• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:30 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:30 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Downtown St. Joseph
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Krasl Art Fair
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Whirlpool Interactive Fountain
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:92
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample free parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:37
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:10
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:39
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Our Lake Michigan Hotel's Location is the Best in St. Joseph

You can expect a warm welcome, beautiful accommodations and terrific amenities when you choose the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites St. Joseph for a business trip or vacation in Michigan. Overlooking Lake Michigan, our hotel's location is ideal.

Business guests appreciate being near Whirlpool, Leco, Bosch, AEP D.C. Cook Plant and Lakeland Hospital. Our meeting rooms are ideal for business, family reunions or
View More

Our Lake Michigan Hotel's Location is the Best in St. Joseph

You can expect a warm welcome, beautiful accommodations and terrific amenities when you choose the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites St. Joseph for a business trip or vacation in Michigan. Overlooking Lake Michigan, our hotel's location is ideal.

Business guests appreciate being near Whirlpool, Leco, Bosch, AEP D.C. Cook Plant and Lakeland Hospital. Our meeting rooms are ideal for business, family reunions or seminars, and our detail-oriented staff can coordinate everything for a stress-free event. Free Internet access and a business center help you stay productive as our hotel's guest in St. Joseph, MI.

Our leisure guests love a vacation in Michigan with us. Family-fun is minutes away with Silver Beach, the interactive Whirlpool Compass Fountain and a Carousel or a trip to Curious Kid's Museum. Stroll through downtown St. Joseph with its sidewalk cafes, art galleries, antiques and shops. We're near the historic North Pier Lighthouse, Four Winds Casino and Notre Dame University.

Our hotel's guests can expect the best during their stay in St. Joseph, MI. From a stunning lobby with a flat panel TV and comfy seating to an indoor pool, you're treated to beautiful surroundings and relaxing amenities. Relax on the terrace, use free high-speed Internet access or savor a free, hot breakfast. Restaurants are just steps away. You'll agree, we are the best among Lake Michigan hotels.

View Less
Features
The gorgeous view of Lake Michigan is matched by our hotel's friendly staff and a convenient location. Your business trip or a vacation in Michigan starts in one of our beautiful rooms or suites.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 80 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service was great and personnel accomadating Room was very comfortable and had a Jacuzzi suite that was nice. Very good value!! Enjoyed my stay. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service It was a very nice specially the service that I got Keep it up. March 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms, horrible service Checked in a the front desk customer service asked us if we had stayed here before, we haven't. I asked to be upgraded to a suite, 100% willing to pay for the upgrade and she told me there was nothing she could do. Took my credit card, gave us our keys and had us on our way. She did not even direct us to our room, tell us where breakfast was served (around the corner from the front desk but us never having been there did not know) or tell us our room number. Room was very clean and the bed was beyond comfortable giving us a "soft" and "firm" pillow. Breakfast was amazing. I work customer service/sales so besides the room, the front desk service was the most important to me and it was way below expectations. The next day I looked on my credit card statement and saw extra charges from the hotel. Called and the front desk told me it will be taken off within 2 business days, just a accidental charge incase something is broken within the room. Again, the front desk customer service neglected to tell me anything. If it wasn't for the 1 front desk customer service, my stay would have at least been 4 stars if not 5! February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Years stay Staff greated us with a smile, and warm holiday greetings. Extremly clean and breakfast was awesome. I would love to stay again. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Clean, comfortable and great staff. Great job on the snow too. They did not recognize the gold status. January 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Could not sleep with worn mattress. Have stayed at this hotel many times without complaint. Reserved a suite with my family. Mattresses was very worn and had trouble sleeping. Asked if housekeeping could at least rotate the mattress. The woman at the desk said she would ask them. No one ever got back to me. My husband did not sleep well either. Doubt if the message was ever given. Had a stiff neck for 3 days afterwards. My kids begged to sleep on the rollaway. Too much trouble for all of us to move to another room. Please check the mattresses in our room, they need to be replaced. Room clean staff friendly. Breakfast pretty good. Good value. November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay, good value We stayed here because the rates were lower than the Holland area, which was our focus for the weekend. It was worth being 30 minutes from Holland for the $$$ savings. It is a very easy highway ride to Holland. The hotel is clean, well kept, and just far enough off the highway to eliminate noise. All in all, a great stay. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, breakfast was great, staff friendly We will be back the next time we come to South Haven! October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great employees The room was clean and comfortable. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by guest Room was very adequate. Would much rather have had two TV's because sofa was in separate area from TV, therefore had to sit on beds to watch. Two TV's would allow guests to use sitting area while watching programs. ... Personnel were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast selections were adequate. Have stayed here in past and would consider staying again in future.. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We really enjoyed our stay here. This hotel is clean and very comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Fall Getaway My boyfriend and I went up to Michigan for the weekend to enjoy our college's fall break. The workers at the South Haven HIE were very kind and welcoming. We loved the Fall decorations! This is one of the nicer HIEs I've stayed at. We did have a con and told the front desk about it. The office chair in the room was broken, and there was a small hole in the curtain. October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location, breakfast awesome location was excellent, right off main road and close to everything. Breakfast was the best ever at any hotel I have stayed at. Shower head was awesome. Only weak point was limited staff. Had to wait to check in and many times no one at front desk October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Continental breakfast was outstanding, many options The room was clean, the workers were helpful, the breakfast was outstanding and utilizing the conference room for evening activities was beneficial for our group of 8 September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not very clean but really nice staff Our sheets had hair and "stuff" on them. The bathroom floor left my feet black. I The staff was great and we were so tired we just accepted the conditions. September 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 2 night stay Pros: Clean room Evening desk employees very helpful and friendly Good hot breakfast Coffee and Tea available 24/7 Good location Pretty much what we expect from HIE Cons: Internet service very spotty and frequent service drops We were on the 2nd floor and could hear people walking in the room above us... never had this at any other stays at HIE When we arrived the Daytime front desk person needed some happy pills..not very friendly or cooperative September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and Great Service! My husband and I stayed two nights and have no complaints! Our room was clean and comfortable. Staff were all friendly. We were offered free snacks and bottled water at the desk upon check-in. Free breakfast had many choices and staff kept everything well stocked and clean. Would definitely stay here again!!! September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff I left an item in the room and called two days later and the item is being returned to me. I am very happy, thank you! August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sun, Sand and Wine We had a wonderful stay. The staff was very accommodating. We were able to have alate check out so we could wash the sand away before our drive home. Close to the beach, South Haven, Saugatuck and wineries! August 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Disappointed While check in was awesome, we were offered several snacks and water for all of us due to be being a reward member, our experience was disappointing. I have been staying in Holiday Inn for the past few years in order to save points for a free room. I used points and a discount rate to pay for this room. HOWEVER, the desk staff ran my card holding a huge balance from my account while we were vacationing! I had no access to money on my account, and we were forced to check out a day early, as we couldn't shop or eat since these funds were being held on my bank account. Luckily we only live a few hours away. The girl at the desk seemed clueless and could care less, however, she did call a manager and "fixed" the problem. I was also promised my points would be returned to my account. THIS was on Saturday, it is now WEDNESDAY, and FINALLY the bank situation resolved itself, but still no points. Also, apparently housekeeping doesn't have enough towels, as they took ours when they cleaned the room, and couldn't replace them until late in the afternoon. They claimed they were being laundered! WHAT ?!?!? August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room Friendly greeting at check-in. Appreciated the blueberries, water bottles & snack at check-in. Comfortable bed and nice sized room. Breakfast room was a bit crowded. Location is a little remote, but an easy drive to the highway or into town. August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad wifi and smelly shower curtain Overall experience only average due to a few flaws in services. The wifi was spotty and failed at leas twice a night in spite of having what appeared to be 5 different networks. Had to swap network connections to get back on each time. The shower curtain smelled musty/mildewy and was due for a changeout. Staff was not well aware of the laundry service provided by outside vendor and whether they could get my clothes to me at end of week. I was on my own with that. Newspapers on last day were out of date. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience This is the 3rd time I have stayed here - the staff is ALWAYS very friendly, professional and will take care of any concerns you might have immediately. Room was clean, comfortable and a good TV with all the stations I like to watch. Enjoyed the breakfast every morning - big choices - different every day. Would prefer waffles instead of pancakes but the pancakes were very good. Always able to get a table for breakfast. Would recommend this place very highly! August 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend This is an excellent Holiday Inn Express. Convenient location, quiet, very clean and friendly staff. Only disappointment was the breakfast's watery eggs and greasy bacon. There were plenty of bread choices and pancakes. I just wish I had noticed the hard-boiled eggs first. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Beach Short drive the North and South Beach in South Haven. The hotel was full and there was not any parking spaces left when we came back two nights and had to park in another hotels parking lot. One night a semi truck was taking up half the side parking. Staff was very nice and friendly. For the type of hotel it is, we felt the price was slightly high and extremely high on the weekend. August 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Handicap Shower Needs Attention Rm 109, the handicap shower drain is clogged, water runs all over floor, handle on shower is loose and cannot adjust showerhead, no "lip" on shower entrance to re-direct water back into stall. Shower curtain is hung too high and does not allow for re-direction of water into stall. Room and all of our clothing smells of mildew. No refridge or microwave in room like others. Thermostat had to be "reset" in order to get it to work. We are grateful for the employee who checked us in as she went out of her way to find us the phone# of a local boat ride we wanted to take. We do not use maid service every day and so we were pleased that the front desk staff exchanged our towels when asked. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, great breakfast, beds could be better Our family was up for a visit to the beach. The location of the hotel was wonderful! We were close to Walmart, gas stations and restaurants. We were just a very short drive to the beach and local shops and restaurants. The rooms were very clean. The complimentary breakfast offered many choices including breakfast meats, eggs, biscuits and gravy. There were also plenty of tables to accommodate a lot of people. Our room had a little kitchenette area with sink, microwave, refrigerator and cabinet space which was so handy! The only complaint I have is that the beds could have been more comfortable. I know it's not my bed at home, but I have stayed in hotels where the beds were very comfortable, but, unfortunately, this hotel was not one of them. Other than that, I would recommend a stay here. July 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ruined Our Weekend The staff was courteous and professional and the property was clean. The breakfast choices were good, but items were often depleted. The real problem was the mattress in our room. In all our years of travel, we had never encountered a mattress that was this bad. The mattress was completely worn out and it was like trying to sleep on a soft sponge. The only area of the king size mattress that had any firmness, was the very center, where few people sleep. I tried to sleep on that center area, but would roll off to either side. Both my wife and I awoke with horrible backaches that ruined our weekend. The property was sold out for the weekend, so there was no sense trying to get another room. We advised the representative at the checkout desk about the mattress that should have been retired from service long ago. Since we paid for the room with Priority Club points, she indicated that she would try to get some of the points refunded. Ultimately, we got approximately 15% of our points refunded. In my opinion, that was inadequate for the horrible experience. While the personnel were wonderful and the property was clean, the inability to provide a half decent mattress made our stay a disaster. July 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long Weekend Getaway First trip to South Haven and we had a blast. We spent very little time away from the beach and downtown area, so the hotel met our needs for a clean, comfortable place to sleep. Children very much enjoyed to breakfast, but I would have liked to have seen some additional "healthy options" for myself. Rooms are a little small so might be tough for an extended stay (for 4 people), but perfect for a 3 day trip. Staff was very freindly and helpful. Only small complaint would be with the gym. Very small and the equipment was not very high quality. Would definitely consider this place as an option for any return trip in the future. July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by South Haven Clean hotel and wonderful staff. The mattresses need to be updated. July 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Reception Entrance Scenery / Landscape Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior View from Hotel Lobby Lounge Guest Interactive Digital Information Center Updated Lobby Furniture Hotel Exterior Silver Beach Carousel Curious Kids Museum North Pier Lighthouse North Pier Lighthouse
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading