• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals only

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor parking available complimentary to registered hotel guests only.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:128
  • Total number of suites:36
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:59
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:128
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel.

For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks.

Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US
View More

Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel.

For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks.

Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event.

Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel.

Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, free hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel is located right in the Arizona Mills shopping center, and we are happy to offer an excellent heated outdoor pool and whirlpool area where you can relax and unwind. 42" plasma TVs are in every room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 122 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service provided by staff was exceptional - property needs repairs! The property is in dire need of repairs and updates. The exterior of the building needs some improvement, but the lobby is nice. The staff was exceptional from check-in to check-out, they made the run-down facility manageable. I was very disappointed with it being a Holiday Inn facility, I was surprised how the building and the rooms were so outdated and in need of repairs. Rooms are dark and dingy and need a face lift - carpet and furniture was old and stained. The pool is falling apart and poses liability to possible injuries - one of the exit ladders was missing pieces exposing metal and the concrete deck was falling apart - BUT staff made sure every morning the pool and deck were clean and presentable. This is not a 3 star hotel - I would rate it a 2 star due to the state of the facility. July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just Fine The temperature in the room never got cool enough for us. It was muggy. Bed was comfortable, but the pillows were awful! July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay was really great! Everything was great! Check in was great and we really enjoyed our stay--- the pool--- the room--- and the breakfast was excellent! July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff I was pleased with the Manager Iris who helped get me a room for my attendant to stay next to me. They also were able to accommodate a hospital type bed in room. Overall it was a nice stay. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Summer of 2014 Very pleasant stay at one of the better located hotels in the greater Phoenix area. Ideal location for the East valley. New renovated rooms and grounds take this fine hotel into the next many years. Hotel staff is great and always available and the rooms for dollars spent is hard to beat. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a best experience of staying overnight in this area. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good location , clean room nice large outdoor pool and fitness room . we were very happy with our large clean room and overall stay. we will choose this hotel for our next visit to Mesa. June 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Poor staff and restaurant service--my partner was treated poorly when he came down to eat. Even after attempts to rectify--no apology was made at eatery. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel We booked this hotel on a "find out where you're staying after you pay" website and were very pleased with the result. There is easy access to freeways and a variety of restaurants nearby. The hotel is a bit dated but it was well cared for, with an attentive staff. My 13 yr old son enjoyed the pool, and it was perfect for our needs. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel - Overall good hotel. Surrounding area may be a bit questionable. June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Food The food was cooled and not cook all the way. The service on the frist day was great they made me a glass of tea. On the next day the service was bad the workers where walking around talking about one of the works that just got off work. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised! Just needed a room for one night close to a going away party in town. We chose this hotel for the location, and we are sure glad we did. The hotel is nicer than the pics on the web. The room is clean and comfortable and the beds were great. Most of all, the staff was just wonderful, so nice and attentive. We were very pleased with our short stay. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything Went Smoothly and Comfortably I found my stay was hassle free, enjoyable, efficient and met all my needs. I will be using this hotel many times in the future. June 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room very noisy We arrived and check in was good. We could not access the internet, although trying many times. We had a clean room, but, it smelled like puke right outside our door. I asked someone to check it out and the smell lessened quite a bit when we got back to our room. Late at night it was quite noisy and sleeping was difficult! I don't like to complain, but, my gosh your rooms wall and doors are definitely not at all sound-proof! Anyway, the Hotel staff was very cordial and helpful during our stay. Upon arriving at my home I discovered I had lost a Free Spirit Condor team shirt that was left in the hotel room and called the hotel which told me they would report it to housekeeping. I never received a call back from anyone at the hotel telling me the status on finding it, one way or the other. So, all said I thought that was a bit rude. I dont think I will be staying at your hotel again based on this particular experience. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value Great pool, clean room, quiet for us. Our top choice for Mesa. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The beds and Comfortable rooms are why I Stay. I had business in the area and was able to get aroom before the holiday weekend...This hotel is close to Resturants and major highways. May 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by My Worst Experience with Holiday Inn The grounds themselves look nice. palm trees and the lobby is nice I get to my room and there were 3 people hanging around by my door. I guess a cleaning company was conducting interviews. The door itself looked like it had been broken into before and not completely repaired The suite as they called it was outdated, the couch looked like it was from a garage sale, old and dingy as were most of the furnishings besides the bed. Trying to get some work done was impossible with all the distractions, the gate from the parking lot and pool kept slamming. The only was the people having an interview could get to the room was via the pool. The foot traffic was terrible. I went to go out for dinner I was approached twice for money handouts from some questionable characters. Upon returning to my room at 11pm the same people requested again. The staff at the front desk and the bartender were very nice. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Nice and Beds very comfortable Helpful Staff, all friendly. Did not eat in restaurant- slept very well quiet room excellent bed. April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Motel style with great pool Rooms are similar to motel style, nice pool with waterfalls. I didn't like when next door guests smoking weed on the corridor. April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The couch had bugs biting & jumping on me. The living room area had some kind of bugs that bite me multiple times. I could also feel them on my bottom part of my legs as I was walking from room to room. I called down to the desk to make a complaint. You would think I would have received a call from management but I did not. I am not using this facility again. I am also letting other members of my company know of my experience. They have used this facility in the past as well because of the location to our local office. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Facility! Amazing Pool! We booked this hotel for the pool. The waterfall and unique shape were very exciting for our children. The rest of the hotel was amazing as well. Beautiful features, very high end! I wish we could have stayed longer and had a chance to experience all the hotel had to offer. April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room with lots of amenities. I had a very enjoyable stay with a pool side view and comfortable room. April 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by staff just didn't have it together There for conference, many of our people checked into already occupied rooms, dirty rooms, etc. One time, lock was changed, went down to desk, told that my room now belonged to someone else. Conference went well, food good, all other logistics as expected. Better luck next time. April 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 My personal experience I understand outdated...so I understand wrinkled curtains, I understand torn shower curtains and bedding and wrinkled bed skirts. I don't understand not clean. There was left over splatters on my bathroom mirror and closet mirrors. There was splatter on the artwork in the room. And there were Goldfish crackers under my bed. I was hoping after house cleaning came during my stay, this would improve. It did not. And I did nto realize until my shower the next morning, when it was too late, that my shampoo and conditioner and not been replaced. I will not visit this property again. And yes, the uncleanliness was relayed to the staff on duty prior to my departure. March 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by property "tired" - staff excellent This property is getting pretty tired. Needs more than a coat of paint. That said, the staff is excellent. While the breakfast buffet food tasted "eh", our servers Julie & Norma were superb. Fantastic sense of humor & ability to turn a short night into a great morning. Will stay there again simply to have them inject some positive into my day. March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Room - Strange Bar Design This Holiday Inn was perfectly satisfactory. The room (king) was spacious and clean. It included a fridge and a microwave as well as an iron & hair dryer. Daily the room was cleaned to my satisfaction. Although I didn't use it, there was a beautiful outdoor pool in the "center courtyard". It included a waterfall feature that looked spectacular. The restaurant was satisfactory also. The bar is shaped very strangely, making it difficult for the bartender to realize a customer was seated at the bar. Service in the dining areas was good. Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel. My stay was about 12 nights in March 2014. March 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value First and foremost this Hotel provides great value for the money. Very convenient location right of the Interstate. Fairly clean and comfortable as well. Negatives: Very incompetent staff...absolutely clueless when it came to anything. VERY short on lounge chairs by the pool. I mean really? 400 rooms and 15 lounge chairs?? And no chairs on the room balconies either...we had to buy folding chairs to enjoy sitting on the balcony. Very noisy as well...could really hear the outside noise. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel Experience I've ever had I went to AZ for Spring Training & after last year's mediocre hotel experience, the Holiday Inn Express blew me away. Every single staff member I spoke to was friendly & helpful. The coffee & water in the lobby was a great touch. The breakfast buffet hit the spot every morning. We were given a view of the pool from our room which was unexpected but certainly welcomed. The cleanliness of the room is what I used to expect from hotels, therefore, I'd say it was exceptionally clean. The beds were comfortable, the pillows aplenty. The online photos I viewed before booking seemed too good to be true but in fact, they were very accurate. I did not expect to see the actual pool that was photographed & yet, I did. I give this hotel 5 stars, and will stay here every time I travel to AZ, & will probably book Holiday Inns from now on when I travel elsewhere too. March 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Management Room service only available when dining area open. Who needs room service when dining area open. Bar only open from 4PM to 11PM. 250 room hotel, only 20 chairs around pool area. How stupid. Numerous balconies around pool area, no chairs or table on balcony. Suggestion to management, buy pool chairs from home depot across street. On the last day of my 4 day stay, they brought out about 20 chairs to the pool area, from their meeting hall. Toilet seat in room loose, check before you rent room to customer. During my stay my son and his wife also stayed at this hotel. They had no AC all night. I have stayed at many Holiday Inns, this one is by far the WORST. I nor my son would never use this Hotel again. March 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for Cubs spring training We stayed in this hotel for several days while attending Cubs spring training games. The hotel is about a 10-minute drive from the park. The hotel is large and well decorated, and the rooms we rented for my husband and I, and our daughter and son-in-law, were very comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. We enjoyed the lovely pool there. We were disappointed in the one meal (dinner) we had at the hotel's restaurant, and ate all of our meals elsewhere for the rest of the stay. Jubilee, at the front desk, was always very helpful and friendly when we had questions or requests. March 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall
Select to close.
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall Area Attractions Area Attractions Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tempe Arizona Mils Front Desk Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tempe Arizona Mills Sit down and relax in our hotel lobby at Arizona Mills
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading