• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SUPERIOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry No Pets Accepted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
University Wisconsin-Superior (UWS)
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Old Firehoue and Police Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.7MI
Attraction:
The Depot
Distance From Hotel:5.7MI
Attraction:
William A. Irvin
Distance From Hotel:6.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Off street parking in our 1 level lot. Plenty of parking for vehicles with trailers. Call ahead if you will require special parking arrangements.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:5
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In
View More

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In addition, companies like Murphy Oil, Enbridge Energy, BNSF Railway and Canadian Pacific Railway are moments from our property in Superior, WI. Lodging with us also means you can take advantage of the meeting facilities, which can seat up to 30 people.

Leisure travelers find plenty of sights to see, too. Because the hotel's address is near Duluth, MN, visiting Canal Park and Spirit Mountain is a breeze. If you enjoy history, set aside a day to visit Fairlawn Mansion & Museum and SS Meteor Maritime Museum and the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center, which is literally right around the corner.

We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay in Superior, WI. When lodging with us, patrons enjoy great features, such as an indoor pool and whirlpool, and we have a Fitness Center to help you keep up with your workout routine. Call today and stay with a name you can trust at a price you can afford on your next trip to Lake Superior.

View Less
Features
While you stay in Superior, Wisconsin, the hotel's free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar can help you feel energized all morning long. Don't forget to try our signature cinnamon rolls and coffee.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 299 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I would just recommend a complementary breakfast in the morning that most hotels offer that's the only thing I was dissatisfied with and they need some more staff they got a little busy and we had to wait awhile to check out. All the staff were friendly and new the area well and the hotel was clean even though it was under going some construction. I would consider staying there again we enjoyed it and had a great stay, Thank you. December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remodel looks great I've been staying at this Holiday Inn for almost ten years. Always been a nice place to stay. The remodel looks great. Not sure if it was on purpose, but the lakeside room I had on the tenth floor had a perfectly centered view of the lift bridge when I walked through the door. Great hotel, great staff. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Duluth Stay Comfortable stay with helpful staff. Staff went above and beyond anytime I called on them. Kudos to the Holiday Inn Downtown Duluth. December 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great downtown hotel I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. There is free covered parking, hotel shuttle, and internet. The only drawbacks for this hotel is that there isn't free breakfast and the internet is painfully slow. However, I would stay here again. December 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not pleasant Our recent visits for hockey were disappointing due to the site needing to be updated. The rooms were not very clean and our door didn't even lock when shut. I had to slam it multiple times. Most of the equipment in the workout room were out of service and very dirty. December 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cheap and cold Called for a shuttle from the airport and was told it will be at least an hour. Took a taxi and the taxi driver said they have an account with his company and he thought they would cover it but they wouldn't. I stayed at another hotel that supplies their guests with taxi vouchers, I was told the account was only for flight staff that stay there. I guess they are way more important then just me. Checked into the room pulled the bed out to plug in phone charger, there was what looked to be used toilet paper behind the bed. The thermostat on the wall did not show any numbers on it so I thought the heat was controlled automaticly but my wife and I had to get up in the middle of the night and put on a sweater it was so cold in the room. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, poor sleeping accommodations The staff was helpful, the restaurant food was good, nice location but all three of the rooms we were assigned in our group smelled horrible. The pillows were extremely large and full. We all ended up with sore necks after the two night stay. Bummer. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and staff. Everything about my stay was perfect! No complaints. I'm definitely going to make this hotel my permanent location whenever I visit Duluth. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great bed and wonderful people The front desk was friendly, efficient and courteous, taking care of all my requests without hesitation or difficulty. All the other hotel staff I encountered were friendly and accommodating. I have had chronic back issues and the bed was supportive and comfortable which is exactly what I need for a good stay. I will be back. The recreational facilities were clean and well stocked. November 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Look Elsewhere I have stayed at this hotel before and my past stay was worse than others in the past. I was in a room that was not modified, there was construction that made working in the room in the AM impossible & the pillows were not even full size. I would recommend looking at the Superior Holiday Inn Express (have not stayed there) or at a different chain in Canal Park. The price and quality are not worth it…Even for the points. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and clean rooms Affordable and within walking distance to many sites. November 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience Our stay nov 8-10 was less than great. We have stayed in many holiday inns before, we had no housekeeping the entire weekend I had to finally call late Saturday night to get more towels to shower with. there were no microwaves anywhere except behind the front desk so if you wanted to make something you had to walk to the front lobby with your food. I was not impressed with this particular holiday inn November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed in room 813 is extremely uncomfortable and sunk in the middle. Pillows are awful. Pool was wonderful. Staff was wonderful. Uncomfortable bed in room 813 Nice pool Nice staff Nice location Nice view out window oK restaurant Bad pillows Terrible water pressure in shower November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room, nice to have food service so close. Happened to be staying on a tuesday night, great little managers party. November 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by very unsatisfactory We love staying at holiday inns but this stay was not great at all. The room wasn't very clean there was food still on the floor from previous guest. The light in our bathroom went out so it made it very difficult to shower or utilize the restroom on general. Very imhappy with stay and the fact we filled out a comment card and still no reply So iI'm thinking customer satisfaction not so great either. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room great service We had a wonderful stay! We needed a bigger room and were upgraded with ease! The staff was friendly and helpful! The suite was very roomy and exactly what we needed! Instay at the holiday inn whenever possible!! November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable beds. Beds were very comfortable. Food in the Porters (breakfast & lunch) excellent. Other eating place nearby along with some shopping in small mall within Hotel complex. Security to rooms was very good as hotel is downtown with a mall. and skyways. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Loved my stay at this property and they also upgraded my room without any extra cost. Great experience. Will definitely stay on my next visit. November 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall stay. Duluth, Minnesota The hotels elevator situation needs to be fixed. Waited much to long to get a elevator and when you are staying on the 14 th floor the stairs are not always a choice. The hotel was very noisy with many intoxicated college students staying there celebrating Halloween. Bad experience. We paid a lot of money. Would not recommend. November 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too many drunken teens in the halls Loved the hotel location and skywalk to the DECC. No fan in bathroom. Not impressed with the sorority activity at the hotel with drunken teens banging at the room across the hall at 4 am. Needed more Security patrolling the floors. October 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by dirty room When my husband checked in before picking me up at airport, he said the bathroom was very dirty, but he is not one to call and complain. By the time I got there, I was sick with the flu and way too tired to complain, until the next morning. The rest of the room was not clean, either, the phone on the table looked liked it is has never been cleaned. When we got into bed, by husband said I wonder if the bed is clean, which made me not sleep well. At breakfast, my husbands food came cold, which was taken back and reheated, so not too bad. This was our first time staying with you and I am pretty sure our last. The only nice thing was the morning from the desk girl, Kayla. Because of me having the flu, she had sent up water, tea and stuff for my stomach and a very nice card. That was very thoughtful. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! The staff was knowledgeable and very helpful. Totally willing to help me out when I needed to leave something for a fellow guest. Great bar, nice pool. Loved the view. Solid hotel. My only complaint are the lobby computers are super out of date. Out of date browsers on out of date operating systems. Many web-based services are phasing out support for both, and soon people aren't going to be able to do anything on them. It was a chore just to print one thing off. I highly recommend they get updated. October 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and slow elevators I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years, this experience was not the best. My 11th floor happen to have a sorority reunion going on and they partied all night long on two of the three night I was there. Unfortunately it was right in front and next door to my room. I had my kids with me who needed to be up early for a hockey game. We did not sleep. Secondly the elevators were soooo slow. I waited 12 mins to get on one and waited 5 to 10 mins several other times, that's just not acceptable when carrying items. Especially when staying on the 11th floor. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for cost Nice accomodations for a downtown location. Rooms were clean, quite and comfortable. While I appreciated the in room refrig it was loud and if I had not been so tried the noise could have been an issue. Good onsite parking and at no additional cost. Quick and easy drive to the places I wanted to visit - GlenSheen Mansion and shops at Canal Park. The one way streets in the city made it a little tricky to get to the hotel iniatially, and GPS was a big help. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed with Cleanliness Dirty towel was hanging on the back of bathroom door when we arrived. Empty pizza boxes from dinner from our first night were still in our room on the floor beside the trash can. Empty pizza boxes were then moved outside our room hoping that someone would take away as neighbours adjacent to our room had room service. Thought this would be taken away at some point in time but was not and remained outside our door for 2 days. Contents of pizza box was kicked around the outside of rooms adjacent to ours on the morning of check out. Very disappointed. Will not stay at this hotel again! October 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Group check in needs work I stayed here based on other reviews that said the property was recently updated. I saw no evidence of this. When we arrived, a large number of other guests were checking in for a conference in the area. Unfortunately, instead of using a conference room, etc. to check in these guests, the hotel chose to check them in in the lobby, roughly eight feet in front of the elevators, creating a huge bottleneck for guests trying to access the elevators. Major hassle and not well thought out. Was recognized as platinum and upgraded to a room with a view of the lake, which was appreciated especially since the hotel was pretty full. The room itself however was outdated with a lack of available outlets for today's devices, and the bed was in the bottom half of what I expect at a Holiday Inn. Also had major issues with getting the door open. The lock would go green and the handle would turn, but still had to put a shoulder into the door to get in. Took three or four tries every time we left the room. Called the front desk several times for directions, etc., and got a prompt, courteous and helpful response every time. A+. Parking garage is set up to "keep left", not right. Weird. Even though the garage is supposed to be for a fee, there was no one on duty to collect stubs and fees at any of the four times we came and went during our stay (afternoon, evening and morning) Breakfast in the restaurant was above average. Didn't try the "Greenery". While the downtown location and access to the skywalk system was convienent and the staff was excellent, the facility is in real need of a facelift. My wife also felt uneasy about the area. I will probably choose another location for my next stay in Duluth. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all around fantastic everything about it was great the kids had a good time adults have a great time we will definitely be back October 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Time for a revamp Very disappointed in this hotel considering the price and location. Rooms are in extremely unacceptable condition. Hallways look like they haven't been touched since the building was built. Bathroom must've been remodeled by someone hired on a whim off of Craigslist. Fridge is from the 80's. No free breakfast. Gold Elite members get one BOGO drink offer, very disappointing. Will not stay again. Only reason this place is full is because of the location. Did not meet expectations. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay We stayed in a newly remodeled room in the hotel with views of Lake Superior. Absolutely beautiful! October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Personable, helpful staff I was very pleased with the cordiality and help of staff and their willingness to offer assistance and information as needed. October 17, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-14-2014)
Check Availability
Loading