Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
(e.g. Nov-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 220 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Great facility, clean and very comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Road Weary Rest Had to adjust my travel plans on the fly while driving from California. Stopped in Des Moines without a reservation and was provided a room with two queen beds, which was what we were hoping for. Service was quick and friendly. Hit the road the next morning after a good nights rest and a nice complimentary breakfast. Thank you Holiday Inn Express. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay The location was great for our needs. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice and my wife who has celiac disease was able to eat many of the selections. The room was quiet, comfortable and relaxing. It was great as were the accommodating housekeepers who worked around our schedule. We will stay here again when in Des Moines. September 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience I will preface my review in saying that we have stayed at this property last year and had a good experience. I stayed here over the Labor Day holiday with my wife, 5 and 2 year old and to say the least was a terrible experience. Upon arrival, they booked us in a 2 Queen Suite vs. the King Suite we reserved. The staff was friendly and courteous and promptly moved us to the room next door with a king bed. Upon entering the room, it was hot and humid so we proceeded to lower the A/C temperature. The room never did cool off and as result we did not sleep very well the 1st night. The next morning, I contacted the front desk and they said they needed to reset the master system in order for the A/C to be adequate. After the room didn't cool, I requested another room. They moved us to the room next door. The A/C worked well until the heat spontaneously kicked on at 9 pm. I contacted the front desk and they tried to move us back to the original room without the adequate A/C. There was an obvious communication break down between the day and night staff. I insisted they move us to another us to another room in which the A/C finally worked. We will be thinking twice before we stay here in the future. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newer hotel, great amenities, easy access from I35/I80 This hotel is very clean, comfortable, and has a very large breakfast area with plenty of room between tables. Several restaurant are within walking distance. The staff was courteous, knowledgeable, and professional. We will come back to this location on our next trip through Iowa! September 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by POOR MANAGEMENT MANAGEMENT WAS RUDE AND IN MY OPPNION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! August 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by love the beds The beds are the best thing about the HIE chain. They've replaced the Stay Simply shampoo/conditioner/lotion with the lower quality White Citrus brand. I could not locate The Weather Channel on the TV, in fact very few channels were available. I am a Priority Club member and made my reservations two weeks in advance, and when I checked in at around 4 PM, I was given a room next to the elevator and across from the ice machine. The noise interrupted my sleep. I wish HIE would provide 4 towels/washcloths in the guest rooms. The room was too pricey for the experience. August 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by New Property While packing things up in order to leave by mid-morning, we were repeatedly interrupted by cleaning staff wanting to clean the room.We felt very rushed. Unfortunately a money clip with a large sum of cash was left behind. When we asked if it had been turned in, the answer was no. Although we were not too surprised ,it was especially disappointing and frustrating since we left a generous tip !! August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great decor Pros: Check-in quick, nice front desk person Great looking decor- hotel & room Pool good size So happy to see several hooks in bathroom!! Cons: No stopper for tub Beds were horrible- squeaky & way too firm My eyeglasses & case were left after check out but housekeeping never found them!?! August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful One of the nicest hotels we staying in in our 15 tour of USA. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our first choice As usual the experience my wife & I had at the Holiday Inn Express in Urbandale was excellent. The TV would not work, but within 5 minutes of calling the desk, someone came to the room & reset the power, which fixed it. The continental breakfast was excellent with good variety. We stayed at a non-Holiday Inn the night before & the breakfast was meager & disappointing. When making reservations for a trip, Holiday Inn Express is now our 1st choice. The free USA Today is a bonus. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Clean and relaxing, several hours in pool. Will stay again when traveling through area. August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by air conditioner The room was at 67 degrees when we arrived so we moved the temperature up on the thermostat. It appeared that the heat came on and the air conditioner starting makina a racquet. We moved it back to 67 degrees and the air conditioner made a lot of noise the rest of the night which made for an unrestful night August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stay Had a great stay. Easy to get to from the interstate. Quiet location. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. The properties where very well maintained. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Certainly recommend this hotel. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service The desk clerk was very helpful and accomodating to us at check in. We arrived much later than anticipated and he made it painless and quick so that we could settle in after a very long drive. The rooms were very comfortable and pretty. Breakfast was hot and delicious each morning with a great variety of items. The person in charge of the breakfast area was just awesome and prepared extra items if we requested them. He even came over to ask if we needed anything else before he shut breakfast down. We felt like royalty and really appreciated the service. We came in one evening looking for hot water for tea and it was empty, so the desk clerk went immediately to fix the problem. We stayed a week with my elderly parents, so all of the kind service and help made the week very pleasurable! They said it was the best hotel we stayed at all along our route! It is in a great area and was a quiet and restful stay. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room This was our third stay and it was everything we were hoping for. It was as pleasant as our first stay. Actually better. Our room was outstanding. We really appreciate non-smoking throughout the motel. The staff was very accommodating and check in-out was a breeze. The young man running the restaurant was very efficient and friendly. If we ever need accommodations in the Des Moines area again we would certainly stay here. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay in a very nice facility I was in town for one night for a job interview after a long day's travel. Check in was smooth, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. I was able to take a dip in the pool and soak in the hot tube for a bit as well. Breakfast was very also great. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to freeway Easy to find, easy access on and off the highway. Food, and gas very close by. We just needed an overnight, very glad to have stayed here. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We would highly recommend this hotel! The rooms were very big and clean! Great location! Check in was easy! Will return here again! July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Property and Wonderful Staff/Service With my line of work I have to travel alot. This facility is one of the cleaniest and best maintained hotels I have stayed in. The rooms are good size, bed are very comfortable. The staff is very professional and willing to assist (specially Jordan). They do so well, it is disappointing when I have to stay in other hotels. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The bar has been raised! My recent stay set a new standard for all other rooms that I may stay in. Very well appointed room, with DirecTV with tons of channels to watch and a shower with the most water pressure I have experienced in recent (or not so recent) memory. The fridge was taller than what you would normally see in most rooms thus affording you room to stand a wine bottle up in the door. Breakfast was awesome with real bacon and scrambled eggs, and cinnamon rolls that were not these little hard things you get with other hotels. Overall I was quite pleased with my experience and highly recommend this hotel. July 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very bad experience This Urbandale/Des Moines, IA Holiday Inn Express is not customer service oriented and has very rude front desk staff. I checked in and was given a room. I went to the room and the room had not been cleaned, including finding the room with no sheets on the bed. I had reserved (and subsequently paid for) an "Executive King Room". I went to the front desk and was assigned a different room. When I arrived in the second room, it was much smaller and cramped. I inquired with the front desk as to a charge adjustment (going from the Executive King Room to a standard room) and was told that they wouldn't make any price adjustment. The front desk staff said that all of their rooms were the same. Really...I was just in the Executive King Room and it was MUCH larger than the room that I was subsequently stuck in. I spoke to the manager about this the following morning and was told the same thing - all rooms are the same - perhaps someone from corporate needs to give these gentlemen tours of their own hotel and have them visit their website where guests make reservations. We will not be staying in a Holiday Inn Express again. June 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ok The price was high. I had no choice because so many hotels taken for Port Expo and my workshop was the same weekend (had nothing to do with Pork Expo). The rooms were nice, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was fair, I've had better. I did find the staff very nice. I also found the maid or room service crew very GOOD. They were better than average for sure! June 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sewer Gas We walked off of the elevator on the 3rd floor and the smell of sewage overwhelmed us. It seemed the worst toward the middle of the building. I called down to the desk and they said yes, since they started construction on the building next door, they have been having trouble with sewer smell / gas. I told him we could even smell it in our room. No other room was offered to us. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a Great Place Had another great time at a Holiday Inn Express. Everything was the same as all the others. The only bad thing was when we got back from being out, our beds were torn apart and not made. It was as if they forgot to finish the room. When we called the front desk, the person on the other end was not friendly about it. This little negative won't keep us from going to another Holiday Inn. The front desk person when we checked in was outstanding. June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, friendly staff. We stayed there on our way to S.Dakota. Very good location if you are traveling east or west through Des Moines. Friendly staff and enough amenities to make your visit comfortable and relaxing. I would stay there again anytime. The night we were there was the night the tornado hit Oklahoma. We were surrounded by severe weather all night. Many around us lost power but the hotel did not. May 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Slow internet Tried to connect via VPN to work but was not fast enough to even bring up home page let alone access applications. Connection was so slow even Google news took minutes to open. May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room and staff The staff worked extra hard to take care of our needs. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast offered many choices. The location has easy access to I-80. May 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Urbandale and enjoyed a very clean and comfortable room. Lots of plugs for phones and electronics. Very clean. Great staff. Love the cinnamon rolls at breakfast. May 6, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 next>>