• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets but please contact the Arizona Pet Resort at 480 966 1580. Located only 2.4 miles north of the hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tempe Diablo Stadium
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
Arizona State University - Home of the Sun Devils
Distance From Hotel:0.1

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:75
  • Car Parking Available
  • There is one parking space per room.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:72
  • Total number of suites:22
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:19
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:72
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

Our modern, sophisticated design offers
View More

New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

Our modern, sophisticated design offers 100% non-smoking accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as spacious guestrooms with luxurious new bedding, deluxe hot breakfast, outdoor pool, whirl pool, fitness area and business center.

Our opportune location places you minutes from downtown Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale, Glendale, Chandler and Gilbert. Local points of interest include Phoenix Zoo, Desert Botanical Gardens, Pueblo Grande Indian Museum, Phoenix Convention Center, Old Town Scottsdale, Casino Arizona, University of Phoenix Stadium (Cardinal’s Football), Phoenix International Raceway, Chase Field, US Airways Center and Sun Devil Stadium. Golf enthusiasts will truly appreciate the abundance of world class golf courses in the area.

We are confident that your stay in Tempe, Arizona will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart!

View Less
Features
At the Holiday Inn Express/ Tempe/ University, guest will enjoy a full hot breakfast buffet, outdoor swimming pool, whirl pool, fitness center, business center, sundry shop and guest laundry. Our spacious suites feature a seperate living area with sofa bed, microwave and refrigerator.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 64 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service, cleanliness, comfort and value! Our family's favorite place to stay. Great service, fulfilling breakfast and comfortable suites for relaxing. Close to everything! We have stayed several times and have never been disappointed. May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. It was located close to a freeway entrance that made it convenient to everywhere. The only critique I have is that the variety on the breakfast buffet was poor, the pancake machine didn't work properly and the eggs didn't taste real. With so many other restaurants close by, it wasn't a problem for us (except for convenience). Also, the internet worked but was very slow. April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room and Fantastic Breakfast This hotel is fabulous for the price. Room was very nice and full complimentary breakfast was a treat! April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Love the location of the hotel. Great place to stay. April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Friendly staff I highly recommend this hotel for business travelers. All of the amenities are available for the business travelers. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable Nice and comfortable hotel. Close to a lot of places to eat and shopping April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than most of Holiday Inn and Hoilday Inn Express This hotel live up to the Holiday Inn Express standard and beyond. Good location, near everything, friendly staff, clean room, quite room too (good isolation), no banging doors ( door spring adjust properly). Food are ok, have a overflow room to accommodate large group. This is the hotel I stay when I come to Phoenix, AZ March 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We stayed two nights in Tucson and one night at Tempe. All three stays were great. Holiday Inn Express is consistent wherever we have stayed. We especially appreciate the great staff at Tempe. Thanks again, look forward to another stay in the near future. Bob and Lois March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for all kinds! Awesome rooms & helpful staff. I have stayed at this location a few times now and I intentionally go back! They staff is awesome, the rooms are clean and enjoyable and it's close to alot of things. This place is near perfect for me & in my opinion. LOVE IT! March 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good stay, Great location. All was great,but the express breakfast was not well serviced. For the number of people staying at the hotel,the food ran out, slow to refill and under maned. Other stays were far better,hope this corrected. March 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our get away from my crazy home We live in AZ but our home has been taken over with my Mom and my Grandma moving in recently so we needed a get away just overnight for some much needed rest..It was wonderful..Loved the room and everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful..We will defiantly stay there again when we need a get away stop.. March 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel I've actually stayed at this location before, however, this was the first time I noticed how comfortable the bed was. Hands down one of the most comfortable places I have ever slept. Also, the staff was extremely helpful. I had some issues connecting my laptop to the wireless internet and the hotel's IT guy was super helpful. He definitely went above and beyond to help me out. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and quiet Came in for Kajikawa Classic @ ASU. Was looking for a place just kick it after long day at the Sports Park. We found it at HI Tempe. February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable My fiancé' and I enjoyed the room with no issues or problems. The space was clean and staff was attentive. We were grateful the location was close to many restaurants and an evening stroll was not difficult. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay I stayed at this property for business and enjoyed the stay. Room was very quiet and the free breakfast was excellent. Free Internet was also great. Will stay again on my next visit. February 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First ever review Even as a platinum member, I think this may be my first ever review however I was so impressed with the manager Joe, I thought I would take the time. I had mucked up a booking that by all accounts I should have been charged for but it was no problems to Joe. I had a number of guest rooms that I had also booked that had various issues with different people coming and going, Joe made our trip very easy. Good service in America?? Certainly here. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by business stay Staff very attentive, ackowledge status, very friendly. I feel welcomed. January 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 NICE HOTEL Very nice, clean and convenient. Good quality property! January 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Well I have to start with the bad, the first room we checked into upon attempting to make the sofa out into a bed we found a nasty soiled bandana under the cushions. The staff was very a comparative and switched our room immediately all was well in the second room until my son lost something under the couch and upon moving the couch we found a condom wrapper so the cleanliness issue was not so great. However we have stayed at this hotel many times before and never had any issues and the front desk personnel, housekeeping supervisor, and the hotel manager took great care of us and ensured this would not happen in the future. Overall I would gladly stay here again and again the staff took ownership of the problem and made it right. Thanks Tempe staff you guys are awesome January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Last Vacation day stay 5 Stars!! Having stayed an many Holiday Inn Express rooms around the US this one is one of the great ones. Beautiful area, easy access to the airport and a wonderful room. This particular stay was the last day of a 10 day vacation in the Red Rock area and we had been in a different room while in that area and the bed was uncomfortable and the heat did not work very well. Getting to stay here the final night was a wonderful experience! I recommend this property and the executive King Suite... December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and clean room. Will most likely be staying here again when in town. December 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Weekend Location was great. Something to do for all and close to shopping, sporting events and great dining. It was a great central meeting place to get together with some friends. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, quality business center,... Many time stopping by Phoenix, I did stay in this hotel for the following reasons: 1. Business center: printer, computer, scanner/ fax all are free of charge 2. Free 2 bottle of water in the fridge everyday 3. Very friendly front desk. 4. Stay longer than 7 days-- special rate, less expensive than regular rate. 5. Close to: mall, Mc Donnald, Costco, and most respectable restaurant chains November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Big Rooms Rooms are large and comfortable. Location is excellent. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE STAY, GOOD LOCATION VERY COMFORTABLE STAY, GOOD SERVICE, I LIKE THE LOCATION. I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL November 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location close to Airport Best value for the money and service was excellent. November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clealiness in the room I think housekeeping should look up at ceiling because it had dust bunny on it. When you are in bed you can see them. Thank-you November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great service This is a very nice hotel. From the time we walked in the door, the staff was friendly and helpful, giving us cookies at the front desk. We had driven a long way that day so we were very tired and happy that we were able to check into our room right away. The staff called us after we had been in our room for a little while asking if the room was ok, which we appreciated. The suite was nice and comfortable with plenty of seating so we could just relax and hang out. This hotel is also within walking distance of restaurants, which is nice not to have to get into your car to go and eat dinner. The complimentary breakfast is good with a lot of variety and it makes it easy when you have to get back on the road again to eat before you go. The only thing that I would say was not exactly perfect is the bed was a little hard for us, not terrible but not quite what we like, which is always a matter of taste. I would definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone staying in Tempe. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall experience The hotel is located not to far from the airport and downtown Phoenix.Rooms are large and convinient.The hotel staff is very helpfull and flexible. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Abel to relax Lots of room a clean room quite close to resteronts October 20, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Select to close.
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Front Desk Front Desk Sunny day in Tempe Saguaro Cactus Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Tempe University Hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading