• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SULPHUR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. A two hundred dollar penalty fee will be assessed to anyone bringing a pet into the building. Only service Animals are permitted.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:119
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking for guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:24
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:45
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:63
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Enjoy Both Lake Charles and Sulphur at this Hotel's Location

Why stay at a hotel in one city when you can have access to two major cities from the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sulphur (Lake Charles)? The hotel's facility is off exit 23 on I-10, which means it's easy to travel around the area for leisure or work.

The hotel's guests staying in Lake Charles or Sulphur, LA for business appreciate that industry giants, such as Conoco, Citgo, Westlake Group, Sasol, Basell,
View More

Enjoy Both Lake Charles and Sulphur at this Hotel's Location

Why stay at a hotel in one city when you can have access to two major cities from the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sulphur (Lake Charles)? The hotel's facility is off exit 23 on I-10, which means it's easy to travel around the area for leisure or work.

The hotel's guests staying in Lake Charles or Sulphur, LA for business appreciate that industry giants, such as Conoco, Citgo, Westlake Group, Sasol, Basell, Turner Industries and Bridgestone/Firestone, are nearby. A multitude of deals have been closed and contracts signed in our 1,250-sq-ft meeting room; this space is divisible into two smaller breakout rooms, and full A/V equipment and catering are available.

From casinos like Isle of Capri and L'Auberge du Lac and dozens of golf courses to fishing, hunting and helicopter tours, leisure guests learn that the area truly offers something for every interest. SW Louisiana, known as the "Festival Capital of Louisiana

View Less
Features
Exceeding expectations, our AAA Three-Diamond and Quality Excellence award-winning hotel's property in Sulphur - Lake Charles, LA provides 37-inch HDTVs in every room and free guest laundry services.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 139 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the staff, make you feel like you are family Love everything about this hotel, the food there is great November 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and quiet This is a no frills place to stay. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. The food in the restaurant is marginal. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, food, and comfortable stay. Great service after being on the road all day, coming in very tired. Check in and out was speedy and they took real good care of me and great food for room service. BTW VERY comfortable bed, didn't want to leave. November 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT ONE NIGHT STAY Only stayed one night but everything was great. Very friendly staff and the food was very good!! Great homemade biscuits for breakfast. Had business downtown and it was close to where I needed to go. If I have business in Lake Charles again I will stay there again. November 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay friendly/efficient front desk staff... easy location to get to, near the Prien Lake mall and restaurants... off the main road enough to be quiet... good water pressure in shower (always a plus)...got late check out to do some extra work, nice bonus... as nice a stay as any in LC over the past 6 years November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I stay at the Holiday Inn Lake Charles South hotel every time I am in Lake Charles for business. The hotel is beautiful and very well kept. The staff is great - everyone from the front desk personnel to the restaurant/bar staff is very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend this hotel whenever you have the need to stay in Lake Charles, LA!! November 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! I was very pleased with my stay here. The staff was exceptional and the hotel was very clean. The only complaint is how early the bar downstairs closed. Would definitely recommend and stay again. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location and Great Staff I stayed just one night for business but it was a good place to stay and comfortable. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Overall Solid Property & Staff The property speaks for itself. Well maintained, clean and up to date. However, the people are what set this property apart from the other Holiday Inn properties I've been to. The staff are beyond polite and accommodating. We hosted a series of classes over a week utilizing their event space, on-site food and services. They ALL went above and beyond to make us feel welcome & comfortable. And if you're lucky enough, get the bread pudding. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service! Most accommodating, nicest staff I've met at any of the IHG hotels I've stayed in around the world. October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Kim was very helpful with our check-in. Kim and the manager made sure we had everything we requested. The staff was friendly and provided us with great service. October 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Swamp! I stay at ICH's all over the US & Alaska and average about 6-8 months of travel a year. 99% of the ICH hotels are great. This one however I will have to give up on; the staff is AWESOME, the restaurant is ok and the restaurant staff is just ok. The real reason for my dissatisfaction is the room; although it is very smartly decorated (like all the others I have been too) my room at this hotel has always felt like a swamp! I have been to this property 3 times now for work and pleasure, like anything else I gave it a shot to find out if it was a one time deal or not. Everything in the room was damp, carpet, towels, bedding, everything. By the time we left (1-3 days at a time) even our cloths were damp. By the time we returned to California our cloths was still damp. This is not a staff problem, it's a management problem that needs to be addressed. I am a Platinum Priority Club member and average 500,00 - 100,000 points a year so believe me when I say I know what a hotel room should be like. Respectfully, October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay As usual the entire process from reservations, to check-in, to the stay, to check-out was outstanding to include the room condition/cleanliness and the staff friendliness. The best kept scret in Lake Charles. Keep up the good work. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant staff. Smelly room and not enough sets in the lobby area. No even a table and seats for a business working session!!!.............. Had to sit in the restaurant. Suggest a big re-org of the lobby area and of the fireplace area. October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not so good This hotel is supposedly less than 5 years old. It sits on the edge of a bad looking neighborhood, which is an unfortunate location. They employ a night security person who probably patrols the parking area, which is good except that it makes you wonder if they may have had problems. The management staff say pleasant words and have smiles glued to their faces, but they are ineffective at dealing with some real problems. The bathroom smelled most days as though it had been cleaned with a stale mop. I advised the desk person of the problem and I think they sprayed something that made the smell better for a few hours, but they did not fix the problem. The guest laundry had coin operated machines that wouldn't take the coins. Some or all of the machines were out of order. Apparently, none of the employees had a key to empty the coin boxes when they were full (why?). I bought a roll of quarters at the front desk and was surprised to find the roll was one quarter short when the coins were counted. Maybe it was just an accident? The wireless internet doesn't work. The signal is weak.. The desk people know about it and they have a huge supply of wired connectors for the unhappy customers to use. Why don't the managers or owner fix the problem? The indoor pool is pretty but the water is cold and not being properly heated. Unlike many hotels, this hotel doesn't serve a complimentary breakfast. At the front desk, they say this is because they have a hotel restaurant and they want you to buy a breakfast there. The hotel room prices are plenty high, so they could certainly afford to give you a complimentary breakfast. October 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy If it isn't the elevator shaft across the wall from you or the constant "music" from the elevators down the hall it may be the fights in the hallways that keep you up. Possibly the part of town or the clientele they have but I will not be back. September 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by HUH?? Everything was "As expected" until 4:48 AM! A policeman was apparently going door to door and waking everyone up. I was asked if I had been in a fight that evening, and of course not, I hadn't. But there was no apology or anything......I would have expected hotel management to do something differently than allowing the police to go door to door waking up every guest. I know I was not the only patron that was given the early wake up call in the form of a policeman telling me to "Open up, its the police!" September 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never Again... August 31-September 2, 2013 Get A Way Trip... Preview the room, before check in, seem nice. Day # 1 Once in pull back the shower curtain, ring around the tub, both beds in need of complete changing (hair), I put my glove on and clean the following microwave, refrigerator,and coffee maker, wipe lamp switches and handles to the drapes (dirty) plus all door knobs, counter tops and desks, phone, tv control. staff change bedding and clean tub. Day 2, microwave didn't work. Got it replace on day# 2. And found a large stain on bed # 2, asked that the room be vacuum on day 2. Staff replaced stain bedspread and replace the microwave. While waiting outside the room during the vacuuming notice the wall railing sticky and badly stain hallway carpet. We don't blame the staff at all. We feel that the staff DO NOT have the proper cleaning solutions, to seriously deliver a clean room to any customer. We feel if the bedding wasn't stuff in a washing machine and having a quality detergent, tub stain remover, a quality germ killer and good polish on a rag. Once a month steam carpet cleaning. Than this would be a much better place to stay. Never leave home without a germ killer and rags in your car or luggage.... $$$ LEARN EXPERIANCE/ Manger/Owner refuse to reimbursed $ September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Service We recently were guest at Hoilday Inn South and out stay was absolutely one of the most memorable and enjoyable days. We were greeted everytime we walked into the hotel and greeted on the way out. Room service was prompt and anything that we needed the hotel made sure it was right at our fingertips. We will definitely stay here again and I would recommend anyone to chose this place first September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff The rooms need a remodel and good cleaning. Most of the rooms smell like smoke with perfumed air blown through the vents. What made our stay at this hotel worth it? The staff. Every employee was helpful and extremely friendly. The only reason I would go back is to see the staff. September 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noise Complaints I stay at this hotel often for work. My current stay was not a good one. I had 2 different complaints by other guests for my TV volume being to loud. The first complaint was a call from the front desk waking me at 12:00 am on 8/28/2013, to inform me the TV volume was too loud. The second was at 10:15 pm on 8/29/2013 with security knocking on my door to inform another guest had complained. Both times the TV volume was not too loud for me to either sleep or to have a conversation on the phone. I called the front desk to inquire about the thickness of the hotel room walls. The front desk person said they are unaware if the walls are thin, but have to follow through with complaints by other guests. I for one agree with that on legitimate complaints. In the future I will request a room away from anyone else if possible, or choose a different hotel. August 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Musty smell in room All 4 people in our group (myself included) reported that their rooms smelled musty. Will look for another place to stay next time. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay My son and I stayed here on a business trip and ejoyed our stay. Roooms were neat and clean and the hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good find! We were in Lake Charles recently at the last minute and were very fortunate to find this hotel. The staff was excellent - accommodations good and the restaurant much better than expected. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks, August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, friendly front desk staff The front desk staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean and comfortable. We always enjoy staying at this Holiday Inn. August 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Better cleaning and maintenance needed I stay at a lot of hotels and usually find Holiday Inns very consistent on cleanliness and maintenance. While this hotel appears new and neat on the outside, the rooms are not very well maintained and in my case, the room was not cleaned well at all. First, the room was left propped open when I arrived and then I found trash in the trash can. I thought someone was still staying in the room. I got that resolved and then found a dead roach in the closet, a stain on the bed sheets, and the leather desk chair was wet with an oily substance??? The shower walls and shower head were also stained with hard water residue. Based on my experience, I will not be staying here again and cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. August 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service I took my husband on a surprise trip for his birthday. We were welcomed as we walked in by a front desk agent with a bright smile and personality to match. He asked why we were visiting and I told him it was my husbands birthday... He actually sang Happy Birthday in the middle of the lobby. He brought us a bottle water and offered to upgrade us for the special occasion. I am in my 15th year as a sales manager for a resort property and it was a perfect reminder that first impressions and genuine customer service goes a long way! Thank you RODNEY - you are a true STAR!!! August 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by DO NOT STAY AT THIS PROPERTY I arrived on a Saturday evening. Upon getting into my room, I noticed a very strong smell of cat. As if a cat had sprayed in the room. I was exhausted from a day of traveling and decided that I would wait until morning to voice my concern. However, I then went to take a shower and noticed no towels or wash cloths at all in the room. At this point, I called the front desk. A security guard was sent up with the towels. I asked him to come in the room and immediately he asked what was that smell? As it was late in the evening, he told me that he would let them know at the front desk to have the room cleaned thoroughly the next day. On Sunday morning, on my way to work, I stopped at the front desk to reiterate the smell in the room. The lady at the desk told me that yes it was noted and that a note was sent to the general manager of the hotel as that was the only way to get housekeeping to do anything. As a member of management, I feel that is very unprofessional to "air your dirty laundry" with non members of your company. When I arrived back from work that afternoon, I found the room still had a horrible odor. I went immediately to the front desk and asked for a new room. The staff acted as if I wanted the world. However, I was given a new room. This room appeared much better. However, as I went to use the internet, the wireless did not work in my room. I called the front desk and was told that I needed to come down and get an Ethernet cable. Too bad that cable was only 6 feet long. I really did not want to sit at the desk and use the laptop. Therefore, I tried to use my MIFI. However, there is no 3g or 4g in the hotel. Right outside the signal is very strong. Therefore, I tried to put the mifi in the window and catch a stronger signal. That would have worked, except that it was raining outside and the window was leaking. The window sill was covered in water. So I decided I might as well use the desk. At this point, I noticed that the faux leather on the chair was torn off of the arms. The inside material was hanging out of the chair. I have since left a message for the manager and have made a complaint online. Now 8 days later I have not heard back from anyone. I travel 75% of the time for work. Because of this experience, I will be avoiding IHG properties in the future. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just a suggestion from a platinum member. Great hotel, just a little too pricey for the neighborhood! This hotel should provide a shuttle service to the casino that is only one exit over! July 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room Cleanliness The hotel looks great on the outside, but not clean on the inside. I checked into the hotel and took a nap. When I woke up, I went to use the bathroom and there was urine on the floor in front of the toilet. I raise the toilet seat and and there is urine on the toilet bowl. It's like house keeping just came in and made up the bed, changed the towels and nothing else. I went to get some lysol and spray the room down. Also, the furniture is raggedy. July 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Sulphur, LA! Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Sulphur, LA! Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading