• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed. Service charge for unauthorized pets in the building.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:93
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:48
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:93
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Urbandale, Iowa.

Nestled in the Des Moines, Iowa area Urbandale is a growing city that has held on to its small-town charm. Whether travelling for business or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines is conveniently located off I-35/I-80. Only minutes from attractions such as Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo, Des Moines Botanical Center, Des Moines Science Center and Wells Fargo Arena.

Let
View More

Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Urbandale, Iowa.

Nestled in the Des Moines, Iowa area Urbandale is a growing city that has held on to its small-town charm. Whether travelling for business or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines is conveniently located off I-35/I-80. Only minutes from attractions such as Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo, Des Moines Botanical Center, Des Moines Science Center and Wells Fargo Arena.

Let the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines be your host hotel for annual events like the Festa Italiana, World Food Festival and the Iowa State Fair.

Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet served daily, indoor pool/whirlpool, business center, enhanced fitness facility, guest laundry, wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, triple sheeted bedding, enhanced bath experience and flexible meeting space to accommodate up to 100 people.

Local businesses include John Deere Credit, Aviva, Firestone, Hy-Vee, Camp Dodge, Garst Seeds, Wells Fargo, Mercy Medical Center, Allied Insurance, Principal Financial, Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield and Pioneer Hi-Bred International.

Enjoy the best accommodations Urbandale, Iowa has to offer, so

Stay Smart!

View Less
Features
Our Urbandale Holiday Inn Express & Suites location is central to the rest of the Des Moines, Iowa area. Our easy access to I-35 and I-80 lets guests quickly travel to any area location. Come enjoy our service, amenities and earn Priority Club Reward points!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 71 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellence Through Challenges I stayed at the Inn at the tail end of a record-breaking January arctic cold spell in Iowa. A sprinkler system pipe had frozen, burst and flooded a couple of hallways. I was so impressed by how quickly management resolved this overwhelming challenge. Perhaps related to the water leakage, my room phone was not operational. The staff on duty quickly responded to my report giving me a portable phone to use. I requested a late check-out so my key card PIN expired. Again the staff on duty quickly programmed in extra time for me. Finally, I had business calls to make in the area after checking out. The staff gladly stored my guitar for me until the end of the day; that way I did not have to worry about the frigid temperatures harming my instrument. Thanks for turning my lemons into lemonade! God bless you for kindness and great service. January 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Up To HI Express Standards This is a nice hotel in a nice location with a nice restaurant next door. However, I have come to expect more from HI Express. 1. The room was extremely cold when we arrived. Not a problem though; we turned the heat on. What was a problem was that it did not control to temperature, no matter what you tried. The heat was either all on, or all off. That means that during the night, unless you wanted to get up every hour and turn the wall unit on or off, you either overheated or froze, depending on your choice of setting before you went to bed. I am an airconditioning/heating professional; I know how to use a thermostat, so it was not operator error. 2. The bathroom exhaust did not work. Not only did it not draw air out of the room and exhaust it to the outdoors, cold air from outdoors leaked back into the bath. 3. We received no rooom service. The housekeepers did not visit our room while we were away all day. No bed made, no floor vacuumed, no new towels, no replenished coffee, new soap, no nothing. Not sure why, as they serviced adjacent rooms. 4. Has a teentsy, weentsy, little breakfast room, unlike other HI Express'. I still like HI Express, but this one is below standard. January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks, Drake Holiday Inn, For A Great Stay! We enjoyed a very relaxing stay at the Drake Holiday Inn. The Housekeepers did a fantastic job and it was very quiet. The workout room was a nice bonus with several different machines and a t.v. Complimentary breakfast was aok with a nice assortment of cereal, rolls, eggs, juice/coffee, yogurt and fresh fruit. The Front Office Staff are accommodating and friendly. January 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by underwhelmed and undelivered My family and I stayed here during a long road trip for the Holidays. This HIE was the last stop on our trip and the 4th HIE we stayed at on the trip. Although the room was clean and warm and bed comfortable, we were surprised at some things that could have made our final night on the road more enjoyable. upon arrival at the previous HIE we were greeted with a warm smile and several treats, bottles of water and thank yous for being IHG club members. Not here, we were handed the key and told breakfast would be served in the morning. In our room, all of the lights (including the one on the bedside table were connected to the switch by the door. All the light had to be on at the same.ugh...this also meant that the plugs(to charge our cell phones) were also connected to this light switch. I am sure we could have figured out an intermediate solution but after driving all day and getting a baby to sleep that was the furthest thing from my mind (we ended up charging our phones in the bathroom). Again nothing horribly wrong with the room...but the service was disappointing especially after several stays with HIE on this trip! December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & Clean we have stayed at this Hotel several times, we have always found it very comfortable and friendly. Nice breakfast in morning and staff keep it filled and clean. We highly recommend this hotel! November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel Clean & comfortable beds. Friendly staff & easy parking. Close to Drake campus. Only complaint was we got the last two rooms so were right across hall from breakfast room which opens at 6:30 am. Otherwise a decent place to stay especially with free breakfast included. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best ever! Our stay at this HI Express could not have been better! The staff was so very helpful and friendly. The quaint location close to Drake University was very quiet and restful. Location was convenient to downtown and local restaurants. The Drake Diner adjacent was the best. We would love to return to DesMoines and enjoy this motel once again. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel and location We always enjoy the proximity to our Drake student. Beds are comfortable, room is clean and the complimentary breakfast is a great perk. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff was very helpful with college campus maps, breakfast suggestions which were excellent and finding us a pizza place that would deliver to our room late Friday night when we arrived. We will definitely book reservations here at this location next time we visit Drake University. And it is within walking distance of the campus, so my car basically was parked in the lot all weekend until we returned home on Sunday November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We stayed for a family wedding. Very organized and comfortable. Nice price too! Great breakfast! Wow good breakfast! Nice exercise room. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable. Everything at the hotel was great. The room and bathroom were clean, comfortable and spacious. It was quiet and we felt at ease. The only complaint I have is the breakfast room is quite small and was very crowded in the morning and the only fresh fruit option was a banana. I would have liked to have some other fruit choices. The hotel is just a block from the Drake campus which made visiting the school very easy. There was a small workout room which looked nice. No pool or hot tub which I missed having. October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Like the new elevator I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I like the food found at the nearby restaurants. It was a nice quiet area and the breakfast offered a variety of choices. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. I had stayed here when they had no elevator and I will say the elevator only enhances the pleasantness of this hotel. i will definitely stay here again! PS The 24 hour coffee was nice and so was the fresh free chocolate chip cookies. October 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by DIsappointed I stay at many Holiday Inns each year and this one missed the mark. I travel for work and therefore rely on thebusiness center. The business center at this property was in the middle of the lobby and ain entrace. Also, the Internet was not working for much of my stay. The breakfast room was not overlyclean. The staff looked very unprofessional. Their clothing was often less than professional and twice I had to wait for the staff to quit playing on the computer (when the Internet worked) to assist me. October 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Didn't even know this hotel was tucked in the back behind a very nice diner and so close to Drake University. Nothing special but clean and convenient. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 My home away from home... I stay at this hotel weekly for business travel and have for over 7 years now. There are 3 young gals named Kari, Emjay, & Ashly that go out of their way to give me me special treatment with goodie bags, friendly smiles, etc. The staff is always trying to make me feel like it's my home away from home. They are very friendly and accomodating. The recent upgrades and remodeling have made this look like a very modern hotel and there are many nice amenities. As long as I keep traveling through Des Moines I will keep staying in this wonderful hotel. Thanks to the staff for everything they do. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! This hotel has a vintage feel and look! The interior is updated and staff was very friendly! October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Room When I booked this it was last minute due to a death in the family. Tome said he would try to get a court room for me when I arrived the room was a courtside room I was delighted and some of my family were next door! the room was newly decorated and very comfortable. everything worked and it was QUITE. Very Good experience. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service My stay was very nice as in all Holiday Expresses. However, what i received above and beyond was the customer service at the front desk. Upon checking in the staff was very welcoming and accommodated my request to change rooms. The morning of 9/23 the young man at the front desk not only was very cordial but helped me resolve my technical issue with my IPhone. There are things that i just expect and don't warrant a review but exceptional customer service deserves a shout out. Thank you. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer service and location to Drake University Our check in was flawless, greeted by wonderful front desk staff, rec'd a goody bag for my past stays with HI. Very comfortable beds, nice parking lot and location to University Ave and Drake Diner. Breakfast has fabulous choices, something for everyone. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, clean, and good location to Drake University My room was very clean, the front desk person was very nice, beds were very comfortable, breakfast good. Next door is the Drake Diner and that was very good. You can't beat the location if you have a student at Drake. Very convenient. September 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy and over-promised The advertised workout facilities don't exist "yet". It's something they're "planning for...and will be available later in the year". The room smelled medicinal, like a hospital, and we were treated to the sound of construction into the evening. Maybe they were working on building the advertised amenities? Close to the University, but in the heart of a dangerous area. Keep looking. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always very clean and helpful The staff there go overboard to help guests. The cleaning staff is a favorite of ours because they work so hard to clean every room. Spotless every time. They also work well together. Their smiles and laughes just make you feel so welcome and at home. Thanks to all so you. We will see you again. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay at Drake I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Drake. The breakfast had a lot of variety to please all tastes (they have this nifty pancake machine that spits em out in 2 minutes). Not very many amenities BUT they are in the process of remodeling so there is a lot more to come. I recommend checking out the great restaurants surrounding the Hotel and the Drake campus (The Drake Diner is right next to the hotel and they have great food and shakes). Most of the staff was nice especially the evening and overnight staff. Room was clean and I had no noise issues whatsoever. All parents/family members of Drake students should definitely stay at this property. I will be staying here every time I come into Des Moines to visit members of the family who attend Drake. September 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy place and staff doesn't care We picked this Holiday Inn Express in Des Moines because it is not pet friendly, since I have allergies. We were driving back from a trip to Minnesota, and needed a good night's rest. We were warned when checking in that there was some construction going on, but really didn't have a problem with that, even though they were doing work near our room. However, our room was across the hall from a maid's work room, and they talked and talked. I finally called down to the front desk, and was told that the staff was going to be clocking out soon, so be patient. It was another 45 minutes or so before the chatter stopped, just to start again early in the morning. We were also across the hall from an ice machine, which made noise and was used all night. This was by far the noisiest room we'd stayed in for quite some time. When we again reported the issues to the front desk, the clerk was "sorry about that", but said they hadn't gotten complaints about that room before. We didn't buy the story. Other hotels place maid service rooms and vending/ice areas at least a bit away from guest rooms. We won't stay here ever again! August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice. The desk personal were very nice. The breakfast toaster blew a fuse, but was promptly attended to. Wish I'd had a small fridge and microwave in the room, but all available had been rented out. Otherwise, it was clean, neat and very comfortable. August 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room . . .smells though! I've stayed here before and have no problems with my prior visit even though renovations were going on. This time they were still doing some upgrades, though this was again not a concern. What was bothersome however, was that as soon as I opened the door a heavy odor was apparent. Sort of musty in a way. I checked the air conditioner (I even cleaned the filters), and removed the THREE solid air fresheners that were mounted just inside the unit, where air passes over them. After staying in room for awhile it is less evident, thought I was able to smell the room in my clothes in my suitcase three days later!!! Would have rated this higher, but a smelly room isn't an enjoyable one to sleep, relax or work in. August 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by loud noise and terrible cell phone recepition For some reason my Verizon cell phone had NO bars in your hotel. This phone has good recepition in the middle of no where but not at the Holiday Inn. I didn't know when I booked the 3 nights at this Holiday Inn that it was located so close to Drake University and so far away from Restaurants. I also was concered about the neighborhoods safety, Also the breakfast area was so small that I had to take my breakfast back to my room as there wasn't a table to set at. The first day I was there the cereal wasn't even in the breakfast area, I found it in the lobby area after breakfast. No sign or notice where to find the cereal. I would not recommed this hotel to anyone nor will I ever stay here again. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is great place to stay! I come to Des Moines from LA to visit family in the Drake Neighborhood. The Holiday Inn by the Drake is great! The staff is friendly. The room is clean and large. The HD TV is a definitely plus, And.... it's s stone's throw from the Drake Diner!!! How could ask for more. August 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Drake U Location Friendly and Convenient Our group of five bicycle riders were welcomed after a long day's ride and provided a safe secure storage area for our bikes. Our rooms were adjoining; property was quiet, clean, and centrally located in Des Moines. The on-site breakfast was well stocked and varied. Overall this property provided an outstanding value. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by the Drake hotel is in need of a face lift, otherwise a nice hotel July 29, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Stay Refreshed with a Free Express Start ® Breakfast at Holiday Inn Express. Click to learn more.