• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SUPERIOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry No Pets Accepted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Barkers Island Marina
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Bong World War II Heritage Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
University Wisconsin-Superior (UWS)
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Fairlawn Mansion
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Off street parking in our 1 level lot. Plenty of parking for vehicles with trailers. Call ahead if you will require special parking arrangements.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:5
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In
View More

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In addition, companies like Murphy Oil, Enbridge Energy, BNSF Railway and Canadian Pacific Railway are moments from our property in Superior, WI. Lodging with us also means you can take advantage of the meeting facilities, which can seat up to 30 people.

Leisure travelers find plenty of sights to see, too. Because the hotel's address is near Duluth, MN, visiting Canal Park and Spirit Mountain is a breeze. If you enjoy history, set aside a day to visit Fairlawn Mansion & Museum and SS Meteor Maritime Museum and the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center, which is literally right around the corner.

We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay in Superior, WI. When lodging with us, patrons enjoy great features, such as an indoor pool and whirlpool, and we have a Fitness Center to help you keep up with your workout routine. Call today and stay with a name you can trust at a price you can afford on your next trip to Lake Superior.

View Less
Features
While you stay in Superior, Wisconsin, the hotel's free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar can help you feel energized all morning long. Don't forget to try our signature cinnamon rolls and coffee.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 377 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Newer Rennovations Like the updated security of the elevator key card access. Great access to all things Duluth. Comfortable space for relaxing and resting. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Business or Pleasure Stayed on Business and is so convenient to downtown. They did excellent job on renovations of hotel. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcome experience. Always a welcoming staff and location. I love the rooms that I have stayed in and the staff recognizes me when I return. September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel This hotel is in a great location and offers complimentary transportation in the Duluth area. The front desk staff is is very friendly and attentive while responding quickly to any needs you may have.n September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Service - Wonderfully Updated Rooms We stayed in downtown Duluth early September. The hotel staff were very friendly and made sure we had what we needed during our stay. The interior renovations are absolutely wonderful! It's updated, it's classy, and it's CLEAN! Our bed was very comfortable. The desk area in the room was appreciated. The city sky walk was under construction, which we would have appreciated knowing at check-in. So, we used the shuttle to go back and forth to Canal Park and our driver, Austin, was very friendly and informative about the nearby sites and a bit of Duluth history. All in all, it was a wonderful stay and we'll be back again! September 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Could've been a lot better We checked in a half-hour after check in time and couldn't wait to relax. To our surprise, when we got to our assigned room we told was available and ready, there was a step stool by the window, tools on the table and the blinds were broken! I quickly inspected the rest of the room and observed the following: the windows were filthy, the TV guide and some wrapper was on the floor in front of the bed, there were dark strands of hair on the bathroom floor, a dirty Q-tip was next to the trash can on the floor by the bathroom and the TV counter hadn't been wiped down because it was all sticky and dirty with wet rings near the tray of glasses including traces of white powder/sugar left on it. We immediately tried to call the front desk but the phone wasn't even working! All we heard was a dial tone after hitting the operator and guest services buttons. My boyfriend found a maintenance worker in the hallway and he came to our room and tried to repair it. I stood there for an awkward 10 minutes while my boyfriend went to move our car to the non-loading parking lot so we wouldn't get charged an extra fee. The maintenance worker left without having fixed the blinds but said he could come back to fix them later but we wanted our privacy to relax and were quite upset. I wanted to switch rooms and get an extra discount for all the trouble but my boyfriend insisted I say nothing so we wouldn't get the workers in trouble so I decided to write a review instead. Our reservations were for two nights so we stayed two nights. On the second day, we left our room for several hours and left the please don't disturb tag on the door but when we returned, someone had gone into our room. We guessed it was the maintenance guy because our blinds were all fixed and he left us a candy bar with a note. I thought that was wrong of him to enter our room before calling us to make sure it was okay. The candy bar was nice but definitely not enough to make up for all the trouble we had with our first time experience with this Holiday Inn and Suites. I wish the check-in clerk would have informed us of the situation prior to giving us that room or would have just given us a room that was completely ready by 4pm. We enjoyed the food at Sneakers and Porter's very much and there were some positives to the room/hotel but overall I was not happy and thought we paid too much for that experience! September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Had a great stay at this hotel, staff was very helpful! Room was done well beautiful view of the lake and the lift bridge. September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Duluth- the San Francisco of the North Great scenery, food and exploration opportunities. The Holiday Inn is convenient to downtown and one has the San Francisco opportunities of steep hills without those pesky charming cable cars, beautiful vistas, and some amazing restaurants. September 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced No breakfast For the price you spend here vs other hotels its kind of a slap in the face not to even get a continental breakfast. $300 a night for a average room with no perks what so ever is pretty steep. The bed was fine and there wasn't anything wrong with the room its just spendy. September 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Newly refurbished. Cafe and public areas could use some added attention Nice job with the room upgrades. Shower and bathroom areas have a nice modern feel. The view is likely the best in town if on the lakefront side of the hotel. The public areas could use a bit of freshening but overall my stay produced a good nights rest. Good value too and the staff went so far as to match internet pricing without much fuss! September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor housekeeping Our room was comfortable and clean when we arrived. We stayed for 3 nights . On our second day we left the room at 9am and returned at 3:30 to a dirty room.. Housekeeping was in the hall and asked me if we wanted our room cleaned, I told her of course we did. We left the room again so they could clean it . We returned to our room and discovered all she did was empty the wastebaskets and make the bed.. No towels, water cups , vacuuming ,general cleaning or coffee cups was done. We had to call the front desk and request them. September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Bad Wi-Fi This hotel had bad Wi-Fi and not enough elevators. Beds and rooms were nice and the view was goo also. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort I stay in a lot of hotels and by far the quietest hotel and most comfortable beds around very nice September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good hotel This hotel is very well kept and a good place to stay for a reasonable price. The only issue we had was very slow elevators throughout our stay. The staff was aware of the problem but didn't offer any solutions. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay again Very nice hotel, parking ramp made it interesting to find the front lobby, but once we did it was fine. Was conviently located to everything we wanted to go to. Would have been nice to have a cont. breakfast for the price of the room. The beds are very comfortable and the room was generally clean. all tho they did not clean out the frig from the last guest and there was left overs in it. Also there was long hairs behind the bathroom door, which we just picked up with a Kleenex. We spent the extra for the Lake view room and it was worth it, we go to see the boats, lift bridge and the city lights. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I very much enjoyed the overall conditions in the hotel plus the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Close proximity within walking distance to Canal Park was important to us since we were on motorcycles. The special motorcycle parking was also great. We had a great time and a great meal at Sneakers Restaurant thanks to the great service friendlyness of Rob the bartender who made our time there very pleasant. September 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Trying to be something they are not. Rooms were way to expensive for the quality and luxury level. August 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overwhelming chlorine put a damper on our stay My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn while we were in Duluth for the Air Show. We appreciated the ramp's free, covered parking; the complimentary shuttle, which took us to and from the Air Show grounds; and delicious (generously sized) breakfast omelets in the hotel's restaurant. Our room was large and tidy, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom contained thoughtful amenities and plenty of towels. We had to adjust the air conditioning to a shiver-inducing 68 degrees (or lower) to remove dampness from our room. This dampness, we guessed, came from the hotel's indoor pool, as did the overpowering aroma of chlorine. It was difficult to walk down the halls without coughing, in fact. And, each morning, I awoke with bloodshot, swollen and irritated eyes. I mentioned the chlorine problem to the front desk when we checked out, and they said they'd had to use more chlorine than usual after an "incident" in the pool. Best bet: Ask for a room far from the pool. August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Views of Lake Superior, Ship & Aerial Bridge! We stayed here one night in August, and thoroughly enjoyed the view of Lake Superior, and the ship Irvin, and the Aerial Lift Bridge! The hotel is in the middle of downtown, so you also have views of the downtown area. Our room was great (although not real clean), and everything worked well. The stainless steel pool and the whirlpool were nice. The sauna did get warm, but the heater was not working properly (only one element was working), so it was very slow to heat up. The sauna benches were a weird design. The sauna could definitely use a remodel, it's old. The hotel was in good shape otherwise. Hotel personnel were helpful, friendly. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay, and will come back again (especially if they get the sauna working properly!). August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The Holiday Inn Duluth has as "professional' a staff as I have encountered at any hotel. My room was exceptionally clean and well attended. Great value, as well. All in all, it was a very pleasant stay at this quality Holiday Inn facility in Duluth, MN. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great comfortable room and nice staff I appreciated all the nice touches such as coffee, tea in room, free upgrade for platinum member. The best deal of all was that prompt 4:30 AM ride to the airport with the free shuttle. The location has a great antique store right across the street and nice gift shops and food choices in the same building. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Duluth Visit Skywalk Access makes getting around no matter what the weather, so much easier. Continental Breakfast would make experience better. Parking is nearby for easy access and free! Nice location to do leisure activities of all kinds. We were poolside and it was fairy quiet. The 10:30 closing hour was adhered to making rest more enjoyable. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and unexpected room upgrade My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn in Downtown Duluth. When we arrived, we were allowed to check in TWO hours early which was awesome since we had been hiking all day at Gooseberry Falls. Also, our room was upgraded to a King suite on the 16th floor (top floor) with a view of the lift bridge. We ordered a small meal from room service and although the food arrived promptly it was pretty average (I recommend skipping the gyro if you do order something). Overall, we had a great time in Duluth and our stay at the hotel was great. I especially loved the noon check out, I haven't been able to sleep in for months so it was nice to not feel rushed in the morning. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Such great customer service We had such a great stay!! Very clean and comfortable room. We all slept until about 8:30!!! We love the pool and pool area! Great for kids, which was the MOST important for us! We asked for a later checkout and the girls at the front let us stay an extra hour! More pool time! Thank you so much for everything!! August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Duluth Great service, check in was a pleasure, all my needs taken care of. Kaylyn was fabulous. Hotel was quiet, but very busy. Would definetly stay there again. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great place My wife and I really enjoyed ourselves at this Holiday Inn, within walking distance from Lake Superior and close to several places to eat. Will always stay at this hotel when visiting Duluth. Thanks for the wonderful stay. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel This is a nice hotel. Little old. The restaurant has a good breakfast. Sports bar is not so great. Overall this hotel is good. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel in Duluth Staff is warm and responsive. Location is convenient for anything downtown, walking distance to Canal Park, DECC, etc. Rooms are clean and well-maintained. Kids love the stainless steel pool. Only complaint is that the toilet paper is unbelievably thin. Next time, I'll try to remember to bring my own! August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay when in Duluth. The staff is always friendly and helpful. Rooms are always ready for me when I get into town. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice clean room downtown Over all my wife and I were really happy with our stay . The only thing that was dissapointing was the sky in one area going to canal park was down for repairs (not holiday inns fault) In order to use it to crops the highway we had to go out to the street and down a few blocks to bypass the construction. This wasn't a bad thing we like exercise but there is a bus stop in front of the hotel that always seems to be busy with questionable people. They tend to stare and it's potentially uncomfortable for some. We went out one night and for of duluths finest were reading a guy his rights for what I'm not sure , the other night there was a young lady with a baby in the stroller fighting with a guy about personal issues (similar to Jerry springer episode ) other then that the room was very nice and clean on the 10th floor and a nice view towards the lake. August 17, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading