• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: ST. LOUIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are allowed, no pets allowed. 150.00 dollar is billed to the room if pet found in the room no exceptions. Closest kennel is one mile from hotel St. Louis Pet Clinic 2245 S. Grand Avenue 3144805525.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Gateway Arch
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Busch Stadium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
St. Louis Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Missouri Botanical Gardens
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:70
  • Car Parking Available
  • Our hotel is proud to offer complimentary parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:64
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:33
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:58
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MO0610

Welcome to Our St. Louis, MO Hotel

When you're looking for hotels with a great location and Midwestern hospitality, choose the Holiday Inn Express® St. Louis. Located on the doorstep of downtown in historic Lafayette Square, our St. Louis, MO hotel is close to the area's best sightseeing and businesses.

Corporate travelers love staying with us because we offer amenities tailored to their needs, such as a 24-hour business center with Internet access, print and copy service. We
View More

Welcome to Our St. Louis, MO Hotel

When you're looking for hotels with a great location and Midwestern hospitality, choose the Holiday Inn Express® St. Louis. Located on the doorstep of downtown in historic Lafayette Square, our St. Louis, MO hotel is close to the area's best sightseeing and businesses.

Corporate travelers love staying with us because we offer amenities tailored to their needs, such as a 24-hour business center with Internet access, print and copy service. We are located minutes from area corporations, such as AT&T, Wells Fargo and Ralston Purina, as well as St. Louis University Hospital.

Leisure travelers can take advantage of our location to visit Union Station and the iconic Gateway Arch, both of which are near our hotel's St. Louis address. You can enjoy a tour of St. Louis University, catch the Cards at Busch Stadium, take a riverboat ride or tour Anheuser-Busch Brewery. Don't miss Edward Jones Dome. Nearby Forest Park is home to major attractions, including MUNY Opera, Science Center, the St. Louis Zoo, Art Museum, History Museum and much more.

As the "Smart Choice" for both leisure and business travelers visiting St. Louis, MO, our hotel boasts an indoor pool, a well-equipped fitness center and a free, hot breakfast. Additionally, our professional staff provides the friendliest, most efficient service around. Best of all, we have the name you trust at a price that fits your budget. Book your room today!

View Less
Features
While you're our hotel's guest in St. Louis, don't forget that you're just minutes from the Gateway City's leading attractions, including the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium the home of the Cardinals.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 349 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place I thoroughly enjoyed my four-day stay. Very comfortable room, business office open 24 hours a day with free printing. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Excellent free breakfast, and good work-out room. What more could you ask? October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value in Saint Louis My conference offered a special price for this hotel. When I mentioned this great deal, the conference organizer just replied: "Welcome to the Mid West." The quality/price ratio was exceptionally good, the staff at the front desk very friendly and helpful, and the free shuttle service not only to the airport but to other places when a driver was available unbeatable. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel but room comfort lacked i was pleased with the location as we were taking our 3 yr old to the zoo. we booked a deluxe king suite. the lobby was nice and we liked the warm pool and free arcade games. dinner was a little pricey but good. the room itself was nice but not as clean as i would expect for a crown plaza suite. dust on the lamps and something sticky on the coffee table i had to scrub off myself. the were a few hairs in the tub and no extra towels. the fold out bed was horrible!!! that thing could hardly be classified as a mattress. thank god my child is small but an older child or adult would have been sooo uncomfortable on it. the free breakfast was just ok. the best part was the omeletes. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and comfortable accommodations This was my first time at the Crowne Plaza, and it certainly won't be my last. Upon checking in, I was advised the procedure for the self-parking and how to enter into the hotel from the garage. I appreciated the precise directions since the path could be confusing. I was very pleased with the large room and clean accommodations. The breakfast buffet was excellent, staring with a pleasant "Good Morning" greeting from the staff. I am a tea drinker, so I was offered a pot of hot water instead of the carafe of coffee. The chefs were very accommodating and gracious when taking and delivering individual orders. I would be remiss if I did not mention a personal experience with an employee named Lorenzo. When I returned to the hotel on Saturday night, I had to park on the (almost empty # tan level, since the orange level #and the two other levels after that) were full. I felt a little anxious as I parked my car in such an empty space and then noticed a well dressed lady. She and I commiserated and walked together down the flights of stairs to the orange level and entered the hotel. As we neared the main entrance, we met Lorenzo, who very kindly offered to direct the lady to the main floor where the wedding was taking place. In my hesitancy to exit my car and find the stairs to get back to the hotel, I could not recall if I did indeed lock my car. I approached Lorenzo and kindly asked if he would escort me to the tan parking level to be sure that my vehicle was locked. He did not hesitate, placed the vacuum cleaner that he was using in a far corner, out of harm's way, and led me to my car. Having successfully locked my car, Lorenzo and I met up with a lady who was just then exiting her car on route to the wedding. She joined us and Lorenzo escorted us both back into the hotel. In today's times, it was most encouraging to have experienced such courteous service. Lorenzo went out of his way to accommodate guests and was not only kind and polite, but also personable. October 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Crowne Plaza standards I travel to St Louis frequently and have stayed in several InterContinental properties in the area. I have stayed at the CP Clayton 3 or 4 times over the last 4 years and the most recent one will be my last. At check-in I received no acknowledgment of status. I was not offered any upgrades, When I asked about the possibility of the upgrade, the person at the front desk was unaware that I had status. But she immediately contacted the manager and the manager reviewed my reservation and her only comment is that I was asking about an upgrade but I had "a really good rate". I basically had to pull up the IHG Android app and show them I was a platinum and the verbiage about elite upgrades Eventually I was upgraded to a room with 2 Queens and a mini-fridge/microwave. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was clean but the design of the bathtub/shower was awkward. Many other reviewers have commented on the condition of carpeting in the common areas and the overall worn out appearance of much of the common areas. It is all true. We stayed a Friday and Saturday night. Friday night was fine. The breakfast buffet was OK, nothing special. Personally, I would eat at the local First Watch instead. Saturday night was a different story. There was an event at their banquet facilities (I believe a wedding reception). The music was so loud I could not sleep until they shut down the party (somewhere around midnight). We were on the 4th floor of the main building and the banquet facilities are in the basement. After the party stopped, we had returning quests going about the hallways loudly until 2 or 3 AM. It sounded like some were continuing the party in the hallways. The next morning there were discarded drink glasses, beer bottles, etc strewn on the hallway floor. There was a rancid, dried pool of vomit near the ice machine. I would accept a single incident as an exceptional experience because all hotels have some issues with rowdy guests from time to time. But this same thing has happened at this hotel on each of our last 3 stays. This may be a great hotel to stay at as a business traveler M-F but I would not recommend it for a weekend stay if you want a quiet restful stay. Personally, I recommend the Crowne Plaza at Lambert Airport. Recently renovated, spotless common areas and new beds. And I am always recognized as a Platinum at check-in. October 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected Checked in found our room door open. Later found the door did not close unless forced. Next found that several TV channels did not work and others were blinking in and out could not watch it at all. After calling the front desk to inform them of the problems. They sent someone to repair the issue. A hammer to beat the door frame to help the door close but never fixed it. To fix the TV he unplugged it to reset it. That worked until we left. When we came back tried the TV again and same problem. On check out explained to the desk attendant took our information and said the manager would call. 4 days no call. On a different note the free game room has arcade games from the 1980 and the color on the screens is so faded you cannot see what is going on. Wall sconces through out the hotel we lose and falling off the wall, some reinstalled with drywall screws crooked. Exercise equipment room was nice two of the machines we tried to us did not work. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for price The hotel was very centrally located. There was everything we wanted and needed right near the hotel. The hotel was clean and comfortable with breakfast included in an already very reasonable price. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall good again This is about the 6th stay at your hotel, so you know that in itself is a good review. The only thing as a constructive criticism, my room shower head the kind you have to hold, should be updated. Also in the bathroom some kind of rusted looking stain on sink, did not make for the most pleasurable experience. We do enjoy having the complimentary breakfast and the other extras for priority club members. Oh, one more thing, please try to do better when picking the room for us to stay. This time we were mixed in with some wedding party and at 2:00 am I was awakened to loud chatter in the hall and could not get back to sleep. This may be near impossible, but maybe this falls into a really good customer service policy. Neither of these things would stop me from coming back, unless it starts happening more and more. Thanks for caring. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleasant! The parking ramp is free on the weekends and connected through a skywalk, very convenient. Staff was all very pleasant, room was clean and nice. Close to transit system and other cool locations. Overall, a great experience! October 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Looking Hotel/Room didn't live up to the lobby My first impression of this hotel was very positive, great entry and front desk area. Exterior was also nice. My room, on the other hand, was not so nice. It had potential, but the furniture in the living area of the suite was disgusting. The sofa looked like it was taken out of a college dorm room...Stained, worn out, and cigarette burns on the cushions. My first reaction when I opened to door was to go back down stairs and check out. I walked through the rest of the suite and things got better. The bedroom was fine. I didn't use the living area at all because of it's condition. I brought it to the attention of the front desk upon checking out and they said "Thank You!" I wasn't looking for anything special, but I felt they could have done a little something to resolve my concerns.... October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and decent breakfast I made several calls to the hotel prior to our arrival. I was told that there is a shuttle service (airport transportation is prioprity) however, there should not be an issue with transporting us to Washington University which is a five minute drive. We called 30 minutes before we needed to leave (as told), to be instructed to call back when we are ready to leave. When we called back we were told they only have transportation going to the airport. Causing us to be late to the conference. The breakfast was pretty decent. The room was spacious and clean. Nice hardwood floors. The bellhop was very helpful. I have no true complaint outside of being mislead that the hotel would/could provide transportation. October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable in all respects Well located hotel.Nice rooms. Based on our membership we were at the Club Floor. Service in Club Lounge was very welcome. Good Wifi Parking was free. October 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Service poor One of the worse experiences I have ever had. Room not cleaned, requested services not done until second request. Wrong menu served, staff openly arguing. Inadequate to no handicapped access. Have no desire to return. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Favorite in St. Louis Area We have stayed at this hotel many times now, and EACH AND EVERY time, the staff have all been professional, helpful and downright friendly. The rooms have always been very clean, bathrooms included, and the beds are soft and luxurious. My single input is that it would be nice to have carpet on the floor rather than the wood laminate, but the good side of this is that the air is always fresh, and the room even cleaner than it would be with a carpet. The lobby is totally upscale, and the location in Clayton is very safe, relaxing and within walking distance to many restaurants. It is only a ten minute ride to Washington University in St. Louis, and this will remain our first choice hotel! September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Just a very nice hotel with very nice staff and always pleasant September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by vacation fancy bathroom but the swish fittings did not work water all over the place when switched on, On 2nd day of visit maid service very poor no eplacement of coffee or toiletries also no clean cups or glasses.Pool area very tired and door scraped on floor on opening. As for laundry room my advice to fellow travelllers just wear same clothes launder them at next stop.Would I stay here again NO September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treated like royalty. Excellent breakfast We were treated so graciously & made to feel special. The doorman & valet were very friendly when telling us where we could self-park. check-in was smooth. Recognized as honors members, offered bottled water & put on secure concierge floor. Excelled breakfast buffet & made-to-order options. Great location & price! Have stayed here before & will again! September 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Looks are Deceiving Wife and I stayed here because we had tickets to the Michael Buble Concert. The images on the website show the main entrance and foyer, which appear modern and beautiful. Parking in the deck is easy. We parked on the blue level and walked down one level to orange level to gain access to the hotel. The exterior and foyer beauty is quickly lost once you ride on the elevator to the floor where your room is. The carpeting in the hallways and common areas was severely stained in several places. Our room was clean and quiet, which we were thankful for since we were disappointed in the condition of the floor we were staying on. There was adequate desk space for the laptop and good wifi access available. The large led tv in the room was also nice. There is a breakfast and lunch buffet that is offered, but the capacity of the on-site restaurant is very small, so if you want to utilize the offer you probably have to be there right when it opens in the morning. Wife and I slept in until 8 A.M., and were not able to be seated either day at the restaurant for the buffet. Pool area was not clean. I am not a fan of hotel pools anyway and once I looked into the corners of the pool area to see the pigeon feathers floating on the top of the water and the dirty tile, discretion drove my choice to simply set outside on a lounge chair by the outside section of the pool. The lounge chairs were filthy and the pool towels are paper thin. I wouldn't recommend this venue to friends or coworkers. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by accomodating staff, pleasant staff, very clean hotel I WOULD RETURN AND STAY AT THIS HOTEL ANYDAY. THE ROOM WAS EXTREMELY CLEAN. THE TUB AND SHOWER SHINED AS IF NEVER BEEN USED. THE BED LINEN WAS FRESH AND SNOWY WHITE. I MENTIONED TO FRONT DESK STAFF THAT I WAS ALLERGIC TO DOWN FEATHERS. THE DESK CLERK IMMEDIATELY CALLED HOUSEKEEPING TO CHANGE LINEN AND PROVIDE ALTERNATE PILLOWS. HOUSEKEEPING STAFF KEPT OUR ROOM WELL STOCKED. THE BREAKFAST BAR IN HOTEL IS VERY GOOD. A VARIETY OF HOT FOOD IS PROVIDED. THE WAITRESSES ARE VERY GOOD AT THEIR JOB. THIS DOWNTOWN HOTEL AREA IS CLOSE TO MANY RESTURANTS AND SHOPPING. THE SURROUNDING AREA OF HOMES, CONDOS AND APTS. ARE WELL MAINTAINED. CLAYTON APPEARS TO BE A HIGH END COMMUNITY. CENTRALLY LOCATED, THERE IS EASY ACCESS TO ATTRACTIONS. VARIETY OF TRANSIT SYSTEMS MAKES IT EASY TO GO THROUGHOUT THE CITY OF ST. LOUIS AND SURROUNDING AREAS. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Continuing Stay I stay at this property nearly every Wednesday night and I am amazed by the staff every time I stay there. From the restaurant staff to to the owner Pete,every one is very pleasant. Peggy in the morning always greets me, Will always makes a great omelette, and Tommy is really friendly. I am there by 6:30am and everyone is friendly. When I check into the hotel at night, the front desk greets me by name because of the frequency of my stay but the night Manager Eric seems to have a great rapport with his staff but I have seen him interact with not only myself, but other guest. Eric has great communication skills, customer relations skills, and GREAT managerial skills. I actually saw him defuse a disgruntled guest and when it was over, the guest was repeatedly thanking him for his assist with the problem. Eric is a solid, knowledgeable and a great asset to your Crown Plaza Team. Being a HR person for over 30 years, Eric is the type of manager I would want on my team. I see great things in his future within the hotel industry. September 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by tired and dirty The hotel is tired and dirty, from the lobby to the halls to the rooms. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Perfect for my trip. We need a hotel near to my family house. We enjoy the week and the location was perfect. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Everyone was nice from the day we arrive to the day we left great service especially with my Mother been handicap everyone help me with her couldn't ask for any better service the complimentary breakfast was great we will stay @ another Crown hotel September 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sorry, not for my family. Wasn't pleased with our recent stay. I know this is an older hotel and expect some things to show that, but our room was not clean. We found many places/corners that were not clean. Found a few cheese ball puffs on the floor under the bed and window curtains. We had reserved our stay for 2 nights, but checked out after the 1st night and went to another hotel. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality at it's best! From check-in to check-out, our experience was most pleasant. Easy location to find. Parking in the garage on the weekend was free. Garage to hotel entrance was right there. I didn't see cameras in the garage or security, which made me a bit nervous. May have been there and I missed it. The young man at the desk checked me in promptly and was very nice. Room was immaculate, soundproof, and the beds were so very comfortable. The tub was a nice size and the amenities were very good. Loved the smell of their soap/shampoo line. Breakfast went smooth even with a crowd. Plenty of good, hot food to choose from. The dining room staff were very helpful and courteous. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel! September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but wont stay again the room was clean . i didnt like that the hotel was so spread out and areas not labeled with signs well for you to find your way around. too many elevators, connections, and floors. i kept getting lost. its not all in one area. also, the breakfast was cold and stale and i was hungry. the staff was nice September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a superb hotel this is a lovely hotel centrally located in clayton mo. we were treated like royalty by Yolanda, the night manager. we had had a very long travel day. she went out of her way to make sure we had a room without a long walk. she also was so happy that my troubles seemed to melt away. everyone we met understands the service ethic. the staff here seem genuinely happy and glad to be at work. and, it shows. you can hear laughter coming from the hallways sometimes. I like that. banish the grumps!!!! our room was very nicely appointed with a microwave and a refrigerator. the bed was a true delight, comfy and cozy. all in all, nothing but good things to say. they also serve a killer breakfast!!! chef Campbell puts out quite a spread. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice for visiting Washington Univ. This hotel is a short drive from Washington University and very convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and pleasant. Breakfast is in the restaurant in the hotel and features a very large buffet with every possible choice. The hotel proprietor went from table to table engaging guests in friendly conversation. Would certainly stay here again. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great room Bed was very comfortable and the hardwood floors nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was good choices with the made-to-order omelette. September 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff When we got into our room it was obvious a hotel employee had recently used the bathroom in our room to shower, the bath mat was on the floor, a towel was draped over the tub, the shampoo and shower gel had been used and the toilet paper was partially unrolled. My husband went to the front desk to complain and due to the hotel being completely booked she gave us a free bottle of champagne and a couple of bottles of water. Great front desk staff rest of the experience was not the best at all September 1, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Laumier Sculpture Park 13 Miles Busch Stadium 3 Miles ST. Louis Sky Line 1 Mile Edward Jones Dome 4 Miles Six Flags Rides 30 Miles Magic House 13 Miles Hotel Lobby ST. Louis Gateway Arch 1 Mile Ted Drews 6 Miles Front Desk
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading