• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:30 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:30 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Downtown St. Joseph
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Krasl Art Fair
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Whirlpool Interactive Fountain
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:92
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample free parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:37
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:10
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:39
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Our Lake Michigan Hotel's Location is the Best in St. Joseph

You can expect a warm welcome, beautiful accommodations and terrific amenities when you choose the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites St. Joseph for a business trip or vacation in Michigan. Overlooking Lake Michigan, our hotel's location is ideal.

Business guests appreciate being near Whirlpool, Leco, Bosch, AEP D.C. Cook Plant and Lakeland Hospital. Our meeting rooms are ideal for business, family reunions or
View More

Our Lake Michigan Hotel's Location is the Best in St. Joseph

You can expect a warm welcome, beautiful accommodations and terrific amenities when you choose the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites St. Joseph for a business trip or vacation in Michigan. Overlooking Lake Michigan, our hotel's location is ideal.

Business guests appreciate being near Whirlpool, Leco, Bosch, AEP D.C. Cook Plant and Lakeland Hospital. Our meeting rooms are ideal for business, family reunions or seminars, and our detail-oriented staff can coordinate everything for a stress-free event. Free Internet access and a business center help you stay productive as our hotel's guest in St. Joseph, MI.

Our leisure guests love a vacation in Michigan with us. Family-fun is minutes away with Silver Beach, the interactive Whirlpool Compass Fountain and a Carousel or a trip to Curious Kid's Museum. Stroll through downtown St. Joseph with its sidewalk cafes, art galleries, antiques and shops. We're near the historic North Pier Lighthouse, Four Winds Casino and Notre Dame University.

Our hotel's guests can expect the best during their stay in St. Joseph, MI. From a stunning lobby with a flat panel TV and comfy seating to an indoor pool, you're treated to beautiful surroundings and relaxing amenities. Relax on the terrace, use free high-speed Internet access or savor a free, hot breakfast. Restaurants are just steps away. You'll agree, we are the best among Lake Michigan hotels.

View Less
Features
The gorgeous view of Lake Michigan is matched by our hotel's friendly staff and a convenient location. Your business trip or a vacation in Michigan starts in one of our beautiful rooms or suites.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 40 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place to Stay with the Dog Hotel was clean, comfortable, quiet and offered a large dog exercise area. The only thing I would suggest is that the hotel staff provide a few extra towels, soaps, etc. in the guest rooms since the rooms are only cleaned once per week. That way, guests wouldn't be needing to visit the front desk as much to get new towels, etc. Other than that, everything was fine and the staff were pleasant and helpful. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Overall is good. Great stuff at the front desk. They have movies for free renting. August 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by stop over at the Candlewood late night arrival; this Candlewood is just not what I have experienced in the past. it is old August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing with every amenity of home We stayed here while doing a triathlon. Everything was wonderful in supporting us in our race preparation. The suite provided a great kitchen and comfortable sleeping areas. There was no noise to disrupt our sleep. The location was great for running and cycling. As we went out for training the front staff were always enthusiastic. They were very helpful and friendly with anything we needed. We were able to relax here and focus our attention on our race. I would definitely seek out a Candlewood Suites first if travelling. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Quiet Nice hotel with friendly staff. Suite was clean. Was disappointed that breakfast was not included since we paid more than we usually do for an overnight stay in a hotel. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Meeting with Friends who were staying for the first time We have stayed there many times over the years. Staff are friendly and helpful. This year friends joined us for the visit. They had a room issue that the staff addressed and then called them to be sure the fix was OK. We will return there for our anniversary visit and later for the Cider Century. We like the place and the staff. July 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Get away Not far from the beach at all....doesn't serve breakfast but there are places right by it. The beds were comfortable and everyone woke up refreshed to hit the beach again. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay great stay wonderful staff im tired of typing now buy July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and excellent service The Candlewood Suites Hotel of St. Joseph / Benton Harbor met all of my family's needs, during our short stay. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was courteous and receptive to our need's! Good value for my money!! July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NOT DISAPPOINTED I stayed here because the Holiday Inn Express was booked where I normally stay. I was extremely happy with the front desk personnel who were very outgoing and friendly. The room was great, clean with a large working desk and nice cable TV system. I am going to stay here from now on instead of the HIE. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Generally very nice I was happy with the room - very clean and updated, kitchen was nicely stocked with utensils, etc. The front desk staff were very nice upon check-in. My only complaint was that the TV did not work, even after I went to the desk to switch for a new remote control. No offer was made to fix it or change my room. I told them again when I checked out, and was told that there was a service ticket on the probl;em, but was not offered any rate reduction due to the problem or apology. I would only give this hotel four stars due to this, but the survey did not allow me to adjust it so it stays at five stars. Overall I was very pleased with the cleanliness, the amenities and the courtesy of the staff. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay Each summer we spend 5 - 10 weekends at this hotel. The location is good, the rooms are clean and spacious and the front desk staff are very helpful. Front managers Frank and Crimson go out of their way to be genuinely caring and friendly. This hotel is my first choice whenever I visit the area. June 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by a little pricey for guests needing an overnight stay Room was satisfactory, but the air conditioning was on an outside wall with an inside wall thermostat that did not seem to regulate it. The unit did not cool and was located one room over with no air vents in the sleeping area. Tried to see why the unit was not cooling and discovered the units screens covered w/ dust (several seasons worth) and the one ceiling fan covered with dust as well. Even w/ the screens cleaned the unit never cooled the room. May 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good option for low price I use to stay at Candlewood for the last 5 years for work. It was not my choice, but from the company. The Kitchen in the room is a good point when you are there for a lot of days. Employees are always ready to attend you, although they not stay at the front desk (you just need to call and they will attend). This last stay I had an issue with the bathroom trash, that was not cleaned. But I asked people for that, and when I was back everything was fine. Housekeeping occurs only once a week, but usually you have to confirm (why not say request) it at the Front Desk. One point that need really attention is the sofa in the room - they are too old and appears not good. In summary, it is a good option if you don´t want a fancy hotel. May 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend getaway My husband have been having weekend getaway's at Candlewood for several years now. This was our first time in Stevensville, MI. The first room we had was filthy! The stove was so gross that I told my husband not to set anything else down. I demanded another room. When I went to the front desk another guest stated that this was 'not unusual' for this location. In addition, the kitchen was missing some items. I will stick to the location in Kalamazoo, MI. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was very helpful, friendly and professional Room was very spacious and clean and hotel was a good location for this area January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Suite! We stayed there for a week while visiting family. The room was large, the bathroom was roomy as well. It had a full-size fridge, plus a sink and stovetop. It was great for our family, since we have a little one and there was plenty of room for his pack n play. Staff was very friendly, and although we did not use it the Cupboard was well stocked. It is close to St. Joe, but still right tnext to I-94 for easy access to everywhere else! October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pleasant surprise I was pleasantly surprised with my room, as it was quite large, quiet, and clean. This room was exactly as represented which is refreshing in today's world. I travel a lot, and would recommend this property. The fact it is walking distance to the Cracker Barrel and less than a 3 mile drive to Bit o Swiss is very nice too. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff excellent but... We've stayed at this property many times. Although the beds were comfortable and clean, this time the carpets were extremely dirty and the toilet would continuously run. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, clean, safe, comfortable hotel! This was our first stay at a Candlewood Suites hotel and we found it to be a great place to stay - on par with other "brand name" hotels that we have traditionally stated at. Our room was comfortable, "roomy" and "homey". The location was safe. the kitchenette suite and Candlewood Cupboard were an added surprise and the customer service rep "Rebecca" was very efficient and friendly and did a terrific job in making our stay enjoyable. We will be back and look for other Candlewood suite locations in areas we visit! September 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Filthy Room The was a dirty pair of panties in one of the drawers in the bathroom, there was hair on the sink, the "cover" over the comforter was dirty and had hair on it. Overall what I could see was filthy...I can only imagine what I couldn't see. Because of an extremely busy weekend and valuables in the room I didn't report this to the staff. I could not wait around for them to clean it and I didn't want anyone going in while I was out. The staff, especially the front desk was very nice. No one is paying attention to the cleanliness of the rooms though. It would have been a perfect weekend if the place was clean. August 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay clear of this property!!! If you don't mind the pungent odor (we guessed it was curry# that is present in the lobby, elevator, hallways and your room OR the absence of housekeeping services #unless you are staying for more than a week we were told by the front desk# OR a room that has greasy fingerprints all over your window, dirty window sills, stained carpeting, last renovation in 1990 #per their web site) OR photos on their web site of the rooms that must have been taken in 1990, then book your room at this property. As we were checking in, a party of 4 were trying desperately to cancel the rest of their stay. That was my 1st hint, along with the odor. Then I saw our room. The photos that I have posted are a small example of how deceiving the photos on their web site are. We had booked 3 rooms total and the rooms were the same. Old and dirty. If you aren't familiar with the area, book early so you won't be stuck at this excuse for a hotel. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice place and people Great place to stay when visiting this area! The staff and room were great. The Carousel and nearby Silver Beach Park were fun visits. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A+A+A+A+A I would highly recommend the candlewood suits beds were very comfortable and clean July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, good location The room we stayed in was spacious and clean. It looks like it was recently painted. Front desk staff were helpful as always. We like staying at this hotel while we visit Lake Michigan (a few miles away). We will be back several more times this summer! June 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by INCREDIBLE Nicest place I've stayed in quite a while. The staff (especially Alex!) is so helpful and friendly....the room was perfect and there is nothing better to have outside your window than woods....so peaceful and quiet....24 hot tub is genius, thank you!! Hi Alex! You might be the cheeriest person I've ever met! Sorry I didn't get to say goodbye! When I return I will be very sad if I can't get a room there.... June 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value This is close to the Bit Of Swiss bakery, rated best in the USA! It has easy access to I94 as well. The studios are hard to eat in because there is only one chair by a desk, the second chair being an overstuffed one that does not move. Also, only one side of the bed has a nightstand. Still, a very good value but I would try a one bedroom next time May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 100% I can recommend this hotel 100%. Great service from all. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The room was wonderful. It was like being home away from home. Liked the kitchenette in the room. Everything was clean and fresh. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We have decided to stay in Candlewood Suites when possible for all competitions. March 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home! My wife and I have been staying at this location for vacations and mid-winter retreats for several years. We have found the staff and management to be the most hospitable group of all that we have encountered in the area. Frank, General Manager, and his staff are friendly and caring individuals. They do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms are large and the furnishings are in excellent condition. We are looking forward to our next stay with them in April. Thank you for putting the customer first! February 20, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Reception Entrance Scenery / Landscape Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior View from Hotel Lobby Lounge Guest Interactive Digital Information Center Updated Lobby Furniture Hotel Exterior Silver Beach Carousel Curious Kids Museum North Pier Lighthouse North Pier Lighthouse
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading