• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SUPERIOR
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry No Pets Accepted.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Barkers Island Marina
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
Bong World War II Heritage Center
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
University Wisconsin-Superior (UWS)
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Fairlawn Mansion
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Off street parking in our 1 level lot. Plenty of parking for vehicles with trailers. Call ahead if you will require special parking arrangements.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:21
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:5
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:79
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In
View More

Superior, Wisconsin Hotel's Guests Stay Smart

Situated just moments from the shores of Lake Superior, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Superior boasts an excellent location close to fun attractions, big businesses and the University of Wisconsin. The hotel's location near Duluth, MN makes it easy to explore the Twin Ports area.

Traveling for work? We cater to corporate travelers by offering complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access and a Business Center. In addition, companies like Murphy Oil, Enbridge Energy, BNSF Railway and Canadian Pacific Railway are moments from our property in Superior, WI. Lodging with us also means you can take advantage of the meeting facilities, which can seat up to 30 people.

Leisure travelers find plenty of sights to see, too. Because the hotel's address is near Duluth, MN, visiting Canal Park and Spirit Mountain is a breeze. If you enjoy history, set aside a day to visit Fairlawn Mansion & Museum and SS Meteor Maritime Museum and the Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center, which is literally right around the corner.

We take pride in providing everything you need for a comfortable stay in Superior, WI. When lodging with us, patrons enjoy great features, such as an indoor pool and whirlpool, and we have a Fitness Center to help you keep up with your workout routine. Call today and stay with a name you can trust at a price you can afford on your next trip to Lake Superior.

View Less
Features
While you stay in Superior, Wisconsin, the hotel's free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar can help you feel energized all morning long. Don't forget to try our signature cinnamon rolls and coffee.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 418 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by welcome atmosphere Had a king suite overlooking the pool area. Nice to see all the kids enjoying the pool as well as their parents. Great place for the kids to burn off their energy. Good time was had by all. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Almost a home away from home! When Dexter in Sneaker's greets me with a "Welcome home" I guess I am considered a regular! One of the best. Always great recognition for Platinum members. That's why I stay here when my work site is 68 miles away. March 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, squeaky elevator The location is great but I had a nice room right off the elevator and each time the elevator went by, there was a strange squeaking noise. March 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel With Great Staff In A Great Location What can I say, my stay was great. The remodeled rooms are very comfortable and the work they are doing on the public spaces is really making the place look upscale. The staff is very friendly and helpful. As for the location, being right on the Skywalk system is a real plus. You can wander around downtown and over to the Canal Park area even when it is cold and snowy outside. There are entrances from the Skywalk to restaurants and bars in downtown. Try the Dubl Inn for some good beer and peanuts in the shell. March 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Duluth Rooms are remodeled and very nice. Sneakers, the recommended grill is very poor....food is mediocre, atmosphere is terrible and the staff is unfriendly...I will never return to Sneakers. The hotel itself is so nice I may stay again and order something delivered. March 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Real People I was pleased with my stay overall, but I was most impressed with the young lady that checked me in. She was freindly and efficient. She upgraded my room and explained everything very well. I travel alot and normally feel like the staff does not really want to be there and are just going through the motions. She was experienced and comfortable enough to do her job and have a conversation at the same time. Many times the staff seem to just repeat what they have be programmed to say. It is nice to interact with REAL PEOPLE! March 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant as always Freshly done up rooms in some areas, mine was relatively new and was great. Hotel and associated complex had all i needed for an overnight work trip stay. Only small issue was noise from the pool area, but if you dont like early or late noise (it was a Saturday night...), then request a room elsewhere perhaps. March 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel- Not so great house keeping staff.. On March 14th we checked into our hotel and it was lovely! The front desk lady was very polite and she was a pleasure to speak too. Everything was great until the next morning house keeping decided to barge into our room at 8am.. I feel as though she should have known somebody was in that room? I felt that that was very rude and it kind of ruined our morning. The fact that she didn't even apologize made it worse, she just walked back out when she saw us in bed. Other than that everything was great but that was kind of a bummer way to end out stay. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great in Everything! Everything was awesome! Everyone that worked at Holiday really was awesome. This is our 5th time staying here and we will continue to do so in the future when we come back . Sneakers food is really delicious and Becky is awesome. She really knows how to make you feel at home and is always nice to us. Great job again Holiday! March 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Best hotel to stay in; if you plan on ordering pizza. Stayed two nights. Ordered pizza both nights. Pizza was delivered a full half hour before estimated time of arrival. Side note: this hotel needs to invest in full blinds; the light that came through the windows in the morning was almost blinding. March 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Though a remodeled room... Still old. A toilet that kept running, a loud elevator door near- by, though the room had been remodeled , it still showed its age as an old hotel. Probably will look at other hotel options next time in town. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love the updated rooms. I've been staying at the Holiday Inn - Duluth, MN, for the past six years on business. It is great to finally see the updated rooms, lobby, and fitness center. The hotel looks great! March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The room was great the staff was wonderful. Never have swam in a stainless steel pool before.Was a great stay except for the shower doors are reversed and the sink backed up on the floor.also could use Softer beds. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just a little advise I told the gal that we had a State Bowling and asked where the bowling alley was. She said a couple of blocks. I wished she had told me there was a walkway so that we didn't have to drive. I happened to find out as we were about to get the car. It was to late to tell my group about it so most of then drove and when I told them about the wallway they were disappointed that they didn't know. It was a cold cold night and to take there cars just a couple of blocks and finding a parking etc. I lined up the rooms for them so I felt like I should have told them but I didn't know.The walkway was really neat and it was worth not having to worry about a car. The tourney goes through May so it might be a good idea to let bowlers know about the wallway. Otherwise it was a fine stay for us. February 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service From the front desk, housekeeping and the drivers everyone was polite. The front desk and drivers had plenty of get restrurants reccomend. I enjoyed everything this hotel had to offer. February 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Issues that took away from the experience I've already answered this with a previous request by IHG to review this property so not sure if this is redundent or my note didn't go through? In a nutshell the room, facilities and amenties were mostly good with one exception and a big one. Went to this hotel to relax and enjoy the Superbowl. The TV started losing its sound Sat. evening Feb. 1; maintenance came, was perplexed with problem but got it going somehow. Sound went out again on Sunday in the first quarter of the Superbowl; maintenance came and got it going. Sound went out again at start of second quarter; maintenance came back and again got it going. Went out again in third quarter; maintenance wasn't as quick, had to go to desk, maintenance then came and replaced the tv...in the fourth quarter. Staff and maintenance expressed their apologies, were quite friendly but the process and timing, frankly ruined the whole purpose for going. Not that it was a good game mind you, but the stay fell well short of satisfied. February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I stay at this hotel weekly, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They recognize me at each visit, and manage to have all of the paperwork ready when they see me walk through the main entrance. Check-in literally takes 2 minutes. Several years ago, I booked rooms for an event for work, and they actually remembered me when I called last month to make my upcoming reservations. The hotel is under renovation, but I have to say it's moving along very quickly. I have not heard any construction in any of the rooms I've stayed in. The front desk area is completely remodeled and very nice, and the rooms are pretty, quiet and comfortable. I rarely hear anyone around me, and sleep like a rock - which is not typical for me while staying in a hotel. I really like that the elevators require your key card to reach most of the floors. I'm a woman traveling alone, and that is very reassuring. I haven't used the pool or hot-tub yet, but the swimming area is quite lovely. There are restaurants and a convenience store just an elevator ride away. Very convenient. I highly recommend this property. February 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Way too restrictive unless you just want a place too sleep With the lobby under construction there was no where to sit with the group we were traveling with. 10:30 is acceptable for quiet time, but way to early to be sent to our rooms. With the pool area being the only area to sit, visiting quiet enough to not disturb the guest rooms should remain allowable...especially on the weekends. If someone needs a quiet room, there seemed to be more than enough non-poolside rooms available. Also, we reserved a hospitality room and were even kicked out of there at 10:30 on a Saturday night. The room remained untouched by staff until morning. We should have been allowed to stay as late as we wanted as long as our noise level didn't disturb other guests. It was totally unnecessary to kick us out of there. Group sales staff were wonderful and room arrangements were great. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hockey weekend Staff was very polite and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Staff willing to accommodate our teams needs in order for families to be close to each other. Team room provided at a value which helped everyone relax and enjoy the weekend. Look forward to returning in the near future. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New remodel They're in the process of lobby remodel but staff is excellent and rooms are very nice. Elevators are slow. Overall excellent experience. January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was great! We arrived with an unexpected guest and were upgraded to a larger room at no charge. The desk staff was very accomadating. We had a great stay. The only complaint was the heating/air conditioning unit was loud and cycled frequently. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was good... remodeling made it interesting to get to the pool, but everything was good. The pool on the 4th floor was very chilly and the showerhead in my room was not very good, but those both were very minor inconveniences. Overall was a good stay. Our group had 3 adults and 3 toddlers. using the attached skywalk we were able to walk almost entirely indoors to Bentleyville. This was a huge convenience of staying at this hotel. We already have reservations to return next month and more than likely will become a monthly event for my family. January 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room but it was dirty Beds were clean and comfortable but ice bucket, floor and table were dirty. Crumbs and other foods on the floor. Bathroom floor dirty. Not worth the cost. Staff was very nice though. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our place to go We have recently come to were we will be going to Duluth more often and like the canal park area. We have stayed at three other hotels and tried Holiday this time. This is the place we will be staying from now on. Many factors from location, facilities and mostly the staff. Pool atrium gets a little loud if you go to bed early but nice rooms if you have kids January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A somewhat relaxing weekend in Duluth I was up in the Duluth area for a weekend of winter hiking and picture-taking along the North Shore. The best positives about the hotel are the room cleanliness and speedy Internet access -- getting online was really easy, and checking the weather forecast from my room was really nice since I was really monitoring the then-deteriorating conditions carefully. I stayed in room 1044 during my weekend there, and this had the overlook of the pool down on the 8th floor. I had one mishap where I wanted to order breakfast on Saturday morning, and I still saw the door hanger posted when breakfast was supposed to arrive. After checking with the front desk when I returned Saturday night for my second evening at the hotel, the staff was quickly able to issue two "fun money" certificates, which I felt really appreciative for, although at the end of my stay, I never ended up using them. I also ended up re-ordering breakfast for Sunday morning, which I did receive and was a great way to start my day for the drive back home. One of the nagging things about my room that I probably should have mentioned was the fact that I was hearing some kind of rapping noise in the ceiling, near the window across from the heating unit. I don't know if there was some sort of dripping coming from a pipe in the ceiling, but it continued pretty much all night, so I wasn't able to sleep very well (or very comfortably for that matter). The bed and pillows were fine, though. Finally, the pool area on the 8th floor smelled so heavily of chlorine, I actually felt nauseated at times. Actually swimming in the pool was fine, but if there was some kind of ventilation system in place to disperse the air or move it around, it would be nice. Overall, the central location of the hotel in proximity to a portion of my sightseeing locations all along the North Shore was beneficial, since it's roughly halfway between where I live in the Twin Cities and the Canadian border -- it's two hours or so either direction. The room was great minus the dripping noise I heard. Staff are very open for answering any questions and great about responding to guest's needs or complaints. I hope to make a return to this hotel soon. Duluth is a wonderful city to travel to any time of the year! January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay We had requested a handicapped accessible room and we got room 314. All it had was a grab bar in the tub (none by the toilet) and no stool in the tub or no walk in shower. My husband, who has had a stroke, had to take a sponge bath each day because he cannot get in and out of a tub. Also, we never got clean glasses while we were there. The same dirty ones were left in our room all weekend. Other than that, the room was quite clean and the staff was friendly. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a Great Time!! Rooms were comfy, staff was pleasant. Hotel was under construction, but did not seem to affect us much. Would definitely recommend to anyone who asked!!!! December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I doubt you'll find better service anywhere! I stayed at this hotel while a loved one was in the hospital. I wasn't at my best, I needed rest and didn't want to track around town for food or groceries. The staff was excellent! The hotel clean and quiet.The room had a fridge! I was next to the pool and hot tub which was wonderful to experience at the end of the very long and trying days! Did I say the staff was superb? They were! The restaurants in the hotel were good and the hotel van brought me to and from other location so I don't have to drive in snowy weather! Drivers were very personable and polite! Actually the entire staff was professional and polite! Where ever I met them, lobby, elevator, hallways, pool area, restaurants- They were all great! Five stars for the staff!! On this trip my hospital stay ran into a flight planned out of town and I discovered that the hotel had a stay and park deal. I had already stayed two nights so parking my car in the ramp for my trip was complimentary and the van brought me to and picked me up from the airport. I didn't have to park it in the outdoor lot at the airport! Hurray! AND it was in the ramp so it started even though the temps were well below zero! I can't think of a reason I would stay at any other hotel while in Duluth for work, pleasure, hospital or air travel! Great job everyone! December 31, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty and Noisy The room we were given falls far short of the IHG expectations. Room was dirty and HVAC was extremely noisy which made our 3 night stay a very unpleasant experience. Contacted hotel staff to request a room change but because of events in Duluth they were unable to accommodate. Room was so bad we even checked out other hotels. Just want to warn other Holiday Inn travelers about the lack of consistency occurring in this chain. I am going back to my previous hotel group. December 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I would just recommend a complementary breakfast in the morning that most hotels offer that's the only thing I was dissatisfied with and they need some more staff they got a little busy and we had to wait awhile to check out. All the staff were friendly and new the area well and the hotel was clean even though it was under going some construction. I would consider staying there again we enjoyed it and had a great stay, Thank you. December 25, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading