• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: TROUTDALE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. Swahili

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets up to 50lbs are Welcome in select rooms for an additional 25.00 dollars per room per night. Animals must be attended to while in guest rooms. Please contact the hotel for more details.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:89
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking with secured fence around the perimeter

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:73
  • Total number of suites:17
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express Portland East – Columbia Gorge offers modern conveniences with contemporary styling. Our beautiful 100% non smoking hotel is conveniently located off I-84 and is within minutes from Downtown Portland, The Columbia River Gorge, Portland International Airport, Multnomah Falls, The Sandy River and Bonneville Dam. Outdoor enthusiast will appreciate the wide variety of hiking biking, camping, hunting, and fishing.

Experience
View More
New in 2012, the Holiday Inn Express Portland East – Columbia Gorge offers modern conveniences with contemporary styling. Our beautiful 100% non smoking hotel is conveniently located off I-84 and is within minutes from Downtown Portland, The Columbia River Gorge, Portland International Airport, Multnomah Falls, The Sandy River and Bonneville Dam. Outdoor enthusiast will appreciate the wide variety of hiking biking, camping, hunting, and fishing.

Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet featuring signature hot items served daily, indoor pool, whirlpool, business center, fitness area, wireless high speed internet access and meeting space that can comfortable accommodate up to 100 people.

Historic Troutdale is nestled off the Sandy River and within a short distance from Gresham, Oregon. Located at the gateway of the Columbia Gorge, we are centrally located between Vancouver, Mt. Hood, The Dalles, Hood River, as well as the Oregon Coast.

Popular points of interests include: Mt. Hood Community College, Oregon Zoo, Outlet Mall, Oregon Convention Center, The Portland International Raceway, The Rose Quarter (Home of the Portland Trail Blazers), Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument, and popular ski resorts such as Timberline, Mt. Hood Meadows and Ski Bowl.

Your destination awaits, so STAY SMART!
View Less
Features
Complimentary hot breakfast Business Center Guest Laundry Wireless high-speed Internet access Pet-friendly hotel Fiteness Room Indoor heated pool and whirl pool Suites with seperate living spaces

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 71 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bring good ear plugs The AC and refrigerator made quite a bit of noise making it difficult to sleep. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistently good Rooms always clean, Staff friendly. Has everything needed for a comfortable extended stay. I often stay about 10 days at a time and it works very well. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanest, Friendliest Candlewood is my favorite brand when traveling, but the Portland-Airport location has upped the game. This was a "bucket list" trip with my 78 year old god-mother. She had never heard of the chain and now it is her favorite. Her 1st report on the phone to relatives was to brag on the hotel! This location was the cleanest, friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. The entire staff went far above and beyond to make everything perfect. We're disappointed when our trip takes us where there isn't a Candlewood. Excellent job. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Life saver! Our family spent 43 nights at the Candlewood Suites near the Portland Airport while we were waiting for our new home to close. The staff was extremely friendly. Free laundry was VERY convenient and the bed was extremely comfortable. Large rooms! I wish we knew about rewards prior to check out. August 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Better Deals in Same Area I have stayed at Candlewood Suites several times in the past. The courtesy shuttle is the best thing this property has going for it. Otherwise it is far overpriced for the location and amenities offered. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend this hotel Stayed here for a month while visiting family and friends. Excellent hotel and great staff. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Passing thru the Airport Excellent Customer service, the staff accommodated an early check-in for a couple of vary tired travelers. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just fine out of necessity Needed an affordable hotel by PDX and my stay was just fine! August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Excellent accommodations for the price. The shuttle service is perfect for getting to the airport and the commuter train to downtown. It's only 20-30 mins to get downtown by train. August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable stay. The room looked clean and relatively new. Towels and sheets were better than many hotels I have been to. It was nice to be able to borrow movies (good selection) and use the laundry free of charge. Desk staff was friendly but did not appear to be that knowledgeable about area restaraunts. Shuttle drivers were courteous and prompt. If I were to stay there again, I would ask for a slightly larger suite because the one we had only had a night table and lamp on one side of the bed. The other side was pushed up against the wall making it difficult to get in and out of bed on that side. Rooms are only cleaned once per week and towels need to be exchanged at the front desk. It would have been nice to have a light breakfast provided free of charge. There is no pool or whirlpool at this site. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room Friendly hotel staff, good location for the airport, i had an early flight so it made getting to the airport very easy. The room was comfortable with good amenities. I only stayed for one night and didn't use other hotel features like the fitness room, laundry etc. i would stay here again. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All went well The staff was excellent. I only spent one night here so did not use all the amenities, but they looked good. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice to Stay I rate high on this hotel because the room is clean and neat and the rate is reasonable. It is also very close to the airport. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and nice location This Candlewood Suites is nicer than most. The staff was very helpful and the value for the price is excellent. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic room for our last night in Portland A group of 4 of us were flying out of Portland early on Saturday after staying on the coast for the week. We were looking for a place that had a free airport shuttle along with a recliner so that Mom would be able to sleep more comfortably. The Candlewood Suites was a perfect place to finish up our vacation. The front desk person - I believe MIkala was her name - went out of her way to make us feel welcome and even helped us out when we were trying to return our car to a different location. The Lending Locker (I think that's what they call it) allowed us to pick from a wide variety of DVDs so we didn't have to watch boring TV. The room was immaculate. My only complaint would be that the pillows were a bit on the soft side. Everyone in the group agreed that we would pick this place again! August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice added touches Had a great experience with the suite we stayed in. Kitchen was perfect, complementary laundry was an added bonus. Wireless was slower than the LTE on my phone, other than that no complaints. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent enjoyed my stay. quiet, clean and the staff was very friendly August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood service I enjoy the atmosphere generated by the Candlewood Brand. There is more of a feeling of "home" to the stay while doing business. The kitchen is such a plus with a full size refrigerator, microwave, and a stove top is great. It really allows some flexibility for meals. You can actually cook and not eat out all the time. The dishes, utensils, pots and pans are a fantastic plus. From a very satisfied guest. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly helpful staffr from the firdt to last day, the staff was outstanding...front desk staff was superb (of coure we plied theym with chocoltes from San Francisco(:-) ). August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great management Could not ask for better management. A great room, very clean. Kitchen was an extra added bonus, along with a large fridge. July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Problem with Smoke Detector The first two evenings were fine. The beds were comfortable and the room temperature was easy to regulate. The third night was a mess. About 3 am the smoke detector started making a beeping noise. My daughter and I were trying to figure out what was going on. We called the front desk. Two gentlemen came upstairs and looked at the detector. They did not seem to know what to do and the desk clerk said he could not remove it for safety reasons. I had to tell them to disconnect it or move us to another room. There were no other rooms available. Finally, the guy removed it but came back in the morning, reconnected it, it made the noise again and my daughter could not continue sleeping. The desk clerk and maintenance man were polite but there was not an offer to compensate for a poor night of sleep due to this issue. I will not use this hotel again when I visit my children in Portland July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood and Employee's Want to compliment everything.... .the only small complaint I would have is that all the POP in the cupboard was cola products....I prefer Pepsi products,.,,,,, the linen's are wonderful the bed was fantastic and the whole Room was very very nice and very accommodating......Very very close to the airport, IKEA, and EXPO. close bye, Buffalo Wild Wings, Red Robin, and many other's with in driving little distance.... Very nice having the USA paper there each day and Sat. the Oregonian!!!!! Thanks for a wonderful stay..... July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! The Candlewood Suites Portland Airport was home to me and my little doggy for five months. The staff at this hotel are very customer service oriented and well trained - just really great people. Every morning I received a warm greeting along with a cup of hot coffee,. When I did not feel like cooking something in the nicely equipped room kitchenette I could always visit the Candlewood "store" for something yummy. Laundry facilities are free of charge, as is the well equipped fitness room. The housekeeping staff is meticulous about keeping the hotel, sparkling clean. I highly recommend the Candlewood Suites Portland Airport! July 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice room, great to have a kitchenette Missing the little things- 1. Water on the kitchen floor and we were made to sit and wait while maintenance decided the source (would have appreciated being moved right away). 2. Not aware that housekeeping was weekly only! As a result we came back to our room the way we had left it in the morning...very disappointed. 3. Our towels were not replaced. Again on a weekly basis unless you know to put the dirty towels outside your door for replacements. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Immaculateand convenient room. Got into PDX late and the close proximity of this hotel to the airport was great. One bedroom suite was very clean and spacious. King size mattress was a little hard for my back and the sofa bed was not very comfortable for my son, but sometimes that happens with sofa beds. We liked our stay overall very much and would consider returning on our next trip to Portland. Shari's coffe shop was nearby and we also ate one morning at Elmer's about a couple of miles south. Both cafes are excellent. July 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service Was not allowed to book required room at booking and told that it would be accommodated at check-in. It was not. Room stunk of "fragrance." Worst room in the place. Told I was upgraded to a kitchenette because I am a Platinum Member when they all have them anyway. No roll away to accommodate my stay. Three people shared a king bed. As a Platinum Member I was put on the top floor, airport side, and next to the elevator. Couldn't even check out because the computers were down, which also describes the internet throughout my stay. It was faster on 3G and many times I could not connect at all. I did not even receive an email check-out bill. Horrid. I have had awesome experiences at every other IHG hotel I have stayed at with dollars or points. Always treated the same. NOT HERE. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE !!! VERY COMFORTABLE !!!! VERY CLEAN !!!!! VERY SECURE !!!! GREAT SERVICE !!!! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! The hotel grounds were well-cared for, the staff were very friendly, and the rooms were spacious and clean. Additionally, the breakfast had a lot of variety, and this location was convenient to the airport. Definitely will stay here again! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! We stayed at this hotel because we were in Portland for a family reunion and we had a wonderful stay. Was not too happy about the wait time to check in. Check in time was at 3 PM but we had to wait for our room to become ready. It took about 40 minutes before we were able to finally get into our room. The plus side is that the staff offered us free beverages and a snack from the Candlewood Cupboard and that was greatly appreciated. The rest of the stay went without a hitch. The staff went over and beyond their call of duty. They were all very friendly and showed that they appreciated our business. The hotel was clean, fully stocked with all the necessary kitchen items and they offered free laundry for the guest so we did not have to return home with a suitcase full of dirty clothes. Plan on making this trip annually and you can bet that this is where we will be staying on all of our visits. The parking lot is well lit and easy to get to the entrance of the hotel without having t be worried about safety issues. I felt very safe coming in around 10 PM every night with my 4 year old granddaughter. Want to thank the staff for making us feel very welcome! And hope to see you all next year. June 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Roomy but lacking When I booked this room, I told the girl what I needed: kitchen (we were staying to 4 nights), one bed, dining area, hopefully a sofa for sitting comfortably. No guarantees on a sofa, they said. All rooms have a full kitchen (with a noisy fridge). There was very little counter space however but lots of empty cabinets above -where that giant microwave would have been better suited-, so food prep was either cramped or done on the dining table/desk. There were only enough dishes/silverware for 2, so it meant lots of dish washing. One of the 2 chairs for the table was and office chair on wheels... Odd. We realized afterward that the room was actually an "accessible" room (and it was too late to change rooms, since the hotel was full), which explained how "roomy" it was.. So there were bars all over the bathroom, and a fold-up seat in the tub. That meant no comfy soak for me! There was no bathroom vanity, only a sink and a skinny shelf above the toilet, so little room for my stuff. They had conditioning shampoo, but no body lotion. The hand-held shower head was on a sliding rail so it could be lowered for someone in a seated position, but the installation was faulty so it always slid down to the lowest position, forcing me to hold it while aI showered. It's not as if this were the only room available at the time I made the reservation: I had a choice of 3. Had they told me it was an "accessible" room, I would have opted for a different one. They simply said it was a "King Suite". I went to the "store" on premises to buy tampons or pads... NONE. You'd think that they would have that there!!! The girl at the desk gave me some for the storeroom, there for employees. The front desk person NEVER greeted us as we entered, not until the last morning, when a new person was on duty. No breakfast served. The plusses: it was quiet and clean and comparatively inexpensive. The sheets are very nice. June 25, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading