• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WINCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately at this time we do not accept pets. We reccommend Just Like Home Kennels at 540 465 3781 located in Strasburg, Virginia. Service animals, however, are most welcome on site.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown Winchester
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Sherando Park
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
SportsPlex - Indoor Arena
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Cedar Creek Civil War Battlefied
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:73
  • Car Parking Available
  • Well lit uncovered parking with van and handicapped accessible spaces available close to doors. Bus and truck parking available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:71
  • Total number of suites:9
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:25
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:46
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:58
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express Winchester South- Stephens City is proud to announce our total makeover completion in January 2012. You will notice our new clean, bright, and modern facility that focuses on your real-world needs. Nestled in the heart of Virginia’s Shenandoah Valley, our convenient and accessible location puts you in the mix of all area industry, recreation, academics (Shenandoah University & Lord Fairfax Community College), and dining. Located directly off I-81, we are in walking distance to
View More
The Holiday Inn Express Winchester South- Stephens City is proud to announce our total makeover completion in January 2012. You will notice our new clean, bright, and modern facility that focuses on your real-world needs. Nestled in the heart of Virginia’s Shenandoah Valley, our convenient and accessible location puts you in the mix of all area industry, recreation, academics (Shenandoah University & Lord Fairfax Community College), and dining. Located directly off I-81, we are in walking distance to local restaurants. Whether you are visiting the Warren County Power Station, Virginia Inland Port, Stowe Woodward, Carmeuse Lime and Stone, Thermo Fisher Scientific or another local industry you will find our hotel to be the perfect host location. Situated amongst the peaks of the Beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains the scenery itself is breathtaking. With deep historical roots, we are home to the country singer Patsy Cline; multiple of the most notable battlefields of the Civil War; and the private office of Founding Father George Washington. Enjoy one of the five golf courses located only minutes from the property, or enhance your palette at one of Virginia’s award-winning wineries. With over 100 attractions near the hotel we are your vacation headquarters. We Are More Than A Hotel… We Are A Partner In Business, Family, and Fun! Owned and operated by Aikens Group.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Winchester South Stephens City is proud to announce our total makeover re-launch completion in January 2012. Feel at home in our upgraded guestrooms that feature microwaves and refrigerators; 32” flat screen tv’s; in-room premium movie channel; new bedding packages; upgraded Wi-Fi access; and an enhanced complimentary hot breakfast that features hot entrées and pancakes.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 149 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We had a wonderful room, the lady at the desk was very pleasant and friendly. I would stay at this hotel again, it is very close to I-81 easy on and off. Lots of restaurants near by plus a restaurant at the hotel serving dinner and breakfast. No DeCaf coffee at the front stand, so I was told to ask in the restaurant. The waitress got me the decaf coffee and would not accept my tip, she was pleased to get the coffee for me. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, skip the breakfast Nice hotel, clean and very comfortable. Excellent mattresses. Would have been a 5 out of 5 except for the breakfast. Absolutely the worst breakfast I have ever had in a sit down resturant. Staff was friendly but service was spotty and food was terrible. Skip the resturant and it's a great hotel. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful night We were only there for one night as we traveled through town and this was a pleasant surprise. The room décor was very nice! The frig/micro/coffee area in room was separate with a granite type counter... very pretty. Everything was very neat August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place to stop We were driving from New York to North Carolina and needed an area to stop and stay. This area was very nice and the hotel was affordable, clean, and comfortable. The only negative I can say is that they do not have complimentary breakfast. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great night's sleep My husband and I stopped for the night on our way to New England. This HI Express was convenient and very comfortable. August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very Loud A/C When I booked and was told that this was a Holiday Inn and NOT a Holiday Inn Express, I expected it to be better than a Holiday Inn Express, but that was not the case. The stay wasn't horrible, but there are some note-worthy things to mention. First, it didn't look any nicer or bigger than a Holiday Inn Express. I didn't get any acknowledgement at check-in of my member status. Usually there's some acknowledgememnt and I get a water or cookie. Not a big deal that it didn't happen at this location, but again... this was supposed to be BETTER than a Holiday Inn Express. In the room, the A/C was VERY LOUD, and my kids had trouble falling asleep. It was rumbling sound like a large truck or something. Then in the middle of the night along with that noise it also made a high-pitched fluctuating sound a lot like an alarm clock. It was just for a about 10 seconds or so (that I noticed#, but it woke me up. #It was an alarm clock-like sound after all.) I make it a point to stay at Holiday Inns to avoid bs like that, so it was disappointed about that. Also, there's no free breakfast like at a Holiday Inn Express. Again, that's not better than a Holiday Inn Express. Having said that, they have a restaurant for breakfast, and I did receive a $20 breakfast voucher. I ended up paying $35 or so for my family of 4 people, so it still wasn't free, but at the same time the made-to-order food was better than the free buffett at the Holiday Inn Express. I'm torn about whether it was worth paying for over the free breakfast, but I did enjoy eating breakfast there more than at a Holiday Inn Express. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location Excellent staff, room very nice and comfortable. Excellent location . August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value Cost was less than I expected, but we were exhausted so it was surprise. My IHG membership wasn't aknowledged, but then I wasn't as direct as I might have been. I do wish however that Holiday Inn would provide a shower cap without having to call down to the desk. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Excellent service at all times. Employees exceed expectations. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel /Location Clean, friendly staff and location was easy to get around. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Everything about our stay was great and the breakfast was delicious. We ordered from the menu rather than opt for the buffet but I was actually kind of upset that I ordered because after doing so I noticed how delicious and fresh the food on the buffet was! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location right off highway and close to several stores and restaurants. Also motorcycle freindly. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rewards It was so easy to use my reward points and saved us money. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good property, love to stay again property locatied on good exit ,Easy in out,Lots to do around. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Clean hotel. Motorcycle parking under roof is a great value. Service in restaurant was not available. Left after 5 minute wait, without seeing a server. That is why I gave it only 4 stars. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice in Winchester I stay at this property at least once a month on business. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is fresh and clean throughout. It's located right off I-81 on US522. I've stayed at all the usual suspects in Winchester and the Holiday Inn SE Historic Gateway is hands-down the best of the lot. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel offering good value The Holiday Inn Winchester Se-Historic Gateway was a pleasant surprise during my recent drive through the Shenandoah Valley. The reasonable room rate of the hotel suggested a more modest accommodation, yet we found our room, and the facility in general, to be very competitive with some of the best quality lodgings we have experienced in larger cities. Staff were friendly and attentive; breakfast was delicious. I will plan to stay here again! August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean New and reasonably priced Excellent Value. Clean,Friendly staff, nice swimming pool. ok fitness center. Food ok August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 July 14 stay All was great, only the coffee was bit weak. Very pleased with the service and room. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb customer service in a comfortable environment I spent 5 nights at this hotel while attending a nearby training for work. It exceeded my expectations on nearly every measure. August 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The AC Does Not Work The hotel turns off the AC when you leave. The room will always be warm when you get back. This is not pleasant in hot and humid Virginia. The AC takes about an hour or two to catch up, not cool. Especially when you are trying to sleep. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As expected Very nice newer hotel with very nice beds/sheets and pillows. Comfortable beds. Did not use restaurant/bar or the pool, so I can't comment. We had reservations....check in/out couldn't have been easier or faster IMO. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay at Great Price First time staying at this Holiday Inn in Wichester, we have previously stayed at other hotels in the area but none were as clean, comfortable, and convenient. This hotel was an extremel;y nice find and most reasonably priced for a quality stay that I will gladly recommend to family and friends traveling through the area. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Clean hotel but restaurant and bar lacked adequate staffing Very nice newer hotwl with awesome beds/sheets and pillows. Pool area was nice also. The only bad experience we had was with the bar/restaurant. The first night we ordered drinks at the bar and the bartender did not know how to make them. Said he was not a true bartender. The next morning we went down for breakfast and the two servers were desperately trying to keep up but faied miserably. There was no clean silverware and our food order sat in the window several minutes before we got up and got it ourselves. The next morning was the same thing. Waitress staff totally overwhelmed and this time no napkins. Once again we had to get our own food out of the window aftwr it sat there forever. The worst part was whwn my two sons came back from the restroom and pointed to the chef and said He was in the bathroom mom and didnt even wash his hands!" So my review is nice hotel but avoid the restaurant!!! July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As expected I was expecting a Holiday Inn experience and that is what I received, quite satisfactory with exception to the glitch with the wireless internet access. This was an anomoly and should not be regared as par for any Holiday Inn. (The router in my area of the hotel was experiencing issues). July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stopover on long trip This hotel was clean quiet and easy to get in and out of, right off the highway (I81). It was a nice break and we got back on the road rested. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Poor Restaurant My wife and I were visiting the Winchester area to visit Patsy Clines home and other sites in the area.The Holiday was exceptionally run and our only complaint is with the restaurant.The breakfast buffet at $9.95 was limited.There is another restaurant in the area that has a buffet at $7.49 with a much larger choice of items. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by WOKE UP 11PM at NIGHT AFTER WE WAS A SLEEP AND FOOD HORRIBLE Let me first say that we was greeted by a lovely young lady name Jessica . She is the type of person any hotel would benefit from by having her at their front desk. We decided to dine in the hotel restaurant. The first warning should have been that ever sing table but 3 was filled with dirty dishes and they was still there over a hour later when we left . We placed our order which to begin with was not written down just taken verbally . We ordered burger WELL done and fries and chicken strips and fries. A gentleman brought our food to us and immediately and I noticed my burger was with bacon and BBQ sauce no big deal I wont say anything . I also noticed my husbands order came with chips not the fires he asked for . Whe nI cut my burger blood came out of it and I told my husband I was not eating a burger that had blood coming out of it . Within seconds of saying that a the guy running bar came out and told us she had given me another tables burger. So we had to wait another 30 mins to get the right meal and the poor people across from us even longer bc their meal was all wrong as well. When we left we charged it our room and we left the dining room unhappy. Now for the best part as we laid sleeping at 11 pm our phone rang, it was the NUTTY waitress from the restaurant. She woke us up from a sound sleep telling us she did not have a credit card number on file and we needed to come to the restaurant right now and give her one. My husband got up to put his clothes and I told him no I had given them our credit card number and he was NOT going down there to call the front desk . Jessica answered was very apologetic and went over and took care of the issue as they did have a credit card on file. Needless to say we was already awake now and very irritated and angry that they would call us that late at nigh waking us up . My husband is a light sleeper and did not manage to go back to sleep until around 12:30 am . This was totally uncalled for not to mention totally disrespectful. I cant even imagine doing that to a guest . A BIG thank you to Jessica as she was a big help to us and kepy my husband from having to get up get dressed and leave our room at 11 pm at night . July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel, Good Prices, Close to Charles Town Great value and a very modern hotel. Great breakfast options available onsite, too. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service from start to finish Traveled from Pittsburgh for a wedding and the staff from top to bottom was great during our stay. Restaurant Manager was so courteous and great to talk to. Will always recommend this hotel for friends and family. July 16, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Belle Grove Plantation Hotel Exterior Day Front Desk Theater at Shenandoah University Family Drive-in Theater Apple Blossom Festival Relaunched Holiday Inn Express Winchester VA South Duck pond at Jim Barnett Park Virginia State Arboretum
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading