• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SUMNER
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

There is a NON REFUNDABLE 35.00 fee required to house a pet. The deposit is for the cleaning required to return the room to a clean status after check out. Pet must be registered at front desk upon checkin
Pet deposit amount  35.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown Sumner
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Enchanted Park Wild Waves
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
The Outlet Collection SuperMall
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Western Washingto Puyallup Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:136
  • Car Parking Available
  • Ample Complimentary well lit onsite parking, can accommodate large vehicles

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:112
  • Total number of suites:39
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:80
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:112
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Sumner, Washington hotel. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sumner, is conveniently located near downtown Sumner, is just a short drive from Tacoma & Seattle. The Seattle Tacoma Int'l Airport is less than 20 miles away. Leisure travelers can enjoy a comfortable stay at our Sumner hotel which is minutes from restaurants, shopping & local attractions. Wild Wave Theme Park, Northwest Trek, Point Defiance Zoo & the Aquarium, Muckelshoot Casino, King County Aquatic Center, Tacoma Dome are all near
View More
Welcome to Sumner, Washington hotel. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sumner, is conveniently located near downtown Sumner, is just a short drive from Tacoma & Seattle. The Seattle Tacoma Int'l Airport is less than 20 miles away. Leisure travelers can enjoy a comfortable stay at our Sumner hotel which is minutes from restaurants, shopping & local attractions. Wild Wave Theme Park, Northwest Trek, Point Defiance Zoo & the Aquarium, Muckelshoot Casino, King County Aquatic Center, Tacoma Dome are all near our hotel in Sumner & are great for family outings. Adults can spend an evening at the Emerald Queen, Muckelshoot Casino or watch the races at Emerald Downs Racetrack. If you want to shop, Auburn The Outlet Collection Mall is nearby. With convenient access to Mission Foods, Chambers Bay for golf, Medallion Foods, Sumner Industrial Park & Interstate Distribution our hotel is ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Joint Base Lewis McChord is just a miles away. A 24-hour business center & free, high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel will help you stay connected as you do business on the road. You can relax in the heated, indoor pool & whirlpool or work out in the fitness center. Enjoy a free Express Start hot breakfast bar. For a small fee of $35.00 you can bring your pet.
View Less
Features
Nestled in the Sumner Valley the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sumner keeps guests connected with free, high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 83 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by CUSTOMER SERVICE THIS IS MY HOTEL WHEN I COME TO SEATTLE. FOR YEARS, THE LOCATION IS PERFECT FOR ME. I HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY ROOM ON MY LAST VISIT, DAVID STEPPED UP AND MADE SURE I WAS HAPPY WITH A DIFFERENT ROOM THE NEXT DAY AND WHEN I RETURNED. GOOD JOB DAVID. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms Had to stay an extra 6 nights in Kent. Glad I was able to keep my same room:). Nice that it was close to airport for us business travelers. Thank you!! February 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and nice suites. We really enjoyed our stay in a suite. It was very clean and comfortable, and everyone was helpful and friendly. We liked having the dishes, and silverware. We would have loved to have seen recycling containers in the hotel, so as to recycle our plastc, glass, metal and newspapers/paer products. We were very pleased that holiday inn does not use styrofoam products, however. February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed and excellent staff The hotel is nicely laid out and easy to negotiate. The staff was excellent. My last night I inquired at the desk about a shuttle to the airport and it was agreed upon a 5 am departure for my early flight. I was greeted at the desk that morning with a white bag that contained assorted breakfast fare and instructed that the juice and coffee machines were up and running for my beverage. This was a great touch and went above and beyond. Highly recommend, very well priced. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very nice staff Very good location clean room the staff always was friendly January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by professional courteous staff a joy to stay at your hotel always taken care ofy all questions answered to our satisfaction January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We'll stay here again! We were recommended to this hotel by a friend, and we are glad we took his advice. We stayed here for one night before flying out of SeaTac for a week's trip. We were able to leave our car in the hotel's parking lot at no charge, and the convenient shuttle took us to the airport and picked us up promptly. We will definitely visit this hotel again when we take our next trip. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed and unbelievable service beyond expectations. The front desk staff went out their way to pack us a breakfast in a bag inasmuch as we were checking out at 4:00AM before the in-house breakfast started. This was a total surprise to my wife and I. Also, upon our return we found our car with a dead battery in the morning so the staff provided a jump-start to get us going - fantastic! It seems they can't do enough for you at this hotel which is really refreshing in this day and age. Customer Service Supreme! November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and quiet We stayed the night before we left on holidays and on our return, both times the staff was very helpful and friendly . On our return,we arrived late at night after the shuttle driver was off. We were told to take a taxi and they would pay the charge, awesome!. We would definitely stay again November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extended Stay The staff is always polite and very helpful. The rooms are kept clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this locations. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT BED & GREAT STAFF GOOD LOCATION NEAR A FREEWAY. PLENTY OF RESTAURANTS & PUBS NEARBY, ESPECIALLY SPORTS BARS & GRILLS. BREAKFAST COULD START AT 6 INSTEAD OF 7. THE STAFF REALLY MAKES IT FOR ME AT THIS LOCATION...GOOD JOB! November 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is in really bad shape Outstanding customer service but the hotel itself and especially the rooms are in poor condition. I travel weekly and I believe this is the worst Holiday Inn hotels anywhere. Workout equipment needs maintenance. November 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable stay.. Enjoyed my stay here. Very nice hotel with excellent staff that are extremely friendly and helpful. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The hotel staff is really on top of things!! We ordered cake to be delivered to the room upon arrival and they had it there the moment we arrived. The room was very clean, the staff was very courteous. I highly recommend this hotel!! October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Enjoyed my stay here. Very nice hotel with excellent staff that are extremely friendly and helpful. September 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lock the door This was for a business trip and as I was working at the desk in my room a maintenance man barged into my room without knocking. Had I not had the door stop engaged he could have came right in. Although he apologized this was not a great experience, all employees should knock on the doors whether the rooms show as occupied or not. This event alone has caused a poor review of this hotel. I was on the second floor and the floor was uneven, felt like it was bowed and the cable kept coming in and out of service. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel with good service and a few limitations I've stayed at this hotel at least 4 times in the past 5 years with May 2012 and August 2013 being the most recent visits. The front desk service, airport shuttle, and breakfast service are very good. The restaurant next door is also good. Outside jogging is OK along 84th Ave.; the sidewalks are wide with few big intersections to interrupt the run. Less impressive are... 1. Exercise room has elliptical trainer disconnected for no apparent reason. This has not changed since the May 2012 visit. 2. The bigger room with lounge and kitchen area separate from the bedroom gets stuffy. The bedroom has the a/c and the rest of the room does not get air circulation. 3. If you go to bed early (before 10pm), a room near the pool can get noisy. 4. Exercise room is rather small and gets hot with no fan. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Holiday Inn I stayed at this Holiday Inn because it was less expensive than the Holiday Inns closer to the airport, plus it was less expensive than a lot of the other better hotels near the airport. Unfortunately the airport shuttle runs on the hour so it's not as convenient as other hotels. But the hotel is comfortable the breakfast was OK (although the scrambled eggs had been out for a ltitle while), and the staff was very friendly. They do need to get their act together on happy hour at Mitzel's. I was told it was from 6:oo to 8:00 pm; I got to Mitzel's at 6:45 and was told happy hour ended at 7:00 pm. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay in the suites at Kent The 800 number for Holiday Inn stated that the room would have a stove and oven so we could make breakfast with the kids......when we arrived, there was just a microwave. There needs to be more congruency between corporate and the franchise. Other than that miscommunication, the room and the stay were great and we greatly appreciated the "kids eat free" policy. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff We were very pleased with the service at arrival, check-out and during the breakfast. August 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stinks We needed to travel to the Kent, WA area for a wedding. We read reviews about this property and gave it a 50 / 50 shot based upon the reviews. To our horror it was far worse than expected! We arrived late (9:30 pm.) and checked into our room (a one bedroom suite with a king bed, sofa sleeper in the living room area.) We arrive in our room to the wonderful scent of urine! It did not come from the bathroom area. We were exhausted after driving all day to get there and wanted nothing more than to sleep. We proceeded to fold out the “sofa sleeper” for our children. There was not any bedding on this bed! We looked in the closets and drawers. There was one very small feather pillow and some type of blanket or something? We called the front desk and requested linens for the bed and additional pillows to sleep. We were told that their driver was going, or went, to the airport and we could have linens upon their return, but no pillows. When someone knocked on our door at approximately midnight they had linens for us. I asked about pillows and the gentleman stated that he could give us two. We followed him to the supply room and waited and waited only to be rebuffed with no pillows. Needless to say after asking for basic needs, that could not be met; we wondered what kind of business this was? We thought hotels / motels provide a place to sleep with the basic needs to do this. I guess we were wrong on this account and would never walk through the door here again! I did speak with the General Manager on the next business day regarding these issues and was refunded the costs. It is not a matter of costs. It is finding a place to rest for the night (with basic needs and standards to their brand.) . This location failed and needs to be noted as such! It does not matter if you play the odds regarding refunds / complaints to survive. August 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Roomy Suite Staff was excellent -- very attentive and capable. Breakfast was excellent. The rooms were large and clean -- all in all an excellent value. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay. We were fortunate to have a room on the first floor by the pool. Our kids thought it was fantastic. We stayed 1 night so didn't get much time in the pool but no complaints. We found the rooms very clean and very spacious. ( We had a King suite) August 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't think I will stay here again This is an old property. The room I had showed the typical signs of an aging hotel in that areas of the room that get cleaned less frequently show more filth over time. The Jacuzzi in the room was nice and very large. The water remaining inside the pump and pipes was dirty and ruined the clean water I had filled the tub with. The air bubble valves were nasty. Once they were turned and open black stuff was underneath. The housekeeper did not clean the bathroom floor. The breakfast was the same food that is served by Holiday Inn Express. The problem was not the food but that the breakfast area is entirely too small for the number of guests that pack in. The restaurant next door was one of the worst meals I have ever ate. The staff were extremely helpful, courteous, and polite. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Staff was friendly, helpful and just excellent all around. August 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Really Old Hotel This is an old hotel, the kind of those that look like motels. Expensive and not worthy at all. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay This is a nice place to stay. Easy access, good location, plenty of things to do close by. Room was clean, decent pool and spa. Bed was just so-so. I travel here on business regularly and I'm sure I'll be back. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by IHG Hotels, including Holiday Inns My wife and I live in Sequim, WA, about 100 miles NW of Sea-Tac International Airport. When we travel by air, we always stay at Holiday Inn, Kent, WA. It offers friendly, competent and efficient staff, free shuttle service to and from the airport, cost savings park-and-ride, excellent free full in-house breakfasts, and excellent, economical accommodations, with an exercise room and swimming pool, and an adjacent Mixel's Restaurant. This "package" is about as good as it gets, anywhere in the Greater Seattle Area. As a result, we find that the consistency of Holiday Inn accommodations and amenities almost anywhere we travel are the best for the money and most convenient for our needs. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We stayed 2 nights prior to flying out of SeaTac airport. We left our car in the parking lot and the hotel provided a shuttle to and from the airport. We were very happy with our rooms, location and the hotel services. July 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small and dated rooms First impression was a 40 minute wait at Seatac for shuttle to pick us up. No apology from driver for the long wait, instead she started cussing at traffic (dropping F-bomb while driving - how classy). Check-in clerk friendly. Room very small, dated but bed was in good condition and everything worked. Tiny vanity - no room for much more than a toothbrush. Carpet filthy. Breakfast area crowded but staff kept everything refilled nicely. Good biscuits and gravy. Would have been a decent value if it was half the price. July 20, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Entrance Hotel Lobby Sumner's Friendly Front Desk Hotel Lobby Sumner Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading