• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals only

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor parking available complimentary to registered hotel guests only.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:128
  • Total number of suites:36
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:59
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:128
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel.

For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks.

Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US
View More

Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel.

For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks.

Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event.

Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel.

Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, free hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel is located right in the Arizona Mills shopping center, and we are happy to offer an excellent heated outdoor pool and whirlpool area where you can relax and unwind. 42" plasma TVs are in every room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 124 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good accomodations Good location, friendly staff, comfortable rooms, I'll be back whenever I return to the area.... September 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff and nice clean rooms The staff was very helpful from making my reservation to checking in and out. There was a good breakfast and a nice clean room. Couldn't ask for more. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location New dining tables were a very nice change, love the pancake machine! September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Time Everything was great.... I wouldn't change a thing... September 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property, But Great Staff This will sound silly to some, but had timed my stop in Phoenix with the kickoff for a college football game (Rooolll Tide). Was recognized as Platinum Elite Ambassador and upgraded to a lovely room. The lady at the front desk even called to check if the room was clean, I was happy with it, and I could see the camera truck from my window. She knew I was a little concerned about safety. That was very much appreciated. My stay was very nice. Clean room, lovely bathroom, but upon exiting from my morning shower....there was a very large roach joining me. Urgh! Breakfast was what one has come to expect, so no surprises or disappointments. I do recommend this hotel. September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Located in a nice area of Phoenix. September 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not bad I stay in a lot of hotels! This one was above average to average. Only complaint was the internet was slow and the cable tv channels were terrible. If you don't need tv or a lot of internet it's a good stay. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE The staff was very helpful and very friendly. Enjoyed my stay September 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice building, slow service When I arrived there was not anyone at the desk with a sign saying return in 15 minutes. After waiting 30 minutes, a person emerged from the back room. To check me in, but did not give the correct instructions to complete paper work. The normal daily newspaper never arrived at the room. Breakfast did not begin until 630 sharp, so I was not able to eat at the hotel, since I had to leave at 615. I have stayed at other holiday inns that unofficial lay start breakfast early to accommodate working guests. But the room was clean and comfortable. September 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Hotel and Location; Poor Internet Enjoy staying in Chandler rather than Tempe for business. As I stated, the hotel and location were decent however for a business traveler the internet connectivity is paramount for my experience. Staff and overall cleanliness were good, and there's a Cracker Barrel restaurant located in the same vicinity. September 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed after the storm.... The hallways smelled bad. The room doors were painted partially with primer paint. The breakfast bar did not open on time, and the people were not friendly at all. September 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great price and Amenities Really liked the pricing and the breakfast. Closeness to area and quietness of our stay, even though the access to the freeway was close by. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed this hotel. This was an excellent place to stay and good value for the money. September 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The guest services are great. Willing to help any way they can. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room and great service we liked our stay very much. my girls loved the food and pool. near to our conferences and favorite stores and restaurants August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Good location, restaurants nearby, Craker Barrel, gas stations. Most of all, friendly welcome, August 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointment Typically I stay at Holiday Inn Express and other IHG brands because they are well maintained and have a decent breakfast. Not so with the room I had at this hotel. First was an 'interesting' stain around the drain to the tub/shower. At first I thought it was blood or possible feces, but after looking closer it was rust from the drain (see attached pic). Not much management could do about it at the time but to let the hotel deteriorate to that extent without fixing it was unsatisfactory. Second was the smoke detector in the bathroom decided to start it's low battery serenade at 6:15 am. We were leaving at 6:30, so again just an annoyance. Lastly was breakfast... I have never had such a horrendous 'omelet'. I have no idea what they try to pass off as 'eggs', but I don't think they came from a chicken. Adding the prepackaged 'salsa' to try to make it palatable backfired. Since we were on a tight schedule (I had a class from 7am-1pm) we weren't even able to go by Denny's to get something decent to eat. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A cut above the rest We stayed a t a competitor nearby the previous week and were disappointed in the condition of the facility and the food that was provided for breakfast. HIE did not disappoint and surpassed our expectations....we will be staying here again in the near future. August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to Ahwatukee I've used this hotel for 2 years now. It's a pretty quiet hotel and fairly new property. I've noticed that the newness factor has worn off a bit. The staff seems to have a little turnover but overall pretty nice. Breakfast bar is always good and fresh. This past visit the staff was nice enough to allow us to swim an hour later, as we didn't return back to the hotel daily in time to swim and wanted to unwind. Free newspaper under the door each day and 2pm checkout is available. If you are a light sleeper I would recommend requesting a room on the south mountain side, as I-10 gets pretty congested at 6am daily. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice Stay This is a nice place to stay, Great CS and the rooms are clean. However, the internet is not very good. Kept, loosing signal. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A/C didn't work properly Slow time of year for property. We were put on a floor that was not supposed to be used because of the kind of room we required. The front desk clerk wanted to meet our needs. This was a 2 room suite and 1 of the A/Cs did not work. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good visit Is a good safe place to have close to our route. Breakfast is always good and enough for all guests. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little in decline I have stayed at this hotel for quite a few years when travel takes my into the Phoenix area. The rooms seem to be a little worn these days, and the cleanliness is down a notch. The chair and footrest were filthy looking like it was left outside in the rain. Overall, the staff was friendly, (although she never acknowledged my platinum stays nor offered a bottle of water, etc.) and the hotel was nice, just needs to have a little more effort keeping things clean. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by always a pleasant stay Stayed here many times and never disappoints. The only things that should be improved are the patio area needs a cover and bring ham back to the breakfast. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Polite front desk service The front desk service was polite and inviting. Check in was quick, with no waiting for room keys, which were ready when I arrived, with every pass through the lobby there was a greeting or acknowledgment given with a smile. July 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Check In We arrive at the hotel around 10 pm, had made reservation with a room with 2 bed and non-smoking room, and requested to get a room on the other side of the freeway. When we got to our room we had a king bed, called the front desk about the room, went back down stair to get other key. The gentleman (front desk clerk) did not know which room was a king or 2 bed. Did not know how to even print the check in form, was asked to come back down in 30 minutes or so. Maybe he recently came upon the job. Anyways, we finally got checked into our room 30 minutes later. And on top of that we got a room on the freeway side, my request was not considered. As a previous Holiday Inn employer, we were told that you have to wear your name tag to be behind the counter. There were two gentlemen behind the counter with no name tag, not wearing uniform, that was strange and I personally felt uncomfortable during check-in. And also, I have stayed at this hotel more than once, never was given a run around. July 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not returning When in Arizona in July , one hopes to use the pool. Well, it looked like a lab experiment! And as for sitting in the shade...the umbrellas didn't work. What should have been a 7 day stay turned out to be 2! We were very disappointed. July 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay To Relax We are full time RV'ers, and stay at HI to relaxed. The staff did not greet us a Reward Member. The lobby, elevator, and hallways were hot. No guest welcome books, on local attractions and food establishment. The bed fitted sheets slide off the mattress, very uncomfortable. The sink water empty very slowly, and the Kleenex Box had only one tissue left. The toilet had a dirty ring, and we found a Circle K candy bag behind the chair. July 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value HI EX Ahwatukee is located right off I-10, very convenient to restaurants, shopping centers, etc. Not much of a view on the interstate side, but not noisy either. Friendly staff, good breakfast with both hot and cold options. Though since we stayed for 5 nights, by the final morning we were ready for some variety! Pool was nice yet rarely saw anyone using it. Gym was well-equipped. Rooms were clean! TV channel options were a bit limited. Definitely appreciated the cold water with lemon and iced tea beverage dispensers in the lobby (avail 24/7). Would recommend to others! July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff, Good Hotel Have stayed here several times while in Chandler on business. Very friendly, courteous staff who promptly resolved problems with AC unit noise, bed linen cleanliness, and bathroom faucet leaking. However, I expect such easily identifiable problems to be noticed by staff and resolved prior to renting guest room. July 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall
Select to close.
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall Area Attractions Area Attractions Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tempe Arizona Mils Front Desk Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tempe Arizona Mills Sit down and relax in our hotel lobby at Arizona Mills
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading