• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SUPERIOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry No Pets Accepted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Barkers Island Marina
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Bong World War II Heritage Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
University Wisconsin-Superior (UWS)
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Fairlawn Mansion
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Off street parking in our 1 level lot. Plenty of parking for vehicles with trailers. Call ahead if you will require special parking arrangements.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:5
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In
View More

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In addition, companies like Murphy Oil, Enbridge Energy, BNSF Railway and Canadian Pacific Railway are moments from our property in Superior, WI. Lodging with us also means you can take advantage of the meeting facilities, which can seat up to 30 people.

Leisure travelers find plenty of sights to see, too. Because the hotel's address is near Duluth, MN, visiting Canal Park and Spirit Mountain is a breeze. If you enjoy history, set aside a day to visit Fairlawn Mansion & Museum and SS Meteor Maritime Museum and the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center, which is literally right around the corner.

We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay in Superior, WI. When lodging with us, patrons enjoy great features, such as an indoor pool and whirlpool, and we have a Fitness Center to help you keep up with your workout routine. Call today and stay with a name you can trust at a price you can afford on your next trip to Lake Superior.

View Less
Features
While you stay in Superior, Wisconsin, the hotel's free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar can help you feel energized all morning long. Don't forget to try our signature cinnamon rolls and coffee.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 373 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This was our first venture to Duluth and the hotel worked out perfectly. Great location as we were able to walk just about everywhere using the skywalk. Didn't eat at the hotel as there were many places to eat within a short walking distance. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall cleanliness, and staff Staff very friendly and helpfull. Over cleanliness of hotel and room, excellent. Will stay again. Very relaxing. June 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will not stay at this hotel again. We payed premium dollar staying at this location and expected better quality and service for the price. Immediatley upon checking in we found a dirty rag in the closet. The room was not stocked with towels and coffee for 4 adults even though we were charged and extra $20 a night for the extra people. Coffee was not restocked for the next morning. The sofa sleeper was not made up with sheets even though I had specifically requested it. The beds were narrow and uncomfortable. We asked for softer pillows and were told only the pillows in our room were available. We went to the pool at 8:15am and it was still locked. We had to go back to our room and call. At breakfast at Porters there was an onion floating in the creamer. I was very dissatisfied with my stay. The one positive thing I can say is the response from housekeeping in terms of bringing additional towels, coffee etc was extremely fast. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view of Lake Superior Had requested a lake view suite to share with my grandson and his wife. They were 1st timers at that location, and were truly impressed with the 10th floor view June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quiet and comfortable beds A quiet room is important for me. I needed the rest and got it. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay for a huge conference Pros Very clean, even the remote Quiet, even when very full corporate discount newly renovated room cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful, one gave great directions Cons Hand held shower head kept falling Elevators were horribly slow, ten min or more waits on the upper floors. Limited options for forgotten items, no hairspray for example NO FREE COFFEE DOWNSTAIRS. I could care less that a grungy tiny coffee pot was in the room. I have no idea where that thing has been and I am not using it. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed and comfort Best mattress I have ever slept on..would love to know what kind it is. It was a little difficult to cool the room down! June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Service We were in town on our Honeymoon, the woman at the front desk asked and congratulated us. She sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne and a beautiful note with well wishes! She really went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic! June 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Worst hotel we stayed in on our 30 day driving vacation. One day they came on and collected used towels and made the bed and never came back to clean anything. We are tidy people but they did not even. Clean around the sink. I know there is construction but the inside was extremely dusty and you could not even see out of The window. The wooden chairs and inside of the windows was Covered with dust. We left one day early as this hotel was very expensive for the time we stayed and not worth it. No ice machine On our floor as it was broke and on the second floor where the restaurants were too many homeless people asking for money and following you around. Never again and I have family there. Started work at 5:00 am in the morning and it was not a good experience as they were very noisey. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service, Fair accomodations We stayed in a suite next to the pool. The pool area was nice and had a large hot tub. The room was dark and although the carpet and bathroom fixtures were new the wall paper was old, furniture was adequate but nothing special. The bathroom was very small and I can't imagine having six people staying in that room. Okay for sleeping but not a lot of room for other things. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Leaky toilet I was trying to sleep and the toilet would continue to "run" all night. I wanted to leave the bathroom door open to have a bit of light in the room. Not much sleep. Our conference was in the hotel and I was surprised there was not a continental breakfast at the hotel. We had a dinner in the ballroom and it was beautiful. The salad, dessert, and potatoes were very good, but my steak was as tough as shoe leather, others had there's bleeding on the plate. #very unappetizing# We asked for more dinner rolls and no there weren't any. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good place to stay Good bed, good shower, good restaurants, good pool, good hot tub, great dark blinds, clean and comfortable, good staff. The parking structure was a plus as well. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff! I stayed at the Holiday Inn-Duluth for a conference. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Being from out of town, I was not sure where to go, what to see, and where to eat....they assisted me every step of the way! Sneakers had wonderful food and it was reasonably priced. Will definitely stay there again! Thank you to all of the helpful people that made my trip an even better experience! June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! Comfiest bed and pillows ever! Quiet! Loved it & would stay here again. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by King Suite I was upgraded to a king suite while I was there for a conference and was very impressed by how comfortable the room was. If I had my choice I would have stayed and enjoyed the room while forgoing my meetings. Thank you for a wonderful stay and I hope to be back soon. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff service!! I can't say enough about the staff at The Holiday Inn Duluth!! We were in town for a wedding and the staff graciously and with a smile shuttled us to the rehearsal dinner, the wedding, reception AND back from each! Aaron was an excellent and respectable young man who accommodated our needs in every way! We learned that last weekend was going to be his last, as he was returning home. The front desk staff was amazing and accommodating as well! Happy to have chosen to stay with you! May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome newly renovated rooms I had the pleasure once again visiting the Holiday Inn Suites May 23rd. I had a newly renovated King room. It was very nice, spacious, clean and really comfortable. The dark blinds made a added touch as well as the Keurig Coffee maker with a selection of coffee & tea. The only thing I suggest is have more sugar and creamer as I found 1 of each was not enough. The room is perfect for someone coming in on business as it has a very large workstation. My husband and I always love going to Sneakers Bar for wings, they are soooo good. Brandon is awesome, has great customer service and alway pleasant and very knowledgable. Brandon as always been there when we have. Not sure if he ever takes days off. Brandon is a great asset for Sneakers. I will definatley return to the Holiday Inn Suites next time I am in Duluth May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay We've stayed here for years for our yearly AMSOIL Dealer meeting. The rooms are always clean, the water is always hot for showers and the beds are about the best I've ever slept on. This hotel is convenience to all things downtown Duluth. Most places are within walking distance. We look forward to our stay here. May 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok The stay was fine,I stayed there for business reasons. And was unable to use the internet. Not a big deal but I have a online business. So it put a stress on my sales for that week. May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad but you better be in shape First the bad, the extremely slow elevators are a big minus. You can easily wait 20 - 30 minutes for an elevator that is not already packed to beyond full. With this many floors, this is a big issue for those with luggage or those who can't climb 10+ flights of stairs. The pools are OK, but the rooms around them are extremely noisy. Our room had a fridge, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and a nice TV. This hotel has a very strange entrance/lobby, inside the parking garage on level three. There are skyways to get round the downtown and down to the DECC and Canal Park. I'd give it a C+ May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay I spent 6 nights here in may 2014. The staff was friendly and nice. Good bed, good shower, good pool, good hot tub, good restaurants, the dark shades were great for sleeping in! The attached parking structure is very nice and convenient. Security personnel were visible ( but I did not see a need for them ) their presence may be why I saw no need. Access to the skywalk system was impressive. Overall it was a very comfortable stay and I would stay here again. May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, room not so hot Everyone who I encountered that worked for Holiday Inn was very pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean but our view was of the roof top and several satalite dishes, and there was a party room right across from our room so it was pretty noisy until 11:30 or so. We turned on the air conditioning fan to make some little white noise and that helped a lot! Not sure why a party room is directly across from a hotel room. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 one thing Great location, loved room 1313 with lake view and nice telecommuting accommodations BUT I wish the hotel was still dog friendly :-( May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sink-in comfort Soon after my request for soft down pillows, they were delivered to my room with a smile. They enhanced the comfortable of my bed and room. A wonderful, comfortable stay! May 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty rooms and rude front desk staff The room had food on the floor when we checked in. Toys (no children with me) were under the bed skirt. The pantry by the front desk charged far too much for items. It would be much better to have access to a vending machine. When I asked the front desk for assistance, the evening staff was rude and unhelpful. I would not recommend staying for a relaxing weekend May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick weekend getaway My wife and I decided to visit Duluth on the spur of the moment and chose Holiday Inn - Downtown Duluth because of its proximity to Canal Park. Originally got a standard queen room but was able to be upgraded to a King Executive! We stayed in a room facing the south so had a GREAT view of Lake Superior and Canal Park. The room was spacious and comfortable. Definitely would stay again when coming up north! May 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Blind eye to gang harassment We stayed at the hotel for a conference. The conference facilities were wonderful and food was delicious. Upon arrival our room was clean, however the housekeeper didn't even pick up wet towels or dirty dishes when "cleaning" the room the first day. My husband had to throw wet towels into the hallway and request clean ones after the room had been "cleaned". The primary issue we had with the hotel was the group of young men wearing gang colors who hung around the area and seemed to enjoy intimidating hotel and restaurant guests. Hotel staff seemed to accept the activity as normal. We were followed in the skywalks and noted blood in more than one location between Canal Park and the hotel at 8:30 PM. Others at the conference talked about similar harassment by the group in hotel elevators. They clustered at the door outside Sneaker's restaurant, making it very uncomfortable for restaurant guests to enter and leave. Not even a complimentary cup of coffee in the lobby. May 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair points today Staff - excellent front desk service. Comfortable to stay here and convenient. I will stay here again if I have to be by the DECC. A few things we noticed in our room 1103 - The bathroom door wouldn't close properly, the heater and air conditioning buttons were broken, so it blew cool air constantly. We needed the blankets from the other bed to be comfortable. The electrical outlet in the mirrored/sink area outside of the bathroom was loose and our curling iron kept coming out of the outlet. Very annoying when you're trying to get ready for the day. This needs to be replaced. Our blinds were hard to open and close. I wonder how old these are. I think this room just needs to be checked by a maintenance person and these things fixed, otherwise others will have the same complaints. Also, no continental breakfast which is always a plus when staying at hotels. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and couple of problems with room I was in town for a conference. The staff was excellent and attentive. Only 2 problems with the room. One bed the sheets hadn't been changed from the previous guest (hair on pillows and sheets) called down to the front desk and they sent someone up to change right away. Other was the room thermostat would change to 60 degrees until we moved it all the way to 75. So either cold or hot. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding research We decided to stay at this location when we came to town to book our wedding venue at Greysolon Plaza. There are hotels that are a little closer, but I was intrigued by the better pricing offered, and I have such fond memories of staying with Holiday Inn/Holidome properties when I was a kid. Let me say, this did not disappoint. The location is great, the style of the property is modern, clean and easily navigable. The staff was friendly and offered many suggestions of places to go see and things to do during our short stay. It looks like they are still in process of some renovations, but so far so good! It all looks great and is nice and clean. The beds and bedding were wonderful, the view was beautiful, and I love the Keurig coffee maker in the room. Added plus, the level of response, professionalism, and price point got me to sign on the dotted line for a block of rooms for my wedding. They are so helpful and responsive. (The other hotel I had inquired at has left me hanging for 2 weeks with no pricing or proposal). That is such a tremendous value to someone who just wants to get things done! A++ May 7, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading