• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SUPERIOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry No Pets Accepted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Barkers Island Marina
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Bong World War II Heritage Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
University Wisconsin-Superior (UWS)
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Fairlawn Mansion
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Off street parking in our 1 level lot. Plenty of parking for vehicles with trailers. Call ahead if you will require special parking arrangements.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:5
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In
View More

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In addition, companies like Murphy Oil, Enbridge Energy, BNSF Railway and Canadian Pacific Railway are moments from our property in Superior, WI. Lodging with us also means you can take advantage of the meeting facilities, which can seat up to 30 people.

Leisure travelers find plenty of sights to see, too. Because the hotel's address is near Duluth, MN, visiting Canal Park and Spirit Mountain is a breeze. If you enjoy history, set aside a day to visit Fairlawn Mansion & Museum and SS Meteor Maritime Museum and the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center, which is literally right around the corner.

We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay in Superior, WI. When lodging with us, patrons enjoy great features, such as an indoor pool and whirlpool, and we have a Fitness Center to help you keep up with your workout routine. Call today and stay with a name you can trust at a price you can afford on your next trip to Lake Superior.

View Less
Features
While you stay in Superior, Wisconsin, the hotel's free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar can help you feel energized all morning long. Don't forget to try our signature cinnamon rolls and coffee.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 472 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service from fron desk to shuttle bus driver to housekeeping !! Holiday inn always a pleasure : ) November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place Is nice and peaceful if you don't stay by the pool, which can get loud. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for EV Owners The hotel has four level 2 chargers (Charge Point) in prime parking spaces. The parking garage, hotel commons areas and rooms are newly renovated and very clean. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Duluth, and an excellent base for North Shore excursions. Highly recommended. November 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice, good location I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights for business. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The internet was fast and didn't cut out. The room was nice and dark for sleeping. The tv remote control was the grossest thing ever. I washed it off with a cloth from the bathroom and there was brown all over the towel. I hope the person before me was just eating a lot of chocolate while watching tv.... :( Luckily I had lysol cloths with me to kill germs. We had the alarm go off at 2 am, and we all went outside for 45 minutes. At least I know they were keeping us safe even if it was annoying and we never did find out what was going on. The hotel was quiet and I thought the bed was very comfortable. November 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by another bad experience there must be a reason that you request that we refrain from mentioning competitors or the specific cost of a stay. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great job Excellent room, great service. Convienieng shuttle, excellent restaurants inside very affordable. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, convenient and great beds and service. We will be back, I think this is the 5th time we've stayed. The rooms are a nice size, not cramped. Like the bathroom sink outside of the bathroom. Clean and quiet. Staff was very accommodating. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable bed and great service Everything was very nice, but when 10:30pm rolls around, be prepared to be asked to leave the pool area. November 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The hotel is in an old building with an odd layout. The staff make up for it with excellent service. They were friendly, and special requests were accommodated at the restaurants. Everything was clean and well maintained. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend! Our stay was one of our most enjoyable stays at a hotel in some time. The check in lady was most helpful; the room was clean and very updated; the resturant food was amazing and we had no issues with noise from other rooms. Highly recommend this hotel!! November 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Room! Initial room was filthy and appeared not to have been cleaned at all! The room we were moved to was better but still not thoroughly clean. We will never be back to this Holiday Inn. November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice View Had a nice view of the city and lake. Walked down to the pier and enjoyed a nice dinner. Close to shops and restaurants. November 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Third time is the charm I checked into my 1st room which I had waited for so I could have a city view & it was of a parking lot. I left the room & when I returned, I had a note informing me that I would have NO hot water in the morning from 10 till 1. The girl at the desk acted shock that I wanted a different room & what was so bad abt taking a cold shower. Then a young man gave me a room one floor above the pool & it was dark & not one person was around. It was scary and probably seem more so after coming in from the street & street people every where, coming up & wanting money. I was alone, tired, scared & in tears. They then gave me a third room, which was a very nice suite with a great view. So I guess 3rd time is the charm! Just Exhausted!!!!!! November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay The staff was very professional and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. My only complaint was the tray by the sink that held all the soaps had hair in it from someone shaving by the sink. Otherwise everywhere else was clean and nice. Great location, right by the lake and downtown. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Weekend We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn in downtown Duluth for a recent wedding I was in. The accommodations were great, check in was easy and the lake view was beautiful. Porter's restaurant on the main floor of the building serves a great breakfast to start your day. The hotel staff also provided us a shuttle service one evening to some of the local entertainment establishments in the downtown area free of charge. In terms of overall satisfaction for our visit, Holiday Inn receives my greatest recommendation. Thank you October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and large rooms Definitely would recommend this hotel. Great location amd easy access to other facilities. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, convenient, clean I am in Duluth almost every week. Last week I attended the Chamber of Commerce dinner and enjoyed another great stay at the Holiday Inn. The hotel feels very fresh after the remodeling. The shower only executive room with a lake view is wonderful. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Who knew Duluth Lets face it Duluth is not on most peoples list of "got to see places." We stopped to visit family and decided on Downtown because, ..Why Not? The most interesting thing is you feel like your in a big city without the big city crowds. We were on the 16th floor and the view well let just say I sat and look out the window for quiet a while. The room beautiful and comfortable. Ok I know this is corny but I want a shower door like the one they have. So there you have it big city feeling, comfortable rooms, great view and that shower door? October 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Good, Bad, and Terrible Room was nice, clean and comfortable. My Coworker and I went to the Sneakers bar and grill as recommended by the front desk. Rob was the first bartender/server and I would say he was a delight! Rob engaged with everyone during happy hour and is quite the example for all to follow. Unfortunately, just the very opposite happened when Juli took over for him. I fielded a call and informed Juli that I needed to step out and it could be awhile before I return, but that I promise to return without a doubt. The call took an hour and twenty minutes and when I returned Juli informed me she put a "flag" on my account. I might mention, I did tell her room 1213 if she has to leave for some reason. When I asked Juli whom I should speak with about the "flag" she said "The manager, but don't worry about it because the manager already yelled at me for it, they don't care about us as we are only peons" I requested her to tell me who the manager is so I may straighten this out as I have been platinum for 15+ years. She refused. My coworker and I just tossed it up perhaps Juli was having a bad day. However, it then even got worse as we watched various groups and single people come in. She was flat out rude to everyone so we realized at least we were not alone, unfortunately. I watched three different people come in and wait to put an order in only to have Juli standing at the north end of the bar chit chatting with a friend...all three of them left without ordering anything as they had waited over ten minutes. Enough was enough so we asked Juli about it and her response "I don't get paid enough to deal with this "expletive" " At this time we settled up our tab and went on about our night. This was an absolute embarrassment to what I have become accustom too with Holiday Inn. This experience alone would make me hard pressed to choose this hotel again. This was the absolute worst display of professionalism I have seen in my 20 years of travel. Disgusted. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel. Roomy and clean. Good location. I would stay here again. We had a Suite and plenty of room for 2 adults and 4 kids. Rooms were clean. Hotel was close to everything we wanted. We liked this better than the pricier hotel down the street. We ate at Sneakers for lunch before we left and it was ok, nothing great. The only thing I would recommend is having a continental breakfast the guests. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Pleasant room with harbor view Having a harbor view made the cost of this downtown Holiday Inn worth it! October 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Duluth Downtown Holiday Inn This is my third experience here and one of the things I enjoy about this Holiday Inn is great staff and check-in. Two things that are always a slight set back and I think related - I always seem to stay when there are a large number of juveniles who run wild/loud later in the evening and the wireless internet service is SLOW. I suspect with everyone having IPhones, tablets, laptops, etc, that there are so many users at any given time that the system chokes up. Difficult to update reports and corporate emails when you spend half the time waiting for connection. Great rooms that are sparklingly clean. Great shade so you can have slight amount of ambient light or none at all. Excellent location for anything/everything in downtown Duluth. Safe and secure parking. Having the Porters resturant, Sneakers Sports Bar and the Greenery, right there - one elevator ride from your room or the conference room is extremely handy for work as well as meeting clients/co-workers. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amenities The rooms were spacious, the bed was comfortable. Housekeeping almost invisible but rooms clean and restocked every day. We had banquets there and the food was very good. Sneakers Bar has a great Bloody Mary! ( although I would ask for less Tabasco sauce next time) October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, Clean, and Friendly Hotel is easy to find. Very fresh and clean. Helpful and friendly front desk staff. Would definitely return to this hotel. October 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected Although the hotel received a "refresh", some of the room weren't that great. October 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Loosewheel The pricing for a room was high. We ended up being on a floor that had a pool so we were woke up by pool noise at 8am. The bathroom floor had hair by the bathtub. Gross! October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent shuttle service. A kind, caring staff that was more than willing to help make a stressful situation easier to deal with A huge thank you to all of them October 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Weekend with family My husband and I along with my niece and her husband and little boy stayed at the Holiday Inn to celebrate my 4 year old great nephews birthday. We came up from Rochester, MN. and road the train and then checked in so it was early evening before we got our room. I reserved a two room suite so that when we put my nephew to bed the adults could spend time together playing cards or what have you. Although to my surprise we did not have a "suite". We had two regular rooms that had a common door to come into. There was no common area for the adults to sit. The photos on the web site are a bit deceiving, it has a picture of a suite that shows a couch and chair, and then also a picture of a King Bed Suite with two queens. I was a little disappointed that we were not able to sit comfortably together after the child was in bed. The pool area was nice but it was very cold in there. The pool itself was warm but the air was so cold we were only able to enjoy the pool for about 30 minutes and had to go back to our separate rooms. The beds were amazing and the staff was also very nice. I just would never pay the much again for a two room suite at that property and I will make my friends and family aware of the set up. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and affordable If your traveling in the Duluth area I recommend considering the H I for its location, cleanliness and affordability October 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not clean. Elevators slow Our room wasn't clean. We found an empty beer bottle and a lighter near the bed. The elevators were extremely slow. One or two must have been out of service and when an elevator showed up a staff member often filled it up with a cart. That was odd. Front desk was always cheerful and friendly. Good location but not a good value. October 16, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading