• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets but please contact the Arizona Pet Resort at 480 966 1580. Located only 2.4 miles north of the hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Arizona State University - Home of the Sun Devils
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Tempe Diablo Stadium
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:75
  • Car Parking Available
  • There is one parking space per room.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:72
  • Total number of suites:22
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:19
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:72
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

Our modern, sophisticated design offers
View More

New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

Our modern, sophisticated design offers 100% non-smoking accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as spacious guestrooms with luxurious new bedding, deluxe hot breakfast, outdoor pool, whirl pool, fitness area and business center.

Our opportune location places you minutes from downtown Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale, Glendale, Chandler and Gilbert. Local points of interest include Phoenix Zoo, Desert Botanical Gardens, Pueblo Grande Indian Museum, Phoenix Convention Center, Old Town Scottsdale, Casino Arizona, University of Phoenix Stadium (Cardinal’s Football), Phoenix International Raceway, Chase Field, US Airways Center and Sun Devil Stadium. Golf enthusiasts will truly appreciate the abundance of world class golf courses in the area.

We are confident that your stay in Tempe, Arizona will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart!

View Less
Features
At the Holiday Inn Express/ Tempe/ University, guest will enjoy a full hot breakfast buffet, outdoor swimming pool, whirl pool, fitness center, business center, sundry shop and guest laundry. Our spacious suites feature a seperate living area with sofa bed, microwave and refrigerator.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 136 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable Value Touted as luxurious, they fall a bit short, but if you don't pay a premium price for this property you won't be disappointed. August 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Experience - San Marcos This facility appears nice from the road however the experience we had was less than expected. Kids running in the walkways and guest arguing prevented us from sleeping, staff failed to respond. The second night appeared to start the same so we checked out at 10PM and left. Staff suggested we contact manager after we told why we were checking out. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and relax This is the second time I stayed here for a business trip. I will always come to Crowne Plaza when I am in the area. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service Being from Alaska, and visiting the great Phoenix area in late July - the humid temperatures were challenging for me. Howeve, the people - the great customer service, made my stay very enjoyable. From the check in experience with a smile and great attitudes, to the lobby staff to the food and beverage staff to the housekeeping staff - they went above and beyond with their excellent customer service. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business Trip Overall, hotel property was nice and staff was very courteous. Biggest compliant is with the cleaning staff. They seem to just do the bare minimum. During my stay it was common to see trays of food from a guest's room service after breakfast still sitting there in the Arizona heat in the early evening (all hallways are exterior not interior). My shower stall had clumps of hair from a previous guest clinging to the walls and I'm not talking about a strand or two but large clumps. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by laid back weekend We really enjoy the old town Chandler area. It was fun to stay at the San Marcos and walk to the great brew pubs and bars nearby. Our executive suite was so comfortable. The historic San Marcos is lovely place to relax. Simple pool and huge hot tub that was open until midnight! Great in room dining, speedy and delicious! I wanted to stay another night! August 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Could benefit from better training of staff. After checking into our room, we turned the AC down to cool the room and left for a dinner appointment. When we returned three hours later, the room was the same temperature (85"). Maintenance staff was responsive and we were relocated to a room with operating AC. The next morning we ordered a pot of coffee delivered to the room and that is all we got. No sugar, cream or coffee cups. Staff was very responsive in delivering cream, sugar and cups. That night when we went to bed and it felt like someone had short-sheeted the bed. The fitted bottom sheet did not fit the king bed. Staff was very responsive in bringing up a sheet of the correct size. Most, if not all these issues could be avoided by proper training of staff. Housekeeping staff should know when an AC unit is not cooling a room and report it to maintenance. Room service staff should be trained on what is included when they deliver coffee to a room. Housekeeping staff should be trained on making sure beds are properly made. August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Missing in action We all leave items behind nothing expensive but when you call you want to have them to check and call with the results... August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Ideal location for trip purpose. Easy to access main travel corridors. Numerous dining options within walking distance. July 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service but Poor Hotel Quality The customer service provided at this hotel was excellent with the exception of one of the dining room staff. The young man that took care of my room service was wonderful. The bathroom is in terrible need of updating!!! The tub did not drain properly at all. There were dead creatures under the bathroom counter. A bit unnerving. I also had to request an iron which was a bit annoying but was taken care of immediately. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Enjoyed the pool, room service was inadequate, staff was friendly. Overall great experience. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy, enjoyed the aromatherapy packet. Overall I was pleased with my stay, will stay again when I am visiting for business. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Staycation !! affordably and competively priced hotel as compared to the places in phoenix and scottsdale. hotel had a great mix of modern amenities (nice beds, sheets, decor, bathrooms, TV's, clock) with grounds that were relaxed, spacious and harkened to a more relaxed spacious time. Pool, jacuzzi and deck was very large with dozens of lounge chairs and several umbrella covered tables and chairs. Very easy to find a quiet private spot at pool area. Salt pools were suprisingly warm in the middle of the summer and jacuzzi was not much warmer than pool which was suprising. Main lobby had class. Cool old car on display, piano in the lounge, flavored water and several today's newspapers available. The grounds were messy from monson that blew through and took 12-18 hours to be cleaned. Some room service dishes were left in hallways for several hours. Overall My wife was pleased. She'd like to return the San Marcos perhaps on our next Staycation. Sam July 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight Experience Clean and comfortable room combined with great food service made our experience a memorable one. I would recommend this facility to my friends because I would definitely return to this particular Crowne Plaza. July 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Away Can't recall staying at a worse resort ever! Had to change rooms twice just to get a working shower...all drains were filthy. Felt very sorry for a competent staff who started with an apology, then were nearly in tears. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable beds, rooms were clean , pool area super. breakfast was excellent , great tast and HOT July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight Getaway My family and i stayed overnight. It was a pleasant stay with most of our time being spent by the pool. The pool had alot of plant and foilage that was landing in the pool. Perhaps routine skimming of the pool woulf be helpful. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Marcos Far Exceeded My Expectations I can't say enough good about my stay at San Marcos! From the time I booked my reservation until I checked out...I had the best experience! Damon at the front desk was incredible and really new his stuff all the while being pleasant and professional. I was very impressed with him! July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by old, comfortable, worm in the room We went for a staycation. I booked just for my wife and I to sleep, relax, and eat out without kids. I would say it is clinging to the "resort" title as the exterior stucco was outdated, there were popcorn ceilings in the room, but the furniture was nice. The TV was SD with only one movie channel. The pool was nice because we were the only ones there and we could relax. The first morning there my wife was getting ready for the day when she stepped on a large grub crawling on the ground. Don't know where it came from but we delivered it to the front desk without anything done to apologize other than "I'm sorry." I would say if I paid less it may have been worth it but will likely look elsewhere the next time...(unless it's free) Downtown Chandler is great and the hotel is right there to enjoy the restaurants which is the best the hotel has to offer. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Front desk staff was so welcoming. The whole process was a breeze. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay at Crowne Plaza, San Marcos I traveled with my family through Chandler, AZ, and was very pleased to stay at the Crowne Plaza Resort. We were there during the hot "off season", so the hotel was fairly unoccupied. The grounds were exceptionally well maintained and provided an oasis-like atmosphere, which is just what we needed after traveling through the hot Mojave desert. The buildings had a sublime "mission style" atmosphere that was both understated and elegant at the same time. The gardens and pool areas were a near Elysian experience. The rooms were large and well appointed and the bathroom, although a bit small, was clean and well designed. There were a number of high-quality shops and restaurants in the area, which offered a number of excellent dining and shopping options. The breakfast at the hotel was great and the staff friendly and accommodating. My only quibble was that the internet service was slow. Otherwise, it was an excellent stay. July 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pass by this hotel I was very disappointed by this Crowne Plaza property. I got into my room around 11 PM after a very long day. After unpacking my suitcase, I realized that there was a severe leak in the bathroom sink. I called the front desk and they said that they would have to move me to a different room, so they were going to have security help me with my bags. About 15 minutes later, a front desk gentleman came to my room to give me no room keys, but nobody to help me with my bags. I got to my new room, and everything appeared satisfactory, minus the dirty bathroom, but really I was exhausted and complaining wasn't worth the hassle at that point. The next morning, I was looking forward to having a cup of coffee on the patio that extended from my room. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to do that due to the insane bee problem right outside my window. Not only were the bees horrible, but the paint on the ceiling of my patio was falling off. It was obvious that the paint had been coming off for quite awhile, so I'm sure maintenance or house cleaning was aware. Although this was all frustrating, my major concern was security.. Due to the nature of my business travel, it was imperative that the front desk didn't give out info to any unauthorized person (essentially only my husband) in regards to the fact that I was staying there. I called the front desk to ask their policy about occupant info. He said that if anybody was to call asking for me, they would only give info to an authorized family member but only if they could answer a series of personal questions about me. I made it clear to him that due to the nature of my business, they absolutely had to make sure security with my name was upheld. I felt uneasy about our interaction since he didn't bother to ask my name.. I decided to test out the hotel to see how secure it really was. I walked up to the front desk and there was one associate working. This associate I hadn't had any contact with or seen at all during my stay. I went to the desk and said that I was staying in room number XXXX and that I needed a duplicate room key. Without asking my name or for any identification, she made me a new room key and I was good to go. Secure? It's actions like that that will ensure I won't be staying at a Crowne Plaza again. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice oasis it is hot in Phoenix and the surrounding areas. The hotel was a welcome oasis of cool. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, especially for my 'flying' breakfast needs. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. However, the way to get to them is a bit of a maze, and not a nice walk in the hours of darkness. The pool looked very inviting, shame did not have time for it. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful grounds, great service The hotel property was spacious and beautifully landscaped throughout. The pool, terrace, restaurant and lobby were all large, open June 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Check-In You could fire the house keeping manager and the hotel manager. I have never met a hotel manager that seemed so out of place. June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Nice Location The grounds are lovely. The room was below average for my taste. Staff was friendly. June 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing our visit was very nice. The facility was a bit dated and the a/c was not adequate. we also had a bulb out in a bed side lamp June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay The second stay was great. (The first one had some omissions in the room). The pool was marvelous. The dinner extraordinary. We cannot understand why there were not more diners that night, June 9. The room, with balcony, was elegant, the bathroom well-furnished. Although we are not disabled, we appreciated the bars to hold onto in the bathroom. All in all, it was a delightful stay. June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at the San Marcos This stay was intended to bridge a wedding day and return to our new home as to give a brak from from the hectic ceremony. I elected the presidential suite as a nice comfort gesture to the bride. In my experiences in staying in other resorts, around the world, I found the San Marcos lacking. The rooms seem dated, the common areas not well groomed or maintained, elevators uncomfortable and parking limited. June 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Multiple problems I am truly not one to complain, but in this case I find it necessary. I booked our room as part of a reserved wedding block. Upon arrival, we were greeted nicely and learned that the computer was down and the manager was running up and down the stairs making keys for everyone coming in at that time. No big deal. We understood, waited for our key and proceeded to our room. Our room had not been cleaned from the previous guest. I called the front and they asked me to walk back to the lobby to wait for another key to be made. At that point, I had about 35 minutes to get ready for the wedding we were attending and I explained to the front desk person that I didn't have time to walk back and forth and wait. She came to me and opened a different room for us to stay but still didn't have a key. She told me to ask for the key on the way out as we were leaving to the wedding. When I did, the key still was not ready and it was as if the front desk people had no idea. We did eventually get our key after the wedding. Saturday morning, in pursuit of the onsite coffee shop the binder in my room said the hotel had, I was told that there was no onsite starbucks to be had until opening day which hadn't occurred yet. Not normally a big deal, but don't mention it if it doesn't exist yet. Overall, I was just really disappointed with the hotel and the events that played out. I would have expected a lot more organization on the hotels part. I understand the computers were down when we checked in, I just feel like there should have been a better backup plan to handle guests checking in. June 3, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Select to close.
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Front Desk Front Desk Sunny day in Tempe Saguaro Cactus Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Tempe University Hotel
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading