• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SUPERIOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry No Pets Accepted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Barkers Island Marina
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Bong World War II Heritage Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
University Wisconsin-Superior (UWS)
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Fairlawn Mansion
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Off street parking in our 1 level lot. Plenty of parking for vehicles with trailers. Call ahead if you will require special parking arrangements.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:5
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In
View More

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In addition, companies like Murphy Oil, Enbridge Energy, BNSF Railway and Canadian Pacific Railway are moments from our property in Superior, WI. Lodging with us also means you can take advantage of the meeting facilities, which can seat up to 30 people.

Leisure travelers find plenty of sights to see, too. Because the hotel's address is near Duluth, MN, visiting Canal Park and Spirit Mountain is a breeze. If you enjoy history, set aside a day to visit Fairlawn Mansion & Museum and SS Meteor Maritime Museum and the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center, which is literally right around the corner.

We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay in Superior, WI. When lodging with us, patrons enjoy great features, such as an indoor pool and whirlpool, and we have a Fitness Center to help you keep up with your workout routine. Call today and stay with a name you can trust at a price you can afford on your next trip to Lake Superior.

View Less
Features
While you stay in Superior, Wisconsin, the hotel's free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar can help you feel energized all morning long. Don't forget to try our signature cinnamon rolls and coffee.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 446 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Waste of time Very long survey and expect nothing to be done. I took the long survey a couple of times and nothing changed. Found the air and heating very erratic. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Downtime in Duluth Needed a quiet comfortable place to stay for a few days while visiting Duluth and this fit the bill perfectly. Room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Front desk staff was excellent. Getting to the hotel and negotiating the parking garage for check in can be time consuming. And the downtown Duluth area is not the greatest at night. But I had no problems. Overall, I had a great stay. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 2 bedroom suite worked great. Our grandkids loved the kiddie pool...We took the trolley down to Canal Park..Was so convenient right outside the front door..We enjoyed our stay in the 2 bedroom suite,worked perfect for my family. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by EXTREMELY NOISY FROM THE POOL We were very disappointed with our stay. They gave us a suite one level up from the pool and you heard screaming kids all evening until they shut the pool at 10:30pm. We complained the first night and were told they were completely sold out. We complained again on the third night and their solution was to offer us breakfast, which we declined. We could not relax in our room and spent the evenings we were at the hotel in the lobby. I did a prepaid room and was not even allowed to cancel and change hotels. Very disappointed in the entire stay! Felt we should have been offered a refund on at least part of our stay since we couldn't even enjoy our room. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great room! I would recommend this hotel. But first make sure you are a IHG rewards member! They make sure to take care of their members and we sure got that when we stayed! I didn't want to pay more for a lake view room but when I booked I asked to be upgraded if the rooms were available , and sure enough we got lucky! The view of the lake is beautiful! Also when you book make sure you're up on floors 7 and above. Because 7 and up need a key, levels 6 and lower essentially anyone can get to those levels. Yes, even people not stating there if they enter from the holiday center.. And travel in the elevators. We did not take the decc tunnels, but they're are a cool thing to offer! And will use them next time we stay! July 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor hotel Cleaning crew and security issues need a great deal of attention. July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, but not so nice It is a nicely updated hotel, however there are some things that make the stay not so wonderful. First to start is the 20 minute wait to get on the small, slow, and extremely busy elevators. Then when you finally get to your relaxing suite, you find out that it is overlooking a pool that is LOUD and noisy in the room. Unable to relax or sleep till the pool closed at 10:30 pm. Some better sound management techniques should have been used at the last remodel. The room was clean. The two restaurants that are part of the hotel have fair food, nothing more then your average bar or cafe food. Big plus is that the hotel is attached to the skyway system. Would not recommend paying for a weekend stay in a suite to relax and to be stuck listening to screaming kids in the pool. A room like that should overlook the city. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by gREAT sERVICE Stayed here for a business trip. Great service, nice clean facilities. July 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overrated We had to change rooms shortly after checking in as one of the beds had a lot of black dog hair on the white sheets. I was offered a Benadryl by the front desk and I declined as I had my own allergy medication with me. We were offered another room that was not as nice as the first room and smelt smokey. We also found a little more black dog hair on both bed sheets and cleaned it off ourselves. The front desk did not call to ask if the room was okay or not. At 7:30 am the next morning, hammer drilling on concrete from another floor started (I guess they are doing renovations) which woke us up. At 9:00 am, the room cleaning staff knocked on my door when I had the "do not disturb sign" posted outside the door. As I was leaving to check out, 2 cleaning staff women where talking in another language to each other in a heated conversation by the 8th floor elevator lobby and I had to ask them to move so I could manover the luggage cart into the elevator. #I don't think they heard me and continued on with their heated conversation.# When we checked out, the front desk did not ask how our stay was or how the changed room was. When I asked where to return the luggage cart after loading my vechile, the front desk advised me to put it back in the parkade where I came from. No signage was indicated where exactly to return the luggage carts so I just left it outside the front parkade door. When we left the parkade, the night before and on the morning we were leaving, they was no parkade attendant at the exit either time, so we just left our parking ticket on the gate box exit. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service We enjoyed Becky at Sneakers Bar who is the Bartender there. She makes our trip so wonderful and she is very nice! She is the biggest reason why we come back to Holiday inn Duluth. The only thing I would complain about is the 15 percent charge when you check in. I thought that was horrible and kind of ruin the start of our vacation there. I never use room service or order movies, so I am not sure why I needed to be charged an extra 15 percent at check in. I was charge almost an extra 130 dollars at check in and they never explain that to me until I looked at my bank statement when I got to my room. I think the next time I stay there I should not be charged an extra 15 percent because I don't use any services there and it cost way to much extra. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE ever of my 26 years of business travel. Frank (Manager) helped me extend another night stay over the 4th of July while I was on business travel during the 2nd and 3rd of July. This was not easy because the service and answers I got over the phone from the Holiday inn customer care was less than stellar!! They denied my extended stay over the phone for the 4th and made it very difficult to qualify for another nights stay for reward points after my business stay. They also took an hour to resolve wi them on the phone. However, Frank did a great job helping out and acomedating us to stay in the same room and spoke to the customer care for us and validated the stay. Frank had the foresight to recognize my Elite status and also noticed a worked for a large company -ITW.....Thank you and I'll be back again!!! July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place! It's been a long time since I've stayed at your hotel. I will be staying here again. Thanks. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Duluth Holiday Inn Downtown Went to Duluth for a train excursion and stayed at the HI Downtown on a Friday night. Got in about 9 PM. The desk staff was great--very friendly and welcoming. We got a room on the 16th floor. It is clear this hotel has been remodeled--the rooms, carpet, bathrooms were all in great shape. The TVs in the room were very nice and channel selection was great as well. No charge for parking here. We've stayed in this hotel 3 or 4 times before but this was by far our best stay. Nice job! July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Duluth Great place to stay. Comfortable room, very clean and quite. Beds and pillows were amazing. Slept like a baby. Definitely would stay there again. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service Spent 4 days and was impressed with the suite we had. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Love having two pools available. Would recommend this hotel July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A top of line Holiday Inn! Duluth is not a swanky town but be assured this hotel is fantastic and up to par with some of the best I have stayed in. Value is great and staff is eager to please its guests. Perfect for business or multi-generational getaway. Lots of room choice to suit your needs. I noticed they took out their nice lounge and only have Sneakers Bar/lounge that is about as hockey driven and masculine as it gets. Wish they had a nice wine bar or at least a bar not so "men only" in looks. You'll have to go down the street to the Jazz club for better ambience and more romantic feel. Just not my scene but the service was fine in Sneakers Sports Bar. Also liked the self service laundry on site!! A plus! July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Very polite staff. Clean rooms. Nice pools. Only drawback is the loud in room air conditioners. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good hotel. Only complaint would be temp in room hard to control otherwise very good. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Comfort We've stayed here before, and returned out of purpose. This Holiday Inn is located in downtown Duluth, and has motorcycle friendly parking areas in parking garage immediately outside the doors of the hotel (covered). There are several restaurants and bars in the immediate area, and worth spending some time in. We highly recommend the Dublihn Irish Pub July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast NOT included for high price! Really think that some kind of free breakfast should be offered for the price that is charged for these rooms. I have stayed at other hotels that offer continental for a much lower price per night. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beware Way overpriced for a downtown Duluth experience, even in the summer time. July 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed For being a newly remodeled hotel, it sure didn't look like it. We stayed in a 2 room suite and were very disappointed in the size of these rooms. Very boxy and not open. We had patio doors going out to the pool area which were disgustingly dirty. While the air conditioner worked, it had broken pieces on it. The floors were not vacuumed well, as you could see debris along the wall. The location of this hotel is also not ideal. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Remodeled Rooms Very Nice! We have stayed at the downtown Duluth Holiday Inn before including last year when they were undergoing renovations. This year we stayed in one of the renovated rooms and it was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed at - and as a Platinum IHG member we've stayed at quite a few. The bed was so comfortable that my wife was thinking about asking the hotel staff where they were acquired. The shower was great and the outlets and work space were very well laid out. Finally, we have always found the staff at this hotel professional and courteous and this stay was no exception. July 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience We found a sock in our bed that was not ours. The tv remote did not work. Don't think we will stay there in the future. For what we paid/over 200.00 for the night I would expect alot better. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Location and a Stunning Room This hotel is integreted into Duluth's SkyWalk System which was incredibly convenient since I stayed when it was -20 degrees. The room was very clean and I was quite impressed with the modern look and welcoming feel. Shuttle service to and from the airport was also very prompt and professional. July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not located close enough to Canal Park The hotel had been recently updated on appearance items but had some aspects of an old hotel and the area was not that desirable looking. I thought they said they were in or close to Canal park but it was not that close and walking there not pleasant. July 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty room, broken lock, and poor service Our room on arrival had a dirty seat on the toilet and crackers all over the floor. That wasn't a big problem but we have a 1 year old crawling around. Baggage carts were hard to find on check in and check out. Pretty much had to hunt them down. The pool by our room was only 3 feet deep? Wish the staff would have told us at check in instead of at check out there was normal depth pool on the 8th floor for our teenager. Our neighborhood where we live isn't all that friendly and I wouldn't let my wife or kids walk the streets alone outside this motel. A lot of younger people loitering outside of the motel. Didn't feel safe or welcoming at all. And to top it all.... our door never locked! Notified the front desk the next morning and they said it get fixed. We left for the day sightseeing and to watch the fireworks and returned to a note and candy bar saying sorry and it was fixed.... It wasn't fixed. We didn't need a room card to get in our room all weekend. Have always stayed at Holiday Inns previously and had awesome stays but doubtful to return at all after this experience. The staff did credit our stay by a hundred dollars, but that wouldn't had gone far if our room had been cleaned out while we out sightseeing. July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, Clean, Good Parking I enjoyed having ramp parking available. The hotel was filled with youth soccer players the weekend I stayed, but the hotel was quiet and was able to relax. Room was clean and check out was a very quick process. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel, great location with wonderful ammenities. We stayed here for work, loved the laundry facilities on site and really enjoyed the fitness center. Very nice to have weights instead of just a tread mill. Clean facility and helpful staff. Great location. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience A wonderful setting and a great staff in a beautiful setting. June 29, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading