• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SUPERIOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry No Pets Accepted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Barkers Island Marina
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Bong World War II Heritage Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
University Wisconsin-Superior (UWS)
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Fairlawn Mansion
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Off street parking in our 1 level lot. Plenty of parking for vehicles with trailers. Call ahead if you will require special parking arrangements.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:5
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In
View More

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In addition, companies like Murphy Oil, Enbridge Energy, BNSF Railway and Canadian Pacific Railway are moments from our property in Superior, WI. Lodging with us also means you can take advantage of the meeting facilities, which can seat up to 30 people.

Leisure travelers find plenty of sights to see, too. Because the hotel's address is near Duluth, MN, visiting Canal Park and Spirit Mountain is a breeze. If you enjoy history, set aside a day to visit Fairlawn Mansion & Museum and SS Meteor Maritime Museum and the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center, which is literally right around the corner.

We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay in Superior, WI. When lodging with us, patrons enjoy great features, such as an indoor pool and whirlpool, and we have a Fitness Center to help you keep up with your workout routine. Call today and stay with a name you can trust at a price you can afford on your next trip to Lake Superior.

View Less
Features
While you stay in Superior, Wisconsin, the hotel's free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar can help you feel energized all morning long. Don't forget to try our signature cinnamon rolls and coffee.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 384 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad but you better be in shape First the bad, the extremely slow elevators are a big minus. You can easily wait 20 - 30 minutes for an elevator that is not already packed to beyond full. With this many floors, this is a big issue for those with luggage or those who can't climb 10+ flights of stairs. The pools are OK, but the rooms around them are extremely noisy. Our room had a fridge, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and a nice TV. This hotel has a very strange entrance/lobby, inside the parking garage on level three. There are skyways to get round the downtown and down to the DECC and Canal Park. I'd give it a C+ May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay I spent 6 nights here in may 2014. The staff was friendly and nice. Good bed, good shower, good pool, good hot tub, good restaurants, the dark shades were great for sleeping in! The attached parking structure is very nice and convenient. Security personnel were visible ( but I did not see a need for them ) their presence may be why I saw no need. Access to the skywalk system was impressive. Overall it was a very comfortable stay and I would stay here again. May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, room not so hot Everyone who I encountered that worked for Holiday Inn was very pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean but our view was of the roof top and several satalite dishes, and there was a party room right across from our room so it was pretty noisy until 11:30 or so. We turned on the air conditioning fan to make some little white noise and that helped a lot! Not sure why a party room is directly across from a hotel room. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 one thing Great location, loved room 1313 with lake view and nice telecommuting accommodations BUT I wish the hotel was still dog friendly :-( May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sink-in comfort Soon after my request for soft down pillows, they were delivered to my room with a smile. They enhanced the comfortable of my bed and room. A wonderful, comfortable stay! May 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty rooms and rude front desk staff The room had food on the floor when we checked in. Toys (no children with me) were under the bed skirt. The pantry by the front desk charged far too much for items. It would be much better to have access to a vending machine. When I asked the front desk for assistance, the evening staff was rude and unhelpful. I would not recommend staying for a relaxing weekend May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick weekend getaway My wife and I decided to visit Duluth on the spur of the moment and chose Holiday Inn - Downtown Duluth because of its proximity to Canal Park. Originally got a standard queen room but was able to be upgraded to a King Executive! We stayed in a room facing the south so had a GREAT view of Lake Superior and Canal Park. The room was spacious and comfortable. Definitely would stay again when coming up north! May 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Blind eye to gang harassment We stayed at the hotel for a conference. The conference facilities were wonderful and food was delicious. Upon arrival our room was clean, however the housekeeper didn't even pick up wet towels or dirty dishes when "cleaning" the room the first day. My husband had to throw wet towels into the hallway and request clean ones after the room had been "cleaned". The primary issue we had with the hotel was the group of young men wearing gang colors who hung around the area and seemed to enjoy intimidating hotel and restaurant guests. Hotel staff seemed to accept the activity as normal. We were followed in the skywalks and noted blood in more than one location between Canal Park and the hotel at 8:30 PM. Others at the conference talked about similar harassment by the group in hotel elevators. They clustered at the door outside Sneaker's restaurant, making it very uncomfortable for restaurant guests to enter and leave. Not even a complimentary cup of coffee in the lobby. May 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair points today Staff - excellent front desk service. Comfortable to stay here and convenient. I will stay here again if I have to be by the DECC. A few things we noticed in our room 1103 - The bathroom door wouldn't close properly, the heater and air conditioning buttons were broken, so it blew cool air constantly. We needed the blankets from the other bed to be comfortable. The electrical outlet in the mirrored/sink area outside of the bathroom was loose and our curling iron kept coming out of the outlet. Very annoying when you're trying to get ready for the day. This needs to be replaced. Our blinds were hard to open and close. I wonder how old these are. I think this room just needs to be checked by a maintenance person and these things fixed, otherwise others will have the same complaints. Also, no continental breakfast which is always a plus when staying at hotels. May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and couple of problems with room I was in town for a conference. The staff was excellent and attentive. Only 2 problems with the room. One bed the sheets hadn't been changed from the previous guest (hair on pillows and sheets) called down to the front desk and they sent someone up to change right away. Other was the room thermostat would change to 60 degrees until we moved it all the way to 75. So either cold or hot. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding research We decided to stay at this location when we came to town to book our wedding venue at Greysolon Plaza. There are hotels that are a little closer, but I was intrigued by the better pricing offered, and I have such fond memories of staying with Holiday Inn/Holidome properties when I was a kid. Let me say, this did not disappoint. The location is great, the style of the property is modern, clean and easily navigable. The staff was friendly and offered many suggestions of places to go see and things to do during our short stay. It looks like they are still in process of some renovations, but so far so good! It all looks great and is nice and clean. The beds and bedding were wonderful, the view was beautiful, and I love the Keurig coffee maker in the room. Added plus, the level of response, professionalism, and price point got me to sign on the dotted line for a block of rooms for my wedding. They are so helpful and responsive. (The other hotel I had inquired at has left me hanging for 2 weeks with no pricing or proposal). That is such a tremendous value to someone who just wants to get things done! A++ May 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by left $25 bottle of conditioner and $15 shampoo... tossed out :( I left a response card. Upon entering the room, the smell was not good. the floor was not clean, found plastic, a dime and the display on the table was under the table. Table was not wiped off either. Otherwise, a great place! I called the following day spoke to housekeeping hoping to get the items left there returned as my son lives in Duluth, I didn't hear back, as I think she was going to talk the the housecleaner the next day, obviously she had no good news. May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is awesome!! Best hotel in Duluth I have stayed at!!!! staff always went out of the way to make my stay the best. May 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by wrong room & bad keys First i was given a room that was already occupied, the lady did not appreciate me trying to get into her room. Then Carrie at the desk proclaimed it was not her fault, she did not check me in. Then given a key to the right room, 12th floor, but given to use in elevator to be able to get to 12th floor and the key did not work in the elevator. Not fun haulng three bags around trying to get to the right room with a key that worked in the room and elevator. The bartender at the sports bar preferred to smoke or at least leave the bar area when i was drinkless, no beer or water. First time at the hotel, not sure if i will return. May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hospitality! We stayed one night as we were passing through town. We did not book a room, just walked in. The front desk clerk was absolutely wonderful! She gave us a free upgrade because it was so slow that day. She also asked if we had ever been to Duluth, and when we told her we hadn't, she pulled out a map of downtown and showed us some places to eat/drink without us even asking. We also told her we were just passing through on our honeymoon. Later, management brought us some complimentary champagne and a card congratulating us. That evening, we went down to the bar and the service was great and the bartender was very helpful. Needless to say, we were sad we only stayed one night. All in all, this was a great hotel with awesome staff and we will be staying again when we come back to town! May 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by IHG Rewards Member Tuesday Social Hour GM Gerry Goldfarb provided excellant hospitality with complimentary appetizers and drinks. I was fortunate to also win the drawing for 1,000 IHG Reward points which was great. They've made some nices upgrades to their fitness center. The addition of the free weights were appreciated. As an ING Platinum Elite member, I always receive special treatment, which I appreciate as a business traveler. May 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay! Duluth, MN Holiday Inn is a great place to stay! Wonderful restaurant in hotel and nearby as well. Comfortable beds and newly renovated rooms. April 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very relaxing! We spent two nights here to visit a family member who lives in Duluth. This was our first time staying at the Holiday Inn and I can honestly say we will be staying here again! It was fantastic! Lots to do, great food, the pool area was great, and it was very relaxing for us also. The hotel staff were very nice and friendly! April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn while attending a homeschool conference. I was greeted professionally by all staff that I encountered over the 5 days that I was there. I was asked if I wanted to join the rewards club and agreed to. This gave me a free room upgrade. Instead of just a refrigerator in the room, I also had a microwave. The room was just off the pool area and had a sitting area that was separate from the bedroom. Yes there was noise from the pool area, but it was not too bad. With the pool closing at 10:30 pm, it made for easy sleeping. I had a partial lake view room and enjoyed the view of the aerial lift bridge as well as a few other landmarks along the harbor. The room was recently remodeled and for the most part looked that way. It was obvious that some of the furniture was there from before the remodel and that included the doors. (I had read other reviews and expected this.) To help the remodel look like a complete job, it would have been nice if scuff marks and scratches had been covered up or otherwise minimized. Also with my food allergies, the restaurant selection in the hotel made it easier for me to eat (even if I had to pay for it) than the standard free continental breakfast that tends to be laden with gluten and dairy products. The hotel is also connected by a skywalk (skyway) to several other buildings in the city including the event center & theater making it wonderful to stay warm without needing to bundle up going to and from the conference at the event center The next time the conference is in Duluth, I will definitely plan on this place. April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very nice suite Requested standard room for mâché conference. Was upgraded to a suite which allowed us to each have our own bed, which was key to getting a good night's sleep! Thank you! April 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but.... The main complaint I have, is that the wireless internet signal was so weak that the internet connection was virtually unusable. The few times I was able to connect, two or three minutes later I would get disconnected. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large and beautiful room The room was very nice and new. Housekeeping was extremely nice. I will stay there again. Nice jacuzzi. April 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway Excellent hotel location for visiting downtown Duluth. We stayed in an executive suite that had been recently remodeled. One shock for us was the lack of a tub. Only a shower in the room fyi. Would recommend the hotel and restaurants to anyone staying in the area. And if you like to wander, the sky walk system will take you to many places within a 10 minute walk. Great movie theater, the DECC, and any place along superior street. All while staying out of the elements, great for the cold winters. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Top notch place to stay the night. My entire family enjoyed our stay. April 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Duluth The staff at the hotel were excellent and very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable, but the decor was a little dated. Unfortunately due to a flight delay only arrived at the hotel late, so didn't have much chance to check out the full set of services available, although I would recommend this hotel. April 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Parking and location is a risk!! The location of this hotel downtown is not in the best district. The parking is in an attached parking garage. I had my car broken into and a laptop, ipod, and personal belongings taken. There are no camaras in parking garage. You are liable for all intrusions. Hotel security took a report and police responded but to no avail. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by welcome atmosphere Had a king suite overlooking the pool area. Nice to see all the kids enjoying the pool as well as their parents. Great place for the kids to burn off their energy. Good time was had by all. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost a home away from home! When Dexter in Sneaker's greets me with a "Welcome home" I guess I am considered a regular! One of the best. Always great recognition for Platinum members. That's why I stay here when my work site is 68 miles away. March 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, squeaky elevator The location is great but I had a nice room right off the elevator and each time the elevator went by, there was a strange squeaking noise. March 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel With Great Staff In A Great Location What can I say, my stay was great. The remodeled rooms are very comfortable and the work they are doing on the public spaces is really making the place look upscale. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As for the location, being right on the Skywalk system is a real plus. You can wander around downtown and over to the Canal Park area even when it is cold and snowy outside. There are entrances from the Skywalk to restaurants and bars in downtown. Try the Dubl Inn for some good beer and peanuts in the shell. March 24, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading