• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: DES MOINES
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed. Service charge for unauthorized pets in the building.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:93
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:48
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:93
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Urbandale, Iowa.

Nestled in the Des Moines, Iowa area Urbandale is a growing city that has held on to its small-town charm. Whether travelling for business or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines is conveniently located off I-35/I-80. Only minutes from attractions such as Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo, Des Moines Botanical Center, Des Moines Science Center and Wells Fargo Arena.

Let
View More

Welcome to the Brand New Holiday Inn Express and Suites Urbandale, Iowa.

Nestled in the Des Moines, Iowa area Urbandale is a growing city that has held on to its small-town charm. Whether travelling for business or pleasure the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines is conveniently located off I-35/I-80. Only minutes from attractions such as Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo, Des Moines Botanical Center, Des Moines Science Center and Wells Fargo Arena.

Let the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale Des Moines be your host hotel for annual events like the Festa Italiana, World Food Festival and the Iowa State Fair.

Experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities such as a complimentary hot breakfast buffet served daily, indoor pool/whirlpool, business center, enhanced fitness facility, guest laundry, wired & wireless high-speed Internet access, triple sheeted bedding, enhanced bath experience and flexible meeting space to accommodate up to 100 people.

Local businesses include John Deere Credit, Aviva, Firestone, Hy-Vee, Camp Dodge, Garst Seeds, Wells Fargo, Mercy Medical Center, Allied Insurance, Principal Financial, Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield and Pioneer Hi-Bred International.

Enjoy the best accommodations Urbandale, Iowa has to offer, so

Stay Smart!

View Less
Features
Our Urbandale Holiday Inn Express & Suites location is central to the rest of the Des Moines, Iowa area. Our easy access to I-35 and I-80 lets guests quickly travel to any area location. Come enjoy our service, amenities and earn Priority Club Reward points!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 146 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by COMFORTABLE BED, HOUSEKEEPERS PLEASANT !! YOUR BREAKFAST EXPERIENCE NEEDS LOTS OF HELP. YOU RAN OUT OF FOOD--THE PEOPLE WERE TRIPING OVER EACH OTHER TO TRY AND GO BACK AND FORTH TO THE FRONT DEST TO HEAT AND PREPARE MORE FOOD, THEY NEED A BIGGER KITCHEN AREA, AND A BIGGER OVEN TO PREPARE FOR THEIR GUESTS. THEY WERE FRUSTRATED, AND ASKED US TO REPORT THIS TO YOU. AS YOU KNOW, FOOD IS ONE OF OUR BASIC NEEDS, AND PREPARATION FOR THE QUALITY AND AVAILABILITY OF IT IS ESSENTIAL !! WE HAVE BEEN AT YOUR OTHER LOCATIONS --WE WERE SHOCKED AT YOUR INABILITY TO SERVE A PROPER BREAKFAST. YOUR ADVERTISEMENT DOES NOT RING TRUE AT THIS LOCATION. ON ANOTHER NOTE, ASHLEY, AT THE FRONT DESK WAS A JOY TO WORK WITH. SHE HAS A MOST PLEASANT TELEPHONE VOICE,AND IS AN ASSET TO YOUR COMPANY. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location I was so impressed with the location and size of this hotel A property on the Drake campus and convenient for walking and dining. Nice atmosphere July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Excellent service, staff was friendly and helpful at every interaction. Very clean in every area which makes for better sleep. Excellent! July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great check in service We were greeted. The clerk did not know I was a Priority Club member until he saw my card and saw in the computer that I had been a member over 10 years. At another hotel in Abilene Kansas we were even given bottles of water because we were members. Des Moines hotel only gave us internet service and late check out which we did not use since we were awakened so early because of banging doors. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible experience For the third stay, we have encountered service that I find unacceptable in a Holiday Inn. The front desk personnel is rude and does not appear to be glad you are a hotel guest. For reward members they do not inform you of the points or treat bag option. The rooms SMELL. The beds are not comfortable. The a/c systems are highly ineffective. The rooms are clean and the breakfast options are good - but that is the only positive comment I can make. This last stay we cancelled our days after the first night and went to HI - Mercy also in Des Moines. That is an awesome HI. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, hotel very comfortable. I liked the hotel. It was comfortable and I had a great stay. The hotel also provided a free breakfast which was wonderful, a variety of good food. Just great. People were very nice. Staff real good. I would stay there again. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Clean Rooms Spacious and clean rooms. Easy to access. Breakfast area could be bigger . . . went once and had to leave because it was full. Came back a short time later and was able to eat. Loved the diner next door for dinner. Heard a thumping noise off and on throughout the night that made sleep a little difficult. Overall, a nice place to stay. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No pool The lack of a pool or workout room is a disadvantage for this hotel. The breakfast room would have been cleaner if the gal had cleaned the tables after us during some of her way too frequent in and out visits that were to the point of being annoying. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Nice hotel, very friendly and attentive staff. I do wish the fitness center had more than 1 treadmill. Breakfast was good, the room was very clean and quiet and my stay was very nice. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quaint building This is not a typical Holiday Inn Express. It is in a former Drake University building. Loved that room looked over nicely landscaped courtyard and I could open the sliding door wall for fresh air sleeping. Small like a boutique hotel. A pleasant surprise. Wish I could' ex stayed around to explore the neighborhood. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay My stay at the Holiday Inn was outstanding. Employees there were helpful in many ways. They give me direction when needed and one personally led me to a store. I received information on where to go and where not to go for food. My room was always clean and had a good smell to it. I noticed that each cup was changed each time room was cleaned. While, walking to my room each employee I met spoke to me as if I was important to them. It was a home away from him feeling they gave me. Thanks July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bull rider Great Hotel. The rooms were over the top clean!! Cleaning service was excellent and so very polite! However, this was the first time I did not get recognized as a IHG Platium reward member. I usually get a bottle of water and a cookie, lol.. I would stay there again! July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unique, college neighborhood, good value We stopped here on a cross-country I-80 trip, and were very pleased. The price is lower than most HIExpresses, and it is located in a college neighborhood, not a motel strip, close to I-235. The well- reviewed Drake Diner is right next door, with longer hours than expected and a full bar. The building is relatively small and non-commercial, one block from the campus of Drake U, which makes for a very pleasant walk thru the campus, with a small movie theater on a nearby street. We ate at Jethro's BBQ, about 3/4 mile walk to the opposite corner of the campus - $25 for a tasty, generous, three-meat dinner with sides for two, and a very good selection of beers on tap. The toilet and bathroom counter seemed very low, there is no refrigerator as in many HIEx, and the room air-conditioner is of the noisy type, But all in all one of the most pleasant stops on our trip. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conceniently close to Drake University The Holiday Inn Express worked because we were in Des Moines for my son's orientation for Drake University, where he is starting this fall. The proximity to the campus was the key to our choice. The breakfast was fine, the parking lot large and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Just avoid booking the room directly across from the breakfast area unless you are a very early riser, since things get noisy there starting at around 6 A.M. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean room and excellent breakfast The room was very comfortable and clean. Bed was just the right firmness and pillows were great; some were marked as firm and others soft, giving patrons a choice. Breakfast choices were excellent, including fresh pancakes and eggs. Room was quiet and shade could be pulled so that room remained dark until person was ready to start his day. June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Musty smell in room Room was clean and comfortable but there was a musty smell in the room -- don't know what it was coming from -- there is no pool at this motel. Other than the smell, the room was OIK. June 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff not helpful This hotel is located in a bad part of town.Staff was not helpful with the problems we had with the power going out. There hospitality promise is something they don't seem to care about.With all the hotels in the area I would avoid this one. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice component of the Drake community. The "Des Moines at Drake University" is as nice of an H.I. Express as any (of the half dozen, or so) in which I have stayed. I would particularly like to commend H.I. for this hotel because it blends into the neighborhood so well. It is particularly unobtrusive; so much so that I drove within 100 yards of it three times and failed to recognize it. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay was great as usual! Fantastic. Great for a visit to Drake. Comfortable and clean. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convient place to stay... But I really was disappointed there wasn't an in-room refrigerator. Even lower end hotels have those now. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for one night Rooms clean and roomy, bathroom was clean and good sized, shower was clean and good water pressure. We liked the room but the front desk staff was not very friendly. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a good choice when in Des Moines I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express-Drake University many times. Occasionally I have stayed at other hotels, but I always prefer this one because it is comfortable, it is close to almost everything I need, and the management and staff are excellent. This time, there were a couple of glitches: bad smell in the room, no food when I went for breakfast. I was confident it would be rectified quickly, and it was. Very quickly and we were completely satisfied. The staff even moved our sizable amount of luggage to a different, perfect room, and breakfast got back to normal. They have remodeled with a new breakfast area, much roomier than the old one. They also installed a business desk with a couple of fast computers and printer. I found that very useful. Plenty of good eating nearby, with Jethro's Barbecue a few blocks away and Drake Diner next door. A good stay, once again. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing time, great service, wonderful breakfast. Room was comfortable and relaxing. Staff provided great service. Breakfast was wonderful. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Drake University Holiday Inn Express is a great place to stay! We always enjoy staying at the Drake University Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are very comfortable and it is centrally located to all of the amenities downtown Des Moines has to offer. Breakfast is included in the cost of your accommodations with a variety and plentiful supply of items. An attentive and thoughtful staff will ensure a pleasant stay. We highly recommend the Drake University Holiday Inn Express. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Big Black Ants Ther were Big Black Ants all over the windo sill and around ac. The exhaust fan in the bathroom did not work. The ac in the workout room was so loud it sounded like it was about to explode. The worst part was when I checked out and told the clerk on duty she did not say anything..not even I am sorry especially about the Big Black Ants. The bathroom was not very clean either. Location is in a sketchy neighbor hood. May 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Revitalization Area Drake Hotel This is not your standard Holiday Inn Express. While this is a quaint hotel, it is in a part of town that has a revitalization program currently in progress and the area is somewhat sketchy. The hotel won't tell you that information so if you're planning on staying in that area be aware of this. Also, for your room don't stay on the courtyard side near the lobby entrance because it is too noisy. They do have a couple of restaurants close by that are neat ! May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Enjoyment I only stayed for one night at this location, but the young ladies at the front desk in particular, as well as the rest of the staff, were very helpful and the hotel was very quiet/comfortable for a very low price. This hotel represents the reason why I choose IHG as my rewards chain of choice. May 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by MIDon On a recent trip in which I stayed in three Holiday Inn Expresses this was the least favorite. The GFI outlet in the bathroom didn't work. So a maintenance man was called from a nearby Inn. He verified that the outlet was dead but did not have another. So he tried a store which was closed, then went back to his inn to get one. It took 3-4 tries to get the new one in each time tripping the breaker which shut off the power for the whole room. It took an hour and a half to fix it. I asked for a different room but was told none were available. I asked to speak to the manger but was told he would not be in until the next morning. Since we left before he was in the next morning I left a message for him to call. When he had not by the afternoon I called him. He offered some consideration, I told him the toilet seat was loose, the soap tray in the shower was loose and the clothes hook on the back of the bathroom door was crooked with the wrong kind of screw holding it. You would think some one would have checked these things. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, great location and good value The stay was really nice. Everyone was pleasant and helpful as this was our first visit to Drake University and your location is perfect. We will definitely choose your hotel on future visits and look forward to doing so. Thank you for making our stay comfortable. JD48 April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great beds The beds are the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on at a hotel and they also smelled wonderful! Also like the patio area, nice place to relax outdoors but could use a few more chairs. April 16, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading