• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 24.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Greek
  2. English
  3. Hindi
  4. Polish
  5. Portuguese
  6. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

The hotel only permits service dogs. Please call hotel direct for more information and ask for the duty manager.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Epsom Gold Club
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Epsom Downs Racecourse
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Ashley Centre Shopping Centre
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Chessington World of Adventures
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • The hotel features complimentary outdoor parking for residents use only. Please note that we do not offer coach or lorry parking without prior permission and you may be refused access.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:88
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:32
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:120
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Stay at the Holiday Inn Express London-Epsom Downs, your tranquil home from home a short drive from Epsom business parks.

Arriving at our 100% smoke-free hotel in the grounds of Epsom Downs Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom centre, you'll find wooden chalet-style exteriors in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Getting here is easy with Gatwick 22 miles and Heathrow 28 miles from the Holiday Inn Express London-Epsom Downs. Parking, breakfast and wireless Internet are all
View More

Stay at the Holiday Inn Express London-Epsom Downs, your tranquil home from home a short drive from Epsom business parks.

Arriving at our 100% smoke-free hotel in the grounds of Epsom Downs Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom centre, you'll find wooden chalet-style exteriors in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. Getting here is easy with Gatwick 22 miles and Heathrow 28 miles from the Holiday Inn Express London-Epsom Downs. Parking, breakfast and wireless Internet are all included.

A few minutes' drive takes you to Epsom, home to major businesses like Atkins and Toyota. There's plenty of complimentary parking at the hotel, and you can work anytime with free wireless Internet and a 24-hour Business Desk in the Lobby. It's just 35 minutes by train from Epsom Station to London's Waterloo and Victoria stations.

You won't find a hotel closer to Epsom Downs Racecourse. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel. For a family day out head to Chessington World of Adventures Theme Park, 4 miles away. Children under 18 stay free at Holiday Inn Express London-Epsom Downs when sharing a room with their parents.

Selected hot favourites and continental breakfast is served daily in our racing-themed Great Room. Enjoy your evening meal at Holiday Inn Express London-Epsom Downs, or celebrate a win at the races with a glass of champagne.

View Less
Features
Located on the grounds of Epsom Racecourse, 2 miles from Epsom town centre, you will find our wooden chalet style exterior in keeping with the peaceful rural surroundings. On race days you can even watch the horses being groomed at the stables behind the hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 202 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Problems, Problems, Problems. The room wasn't ready at 3pm as stated. Finally got our keys at 3.30pm. No complementary drinks etc. offered. All leisure facilities closed. Sign promised access to zoo after closing, but this "isn't on" during our stay. Building site outside our window for hotel extension, which started work at 8.30 am on Sunday morning! TV started up at 5am when we were asleep with "Welcome message". Staff couldn't explain why and didn't seem bothered. March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely friendly staff The staff were so friendly yet efficient. The hotel itself was lovely and the outlook over the zoo was brilliant seeing all the animals roaming about whilst in my room and the breakfast area. As I live in Chessington and only had to stay for a couple of nights whist my home was being re-floored as I am in a wheelchair, and could not stay at home while this was being done. March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay family friendly, good comfort, great african theme we had a wonderful time, especially breakfast with animal view superb. we will be comming back February 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Okay Hotel Stayed here for Valentines night with my wife, room was good and we had view out of the window of Deer, Ostrich and Zebra. It was very convenient for Chessington World of Adventures and if you have young children they would love it. We went to The Brewers Fayre for dinner which is a few hundred metres down the road. That was decent enough. All in all we had a nice night and she pushed my wheelchair around the zoo next day where we saw a varied number of animals and performers of the human variety. February 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Very welcoming staff.Most comfortable stay so far in any of the places we have stayed, the kids loved the jungle rooms, the squeals of excitement as they searched around the room to find the animal silhouettes so they could open the locked box in their room to reveal their surprises ,such a lovely touch. We booked at short notice and the staff were very helpfull and we were able to book 4 themed family rooms next to each other. This was a weekend break to attend my daughter's engagement party. We will definitely be booking chessington again, whether it will be. for a short break or for the forth coming wedding. Thankyou for making a special time for us even more special. Janice. February 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Experience I was not very pleased with my stay at hotel this past weekend, due to the fact that there was a lot of noise from the disco that was held in the conference hall. The noise went on until 0100hrs in the morning of Sunday the 9th of February. My family could not sleep due to this noise, I called the reception to inform them but there was no solution as I was informed that there was a wedding and these people were scheduled to finish at 0100hrs. I was told that all the family rooms were on same side of the hotel and the only other rooms which were available on the other side were not family rooms. We were very tired and wanted to sleep early but had to endure until about 0100hrs when disco finished. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ex team ex stay as always.Stay twice a year.Ex food,ex view from room at rear. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No swimming pool!!! We booked for a one night stay to use the swimming pool and gym facilities. We both work very hard and just needed a one-night chill out. Sadly, the swimming pool and gym were shut for renovations even thought we could not find mention of this anywhere on the website. This was disappointing. We were upgraded to an executive room (many thanks for this) but were woken at 3.30am by a member of staff in the corridor talking loudly on his walkie-talkie. The room was lovely and the breakfast was very good. Next time, maybe we should phone to ensure that all facilities are open. January 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas Break Stayed for 3 nights over Christmas with our family and have to say that having stayed at the hotel many times before with some issues I am so pleased that this time was such a massive improvement so thank you very much. A great hotel of course for kids and a lovely Christmas atmosphere. A big big thank you though to Shannon who made sure our stay this time went accordingly to plan your a star! and also to the men behind the bar, excellent customer service. Thank you again everyone for making a stay over a special time so enjoyable, I am sure we will be back again soon. January 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal location if visiting chessington theme park A well used hotel, good for children if you are visiting chessington. Food is poor, and limited. Small pool for the type of hotel, and it is too hot to spectate. Otherwise the hotel is adequate for visiting chessington. January 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay but xmas presents missing Had a nice stay at the hotel, room nice, food was good. reception staff friendly. We went with friends and exchanged christmas presents during the childrens entertainment. We placed these underneath the table. The entertainment finished at 8pm in the evening. We were the last to leave at nearly 9pm. All the other tables were cleaned and the table cloths taken off. We got the impression that the person clearing the tables wanted us out. The next day we realised the presents were left under the table. We called reception but the member of staff from the chessington hotel who was clearing the tables did not hand them in so we lost our kids christmas presents ! This has left a bad taste ! January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value comfortable night away. Really good value very comfortable night away,even with two young children (under 5) The kids loved it and are made to feel very welcome with fab child friendly pool,face painting,movie area. Breakfast is fab with so much to choose from even for fussy little ones,lovely clean big family rooms with fab views of zoo.Couldnt have asked for more will most certainly be returning again soon. January 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and tacky - we won't be back. We have stayed here a number of times over the past 5 years and sadly won't ever be back again. The quality of the hotel has dropped beyond belief . There are too many noisy small children being left to run riot by their parents. I do not appreciate being woken early by an adult shouting at their child in the corridor outside my hotel room at 7am on a Saturday. And the family who left used nappies in the corridor outside their room !!! The 'buffet' breakfast is so bad we decided to give it a miss after our first night although we had paid extra for it. It used to be a fantastic hotel but none of us enjoyed our visit this time. Not what we expect from Holiday Inn. January 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Boxing day Last year was excellent this boxing the bar was halfed which we were not informed no bar in disco are had to leave disco and kids to go and get a drink very unsatisfactory Manager did eventually provide disco but very poor boxing day dissapointed wish we had been informed of renovations December 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good and bad. A mixed bag This wasn't a typical holiday inn I suppose being associated with Merlin. So entertainment value was great and highly memorable due to its entertainment.. It was lit up nicely for Christmas.. Had loads of events which were all nicely managed. Room size was good and was reasonably clean with nice decor. What we didn't realise was the heating wasn't as effective and some sections were too cold and others too hot. Compounded by the fact that I didn't ask for extra set of duvet made situations worse. The kids duvet were not suitable at all. They were small and thin and with uneven heat we all had to improvise taking turns to sleep in the kids area. Not so great for your sleep I suppose. The large rooms that are charged for kids area with TV and view of the reserve I don't think are worth the extra. The kids TV in our room wasn't working well. On complaining it was attended quickly but as they could not fix it they offered another smaller room with view of reserve. On reflection i should have taken the smaller room... Even when I had paid for the larger one. They did not offer to refund difference. Next the SPA and the pool... Very untidy and not at all well maintained.... May be the number of guest are a strain... But that is no excuse... I wonder what happens in peak season... We had only gone there in winter off season.... I think they were understaffed and it showed clearly during breakfast which was another massive disappointment... The dinner was fine so I think it was just lack of staff during breakfast. Sorry Merlin.. Both you and holiday inn didn't live up to the name... Your other facilities are far better... If it wasn't for the entertainment it would have been graded poor. No wonder you are building new hotel and this one is only a stop gap now. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Had an enjoyable stay over Xmas. It is an excellent place to take children. Girls who did the activities - really patient with my boys. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel Stayed over Christmas eve to add a little extra sparkle to Christmas for our precious daughter who is very poorly. Had Xmas eve meal & chritsmas morning breakfast in restaurant which was excellent. Entertainment for children was very good. The hotel is of excellent standard and the staff are so helpful and friendly. Only down side was the heating control switch appears to be sealed at 15 so you can not adjust it which ment the room was fairly cold throughout our stay. Stayed at the hotel a couple of weeks before and the room we was allocated also had the heating control sealed at 15 which again the room was cold throughout our stay. However would certainly recommend this hotel 100% and will certainly be returning in the near future and will certainly be booking the same Christmas break in 2014. Excellent all round :) December 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fantastic stay for all spotless, warm and inviting. welcoming and friendly staff. food excellent and within price range wished I would have stayed for the whole christmas. December 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, disappointing stay! This was the second time I have stayed with my family. The first time was great, however, the second time was on a Friday eve for a Christmas family break and it was very disappointing. There was no music in the bar, not even a Christmas song and beleive me you needed some to drown out all the building works the other side of the bar! Apart from the Christmas tree we wouldn't have known it was Christmas. Check in didn't go well really, they tried to charge twice, we were given an activities list that was meant to be for the guests on the Saturday. Need I go on! Disappointing as this is a nice hotel and could be so much better. December 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Too concerned with Chessington We stayed here NOT to visit the park so as the hotel seems almost entirely geared towards those who do, our stay was far from good. For instance: Couldn't get menu on TV hence no idea how to connect to internet nor what channels were available. Reported this to reception but no improvement. Asked for soft pillows - had to ask again. Matress was the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on. Throughout breakfast on one of the mornings part of the dining room was being hoovered - could hardly hear each other. On the other morning, no wholemeal bread. Tea for breakfast was from a machine where the water was hot - not boiling - very poor quality tea. Throughout our stay there was a noisy air conditioner (?or something similar) which made it difficult to get to sleep. Very little explanation of how to do anything - we assume this might have been on the TV menu if we could have accessed it. This is the first Holiday Inn I have been in that didn't have biscuits in the room nor black pudding available for breakfast. etc. etc. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super clean and comfortable! We had a very enjoyable time staying at this hotel. My children loved the themed bedroom and we all slept soundly. The room was immaculate and spacious. My kids enjoyed all the activities that were offered and enjoyed 'movie night.' The breakfast was delicious and varied. Would recommend to anyone with children or even without! December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday trip We have justt returned from a fabulous night away at Chessington and felt compelled to share. The hotel was really Christmassy , the staff were friendly and the rooms great. It was all clean ( which is a must for me) and tidy and the themed rooms were very tastefully designed. We had a beautiful meal in Zafari and would highly recommend reserving a table there for dinner. The added bonus of visiting the zoo and sealife centre for free in the morning was great. We have all come home (15 miles away!) feeling like we have been on holiday . My advice is go if you get the chance Fi December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb hotel Stayed here for one night only but would have stayed all weekend as it is such a great hotel. The staff and facilities are just superb November 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, poor service We stayed in half term week so it was busy but the hotel would know this. A mix up with our booking which meant we had to move rooms after 1 night, no apology or help given, not acceptabnle as this was the hotels error. No recognition given for being an IHG member. We arrived 5 mins early for our evening meal and were told in no uncertain terms to wait and come back at the right time..even though the restaurant was not full then! The vegetables were so hard we couldnt eat them and when we complained nothing was done, not replaced and not discounted from the bill. The breakfast food regularly ran out, even though we were in early before the rush. The cooked food was very greasey and we had to wait over 1/2 hour for the poached eggs to arrive! The changing rooms for the swimming pool were dirty with hair all over the floor, bins overflowing and with most of the lockers broken. Problem with check out where we were charged twice for our room, I then paid the revised amount only to find my credit card had been debited the following week without my consent. Fraud!! Overall a disappointing stay whcih didnt meet the standards of a Holiday Inn. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely family experience Excellent family room, with great facilities. Top quality breakfast. A+ November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic... This was a wonderful place. It might not be 5 star but the safari in the background, the wonderful friendly service from the staff and being next to Chessington theme park - this was one of my best hotel experiences ever. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice stay We totally enjoyed our stay, great staff very helpful . Great location November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommend Stayed here for one night, had an excellent stay. Staff were friendly, food was great, very accommodating. Will stay here again. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Family Hotel for chessington We have stayed 3 times now at the Chessington Holiday Inn and it's be fantastic everytime. The staff are welcoming, the family rooms are very clean, spacious & tastefully decorated and the breakfast has a great choice of food for all. There is loads to keep the kids occupied including a fab swimming pool to use. It is also only a 5min drive from shops & restaurants so you don't have to eat in the Hotel as we find the Grill Restaurant a little bit pricey as we have 3 fussy eating kids. I would definately recommend to anyone looking to stay in or around chessington. My family love & and cant wait to go back. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth Every Penny!!! I don't normally write reviews but really felt that I had to with this one. Stayed with my two children in a room overlooking the lodge we thought it was fantastic. It was so nice to see the ostriches so close. The family room was lovely and clean and the staff were very attentive. All in all we were very impressed and cant wait to stay there again! November 1, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Epsom Racecourse Hotel overlooking the Downs
Epsom Racecourse Hotel overlooking the Downs
Select to close.
Epsom Racecourse Hotel overlooking the Downs Reception Epsom Racecourse Hotel by night Entrance Doors Front Desk View from Hotel Scenery / Landscape Exterior Feature Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading