• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: STURGIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

1 king standard, 1 king wheelchair acc, 2 queen standards available. 20 dollar one time pet fee. Pets not allowed to remain in room by themselves.

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:28
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:17
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota

Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota.

Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial and the South
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota

Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota.

Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial and the South Dakota Air and Space Museum. Your family can also enjoy exploring the many natural caverns that dot the terrain, including Wonderland Cave Natural Park, the Black Hills Caverns and Crystal Cave Park, each within 25 miles of our hotel.

A stay at our choice hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota gives you quick access to area businesses including Jameson International, EKConnection and the Coke Bottling Center, along with access to the brand new Convention Center and its premiere meeting facilities. Also, take advantage of our convenient, free shuttle into downtown Sturgis, Deadwood or to the Rapid City Regional Airport.

During your stay at our hotel, enjoy all the amazing amenities we have to offer, including a Game Room, Fitness Center and heated, indoor pool with a Jacuzzi and water slide. Also, enjoy the free hot breakfast in the morning, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Sturgis hotel room deals to start planning your trip today.

View Less
Features
Our hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota is situated between Bear Butte State Park, a historic landmark located just a few miles east, and Deadwood, SD to the west, the historic old western gambling town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 166 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful space Overall a nice experience. I loved the open concept and balcony inside overlooking the restaurant, bar, main desk etc. The beds were a bit firm for my liking but had a good night's rest anyhow. The restaurant was very reasonably priced and affordable. Two of us had breakfast everyday for less than $20.00! November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay! I stayed here for an entire week the end of October. It was clean, exceptional beds, wonderful welcoming staff, and overall beautiful hotel. The swimming pool/hot tubs worked well and looked like a spa. Very clean and exceptionally well kept. I swam every day -- some days twice--and the pool was great. The food was good in the hotel, with a nice coffee shop in the front. A very pleasant experience. Thank you. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow Good hotel but the experience is capped off by the excellent staff. Everyone I encountered truly cared about their job and the customer. In particular I recall Bryan in the restaurant and Big Dave! Keep up the good work! November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rushmore Been staying at this hotel for over 10 years and the staff and facility continues to out do itself every year. Love the room, quiet at night, shuttle, bar and the coffee shop is fabulous. Restuarant needs a little revamping on service and food. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible Staff This was our second time staying here and the staff was incredible both times. The rooms could use updating but the staffs abilities overcame any shortcomings. We will definitely stay with and recommend them again. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An quit clean plase to stay The staff was vary nice and would take care of any need I may have needed everyone would smile say hello October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay in Rapid City We were attending a dog show at the Rushmore Plaza Convention Center, so it would be impossible to find a more convenient place of that. But it turns out the hotel was very convenient to downtown restaurants and even provided shuttle service there and back. Our room was very comfortable and clean. And as we had an irregular schedule, the cleaning people were ver flexible in working with us. I had dinner one night in the restaurant and it was excellent and reasonably priced. All-in-all, a great experience. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room smelled like vomit If you were attending a conference this would NOT be a place to stay the smell in the room and the barking dogs were awful and we were there for only two nights. I complained to the front desk and ask for a manger and was told that they were ALL in a meeting. I also ask for a refrigerator for the room the first night we were there I was told by Shelby that it would be $15 per night charge and I am thinking this is how special you treat your two priority club members. Once I told them it was for my insulin I got the refrigerator at no charge. The housekeeper brought us extra pillows (the ones in the room went flat when you laid down on them), I asked could he spray the room because it smelled like someone had just vomited, his reply was they probably did. The spray helped for a while but I woke up to that smell and thought I was going to vomit myself. I used a can of Lysol spray but it did not help for long. That night as I was packing I pulled the rolling chair from the desk and then I found the vomit in the back screen of the chair, now I hope that I do not get sick. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff You should be very proud of your staff as they smiled and showed that they enjoyed their jobs. Even with the blizzard they didn't let that interfere with their jobs. Long hours and short sleep. I thank them all. Keep up the good work. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The people at this hotel are so friendly and accommodating. I stayed during a blizzard and was so impressed with the staff. They handled every need with a smile. The same people worked every shift and sincerely seamed to be enjoying themselves. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing service during a blizzard This hotel and its staff was fabulous during my stay. A rare blizzard hit in October and the city was shut down, most without power. The manager of the hotel did an amazing job of keeping the staff going and providing excellent food for the guests. The waiters and waitresses were working extremely long shifts, as was all of the staff, because no one could come in to replace them. They all had great attitudes...... cheerful, hardworking. Bryan was our favorite. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience Great Holiday Inn. Met all of expectations and more. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First stay in Rapid City The hotel staff was awesome. They provided a shuttle for us downtown and a ride back to the hotel when we inquired about taxi services in Rapid City. The coffee and gift shop were well stocked and again, super friendly staff. Plenty of room to spread out in our room. The breakfast and dinners were fabulous and reasonably priced. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly staff Nice rooms but a small refrigerator would have been a nice extra. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful property and staff. Best breakfast buffet. Shuttle driver and desk staff are superior! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Front Desk Staff The front desk staff was the best I have ever experienced in my travels. They were 100% ready for my families arrival. We had 4 rooms for 2 days and a 5th room for one day. The staff had everything ready and were amazing to work with. I would recommend them for any stays in the Rapid City area. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was a great location to use as our home base as we traveled throughout the Black Hills. We were also able to walk to downtown for dining and some shopping, and there was a shuttle available, however we did not use it. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Rapid City Great hotel with friendly staff. Ordered food from Grille very good but breakfast buffet needs more attention & checking if food trays getting low. Very comfortable bed, pillows & room. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dining I had breakfast each morning. I have no complaints about the food, I thought it was good. You do need to replace the chairs at the tables, the upholstery is getting pretty worn. Also, the edges of the tables have a wood veneer finish. These were sticky to the touch. They need to get wiped down thoroughly. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious suite, comfortable bed The staff was very friendly, greeting me as a Rewards Club member. The hotel Atrium is very attractive. The suite was large and well equipped. The hotel is beginning to show its age and the rooms could use updating - carpet in room and hall needs replacing., furniture dated and not too comfortable. Location right downtown is excellent, facing a park, very convenient parking. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience As a Platinum Priority Club member I stay at a lot of properties, and I have to say that on a recent mini vacation the experience at this hotel was outstanding. Very friendly staff. . .nice rooms. . .no issues at all because we were traveling with our dogs. . .even room service was great. I strongly recommend staying at this property. September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Granny1938 The check in clerk was very accomodating, pleasant, helped with directions to easily journey to Mt. Rushmore. Our breakfast waiter, was very pleansant and accomodating. I wanted to ask him why he had a toothpick between his lips both mornings, and am guessing he was trying to quit smoking Fine young man. Check out "bellman" asked if he could do anything to help us. Overall, a very pleasant stay. September 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice enough room Do not recommend this Holiday Inn though I usually love them! Room okay-restaurent-AVOID! Stayed two nights 9/1-9/3...got breakfast tickets for our suite. The first morning flies poured out of coffee carafe at table and waiter laughed about it. Bad service even after that. Second day ordered pancake (buffet flies everywhere)...52 minutes after ordered...nothing but couple a walk by jokes by waiter. Complained to three women working front desk and response was WOW! No body could care less...checked out and left. Very disappointed .... September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service comfortable, quiet, good food, good happy hour prices September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best stay ever!! We had a great experience staying here! The front desk gal was friendly, cheerful, personable, and very helpful at check-in. We had a really nice suite that was very clean with a comfortable bed. We had the greatest experience at the hotel restaurant for breakfast with a young man that seemed to enjoy his job and was friendly & entertaining as he served us. He started our day with lots of smiles & laughs. We had a very pleasant stay and will certainly stay here again. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay This hotel is very nice and clean. The staff is awesome. The food was very good. We only had one complaint and that was the big dog barking in the room next door but the front desk handled it. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large spacious room The room had a King bed and a sofa. It was very comfortable and spacious. The atrium in the lobby was gorgeous. The room was cheaper than a comparable room at the Holiday Inn Express near the highway. It does not come with a free breakfast, but the money you save on the room (compared to one at the HI Express) you can buy a very good breakfast in the restaurant. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NO problems No problems, good clean place, friendly staff and helpful September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel!! We were only staying one night on the way through Rapid City, but wished we could stay longer. The staff was great and the beds were very comfortable. I stopped at the bar at 10:30 and was able to get a terrific drink, but no food. I thought this was unusual. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will stay here again! Friendly staff, clean room, and a great location adds up to one thing: we will stay here again! August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great staff, needs updating. The living area suite furniture is very old and worn. Didn't feel comfortable with the cleanliness of the furniture. The bath and bedroom also need updating, The ceiling is in disrepair and stained. The pool water was very cloudy. August 26, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Spearfish Canyon Fly Fishing in Spearfish Canyon Bridal Veil Falls in Spearfish Canyon Hotel Lobby Downtown Deadwood Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading