• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed. Service charge for unauthorized pets in the building.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:93
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:48
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:93
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Urbandale, Iowa.

Nestled in the Des Moines, Iowa area Urbandale is a growing city that has held on to its small-town charm. Whether travelling for business or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines is conveniently located off I-35/I-80. Only minutes from attractions such as Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo, Des Moines Botanical Center, Des Moines Science Center and Wells Fargo Arena.

Let
View More

Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Urbandale, Iowa.

Nestled in the Des Moines, Iowa area Urbandale is a growing city that has held on to its small-town charm. Whether travelling for business or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines is conveniently located off I-35/I-80. Only minutes from attractions such as Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo, Des Moines Botanical Center, Des Moines Science Center and Wells Fargo Arena.

Let the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines be your host hotel for annual events like the Festa Italiana, World Food Festival and the Iowa State Fair.

Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet served daily, indoor pool/whirlpool, business center, enhanced fitness facility, guest laundry, wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, triple sheeted bedding, enhanced bath experience and flexible meeting space to accommodate up to 100 people.

Local businesses include John Deere Credit, Aviva, Firestone, Hy-Vee, Camp Dodge, Garst Seeds, Wells Fargo, Mercy Medical Center, Allied Insurance, Principal Financial, Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield and Pioneer Hi-Bred International.

Enjoy the best accommodations Urbandale, Iowa has to offer, so

Stay Smart!

View Less
Features
Our Urbandale Holiday Inn Express & Suites location is central to the rest of the Des Moines, Iowa area. Our easy access to I-35 and I-80 lets guests quickly travel to any area location. Come enjoy our service, amenities and earn Priority Club Reward points!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 149 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great location. Close to downtown and restaurants. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Experience Very comfortable and priced right for the business traveler. Samantha was very helpful during my pre and post arrival. She was a pleasure to work with and she took care of everything per my request prior to arrival. GREAT Job!! September 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dorm Room This place is a dump. Worst express I've ever stayed at September 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Nice place to stay. rooms were clean and comfortable . A nice diner and other restaurants within walking distance. I would stay there again. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location Visiting student at Drake U, so location was the best, the room was great, don't know if could have asked for a small fridge, but room very comfortable, free wifi and great towels and bed, afternoon cookies a really nice surprise! Very friendly and helpful staff . Would highly recommend. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Our room was clean and we slept very good. The breakfast was also good. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just passing through We stayed one night in this hotel on our way to the farm progress show. This hotel will fulfill your needs if all you want is a place to sleep. It is located near a college, and staffed by college kids (based on my experience), so it seemed to have a different feel to it ........ not sure why. But, again, it provided a place to sleep for the night, which is all I was expecting. Nothing fancy about the hotel, just a basic place to stay. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Carpet soaked Second time at this property. The staff makes it pleasant enough. They do a good job with what they have to work with. Rooms are tired and old, but the bathroom was very clean. I knew I had a problem when i opened my room door and the ac fan was running full blast. I was too tired, at 12:30 am, to do anything about the mildly damp and musty odor. I soon found out why the fan was on so high when i tried to quiet it a bit walking over to the unit under the window: squish, squish. The carpet was soaked, presumably from the day's rain. But it was only me, and I'd be gone in 8 hours or so. No real issue, just don't go the that side of the room. I do wish the room would have smelled better, though. The Breakfast room is spacious and not near as compact as most HIEs. The long straight countertop is easy to navigate with other guests, unlike the L-shaped counters at many HIEs. Good selections. Clean room and attentive support person. When I mentioned the wet carpet upon checkout, the only comment I got was that they were waiting on the University for repairs. That, I did think, was an inadequate response. Let's see if property management responds to this note/review. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location This hotel is right next to the Drake University campus. We have stayed here multiple times and will definitely return! August 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent value Hotel is a little tired, but it is a good value and close to Drake. Room had a very musty smell, likely from an overworked AC unit. Towels were a little old. Breakfast was just OK, but likely due to us going at peak time when items were limited and the room crowded. We have stayed here before becauce our son is at Drake, and we have stayed there on travels through Des Moines. No big amenities, but it's a decent bed close to the highway, so a good value. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and friendly staff We stayed two nights and were very pleased with the hotel August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place to Stay Great location for Drake events. Friendly staff and comfy beds. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by old and i need of a face lift nice place near Drake, however they need to redo the hotel and get it updated! August 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old, tired, not up to HIE Standards, Make them update, or don't let them be flagged an HIE I am pretty loyal to IHG. Due to geography, I mostly stay in HIE properties. The point of staying in a chain property is because I know what to expect. They are supposed to have brand standards across all properties. Apparently, this hotel slipped by. This used to be a hotel owned by Drake University and at some point it became a HIE. It is in dire need of updates. All of the finishes, floors, windows, bedding and especially bathrooms. It was almost bad enough that I went to a different hotel. But, I was only there for one night so I figured I could make it. The bathroom was old and worn out (see pics). When the room is this old, it looks dirty, whether it actually is or not. Plus with the crumbling ceiling and rust spots in the bathtub, I don't think they are keeping up on their maintenance. If a property can't do regular maintenance properly, then I question their ability to do effective cleaning. This property also seems to have electrical problems. There seems to be "mini/micro" surges that would flicker the lights and cause my noise machine app to skip. Very annoying and made it difficult to sleep. The staff I dealt with at the front desk and the breakfast area were both great. IHG in general does not seem to be consistent across brands. I have stayed at really nice HIEs and then ones like this. Regular Holiday Inns are always hit or miss. IHG, please do a better job of enforcing brand standards. I want to know that I will always be getting a similar level of quality/comfort when I stay at HIE. August 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable quiet room Good for overnight stopover while travelling. Front desk was very efficient and welcoming. Drake Diner next door had wide selection for supper. Bed was comfortable, blockout curtains helped us sleep in. Room was spacious. Several options at free breakfast August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at the Drake The staff was great... However, the room was in disrepair w/ peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling, dated furnishings, and a very old, loud A/C unit. If it had been extremely hot, I doubt the unit would have effectively cooled the room. This hotel is in desperate need of updating - other Express Inns at which I have stayed have been in much better condition. August 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poorly maintained we chose this hotel because we usually know what to expect from a Holiday Inn Express. This inn was the exception. Poorly maintained especially in the bathroom, The door knob was so loose that I was unable to open the door after closing it. Finally was able to get the door open and report to the front desk. Desk person came down with a screwdriver and tried to fix but could not. Toilet ran thru continually and was very annoying. cleaning staff was exceptionally loud early in the morning. August 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay The hotel and staff met expectations, but we did not feel comfortable with the surrounding area. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed The beds were very comfortable and the room was as well in terms of temperature and the like. The greatest concern was the bathroom cleanliness and upkeep. The biggest problems were blood stains on the wall and also the fact that the larger towel were not replaced for the second night of our stay by the staff responsible for that function. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best! We always stay at this hotel when coming to Adventureland! Its a little farther but definitely worth the drive. Super quiet and clean! August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No TV, no telephone dialtone Eager to rest after delayed flight and late arrival; however, could not watch television, nor set wake-up. Not in a hurry, even thought I might take in Iowa State Fair, but struck out for northeast Missouri home forenoon. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good breakfast selection Bed were very comfortable pillows were great Breakfast bar was very diverse August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel We had a pleasant stay at the Hotel there in Des Moines. It was very easy to schedule our stay there and the check in was very smooth. The breakfast was awesome! August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smelly and Damp As a bi-weekly user of IHG properties, this will definitely be a property I will not return to. The room was so damp the carpet was moist, awful smell, ceiling above the shower was dripping from the upstairs bathroom. Because of the dampness of the room the bathroom door would not close because it was so warped. Hallway was littered with towels in the morning from housekeeping and just yuck!! Major renovations need to be done at this property and sooner than later... August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - Des Moines At Drake Univ One of the best Holiday Inn Express facilities, excellent location, extremely nice grounds, within walking distance to several restaurants, comfortable beds and pillows, very clean rooms, very pleasant stay August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by An alright place to stay. I think the only reason for the price I paid was due to location. I've stayed in much nicer properites for quite a bit less. Other than that, this property is simply a place to stay, nothing exceptional. My biggest complaint would be not having a clean room available at check-in. Both the individual checking in ahead of me and myself were delayed because at 3pm rooms were still not available for check-in. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and great location My daughter and I stayed at this hotel while visiting Drake University during Iowa Private College Week. We were only 2 blocks from campus. We will certainly stay there again on future visits. August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rennovation needed We chose this hotel strictly for the location during the AAU Junior Olympics. Most of the staff were pleasant and the bathroom was clean. However, the carpets are stained and the room always smelled musty. We bought air freshener clips to mask the odor. This hotel needs to replace all the carpet, add mini refrigerators to the room and eliminate the sliding doors on the first floor. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and good location for Drake University Great hotel with good service near Drake University. We go there all the time (when it's not booked) during our Des Moines visits. On occasion, they do have events and it can be noisy, but that has not been our general experience. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to Stay This was a good hotel for walking over to Drake Univ...The breakfast was fine...the kids enjoyed themselves...we just wish they had a pool for the last day of stay.... August 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading