• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets but please contact the Arizona Pet Resort at 480 966 1580. Located only 2.4 miles north of the hotel.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tempe Diablo Stadium
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
Arizona State University - Home of the Sun Devils
Distance From Hotel:0.1

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:75
  • Car Parking Available
  • There is one parking space per room.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:72
  • Total number of suites:22
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:19
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:72
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

Our modern, sophisticated design offers
View More

New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phoenix Tempe - University is exquisitely designed in modern styling. With convenient access to I-10, we are within walking distance to Arizona State University as well as the popular Mill Street District featuring a wide variety of shopping and restaurants. Guests will appreciate our close proximity to Tempe Town Lake and the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport.

Our modern, sophisticated design offers 100% non-smoking accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as spacious guestrooms with luxurious new bedding, deluxe hot breakfast, outdoor pool, whirl pool, fitness area and business center.

Our opportune location places you minutes from downtown Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale, Glendale, Chandler and Gilbert. Local points of interest include Phoenix Zoo, Desert Botanical Gardens, Pueblo Grande Indian Museum, Phoenix Convention Center, Old Town Scottsdale, Casino Arizona, University of Phoenix Stadium (Cardinal’s Football), Phoenix International Raceway, Chase Field, US Airways Center and Sun Devil Stadium. Golf enthusiasts will truly appreciate the abundance of world class golf courses in the area.

We are confident that your stay in Tempe, Arizona will be a pleasant experience, so Stay Smart!

View Less
Features
At the Holiday Inn Express/ Tempe/ University, guest will enjoy a full hot breakfast buffet, outdoor swimming pool, whirl pool, fitness center, business center, sundry shop and guest laundry. Our spacious suites feature a seperate living area with sofa bed, microwave and refrigerator.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 113 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed again! Debated whether or not to write this review since the last review I wrote is not posted (bad dining experience with insulting serving staff). Since the manager reversed charges to our credit card for the dining experience (thank you!) we decided to try the hotel again. I made our room reservations on-line using Holiday Inn website & thankfully had the confirmation emailed to my iPhone. We arrived at the hotel only to find out that we were being charged $20.00/room more than the rate quoted on the confirmation. When I showed my confirmation to the staff I was informed the price difference was due to using a discount hotel reservation website. I showed my iPhone again stating reservation was made using Holiday Inn's website. I was then told I was being charged more because rates had gone up. I held my iPhone to the staff person again stating I refused to pay the higher rate - why send me a confirmation stating the price I was to pay if I was going to be charged more upon arrival? I finally asked for the manager but by then the staff person said she could change the rate to the one quoted in the email. The check-in procedure took entirely too long and we went to our rooms very stressed with the experience. Very disappointing!!! March 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate The room was not as clean as it should have been/ the floor could have been vacuumed better. My wife`s norwex wash cloth went missing from her things. other than that the location was great, we were able to find every thing in Mesa just fine / the Holiday inn express in Prescott was a better value and it was very clean. March 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing Special The hotel has an add-on building that is like a motel where you have to walk outside as you close the door to your room in order to get to the single elevator that serves every room in this six story building. As a Platinum member, I stay at many different properties and this one has nothing special about it. I was unpleasantly surprised when I did not receive a complementary breakfast coupon upon check in. That was something that all other Holiday Inn & Suites have done for me. March 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Facility is Tired Upon our arrival, following a long drive, we were greeted with great service at the front desk as well as a gift basket that had been arranged in our room. Fantastic. Then I went to use the toilette. Hmmm, the seat is all yellow. Upon closer inspection I realize that the plastic seat is totally discoloured. I felt uncomfortable every time I sat down. The shower curtain is in a curved shape. Nice design until you try to have a shower and the curtain does not fit into the tub. Oh well, lots of towels to put on the floor to soak up the water. We then went down to the bar for supper. Friendly bartender. Food, below average. My wife had a caeser salad that was very tired. I had a steak that was cooked fine but the side dishes had sat for too long in a warming tray. Ate the steak and nibbled on the sides. Next evening we met guests for supper in the hotel. The four of us could not believe how poor the service was. Both from a server side and from the quality of the food. My guest and I both ordered Fish and Chips. A while later we were told that they did not have enough fish for two orders. My guest then ordered a steak, pretty hard to ruin - NOT. We ordered an appetizer. Normally, this comes well before the meal. Not so here, it came at the same time as three of the meals. My wife again had a tired salad. My fish and chips were so greasy that the batter was inedible. Hmm, where is the steak. It was not delivered until the three of us had eaten. Again with tired sides. I would encourage the hotel to use Secret Shoppers to evaluate their service levels. They certainly are not up to the standard that I expect in the hospitality industry. March 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, but very tired property Unfortunately, this is not a prime property anymore. Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. Beds were comfortable. The physical plant is dated and many things in our room were barely functional. Examples: The desk chair had a broken swivel foot and wouldn't pull out from the desk. It had to be lifted. We called for a replacement; the front desk was very cordial and promised a replacement "right away". After 25 minutes, I asked again. "right away, ma'am". We did get one eventually. The desk looked OK, but was very wobbly. The luggage rack was very wobbly - barely held a suitcase - as long as you didn't touch it, you were OK. We tried to make popcorn in the microwave - again, it worked but was so low-powered that it was hardly worth the effort. The clock radio/alarm was pretty beat up - the front display was not complete and I gave up trying to set it. Housekeeping knocked on the door at 8 am to find out if were were gone yet. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relax with comfort Clean room fresh smelling and most importantly quite. Would be nice to offer a simple continental breakfast with stay. February 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good stay I was very disappointed with my stay. First off the water in the shower would not drain. Then my wife went to the gym and found only one excersie machine worked (treadmill). The last straw is on check out I was told I cannot change the form of payment from credit to debit. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business Travel experience I have to travel to Mesa, AZ on business and have stayed there four times (at a week at a time) over the last four months. Very clean and a comfortable stay: Nice staff and took care of anything I needed. Outstanding clean and comfortable beds and rooms. As for the food and beverage: Food is sometime good, but hit or miss and a little pricey. The service is slow and not very attentive. The bar / food area is not a place to relax after a long day. I did not use all the pool or exercise equipment. I travel a lot and I would recommend this Holiday Inn - but eat somewhere else. February 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Elite I was generally fine with my stay. However upon check-in for my first night, I was not given any reward for being a platinum member. Usually there is either an upgraded room, free breakfast, or a gift bag. On most of my last five visits to Holiday Inns, I've actually received multiple perks. I also did not stay at a premium room this time. Last year, I stayed here and received a much nicer room and this time the room did not have a balcony and the view outside was obstructed. I did switch to a slightly better room for the third night of my stay. February 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property, but not many eating places nearby hotel I stayed at this property for one night, in mid-February 2014. I have no complaints about the property itself, it's a nice property with beautiful desert landscaping. The rooms are sufficiently large and well lit, and I slept very well in a comfortable bed. However, the hotel, while in a populated area, doesn't seem to be located near anything convenient. There are no shopping centers or malls nearby, and I was told the nearest true sit down restaurant was nearly a mile away by car. That being said, there is a Schlotsky's sandwiches next door, a McDonalds across the street and a Burger King on the other side of the freeway. The parking lot is shared with a Home Depot, which is fortunate for those of us who want to purchase 2x4s before heading back from our business trips. Other than that, prepare to spend the evening working or resting, because there's not much else to do in the area. Property is about a 20-30 minute drive from Phoenix Sky Harbor, SE of the airport. February 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay I really enjoyed staying here with the on site restaurant it was just a great place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful and I will stay here again when I'm inthe area. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't feel valued as a Platinum member Unlike most IHG properties, this property did not even acknowledge that I was a Platinum member. Not a big deal really, but I'm used to it. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent rooms and great personal I was treated like a CEO of some big company. Great being treat like royalty. Thanks to the ladies at the front desk. Gracie. Marcie and all of the other ladies working there. Great stay every time. January 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable We were very impressed with the grounds and landscaping as well as the size of the room itself. Front desk was very helpful upon arrival and made us feel very welcome. Over all it was a very restful weekend. January 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bring your plunger Check in was efficient but impersonal (I think it was "Gracie"). First thing we noticed in the room was the absence of any raised surface to put our suitcase. Called the desk and a luggage rack was quickly produced. 2nd thing was the mirrored sliding doors to the closet which were off their track. The final straw was the toilet overflowing. We asked for another room and were given one - but no apology, no rate adjustment, nothing. On the positive side, the beds were comfortable. January 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Love this hotel. Stay there every time I go to Phoenix. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service My family and myself were in Mesa looking for a home in the area. I'd made reservations for a suite upon arrival my wife felt it was too small for the four of us. We contacted the manager explaining our problem asking for her help. She moved us to adjoining rooms solving the problem. We had a very good rate for the suite and when I ask about the cost she replied same rate. Our visit was very pleasant and comfortable thanks to a manager that cared about the comfort of her guest. When we return to move into our new home we will stay at this Holiday Inn & suites. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Misty The staff at the front desk were more then helpful. We will stay there again. Anything that we needed they were more then happy to help with. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious Room I enjoyed my night at Holiday Inn Mesa/Chandler it's right off the freeway and it was quite and relaxing. The staff were courteous and friendly, my room was clean and comfortable. NO Maids woke me up too see if i was checked out, i got to sleep in. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All-around excellence! We were planning on spending just one nite when, unexpectantly had an emergency which required a longer stay. The staff really helped us out and we were there nearly a week. Just know we will always be staying here anytime we are in this area! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel First of all, I am a platinum member, I travel for work and primarily stay at IHG hotels to accumulate points. I have been all over the country and I don't think I have stayed at a better hotel. The staff was fantastic and accommodating. At the last minute we had to bring my girlfriends daughter, so the staff helped us out to get a room that would take care of all of us. All hotel employees were very nice and always greeted us with a nice hello and a smile. The room was clean and well taken care of through our entire visit. I can't say enough. We have family in Phoenix and I know that when we come back, we will always stay here. It is truly a well managed, great hotel. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I have stayed at this hotel 4 times and would come back again anytime I am in the area. The first time I stayed was to visit my mom who lives in the area. I have also stayed when passing through on business in northern Arizona. After a long day, I decided to drive 4 hours to stay at this hotel again because it is the best value in Arizona. The price is great and the hotel is very high quality with very clean rooms and a very friendly staff. The last time I stayed I checked out Dec 3. They were playing Christmas music in the lobby which was very nice this time of year. I also like to stay at a hotel with a nice fitness room. I have to say this hotel has one of the best fitness rooms for a hotel. I highly recommend this hotel! December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service again Had to be in Phoenix on personal business, and stayed at this location for the second time this year. Have to say that both stays at this facility were great. Wonderful staff and great location. When I stayed in January I was booked into room 504 for my stay and the room and bedding was great. On this trip I requested a room similar to that one, and was actually given the same room, which was a pleasant surprise. Room was clean and well prepped, and the staff at this location is great. Look forward to my next stay at this location! November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay in Mesa I always enjoy this hotel. The lobby area is great. The pool and Jacuzzi are centrally located. I love the suites. They are in a separate tower. Breakfast is excellent. The view in tower for the suites is a great view. The suites are spacious and comfortable and true suites with a separate bedroom. I highly recommend staying here. November 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Door Problems From the moment I got there I was told that I was being up graded to a suite without extra charges. Fine but when I went up to the suite my door card would not open the door.This happened every time I returned from someplace to my Suite. I was told Saturday morning that the locking gears or whatever would be replaced and my frustration was over. Saturday afternoon when I returned the door would not open again. I met the engineer for the second or third time at my suite and he opened it. The final stroke occurred when I returned to my room after the wedding reception (being staged at the Holiday Inn) and again could not open my door. I stormed down to the front desk and demanded 50% off my room rate due to the aggravation I was exposed to. I was granted a 50% reduction on my second night of stay and again met the engineer at my door to gain entry. James Brinkman November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room friendly front desk The room was okay and the hotel staff was friendly. I ate at the restaurant and did not have a great experience. The wait was long and the food was mediocre at best. I would not recommend eating on site. November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Nice clean room and bath. I loved that WiFi was free and worked well. Towels soft and clean. Staff very helpful. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing and comfortable We stayed 2 nights. First evening we went down to sit by the pool and decided to go in the Resturant and get a cup of coffee to take with us back to the pool area. Not only was the coffee good but it was complimentary. Thank you. We wanted some extra blankets on the second night and called room service for them. They were delivered in under 5 minutes. Thank you again. All the staff was so professional and helpful. We enjoyed our stay. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, But save your $10 for breakfast The hotel is very nice and clean. Great service. Upon Reservation they will ask you if you'd like to pay an extra $10 for a breakfast buffet. It sounded amazing on the phone, but when we arrived for breakfast we found that it was no different than a holiday inn express breakfast which is included in the price at holiday inn express and you don't have to pay extra if you want orange juice. Also the holiday inn express buffets are always stocked well, this was hit and miss depending what you wanted. So after the first day we asked for the $10/day back for the remainder of our stay. The pool area is very clean and a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great customer service Will definately be back and recommend to friends and family October 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Select to close.
Dusk at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Front Desk Front Desk Sunny day in Tempe Saguaro Cactus Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Tempe University Hotel
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading