• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: STURGIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

1 king standard, 1 king wheelchair acc, 2 queen standards available. 20 dollar one time pet fee. Pets not allowed to remain in room by themselves.

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:28
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:17
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota

Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota.

Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial and the South
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota

Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota.

Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial and the South Dakota Air and Space Museum. Your family can also enjoy exploring the many natural caverns that dot the terrain, including Wonderland Cave Natural Park, the Black Hills Caverns and Crystal Cave Park, each within 25 miles of our hotel.

A stay at our choice hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota gives you quick access to area businesses including Jameson International, EKConnection and the Coke Bottling Center, along with access to the brand new Convention Center and its premiere meeting facilities. Also, take advantage of our convenient, free shuttle into downtown Sturgis, Deadwood or to the Rapid City Regional Airport.

During your stay at our hotel, enjoy all the amazing amenities we have to offer, including a Game Room, Fitness Center and heated, indoor pool with a Jacuzzi and water slide. Also, enjoy the free hot breakfast in the morning, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Sturgis hotel room deals to start planning your trip today.

View Less
Features
Our hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota is situated between Bear Butte State Park, a historic landmark located just a few miles east, and Deadwood, SD to the west, the historic old western gambling town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 193 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bugs on window and drapes We had a 4 night vacation and stayed in this hotel for one of the nights. All were Holiday Inn or Express. This was definitely the worst one. We traveled with our two young children. Upon arrival, we settled in and set up the portacrib then left the room to sight see. The kids were tired and the baby fell asleep in the car on the way back to the hotel. We placed her in the crib and I went to close the drapes and noticed a bug on the drapes. I didn't think much of it until I realized there wasn't just one. I saw about 10 or so bugs on the drapes and about 5 on the window. And that was just at first glance. The window track was also very dirty and filled with dead bugs and debris. Gross. I'm not a bug person. But since the little one was already asleep, and the bugs seemed to be only in that area, I didn't request a room change. So I had to worry all night that bugs were going to be crawling on me or my kids. Didn't sleep well. Husband woke up during night feeling like something had flown up his nose. Throughout our stay I saw about 5 of the bugs not in the window area. In bathroom, and throughout room. I don't know what they were. Mostly some sort of flying insect. About the size of a fly. And a few smaller black insects. Yuck- wouldn't stay here again. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room Very Nice Hotel, excellent room and amenities. Excellent Hotel Location in Rapid City Area July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Conference Location My wife and I stayed at the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn since it was the location for a Military Association Reunion. The hotel staff did an exceptional job in supporting our planning for the reunion and provided superior service throughout our stay. The facility is beautiful, the conference facilities first rate, and the staff was exceptional. Of note was the support leading up to our conference and during our stay of the Sales and Catering Manager and her staff. Thanks for a great stay and a wonderful experience! July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible food The food was terrible and was really bad! The food was really, really bad! Hopefully I have now have used 50 characters! July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conference Holiday Inn Stay Check-in and -out were quick and accurate. Staff were friendly and efficiency. Room was cleaned well and quickly. While I didn't have a problem at the restaurant (my food and service was excellent) a friend did Staff did everything they could including not charging for the meal he rejected due to taste. They tried to provide another meal but, due to previous food poisoning at another hotel, refused and was not charged. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by When there is a problem, how does the staff handle it? Staff comes through 110% Even when the ceiling caved in the staff came through with a new room asap! July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by female comfortable heating cooling unit - also the internet and bathroom was very comfortable and easy to access and extremely clean. We use to stay in this Hotel frequently years ago, but quit because of the number of DOGS that we encountered, and we have alleries to cats and dogs. We didn't see very many animals on this stay. Thank you July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rapid City Holiday InnnExpress Pleasant experience, near CBD and convention center, and short trip to shopping July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The hotel, staff and services exceeded expectations. The bed was one of the most comfortale I've experienced. The buffalo burger at The Grille is worth a try. July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by IHG - Rushmore Hotel is comfortable and has excellent staff. Front desk and the catering personnel are knowledgeable and friendly. The facilities are well suited for larger group use. The shuttle driver was courteous and knowledgeable about the area. The business center could use some work and a point of contact for problems would improve its use. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion I am the reunion planner for our organization. This is our second reunion holding events at the Rapid City-Rushmore Plaza. The Catering Office, Banquet Staff, and Hotel Manager were very friendly, helpful, very accommodating and easy to work with. This year's reunion was a combined reunion, holding two receptions, a meeting, banquet with special program, and Sunday Breakfast, with registration days also. I received many compliments and great reports from attendees of the hotel, meals, and events. We look forward to our next reunion to be held at the Rapid City-Rushmore Plaza, again in three years. The number of attendee's we have is approx. 100. This hotel is very accommodating and in a great location. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place in a Great Place! The Holiday Inn in Rapid City was a great place for our Air Force reunion--and Rapid City is a WONDERFUL place to live/visit/work/play!!!!!!!! We hope to come again soon! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel! I loved this Holiday Inn. The lobby area is beautiful, very well decorated and comfortable. The bar area and restaurant were great, I utilized both. I loved this place, will stay there again when visiting the Rapids City area. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I had a great stay at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, the service was good, the staff were pleasant and helpful, and the waterfall in the atrium was soothing and beautiful. The shuttle from the airport is great service, and I enjoyed the company of the driver - which is amazing at 5am! And Mike the bartender makes a mean G&T, and the best margaritas around! I look forward to staying again next year! June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great and great staff....Thanks Thank you as always and excellent stay and staff...love staying here and will return.. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent for non-smokers High quality accomodations, next to civic center, well equipped for business and vacation travelers. The only reason I would not make this my primary choice for lodging is the hotel is 100% non-smoking and, as a smoker, I prefer accomodations that provide for the 20% of us that smoke, when booking for personal travel. June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I used my rewards points for this stay. I was charged the cost of the room anyway on my debit card, which caused me to have problems with my card at the final destination of my trip. My luggage was taken to different room than what I was actually in. There were no Kleenexes in the room or bathroom. When I went to check out, my rewards point balance was incorrect. The person at the desk was rude to me and was of no help to me. He was from a foreign country and very difficult to understand. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Excellent hotel, friendly staff, very clean and convenient. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay Our room was nicely updated and clean, staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel was a short walk from the downtown shops and restaurants. Easy access to the freeway and the area attractions. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place overall The place is very nice and the people are friendly. The staff are very helpful and the building is very well kept. Our only issue was the bed was very uncomfortable. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by need to update restaurant furniture Shabby furniture in restaurant area, waited for service at breakfast , finally went up and did buffet . staff looked uninterested. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in a Great Town We loved our stay at the Rapid City Holiday Inn! Staff was very helpful in giving us ideas for how to spend our time when we were in town. Thanks so much for an enjoyable trip to Rapid City, and the surrounding area! June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good place It was fine. The staff was the most friendly and helpful and happy I have ever seen. June 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel but poor housekeeping We stayed here for our son's wedding. (The wedding reception was also held here.) The front desk staff were excellent. The lobby and atrium area were great. Lots of comfortable and clean seating. Housekeeping was lax. On day three we asked housekeeping to clean our room and leave us fresh towels. Nope. We had to borrow towels from a family member in another room. We set the trash outside the room in hopes it would be removed. It was, but sheesh..should we have had to do that? The reception was beautiful and the hotel was super- accommodating. The event planner for the hotel did a fabulous job. We were very pleased with everything. The stay was good except for the housekeeping issue. I'm sure that they will remedy that right away or suffer the loss of business. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great brunch, comfy beds we stayed at the Holiday Inn in Rapid City for a class reunion. A local classmate booked a block of rooms there at a special price. The room was a great value for the price paid, the bar area allowed us to "take over" a space for a bunch of us to reminisce. We were given a private room to enjoy our Sunday Brunch which was excellent. Staff at all facets of this hotel were attentive and personable. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn-Good value We came to Rapid City to attend a performance next door at the Civic Center and were very pleased with our experience at the Holiday Inn. Our only point of dissatisfaction was the fact that the common areas (dining area in restaurant, lobby, gathering area near fountain) was very chilly. The day we arrived was quite cool and wet, so that may have had some bearing on the indoor temperature of these areas. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. The pool area especially was pleasant. We recommend this facility for anyone staying in Rapid City. June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This Holiday Inn is in a prime location for guests who want to walk to restaurants and shopping. The staff are friendly (if not the most efficient) and have experience working with large groups. IMHO, the restaurant and hotel are overpriced but it is a quality property with adequate meeting space, pool, fitness center, and other amenities. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent wait and hotel staff Exceptionally helpful and professional staff. Extremely clean. Close to city center and exterior is well lit for security and safety. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel Good location to sites in the area. Can walk to downtown. Food and drink at hotel were good. My only complaint would be house keeping not replacing towels when ask and not leaving enough towels. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean hotel at a decent value I was very impressed with the hotel from the first phone call I made to confirm my reservation to the easy check out. I would definately recommend this hotel! June 16, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Spearfish Canyon Fly Fishing in Spearfish Canyon Bridal Veil Falls in Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lobby Downtown Deadwood Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express.  Enjoy free wifi, free breakfast, and your choice of pillows.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading