• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals only

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor parking available complimentary to registered hotel guests only.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:128
  • Total number of suites:36
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:59
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:128
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:6
Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel.

For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks.

Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US
View More

Welcome to the Tempe, Arizona, Holiday Inn Express hotel.

For a convenient location in a lively city, stay at the Tempe Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, just 12 miles from downtown Phoenix. Our Arizona hotel, which is six miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and 20 miles from Scottsdale Airport (SDL), keeps you close to both business districts and desert landscapes with pristine parks.

Downtown Phoenix includes the corporate locations of businesses like Honeywell and US Airways. From the American Heart Association to Wells Fargo, a diverse range of Phoenix corporations conveniently surround our Tempe hotel. And to make your trip easier, we offer flexible hotel meeting space with catering and a business center to help you host your next event.

Leisure travelers can enjoy shopping, watching IMAX or playing at the interactive GameWorks next door at the Arizona Mills Mall. Escape to a new world at a popular Arizona attraction such as the Phoenix Zoo in Papago Park or the Hawaiian-themed Big Surf Water Park near our Tempe hotel.

Our studio-suite Phoenix hotel gives you the comfort and amenities you deserve. Stay at this Tempe hotel that offers several choice amenities such as an outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, free hotel-wide wireless Internet access and a hot breakfast bar served daily. Check out our great Phoenix hotel deals and rates and book your reservation at the Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel now.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Tempe hotel is located right in the Arizona Mills shopping center, and we are happy to offer an excellent heated outdoor pool and whirlpool area where you can relax and unwind. 42" plasma TVs are in every room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 122 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I have stayed at this hotel 4 times and would come back again anytime I am in the area. The first time I stayed was to visit my mom who lives in the area. I have also stayed when passing through on business in northern Arizona. After a long day, I decided to drive 4 hours to stay at this hotel again because it is the best value in Arizona. The price is great and the hotel is very high quality with very clean rooms and a very friendly staff. The last time I stayed I checked out Dec 3. They were playing Christmas music in the lobby which was very nice this time of year. I also like to stay at a hotel with a nice fitness room. I have to say this hotel has one of the best fitness rooms for a hotel. I highly recommend this hotel! December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service again Had to be in Phoenix on personal business, and stayed at this location for the second time this year. Have to say that both stays at this facility were great. Wonderful staff and great location. When I stayed in January I was booked into room 504 for my stay and the room and bedding was great. On this trip I requested a room similar to that one, and was actually given the same room, which was a pleasant surprise. Room was clean and well prepped, and the staff at this location is great. Look forward to my next stay at this location! November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay in Mesa I always enjoy this hotel. The lobby area is great. The pool and Jacuzzi are centrally located. I love the suites. They are in a separate tower. Breakfast is excellent. The view in tower for the suites is a great view. The suites are spacious and comfortable and true suites with a separate bedroom. I highly recommend staying here. November 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Door Problems From the moment I got there I was told that I was being up graded to a suite without extra charges. Fine but when I went up to the suite my door card would not open the door.This happened every time I returned from someplace to my Suite. I was told Saturday morning that the locking gears or whatever would be replaced and my frustration was over. Saturday afternoon when I returned the door would not open again. I met the engineer for the second or third time at my suite and he opened it. The final stroke occurred when I returned to my room after the wedding reception (being staged at the Holiday Inn) and again could not open my door. I stormed down to the front desk and demanded 50% off my room rate due to the aggravation I was exposed to. I was granted a 50% reduction on my second night of stay and again met the engineer at my door to gain entry. James Brinkman November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room friendly front desk The room was okay and the hotel staff was friendly. I ate at the restaurant and did not have a great experience. The wait was long and the food was mediocre at best. I would not recommend eating on site. November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Nice clean room and bath. I loved that WiFi was free and worked well. Towels soft and clean. Staff very helpful. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing and comfortable We stayed 2 nights. First evening we went down to sit by the pool and decided to go in the Resturant and get a cup of coffee to take with us back to the pool area. Not only was the coffee good but it was complimentary. Thank you. We wanted some extra blankets on the second night and called room service for them. They were delivered in under 5 minutes. Thank you again. All the staff was so professional and helpful. We enjoyed our stay. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, But save your $10 for breakfast The hotel is very nice and clean. Great service. Upon Reservation they will ask you if you'd like to pay an extra $10 for a breakfast buffet. It sounded amazing on the phone, but when we arrived for breakfast we found that it was no different than a holiday inn express breakfast which is included in the price at holiday inn express and you don't have to pay extra if you want orange juice. Also the holiday inn express buffets are always stocked well, this was hit and miss depending what you wanted. So after the first day we asked for the $10/day back for the remainder of our stay. The pool area is very clean and a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great customer service Will definately be back and recommend to friends and family October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by large room and comfortable bed We had a comfortable room and bed but the train whistles woke us up early in the mornings. The staff were cordial and willing to help. We were disappointed in the service staff and food in the restaurant. They seemed disorganized and the food was disappointing for the price. The breakfast was pretty good. All in all it was a good stay. October 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great but, WiFi stunk, in the "Suites," unworthy and a waste offering as presented with a password. Very weak or rarely worked. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total relaxation This was a necessary trip with recovery from surgery for one of us. The room was comfortable and the staff met all our expectations. If I had any complaints, it would be "too bad the restaurant wasn't open all day". Luckily a very good selection of food venders are very closeby, including Culvers, Crackers and Co., and Cinnebon. Definitely a recommendable destination. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and a great place to stay! We had a wonderful time here. The rooms were very clean and the staff was so helpful. Highly recommended!!! October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay friendly and accommodating staff. large and clean room . beautiful and large outdoor pool . October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by stayed 3 nites - 1st room was a King Suite - outdoor entrance.. Room 242 definely needs an upgrade, but was comfortable. Like the location. Pool is nice. Regular King Suite updated, clean & comfortable. King Suite oustide entrance needs updating no care shown in appearance detail as the lamp shade seam was in front and crooked. Petty I know but it is noticable Food could be better. Too expensive for the buffet breakfast. Lobby furniture nice but needs to be cleaned. You can really see the dirt on the arms & seat cushion. Staff very polite and helpful. I would stay again but definitely eat out Thanks September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Such a great hotel and staff! Our room was clean and quite. The pool was wonderful and so refreshing! Wonderful breakfast buffet and we had a very enjoyable time! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. August 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but HOT! The room and furnishings were nice and comfortable but the room temperature never got below 75 degrees at night and 79 degrees in the day. We would stay again in the winter but not May through September. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extra Nice This hotel surpassed my expectations. The rooms were large and very clean. The pool was amazing. The beds were very comfortable. The wheelchair accessible bathroom was beyond roomy enough. The only complaint (and it's a minor one to most people# is the wheelchair accessible rooms are not on the first floor #if the elevator went out our family member would not be able to leave the hotel#. There was a problem with our reservation #the reservation specialist did not put us in the room we asked for) but the desk clerk went above and beyond to make sure we had what we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel! July 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Easy and early check in. Nice room, comfortable beds and pillows. Liked that the room had a microwave and fridge. Breakfast for our group was good -- would like to have had fruit available to take such as apples, oranges or bananas. Outdoor pool was great! Only wish there was a fan in the bathroom... July 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Always have stayed there The room and the facility were good as usual. I ordered room service for 8:30 pm and it did not arrive. I called at 9:30 and asked about it, they said they would check into it and get back to me and never did. I was tired and wanted dinner in my room but had to get up and go out for dinner and later than I wanted. April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would recommend this property Room was very nice - very clean - new TV Dining room does not offer late arrival items on the menu - ordered cheesecake with whipped cream - whipped cream looked like shiny plastic squirted out of a can. April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total experience We stayed on the night we arrived, great room, fabulous staff, clean and quiet; we did poolside in the am, -awesome! It was hard to believe we were in the middle of a very, very large town it was so quiet with the falls in the pool and the birds, total oasis! So from checking in, taking in the pool, eating in the restaurant, -all to checkout was fabulous! Thanks for all you did and we will be back when we come to town! April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by don't bother with the restaurant unless you have all day to wait Dont bother eating at the restaurant.. I ordered, and waited 45 minutes for my food to show up, and it never did, so I left. On top of that, there were numerous open tables so they were not that busy. The restaurant staff need mangement to watch over them.. The rest of the hotel staff seemed capable of doing their jobs and the room met my expectations. April 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed Wonderful lobby. The suite had old worn out furniture. You actually sunk into the chair and sofa. The carpet was absolutelly filthy. Had to wear shoes in the suite as our socks or feet got dirty from the carpeting. Never have we stayed in a hotel with so many stains in the carpeting.When I complained about the carpeting they offered to shampoo it. We felt this would be a major inconvience to us, however, in retrospect, I wish we had it cleaned. Although the hotel was booked near capacity, the pool was quite a disappointment. There was definitely a shortage of lounge chairs by the pool. Every day by 8am, every chair was marked (reserved with a towel) at the pool, but unoccupied till 10 am. Children used the pool without supervision and were climbing on the waterfall over the pool. We had breakfast twice at the hotel. Both times the scrambled eggs, potatoes, and bacon/sausage were cold when we chose the buffet. After the second cold breakfast we knew not to return. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent amenities Exceptional Customer Service My wife and I spent 6 days here on our honey moon during Spring Training. The facilities were great and the staff went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable. Kudos to Gracie for her attention to detail and exceptional customer service. Anyone who would have a problem staying at this hotel should stay home or bunk up with a relative. Awesome location! April 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by March 2013 We make several trips to AZ throughout the year and this hotel is always our first choice; the rates have always been exceptional, the staff and service wonderful, and our typical room overlooking the pool was very pleasant. This trip was the exception due to Spring Training and several tournaments going on. The hotel was packed, no supervision at the pool as children were jumping off the rock waterfall, our room overlooked an intersection and it was too noisy to sit outside on the patio. The couple we traveled with had issues with housekeeping; no toilet paper or washcloths and the room wasn't cleaned until very late in the afternoon. We had wonderful service by a gentleman when having breakfast our first morning, but the next morning was quite disappointing; both the food and the service. We will continue to stay at this hotel in the future, but NEVER in March - our own fault for not being aware of the 'busy' season. April 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by For spring training they struck out! We don't get to travel that much so when I accumulated enough points to cash in a nights stay I was happy. When we walked into the lobby the place looked GORGEOUS. I just wished they had spent some of that money on the rooms. When we got to the room, right off the elevator and went in the AC was going. Several hours later I said it doesn't feel any cooler...(should have called then) for the sleeper sofa there were no blankets just a sheet. I burnt my hand on the shower. I don't even know how to explain how that worked. YOu had ot turn everything one way then when it tightened up you turned it the other way. After going out to dinner with family we came back and it was still 80 in the room. And of course you can't open windows. Especially with a bunch of screaming kids in the pool (after 9pm) It was cooler outside than in the room. The reese's peanut butter egg was melted...Went to a casino and came back late and when I called the front desk to ask about the AC (maybe I was doing something wrong) she said maintenance could come up tomrrow, nothing could be done tonite. I started to say something and she said "your welcome" and hung up. Now I was even hotter...Turned off the AC and the room started cooling off enough to sleep. However when the kids in the pool at 5am woke my sister up. that was the last straw. When we checked out I did ask to speak to a manager and she assured me that my points would be refunded to me (it looks like they have) but the moral of the story is you can't judge a book by it's cover (lobby) it looked beautiful. Holiday Inn should have spent a little more money on their rooms where the customers sleep that where you go to get a cup of coffee. I won't return to this Holiday Inn again and I will not recommend it to anyone. In fact, will tell them NOT to stay here. Oh yea and I agree with another reviewed a warm bottle of water for Priority Club members... March 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Front desk personnel were very courteous & customer oriented. Restaurant personnel were great & breakfast was excellent every day. Room was very clean. Shower was perfect for my disability. The only recommendation I could make is that the carpet needs cleaning. Overall - good experience! March 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room and breakfast Having Double beds instead of queens was a big downer for us!! The rooms had plenty of room for larger beds and would have made our stay much nicer! The breakfast with triple crown sports needed more variety. cereals, muffins or bread of some sort. Not all kids like eggs, potatoes and breakfast meats. March 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Do Not Recommend this hotel... For the Money in High Season, this is not the Hotel... Carpets all need replace. Bathrooms small old fashion, room really not clean, smelled like a smoker use to use the room... Tables is eating area wobbled not flat on the floor.. If your going to charge the high dollars then please gut this hotel and start over, its time... Also a bottle of water at check in for Priority Club members,, how cheap does it get... Insulting.. Sorry will never stay here again.. March 14, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall
Select to close.
Located Next to Arizona Mills Mall Area Attractions Area Attractions Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tempe Arizona Mils Front Desk Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Tempe Arizona Mills Sit down and relax in our hotel lobby at Arizona Mills
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading