• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SUPERIOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry No Pets Accepted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Barkers Island Marina
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Bong World War II Heritage Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
University Wisconsin-Superior (UWS)
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Fairlawn Mansion
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Off street parking in our 1 level lot. Plenty of parking for vehicles with trailers. Call ahead if you will require special parking arrangements.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:5
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In
View More

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In addition, companies like Murphy Oil, Enbridge Energy, BNSF Railway and Canadian Pacific Railway are moments from our property in Superior, WI. Lodging with us also means you can take advantage of the meeting facilities, which can seat up to 30 people.

Leisure travelers find plenty of sights to see, too. Because the hotel's address is near Duluth, MN, visiting Canal Park and Spirit Mountain is a breeze. If you enjoy history, set aside a day to visit Fairlawn Mansion & Museum and SS Meteor Maritime Museum and the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center, which is literally right around the corner.

We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay in Superior, WI. When lodging with us, patrons enjoy great features, such as an indoor pool and whirlpool, and we have a Fitness Center to help you keep up with your workout routine. Call today and stay with a name you can trust at a price you can afford on your next trip to Lake Superior.

View Less
Features
While you stay in Superior, Wisconsin, the hotel's free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar can help you feel energized all morning long. Don't forget to try our signature cinnamon rolls and coffee.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 342 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I stay at this hotel weekly, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They recognize me at each visit, and manage to have all of the paperwork ready when they see me walk through the main entrance. Check-in literally takes 2 minutes. Several years ago, I booked rooms for an event for work, and they actually remembered me when I called last month to make my upcoming reservations. The hotel is under renovation, but I have to say it's moving along very quickly. I have not heard any construction in any of the rooms I've stayed in. The front desk area is completely remodeled and very nice, and the rooms are pretty, quiet and comfortable. I rarely hear anyone around me, and sleep like a rock - which is not typical for me while staying in a hotel. I really like that the elevators require your key card to reach most of the floors. I'm a woman traveling alone, and that is very reassuring. I haven't used the pool or hot-tub yet, but the swimming area is quite lovely. There are restaurants and a convenience store just an elevator ride away. Very convenient. I highly recommend this property. February 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Way too restrictive unless you just want a place too sleep With the lobby under construction there was no where to sit with the group we were traveling with. 10:30 is acceptable for quiet time, but way to early to be sent to our rooms. With the pool area being the only area to sit, visiting quiet enough to not disturb the guest rooms should remain allowable...especially on the weekends. If someone needs a quiet room, there seemed to be more than enough non-poolside rooms available. Also, we reserved a hospitality room and were even kicked out of there at 10:30 on a Saturday night. The room remained untouched by staff until morning. We should have been allowed to stay as late as we wanted as long as our noise level didn't disturb other guests. It was totally unnecessary to kick us out of there. Group sales staff were wonderful and room arrangements were great. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hockey weekend Staff was very polite and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff willing to accommodate our teams needs in order for families to be close to each other. Team room provided at a value which helped everyone relax and enjoy the weekend. Look forward to returning in the near future. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New remodel They're in the process of lobby remodel but staff is excellent and rooms are very nice. Elevators are slow. Overall excellent experience. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was great! We arrived with an unexpected guest and were upgraded to a larger room at no charge. The desk staff was very accomadating. We had a great stay. The only complaint was the heating/air conditioning unit was loud and cycled frequently. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was good... remodeling made it interesting to get to the pool, but everything was good. The pool on the 4th floor was very chilly and the showerhead in my room was not very good, but those both were very minor inconveniences. Overall was a good stay. Our group had 3 adults and 3 toddlers. using the attached skywalk we were able to walk almost entirely indoors to Bentleyville. This was a huge convenience of staying at this hotel. We already have reservations to return next month and more than likely will become a monthly event for my family. January 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room but it was dirty Beds were clean and comfortable but ice bucket, floor and table were dirty. Crumbs and other foods on the floor. Bathroom floor dirty. Not worth the cost. Staff was very nice though. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our place to go We have recently come to were we will be going to Duluth more often and like the canal park area. We have stayed at three other hotels and tried Holiday this time. This is the place we will be staying from now on. Many factors from location, facilities and mostly the staff. Pool atrium gets a little loud if you go to bed early but nice rooms if you have kids January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A somewhat relaxing weekend in Duluth I was up in the Duluth area for a weekend of winter hiking and picture-taking along the North Shore. The best positives about the hotel are the room cleanliness and speedy Internet access -- getting online was really easy, and checking the weather forecast from my room was really nice since I was really monitoring the then-deteriorating conditions carefully. I stayed in room 1044 during my weekend there, and this had the overlook of the pool down on the 8th floor. I had one mishap where I wanted to order breakfast on Saturday morning, and I still saw the door hanger posted when breakfast was supposed to arrive. After checking with the front desk when I returned Saturday night for my second evening at the hotel, the staff was quickly able to issue two "fun money" certificates, which I felt really appreciative for, although at the end of my stay, I never ended up using them. I also ended up re-ordering breakfast for Sunday morning, which I did receive and was a great way to start my day for the drive back home. One of the nagging things about my room that I probably should have mentioned was the fact that I was hearing some kind of rapping noise in the ceiling, near the window across from the heating unit. I don't know if there was some sort of dripping coming from a pipe in the ceiling, but it continued pretty much all night, so I wasn't able to sleep very well (or very comfortably for that matter). The bed and pillows were fine, though. Finally, the pool area on the 8th floor smelled so heavily of chlorine, I actually felt nauseated at times. Actually swimming in the pool was fine, but if there was some kind of ventilation system in place to disperse the air or move it around, it would be nice. Overall, the central location of the hotel in proximity to a portion of my sightseeing locations all along the North Shore was beneficial, since it's roughly halfway between where I live in the Twin Cities and the Canadian border -- it's two hours or so either direction. The room was great minus the dripping noise I heard. Staff are very open for answering any questions and great about responding to guest's needs or complaints. I hope to make a return to this hotel soon. Duluth is a wonderful city to travel to any time of the year! January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay We had requested a handicapped accessible room and we got room 314. All it had was a grab bar in the tub (none by the toilet) and no stool in the tub or no walk in shower. My husband, who has had a stroke, had to take a sponge bath each day because he cannot get in and out of a tub. Also, we never got clean glasses while we were there. The same dirty ones were left in our room all weekend. Other than that, the room was quite clean and the staff was friendly. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a Great Time!! Rooms were comfy, staff was pleasant. Hotel was under construction, but did not seem to affect us much. Would definitely recommend to anyone who asked!!!! December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I doubt you'll find better service anywhere! I stayed at this hotel while a loved one was in the hospital. I wasn't at my best, I needed rest and didn't want to track around town for food or groceries. The staff was excellent! The hotel clean and quiet.The room had a fridge! I was next to the pool and hot tub which was wonderful to experience at the end of the very long and trying days! Did I say the staff was superb? They were! The restaurants in the hotel were good and the hotel van brought me to and from other location so I don't have to drive in snowy weather! Drivers were very personable and polite! Actually the entire staff was professional and polite! Where ever I met them, lobby, elevator, hallways, pool area, restaurants- They were all great! Five stars for the staff!! On this trip my hospital stay ran into a flight planned out of town and I discovered that the hotel had a stay and park deal. I had already stayed two nights so parking my car in the ramp for my trip was complimentary and the van brought me to and picked me up from the airport. I didn't have to park it in the outdoor lot at the airport! Hurray! AND it was in the ramp so it started even though the temps were well below zero! I can't think of a reason I would stay at any other hotel while in Duluth for work, pleasure, hospital or air travel! Great job everyone! December 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty and Noisy The room we were given falls far short of the IHG expectations. Room was dirty and HVAC was extremely noisy which made our 3 night stay a very unpleasant experience. Contacted hotel staff to request a room change but because of events in Duluth they were unable to accommodate. Room was so bad we even checked out other hotels. Just want to warn other Holiday Inn travelers about the lack of consistency occurring in this chain. I am going back to my previous hotel group. December 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I would just recommend a complementary breakfast in the morning that most hotels offer that's the only thing I was dissatisfied with and they need some more staff they got a little busy and we had to wait awhile to check out. All the staff were friendly and new the area well and the hotel was clean even though it was under going some construction. I would consider staying there again we enjoyed it and had a great stay, Thank you. December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remodel looks great I've been staying at this Holiday Inn for almost ten years. Always been a nice place to stay. The remodel looks great. Not sure if it was on purpose, but the lakeside room I had on the tenth floor had a perfectly centered view of the lift bridge when I walked through the door. Great hotel, great staff. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Duluth Stay Comfortable stay with helpful staff. Staff went above and beyond anytime I called on them. Kudos to the Holiday Inn Downtown Duluth. December 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great downtown hotel I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. There is free covered parking, hotel shuttle, and internet. The only drawbacks for this hotel is that there isn't free breakfast and the internet is painfully slow. However, I would stay here again. December 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not pleasant Our recent visits for hockey were disappointing due to the site needing to be updated. The rooms were not very clean and our door didn't even lock when shut. I had to slam it multiple times. Most of the equipment in the workout room were out of service and very dirty. December 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cheap and cold Called for a shuttle from the airport and was told it will be at least an hour. Took a taxi and the taxi driver said they have an account with his company and he thought they would cover it but they wouldn't. I stayed at another hotel that supplies their guests with taxi vouchers, I was told the account was only for flight staff that stay there. I guess they are way more important then just me. Checked into the room pulled the bed out to plug in phone charger, there was what looked to be used toilet paper behind the bed. The thermostat on the wall did not show any numbers on it so I thought the heat was controlled automaticly but my wife and I had to get up in the middle of the night and put on a sweater it was so cold in the room. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, poor sleeping accommodations The staff was helpful, the restaurant food was good, nice location but all three of the rooms we were assigned in our group smelled horrible. The pillows were extremely large and full. We all ended up with sore necks after the two night stay. Bummer. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and staff. Everything about my stay was perfect! No complaints. I'm definitely going to make this hotel my permanent location whenever I visit Duluth. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great bed and wonderful people The front desk was friendly, efficient and courteous, taking care of all my requests without hesitation or difficulty. All the other hotel staff I encountered were friendly and accommodating. I have had chronic back issues and the bed was supportive and comfortable which is exactly what I need for a good stay. I will be back. The recreational facilities were clean and well stocked. November 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Look Elsewhere I have stayed at this hotel before and my past stay was worse than others in the past. I was in a room that was not modified, there was construction that made working in the room in the AM impossible & the pillows were not even full size. I would recommend looking at the Superior Holiday Inn Express (have not stayed there) or at a different chain in Canal Park. The price and quality are not worth it…Even for the points. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and clean rooms Affordable and within walking distance to many sites. November 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience Our stay nov 8-10 was less than great. We have stayed in many holiday inns before, we had no housekeeping the entire weekend I had to finally call late Saturday night to get more towels to shower with. there were no microwaves anywhere except behind the front desk so if you wanted to make something you had to walk to the front lobby with your food. I was not impressed with this particular holiday inn November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed in room 813 is extremely uncomfortable and sunk in the middle. Pillows are awful. Pool was wonderful. Staff was wonderful. Uncomfortable bed in room 813 Nice pool Nice staff Nice location Nice view out window oK restaurant Bad pillows Terrible water pressure in shower November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room, nice to have food service so close. Happened to be staying on a tuesday night, great little managers party. November 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by very unsatisfactory We love staying at holiday inns but this stay was not great at all. The room wasn't very clean there was food still on the floor from previous guest. The light in our bathroom went out so it made it very difficult to shower or utilize the restroom on general. Very imhappy with stay and the fact we filled out a comment card and still no reply So iI'm thinking customer satisfaction not so great either. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room great service We had a wonderful stay! We needed a bigger room and were upgraded with ease! The staff was friendly and helpful! The suite was very roomy and exactly what we needed! Instay at the holiday inn whenever possible!! November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable beds. Beds were very comfortable. Food in the Porters (breakfast & lunch) excellent. Other eating place nearby along with some shopping in small mall within Hotel complex. Security to rooms was very good as hotel is downtown with a mall. and skyways. November 4, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading