• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: STURGIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

1 king standard, 1 king wheelchair acc, 2 queen standards available. 20 dollar one time pet fee. Pets not allowed to remain in room by themselves.

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:28
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:17
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota

Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota.

Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial and the South
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota

Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota.

Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial and the South Dakota Air and Space Museum. Your family can also enjoy exploring the many natural caverns that dot the terrain, including Wonderland Cave Natural Park, the Black Hills Caverns and Crystal Cave Park, each within 25 miles of our hotel.

A stay at our choice hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota gives you quick access to area businesses including Jameson International, EKConnection and the Coke Bottling Center, along with access to the brand new Convention Center and its premiere meeting facilities. Also, take advantage of our convenient, free shuttle into downtown Sturgis, Deadwood or to the Rapid City Regional Airport.

During your stay at our hotel, enjoy all the amazing amenities we have to offer, including a Game Room, Fitness Center and heated, indoor pool with a Jacuzzi and water slide. Also, enjoy the free hot breakfast in the morning, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Sturgis hotel room deals to start planning your trip today.

View Less
Features
Our hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota is situated between Bear Butte State Park, a historic landmark located just a few miles east, and Deadwood, SD to the west, the historic old western gambling town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds, overall good Our experience was good overall. The beds are very comfortable along with the pillows. My only complaint is that the bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked. There was a ring in the toilet, like it hadn't been flushed in quite some time an no one had cleaned it in a while. Our last night our toiletries and bath mat were not replaced. Beyond that, the room was spacious and comfortable and we really did enjoy our stay! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visiting Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore Memorials Holiday Inn has changed it's image....and it is an EXCELLENT change!!! Based on some of the reports that I read before I checked in .... I said a prayer and moved forward. I am glad that I moved forward. The wood finishing in the elevator looked worn .. but you expect that from many that are carried to and from rooms. The ROOM was clean.. both in appearance and in the smell!!! No smelly odors!!! The staff was very friendly and very informative. They were the BEST. The bathroom has the latest faucet fixtures (that I have considered using in my home ... I was happy to try them out!!!) Thank you Holiday Inn for a very pleasant stay!!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay There were 6 in our party and we had accommodations for all of us in 1 room. Beds were comfortable. Pool area was nice. Free breakfast would be a huge plus! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent place to stay! The Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn is a fine place to stay! The grounds are well kept, the lobby is clean, and the rooms are comfortable. They have there own restaurant with great food. Last but definitely not least is the front desk staff. The most pleasant I've had contact with. August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Touring South Dakota Well equipped room, would have appreciated tea in the room. This hotel I'd perfectly located for downtown, Crazy Horse, Mt Rushmore, the Badlands and much more. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very reasonable pet fee, close to th park For the price of these rooms I think that when people make their reservations months in advance for years in a row and request park side you could do this for them. Rooms at this rate could have queen sized bed and a frig in the room. was nice to have a microwave at least. Rooms here need to be updated for the price. Guess we are paying for convienience. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room and friendly staff Comfortable bed and spacious room. The staff was very friendly and helpful with questions about the area. Our room was too warm for us but the staff worked to cool it down. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn convenient Stayed one night. Made use of restaurant for breakfast and dinner. A family of five could eat conveniently at hotel instead of getting in car to go to a restaurant or having the same standard free breakfast. This hotel was a nice break in routine as we were driving from Seattle to Hamilton ON over 8 days. But with convenience comes costs. This is not a location for the budget minded. However would stay here again and recommend this location. August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ANIMAL HOUSE IF YOU ARE ARE ALLERGIC TO ANIMALS, STAY AWAY, IT IS A ZOO. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay! We don't normally stay at Holiday Inn locations when we travel but we found ourselves in need of a room at the last minute. Reserving the room on-line was easy we did it about 1 hour before we arrived. Given the busy weekend in the area we were not expecting much. We were very pleasantly surprised! This was by far one of the nicer places we have stayed not only in decor but the room and staff as well. We will definitely stay at this location again and we'll look to stay at other Holiday Inn locations in the future. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff made it a great stay While it was difficult to obtain a room with this hotel, once I got there, the staff was very accomodating and helped finalize my reservation. The staff made the stay very comfortable. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sturgis Rally stay This is a very good hotel. We arrived and were met by Anna and Leon at the front desk. We had a little hiccup at check-in later that evening but Anna came to the rescue the next morning. We had been upgraded to a very nice room. We were there for 7 days and it was extremely enjoyable. I would recommend this location to anyone going to Rapid City, We also found everyone that we came in contact in South Dakota to be warm and pleasant. It was refreshing to see this. I plan on going back again next year and this will definitely be the place I will stay. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by home away from home Great staff over the past 20 plus years leading to good friendships. Caring people who really want you to completely enjoy yourself. Comfortable, safe atmosphere allowing you to really relax and enjoy the time in the Rapid area and Black Hills. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Travels This was the last hotel of a trip to the black hills, it also turned out to be saving the best for last. Great night sleep and we were well received. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Civic Center Wonderful place to stay especially if attending event at Civic Center. Friendly staff with very clean facilities. Good property. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly hotel We stopped at this hotel on our return trip from California, stopping to see Mount Rushmore. Our room was beautiful and pet friendly, which was important. The staff was welcoming, the hotel relaxing and friendly. We would definitely stay here again when traveling through South Dakota. Loved it! August 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed Comfortable bed. Pleasant staff. First room smelled of cig. smoke. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Oasis in Rapid City Very clean, friendly and upscale hotel. Location is convenient to Silverado Center and The Journey Museum. Quiet rooms, nicely appointed. Honestly, better than I thought it would be!! August 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff not particularly friendly On two separate occasions I felt like staff could have cared less about my needs. Rooms were clean. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff!!!! We really enjoyed the hotel and it's location. We wanted to say that every staff member that we came in contact with was wonderful. However, we also want to mention the Danae and David made our experience at the hotel even better! They are both are outstanding employees! August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend! Great hotel! Clean room and friendly, helpful staff. Hearty breakfast buffet. About a half hour away from Mt. Rushmore and a little bit farther to Crazy Horse. Kids loved the pool! Avoid dinner at the restaurant--overpriced and poor quality compared to breakfasts. Recommended! August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room and comfortable beds Great stay, best sleep, no need to adjust the thermostat. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and clean room We chose the Rapid City Holiday Inn because of its proximity to the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center. The room was very clean. The king-size bed was comfortable and the pillows were great! The shower head was high enough for my 6'4" husband to stand with ease. The staff was friendly and very professional. I will stay here again. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location Near walking path. Close proximty to Downtown. My Matress not most comfortable but rest of room and hotel GREAT. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rushmore Plaza We were thrilled with our recent stay at the Rushmore Plaza! The room was very clean and updated. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable! We all slept well for our entire stay. It was very convenient to have breakfast right in the hotel. Downtown Rapid City is a short walk, which is nice if you don't have a rental car. All staff members were very friendly and efficient. The free shuttle to the airport was another great feature! Overall, we had a great stay! July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel Great Hotel! Breakfast buffet was great and so was the service. Comforting atmosphere! Would stay here again! July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking at the Rapid City Holiday Inn As noted, please see my comments related to the parking issue I experienced while at your facility July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very Rude front desk person I arrived at the hotel around 11 & was told by one of the front desk clerks that my room wasn't ready yet but saw where I had requested an early check-in & it should be ready between 2-3. I called at 2:30 & spoke with Anna. She was extremely rude. She said she didn't see where I had requested early check-in (which was a lie since the other clerk had already stated it was on there) & told me that no one would be allowed to check in until 4 or later. I asked her why did the other clerk tell me that my room would be ready between 2-3 then? She then hung up on me! I called right back & she denied hanging up on me but said I could come check in (why was it available all of a sudden??). When I got to the hotel, she was still very rude when we checked in & apologized but you could tell it was phony. The next day when I stopped at the front desk for something, she told the clerk "You wait on her" very rudely & rolled her eyes. Because of her rudeness, we will not be back after staying at this hotel every year for 10 years. One employee does make a difference! Also, there was a dirty band-aid stuck to the front of the end table (clearly in site) & I ran out of hot water within 2 minutes. I didn't mention these issues to the front desk because I didn't want to deal with "Miss Extremely Rude". This hotel is way to expensive to have to experience these issues. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by like staying here Have stayed here before, great location for attending Hills Alive outdoor concert! July 22, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Spearfish Canyon Fly Fishing in Spearfish Canyon Bridal Veil Falls in Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lobby Downtown Deadwood Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading