for service animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Vintage From the Heart Antique Shop
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Lake Compounce
Distance From Hotel:4.63MI
Attraction:
Trumpf
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Giamatti Little League Center
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:67
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:112
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CT0155
Southington Hotel Offers Incredible Location The gently rolling hills of Southington are nestled in the valley of two mountains, boasting a landscape of gently rolling hills dotted with orchards. Begin your journey at the Holiday Inn Express® Southington and explore all that central Connecticut has to offer. Our convenient location off I-84 only 20 minutes from Hartford and 30 minutes from Bradley International Airport makes travel very convenient. You'll have access to many dining, entertainment and
View More
Southington Hotel Offers Incredible Location The gently rolling hills of Southington are nestled in the valley of two mountains, boasting a landscape of gently rolling hills dotted with orchards. Begin your journey at the Holiday Inn Express® Southington and explore all that central Connecticut has to offer. Our convenient location off I-84 only 20 minutes from Hartford and 30 minutes from Bradley International Airport makes travel very convenient. You'll have access to many dining, entertainment and cultural options. Only minutes from ESPN headquarters, General Electric, Trumpf, and Yarde Metals, this hotel is ideal for business trips. With 3 different meeting rooms totaling 3,700 sq. ft., we have the perfect space for your next meeting. You can put the finishing touches on a presentation in the business center or get a work out in our newly renovated fitness center. All our rooms have free high-speed wireless internet access. From Lake Compounce Family Theme Park to Mount Southington ski area, there's year-round entertainment. Our hotel is minutes from Westfarms Mall, where you can shop Nordstrom and Macy’s for the holidays. The Holiday Inn Express® provides guests with friendly service. Pick-up your favorite snack at the 24-hour market. Each morning, you can fuel up at the complimentary full hot breakfast, which has both hot and cold items. Whether travel for business or leisure, Holiday Inn Express® Southington is your home away from home. Make your reservation today!
View Less
Features
Experience friendly service at this Southington hotel. With perks like a free breakfast buffet, fitness center and free wireless Internet access, it's no wonder we are the preferred hotel choice.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 92 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed we stayed for 3 nights but should've checked out after the 1st night and gone to another HIE in the area..for a new hotel this one just didn't measure up to our usual very positive experiences in many other Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Express locations in many states over many years..we were very disappointed and will not stay at this hotel again.. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet sstay and great service I feel for family trip or business this hotel is well worth staying at. As a family trip my kids found the breakfast a great way to start our outings, great breakfast as well as cookies and apples for snacks the whole day. The pool was very small as well as the fitness room but they worked. The tough part was the sign on the highway, you really don't see it until you are past it. This I was aware of because of a "review" I read on this site, thank you to the person who mentioned it. It is a good central location for most things to do in CT. I would stay again at this HIE. August 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room was not ready for use. Checked into a room that was scarcely supplied. TV did not work. Called front desk and was told that the room was off the list for use. Changed TV from adjacent room that looked fine. Had to carry it myself. No cups or ice bucket. After the first night we came back and the bed was made but was not cleaned. Still has dirty coffee cups and trash on the night stand. Did not clean or restock the coffee pot. had to request a blanket for the bed. Overall this is not my typical experience with HI. Night staff was responsive, day staff had quite an attitude. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good stay room was clean and overall hotel was nice. I would stay here again, what you would expect for a holiday inn express. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Whole property was extremely clean I was pleasantly surprised by how clean the property was from lobby to breakfast area to hallways to my room. Nothing needed updating. And the beds and lines were very nice. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A clean hotel in a remote location The hotel is very clean and a newer property but the location is a little remote in relation to places to eat and shop. The area is quiet and safe but you will need to drive to another area to find a place to eat besides breakfast. We chose this hotel while on the road for being near the interstate 91. August 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A step down from other Holiday Inn locations I stay in Holiday Inn locations often when I travel for work and I have been to this one a few times. Every time I am there I remind myself not to come back. The gym is pathetic. It's two treadmills and one stationary bike. On this trip one treadmill and one bike were broken. Out some free weights in there at least! The TV in my room was broken. The first day it would freeze and then go all fuzzy. By the second day it wouldn't even turn on. There are no refrigerators in the rooms unless you pay for a suite and when I asked if they have them to bring up at an additional charge I was told they do not. The breakfast is aweful. My expectations are not high for a complimentary breakfast but those disgusting egg things with the slice of processed cheese they tried to pass off as a little I let was disgusting. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in a handicap accessible room. The room was on the second floor and very spacious, almost to spacious. We didn't have a luggage rack or refrigerator, which would have been a nice addition. The bathroom had a tub/shower combination with a tub chair, grab bars in shower and by toilet, and hand-held shower nozzle. A walk-in shower would have been easier to get in and out of. The beds were comfortable; however, the pillows were extremely soft. Not our preference but perhaps others prefer this. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered a wide variety of choices. The pool was clean and refreshing. The hotel overall has a modern feel and was clean. You have to keep your eyes open when trying to find the hotel because it sits down a small hill and the sign pops up quickly. We drove by the first time when trying to locate it. We could hear the traffic at times but it didn't bother us. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again when in CT. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent breakfast variety I had a great experience the two nights I stayed in the hotel. Very well décor around and clean share areas. My two queen bedroom was spacious. We were a family of 4 adults with a baby and had lots of room for all our needs. One of my favorite experience was the breakfast. A lot of variety like: eggs, bacon, muffins, yogurt, bagels, oatmeal, cinnamon rolls, sausage, pancakes and delicious juice. The lady working in the breakfast area was very helpful and nice. Always keeping everything well stock and brewing fresh coffee al the time. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptionally clean facility! This HIE is by far the biggest and neatest facility of all the HIEs we have stayed in. The service and food was outstanding. The only complaint we have is the location of the HIE sign. We went by the hotel and didn't see the sign because THE HIE SIGN WAS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HILL!! The parking lot is down the hill from the highway and that's where the HIE sign was. We had to call the hotel to find out where it was. We saw the Comfort Inn sign next door because it was posted so it was easily visible from the highway. I would recommend moving the HIE sign UP TO HIGHWAY LEVEL so it can be easily spotted as we drive 45 mph along the highway. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by THINGS THAT YOU SHOULD BE PREPARED FOR WHEN STAYING AT HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS MERIDEN THE FIRST MORNING WHEN WE TRIED TO LEAVE THE HOTEL THE ONE ELEVATOR WAS OUT OF SERVICE, WHICH MEANT THAT AS A MOBILITY-CHALLENGED PERSON I WAS GOING NOWHERE. THANKFULLY IT WAS UP AND RUNNING AFTER A SHORT WHILE, HOWEVER WE HAD NO CONFIDENCE OF THE ONE ELEVATOR ALWAYS WORKING. THE TV IS A CHALLENGE TO GET WORKING. THIS IS THE ONLY LOCATION TO EVER CHARGE A $15 FEE FOR INCIDENTALS WHEN THEY DO NOT SELL ANYTHING NOR DO THEY HAVE A PANTRY, ON TOP OF WHICH THEY ADVISED THAT IT MIGHT TAKE A WEEK FOR THE CREDIT TO HIT OUT CREDIT CARD AFTER WE HAVE CHECKED OUT. SANDPAPER TISSUES THAT KLEENEX WOULD CRINGE AT IF THEY HAD TO USE THEM. SINCE A HANDICAPPED ROOM WITH A WALK-IN SHOWER & A REFRIGERATOR COULD NOT BE PROVIDED, WHICH I THOUGHT ALL ROOMS HAD, WE WERE OFFERED A REGULAR SUITE WITH A REFRIGERATOR BUT WE WERE TOLD THAT WE HAD TO CALL IHG AND THAT THERE MIGHT BE EXTRA POINTS FOR THE UPGRADE. THE IHG REP SAID THERE WOULD BE NO EXTRA CHARGE. July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Facility neeeds better maintenance The room you reserved may not be as promised. The noise from the adjacent highway may be annoying. Not all amenities may be available. July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room needs overhaul I was on the main floor, room 106. Both bed and carpet need replacing, now! July 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good place to stay. My stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Meriden, CT was good in every way. The room was comfortable, and the staff was very cordial and helpful. I was surprised that the room did not have a microwave or a refrigerator, both of which have been present in every other Holiday Inn Express I have stayed in during the past year. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable with great service We stayed 2 nights with our 2 grandchildren. The hotel has an invitingly modern appearance and appeared well-maintained. Our room (2 queeen beds) was clean and more spacious than expected. Staff was friendly, courteous and very responsive to our needs. Complimentary breakfast offered good variety, although the pancake machine frequently malfunctioned (promptly corrected by staff). July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OK - Worth it for the price Pool was not "clean", staff claims due to losing power the night before, but we only lost power for 1 minute. Phones were never reconnected in any room after lightening storm. Breakfast is just ok. Pancakes were pretty terrible and eggs were ok. Everything else to eat were fine. Never cleaned our room even after explicitly asking them to. Rooms are very spacious. I would even call the walk from the far bed to the bathroom a "far walk" Air was better than most hotels I have stayed in. Staff was friendly but not necessarily the most helpful. For the price, worth it. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice, but.... clean and easy to get to, but the tub did not drain and the desk chair was torn, no excuse for either in my opinion. only stayed on night but would consider this hotel again. July 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and efficient staff I have stayed in many HI Express locations and for some reason the beds in this location (room 304) were shot. The bed closest to the door was squeaky, and the springs sagging. One of the beds was better than the other so we switched with the kids the second night. This is not typical to our other HI stays at all. Otherwise a pleasant stay and had fun in the pool all to ourselves Saturday morning. Pool maintenance staff was very courteous and the area clean. July 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty, dirty, dirty My bed had, "adult dirt" on it. I was not overly impressed at all. The best thing was check out. The chairs were dirty and didn't have the plastic covering The room was dusty and the AC didn't work the right way. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Annalysse was wonderful Analysse was working at the front desk. I am sorry if I am spelling her name wrong, but she immediately rectified the issue we had with no towels being left in our room. We very much appreciated her friendliness and customer service. The hotel is not located near much but not many are in this area of CT. The room was large and spacious. Breakfast and breakfast staff were pleasant. June 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty bed and poor service. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Express at another location several times on business, and have NEVER had this kind of experience. After reading previous reviews, although they were mixed, I based my decision on staying there on my previous experiences. So, there were a few little things, but what hotel doesn't, right? But the bed... dear god. My bed had hair and someone else's fairly recent bodily fluids in it, which I unfortunately didn't notice right away. Then we noticed the pillows and comforter both had dirt on them. I called the front desk, and when I told her I wanted clean bedding and why, she replied somewhat incredulously, "all of it?" She came up in a while and agreed everything was dirty, and changed the bedding, but didn't have a comforter, and informed me that I had to write a note to housekeeping for a new comforter (why couldn't she? isn't that her job?). And rather than taking the dirty bedding with her, she shoved it in the corner by the door and told me to tell housekeeping to pick it up in the morning. Really? Anyway, next day, I tried to talk to a housekeeper about taking the dirty linens and she refused, only saying "Cindy! Cindy!" So, I went to the front desk, and the person there told me someone would be up right away to take them away. I left for the morning, came back and the dirty used linens were still there. I talked to the woman behind the counter again... "I'll send someone right up." And, of course, they were still there when we got back, and were still there the next day when we checked out. Heck, they are probably still there. This was the grossest hotel experience I've ever had. I don't expect 5 star service, but I expect the BEDS to be clean for crying out loud. (By the way, when I tried to get the user name Grossed Out to post this review, it was already taken. Ha!) June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy First night I stayed in Room 314, it was so noisy (Either noise from A/C in other room or from vending/ice machine outside, my room A/C, I kept off) that I could not sleep whole night. Next morning, I moved to room 124. When I came back in the evening from my meetings, I saw a big spider in the sink. I looked up I saw another one on the ceiling. I could see only these because of white background. There could be more. Third and fourth night, the house keeper never put the coffee packets or the coffee cups. They put new shampoo and conditioner but never put the lotion. June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Room First night I stayed in Room 314, it was so noisy (Either noise from A/C in other room or from vending/ice machine outside, my room A/C, I kept off) that I could not sleep whole night. Next morning, I moved to room 124. When I came back in the evening from my meetings, I saw a big spider in the sink. I looked up I saw another one on the ceiling. I could see only these because of white background. There could be more. Third and fourth night, the house keeper never put the coffee packets or the coffee cups. They put new shampoo and conditioner but never put the lotion. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Meriden, huh? Pretty cool! Pros: During my recent 3-night stay, the people who work there were all really nice and helpful. Functional (if unglamorous) room with a nice desk and a more than serviceable WiFi connection; I could sit there do some writing comfortably. While Meriden is not one of Connecticut's more interesting cities, if you have several things to do in the central part of the state, it is a reasonably strategic location. Good coffee June 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Had a pleasant stay We were visiting Branford, but this hotel was $60 less per night than the HIE in Branford so we stayed here. Not much nearby to recommend in terms of restaurants, etc. Can only access the hotel from hwy 15 southbound and it's easy to miss it the first time. The staff was very nice. The basic room does not have a desk but we were offered an upgrade to a Suite since we're IGH members. The suites have a desk and fridge, which is nice. The shower head water pressure and toilet paper quality were hotel-typical, meaning that both could be better and at nominal cost. I'm always amazed that hotels cheap out on these. The complimentary breakfast is a nice touch, and the selection was not bad. You always know what you're getting with HIE. 4/5 June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great beds and extraordinarily clean We were pleasantly surprised by this Holiday Inn Express. They have the biggest rooms we've seen, but the furniture is a little sparse. Given the space available, the bathrooms could have been a little bigger and a work space would be nice. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms are spotless, but the walls are a little thin. There's nothing on the walls to mute the noise in adjoining rooms. Ask for a top floor room. Overall, for the price this was excellent. We were so tired we ordered take-out, but there is a nice Italian restaurant across the street. It's just a couple of minutes off Interstate 91 and the Wilbur-Cross...so the location is very good. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Flew in from California to visit family for a few days, and we were very pleased with our 1st time stay here. Our room was very comfortable, and larger than most rooms at other Holiday Inn Express' we have stayed at. The front desk staff was very friendly and always greeted us as we entered the lobby. Absolutely no complaints from us. We will be back in a year to visit family again, and will definitely book our stay here. May 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Get New TVs Very dissapointed in the staff - I haven't had many problems with any HIE, but this particular one frustrated me. I asked the gentleman at the front desk for a bottle of water and he said "sorry, bottled water is for our platinum guest only" - What? I am a platinum guest! Also, for what is considered a smaller hotel, the maid didn't clean the room until 2:30 in the afternoon (just as I was getting back from a meeting), which just makes it inconvenient when I was ready to get back to my room and relax, instead I had to go back down stairs and wait for her to finish. To make it worse, the elevators were out of service for several hours! On to the televisions, every time I turned it on, it was black and white and the only way to fix that was to unplug the TV and plug it back in (sometimes it took several tries for this to work). There was a particular NBA playoff game I was trying to watch and it just would not work. The WiFi was impossible to connect to (it connected, but at crawling speeds). The toliet seat in my bathroom was broken, it slipped every time I sat on it. I don't give many bad reviews, but I was just so frustrated after this stat. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff. When I travel, I prefer to stay within the IHG brand. This stay was for family travel, I used my points and was very happy with the staff. The front desk clerk was very helpful. Thank you Vinnie. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We love HIE We travel extensively and love Holiday Inn Express for the convenience, value and comfort. April 28, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading