• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SWANSEA
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Portuguese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Swansea Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Battleship Cove
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Providence Place Mall
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI
Attraction:
University of Rhode Island
Distance From Hotel:12.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:33
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Swansea, MA near PVD

Enjoy thoughtful amenities and superior service at our choice hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Our prime Swansea, Massachusetts lodging is just 15 miles from the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth.

Swansea is situated in the heart of the northeast, and visitors are sure to appreciate the New England charm that surrounds our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Families will enjoy our convenient access
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Swansea, MA near PVD

Enjoy thoughtful amenities and superior service at our choice hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Our prime Swansea, Massachusetts lodging is just 15 miles from the University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth.

Swansea is situated in the heart of the northeast, and visitors are sure to appreciate the New England charm that surrounds our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts. Families will enjoy our convenient access to several Swansea and Providence attractions, which include various beaches, downtown Swansea shopping, Battleship Cove, the Whaling Museum, and Blithewood Mansion and Gardens. Nearby colleges include Providence College, Roger Williams, Brown and Johnson and Wales Universities.

Business travelers are sure to enjoy our hotel in Swansea, Massachusetts, too. We are located near several prominent businesses like Lightolier, Cardinal Health, Brayton Point Power and Fall Fiver Industrial Park. We are proud to offer premium business amenities, which include free high-speed wireless Internet access, a business center with copy, fax and shipping services and much more.

Don't be disappointed by another Swansea hotel, instead enjoy your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Take advantage of our complimentary hot breakfast bar, fitness center and pool. Book your reservations today for our great Swansea hotel deals and rates.

View Less
Features

Take a virtual tour of the hotel.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 190 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, large rooms, good breakfast I stayed here for a wedding for 2 nights, and was more than satisfied. I had read reviews about breakfast not being very good, but they have a new and improved selection and it was excellent with a wide range of choices including a make-your-own pancake maker. Every member of staff was super nice and helpful. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, clean and quiet The room was ready on time and the desk sevice was very helpful.. We had an issue with the DVD player and the maintenance man spent a lot of time fixing it. We really appreciate that he did not give up. The fitness center was small but adequate and the pool was an added benefit. Breakfast were more than enough food and checkout was simple. June 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay and relax My fiance and i were impressed with how clean our rooms were and how convenient it was checking in and out. There was also a side entrance where you could swipe your card for convenience. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they let us check in early without a problem. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety and there was 24 hr tea, hot chocolate and coffee service which was a plus. We will be staying again and hopefully using some of our club points. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and staff was accomodating and pleasant. We were not familiar with this area or hotel and stayed to attend a wedding in the area. This hotel was recommended by the bridal party. Staff was very accommodating with handicap accessible room, early check in and late check out. The room was clean, quiet and beds were very comfortable. The breakfast room was very convenient and offered a great selection for breakfast on site. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay When we arrived, the front desk was friendly and worked to provide an upgraded room for us at no additional fee. Bed was very comfortable; room was clean; breakfast was excellent with a variety of breakfast foods and fresh fruit; price was reasonable for the Newport area. Our room was at the end of the hall; very accessible from outdoor parking and a quiet place to be. We had a light out in our entry way, so left the management a note on our way out so they could fix it. Very pleased. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food The pancakes were flat and hard. You need to add sugar free syrup like the other HI Expresses. June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Very convenient to all the sites and very reasonable priced if you make an earlier reservation. Parking is no problem and front desk is very helpful. Small work out room and pool for the kids. Hotel is priced right for the area. We took the bigger room(suite) because grandchildren had there own TV. Still only one bathroom and this slowed us down in the morning. But next time we will take 2 rooms. June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, diappointing breakfast. The hotel and staff were wonderful! Room was clean and spacious. However the breakfast left a lot to be desired. As my husband called it, rubber eggs and plastic cheese. Even the hard boiled eggs were frozen. Coffee was ok. Overall not what I was used to for a breakfast at a Holiday Inn Express. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for the area Stayed here for one night while attending a wedding nearby. Price was half of other nearby hotels, but it was a perfect stay! Front desk was very helpful providing directions and suggestions for last-minute clothing needs. All staff we encountered was extremely friendly and polite. Room was nice.. bed was very comfortable, lots of pillows. No complaints at all, would certainly stay again if we were in Newport again! June 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and knowledgeable staff, very helpful We spent 6 days in the area touring the mansions. Staying here was very economical and pleasant. Our room was clean, roomy and comfortable. The staff were great helping us find what we needed. We enjoyed the pool every morning and appreciated the convenient breakfast. We would recommend and come back if ever in the area again. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Memorial weekend stay We spent Memorial weekend at this hotel to enjoy a vacation in the Newport, RI area, worked out well. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. Room was clean and well equipped, including jacuzzi. Breakfast was good. Would definitely lodge there again. June 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Enjoyable atmosphere, great people, great room,Enjoyable atmosphere, great people, great room May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good quality for price We spent a Friday and Saturday night recently while attending a function in Newport. Staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. Room was clean. Breakfast was excellent if you wanted a quick bit and on a time schedule. Would definitely lodge their again while in the area. May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No problems at all. I was a little concerned when I read some of the reviews, but I have read reviews before and then experience better. I had no problems at the hotel. The checking in was easy. I was given a handicapped room since I walk with a cane. The breakfast dishes were as advertised. Omlettes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage patties, variety of bread, bagels and English muffins. Muffins and cinnamon buns. Even fresh fruit. I love this hotel. Will stay there again and recommend it to others. April 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Quiet, affordable, with great staff & service We stay here for several nights once or twice a year when we visit Newport. The hotel is generally very quiet when we are there which is out of season in Spring or Fall. The rooms are of good size and reasonably furnished with comfortable beds; we always ask for a king on the top floor. Only complaints are the pillows seem rather small to me as I am used to king sized pillows at home, and the lighting is rather dim; but that is true of most hotels! The free internet is fairly quick on both wired and wireless, and there is a desk on which to place the computer. The included hot breakfast is typical for this type of hotel and is fine and filling with good all round choices. I appreciate the 24 hour coffee including decaf. The staff are really excellent; friendly, helpful and always cheerful. Highly recommended, particularly if you are visiting Newport which is just a few minutes drive away. Recommended eating nearby: Blue Plate Diner and Anthony's Seafood. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not like last time... The room was as expected and the pool area was good. The disappointment was the breakfast. Last time we stayed here, we were pleased with the breakfast and decided to return here vs other hotels in the area because of the breakfast. Next time, it will not be part of the decision. The hotel clerk when we checked in and out was very very nice. March 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by ongoing problems we travel to this area about 10 times a year. The past few visits we were disappointed with the serice and amentities Also second day room is not restocked will full compliment of towel, shampoo, coffee and cups, cold and hot... In the future when we travel to this area. We will travel; a little further and stay in Swansea, MA March 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by problems with room key overall ok but room key did not work after first night this happened again after second night after having breakfast had to go to front desk to get a new key Several small personal items(no real value) apparently thrown out by room cleaning staff February 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sock in my bed Its very upsetting as guest on a romantic weekend to get into bed only to find a previous guests dirty sock underneath my sheets. The front desk staff were "fantastic" but i find it unacceptable that the general manager couldnt find time to contact me via email with an apology (especially sice ive been a platinum member for years. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Hotel was awesome.... clean, neat and the staffed help out with all my questions. December 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room great, breakfast an issue THe room was excellent with nice new fluffy towels. However, the one morning for breakfast, the cereal was subpar (imitation cherrios and only two choices), we got sour milk of fat free and had to get a new bowl of cereal with 2% reduced milk. THe bananas were strange....seem as if full of air and warm. New pones put out were much better, after we had had ours. Need to step it up with the breakfast. December 11, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Everything great but the breakfast I have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express many times and always enjoyed a good stay. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with the breakfast offereing this time. The cerial was stale, eggs were cold, bread was hard. I know there weren't many customers at the hotel during the days that I was there, but that is no excuse for the leftovers that were being served. December 11, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SO MUCH CONFUSION We have so much confusion with or t stay. The hotel staffs are not properly trained. eventhough we booked long time ago, they were not able to find our reservation. So we have to wait in the line , for other customers to finish their check in. That was absolutely not fair to us. The hotel staffs attitudes were very bad. I wont stay there again or recomend to others. December 9, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by As expected, but skip the breakfast. The 'free' breakfast was horrible, and this is coming from someone who is not picky and can handle anything. The microwaved eggs were not even close to being somewhat enjoyable. The cereal tasted like cardboard - how can you mess this up unless you are using cereal from a year ago? And get this, the bananas and apples were even bad. So, while the room was as expected, do not count on the breakfast. November 30, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay for Good Price Facilities were average-nothing spectacular but room was clean (except showerhead which needs to be replaced). Close to Newport Naval Station. Restaurants nearby-some with delivery. Priced right for service and facilities. November 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay Nice, quiet property, convenient to central Newport. We originally planned to stay for just a night, but decided to come back for another night (see next review) November 21, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by fair service Bed was not made each morning, shampoos and soap not replenished, pool water was too cold. unsupervised teens were very loud, had to ask for a room change. Same teens were unsupervised in hot tub and pool area and they were running in the halls yelling late at night.. Unsure if they were even with any adults. Curtains were very dirty, tub was oddly narow shape which made it feel unsafe. Breakfast was poor. Only good things were coffee, yogurt and cinamon rolls, rest of the food was very unsatisfactory. November 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great time Enjoyed using the gym and since my husband had a business mtg in the morning they allowed me to check in early which was GREAT!!! October 26, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay away from Room 104. Only book on the second floor. We stayed last weekend. The room was fine. The walk from the parking lot and front desk was short. However, we got NO SLEEP. All night there was an on and off sound of water rushing thru pipes. It seemed like our room was an echo chamber for every toilet flushing on the upper floors. We finally turned up the TV on an all night news channel to drown out the sound to get to sleep. We reported it the next morning and the Front Desk attendant said "we'll look into it." This can not be the first time anyone has experienced this level of noise! Only a magnum of coffee got us thru our long drive home the next day without falling asleep at the wheel. October 25, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Trusted Hotel We prefer to stay at Holiday Inn Express. We always know what we will get. October 19, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior at Night
Hotel Exterior at Night
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior at Night Hotel Lobby Guest Lounge Hotel Exterior with Gazebo Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Battleship Cove only 4 miles away Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior at Night Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express.  Enjoy free wifi, free breakfast, and your choice of pillows.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading