• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-09-2014)
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: UTICA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed, Service Animals only.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Marquee Cinemas
Distance From Hotel:8.0
Attraction:
Sangertown Mall
Distance From Hotel:7.0
Attraction:
Utica Zoo
Distance From Hotel:7.0
Attraction:
F.X. Matt's Brewing Company
Distance From Hotel:1.5

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:88
  • Car Parking Available
  • We have plenty of parking available at no extra cost in our outdoor parking lot. There's even enough room for tractor trailers. You might notice in the winter that your car has been brushed off even before you've come down for breakfast!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:75
  • Total number of suites:14
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:20
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Located just one half mile from I-90, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Utica is the newest hotel in the area, and is the epitome of convenience. We are located next door to Utica's famous Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse, and our guests can enjoy our patio with a firepit and grill overlooking the Harbor Point Waterfront.

We're located less than a mile from Utica Memorial Auditorium where our guests can enjoy watching Utica's AHL hockey team, the Utica Comets.

Outdoor lovers will enjoy our
View More

Located just one half mile from I-90, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Utica is the newest hotel in the area, and is the epitome of convenience. We are located next door to Utica's famous Delmonico's Italian Steakhouse, and our guests can enjoy our patio with a firepit and grill overlooking the Harbor Point Waterfront.

We're located less than a mile from Utica Memorial Auditorium where our guests can enjoy watching Utica's AHL hockey team, the Utica Comets.

Outdoor lovers will enjoy our location as well; located in the Adirondacks, snowmobiling skiing, and many more outdoor activities are just a short drive away whether that's Old Forge, Booneville, or somewhere else in the Adirondack Park. We are near some Hall of Fames as well with Baseball, Boxing, canoeing, and long distance running all just a few miles away.

Once you arrive, relax in one of our guest rooms where you will find comfortable beds, a 40 inch HDTV, a refrigerator and microwave, and a comfy easy chair. Or maybe you would prefer one of our large suites which have a wet-bar, two televisions, and a sofa with a coffee table in the living room area. All of our guests can enjoy VIP benefits exclusive to our hotel such as free dessert at Delmonico's Steakhouse, free glass of wine at Aqua Vino restaurant, and free membership at Powerhouse Gym, and of course free hot breakfast is served every morning featuring our trademark cinnamon buns and make your own pancakes.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Utica is less than a mile from I-90, as well as the Erie Canal, and just behind the hotel is Utica's most exciting project, the Harbor Point rebuilding project. Soon the harbor will be cleaned up and old buildings renovated or replaced with new businesses. Our patio overlooks the harbor and is complete with a firepit and grill for our guests to use.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 57 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room house keeping staff needs to give rooms more tlc .staff should check to make sure all items work in the room before next guest arrives. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by utica overall comfort was excellent only issue was with the internet, not always able to access and at other times very slow. May 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't rely on internet here! No Wi-Fi and no sense of urgencey to correct theproblem. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was fine From check in, to service, to the staff in the restaurant and bar, the room, the comfort of the bed, the housekeeping and the other services, I was very satisfied with my stay. May 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel value but poor housekeeping I frequently stay at this hotel and everytime I notice all the lovely service and atmosphere but when I go into my hotel room it is always poorly cleaned. I have experienced spotted sheets once. Everytime I notice the bathroom and shower is never cleaned or properly with previous customer hairs everywhere. The desks ACS and remotes are ALWAYS! Dirty and dusty. I firmly believe management needs to hire more personal for housekeeping or enforce proper cleaning codes for incoming customers new and old alike. Extremely disappointed and I do not believe I should have to ask personal to do their jobs and clean. It should be done regardless without complaints or requests May 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poorly trained I had tried for the HI Express but it was booked up. I took points instead of pushing for my Platinum rights to a guaranteed room-poor choice. I read some reviews about this Holiday Inn and was not impressed but decided to give it a chance. Their accessible rooms have only 1 bed(poor design in most hotels since most handicapped people travel with someone)-(and an adjoining room doubles the cost)so a roll-away was offered. The bed was brought and left-not even an offer to set it up. I opened it and pushed on it once to see how bad it would be-I could feel springs thru the mattress with my hand so I called the desk to request a second mattress in the hope of being able to move in the morning. While waiting I checked the mattress a little more and sat on it and almost fell through. A large section of the springs was broken. A second roll-away was brought-this time the gentleman(same one) set it up-did not seem to understand very much English. Passable-no holes-and a flat mat? with small spring around the edges. In the meantime I tried to get online-no internet access so I called the front desk again and was told they would reset it. (this problem is mentioned numerous times in other reviews). Waited a while and tried to access the internet several more times before calling again-was told 'he forgot' and then reset it. No more problems. Dinner in the restaurant was fair. My mother (95 years old) had the fish fry special and enjoyed it. I had the broiled fish, it was overcooked, a little dry but edible. The waitress was friendly and apologetic-did not seem too well trained. And seemed very reluctant to remove empty dishes even when asked. When asked about dessert she mentioned a few items and then checked on some others. She told us there was black raspberry ice cream-it sounded very good and we both tried it. It was not ice cream it was frozen yogurt, I assume black raspberry flavored-but with chocolate chips in it that overpowered the raspberry flavor and NOT ice cream that I was anticipating. The waitress apologized a few more times but that was all. I asked for a manager and told her what happened and she took off the dessert, which I had not eaten. Time to go to bed-I booked the room for 2 people you would thing there would be 2 wash cloths and hand towels but no such luck-I was tired of calling the front desk and was not ready to receive anyone so I did with out. There were 2 bath towels. Upon leaving I stopped at the desk to let them know of the problems and how disappointed I was with the Holiday Inn and why. The front desk lady said they would refund my points and award me some additional one-breakfast was offered also-but we were ready to leave-my Mom already in the car. She called over the restaurant manager? who was also the assistant manager who verified the refund. 2 days later I checked my account and no mention was made of the refund. I know they can take some time but I called the priority club. There was no record or notes pertaining to my conversations or the refund. The PC person spoke with the hotel manager whom checked the logs etc and could find no notes of the exchange. He did authorize the refund but no more. I was told I may hear from him but as of now (2 more days) I haven't. After each poor review I read, there was an apology and a comment to the effect that the situations were not acceptable or what they strive for. But it appears they do not try to rectify any of the problems and as long as the employees are friendly, smile and tell you what they think you want, as well as apologize several times than everything is fine. I have no problems with someone learning or making a mistake but this hotel has the same problems numerous times and an extreme lack of follow through. The stay there was probably the worst I have ever had at an IHG hotel. For almost 5 years I was in a hotel 3 nights a week-mostly Holiday Inns and expresses so I have some experience. If I do hear from the manager with a reasonable explanation for all of the problems or even that the lack of follow through will be corrected I will change the review or add an amendment. May 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Basic accommodations I've stayed at this hotel many times for business. I see this location as basic accommodations... Nothing fancy. I was a little bit disappointed this stay because the bathroom was not very clean. However, the staff was friendly and this hotel is conveniently located. I would stay there again... May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by QUIET AND CLEAN GOOD ALL AROUND, GREAT LOCATION, CLEAN QUIET AND COMFORTABLE May 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel but not for the Business Travler As a business traveler who stays in hotels hundreds of nights a year, I look for basic amenities like a refrigerator in the room and easily accessible outlets for my electronic devices, not a pool or bar. Neither of which is here. You can get a refrigerator for an extra $10 per night but they were out of them and the outlets were either buried behind the bed or eight feet away. The room had a nice table and chair with an outlet but you cannot work at it and watch television or even get comfortable sitting in the chair for any length of time. Other hotels in the area offer both and I will be staying elsewhere in the future. If you are not a business traveler - I whole heartedly recommend this hotel. April 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, needs better lighting and WiFi in the rooms I have been staying at this holiday Inn 3 days every week for past month and half. The front desk staff is friendly and rooms are kept clean. The Wifi has been a disaster though, very slow. I come here on business and most of my evenings in hotel is occupied with lot of email communications, I wish they can better their Wifi strength. Also the lighting inside the rooms is very dull, wish they provide better n bright lights. April 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good points and bad points The location is great for access to Utica College and shopping. The room and beds were fine, clean and comfortable. The Wi-Fi worked great. We had two complaints though. The three of us went to the restaurant for breakfast at 7:30 and there was nobody working in the restaurant. No hostess, no waitress, just a big empty room filled with empty tables. We called out, looked around and there was nobody. We left and drove down the street to Dunkin Donuts. When we got back two of us still wanted to take a shower, I had showered at 6 when I woke up. Unfortunately when my wife went in to shower, there was no hot water. None at all, not even a drop. Talking to the front desk I was told they had found the problem and the water was heating back up. Unfortunately we did not have the time to wait for hot water, so I was the only lucky one to get a hot shower. I'm sure this is not a common problem at this hotel (I hope), but it was a disappointment. April 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by uncomfortable beds I had to stay for 2 weeks. Due to limited availability at other hotels, I had to stay the entire time at this hotel.. I would relate the comfort of the bed the same as laying on a park bench. After laying on the bed the first time, I actually stripped the bedding off of the bed to make sure that there was a mattress and not just a box spring. I had to buy a body pillow to sleep on. There is a restaurant in the building. The food was good but there is no discount price for guests of the hotel. The prices were pretty steep, especially for breakfast. I always drove down the road to Ihop when I wanted a hot breakfast. The staff of the restaurant and hotel were very friendly. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Facility and staff went above and beyond to make sure that my stay was a comfortable one April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Far more than we expected The hotel was great new, clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was so very helpful. We had a late room service meal and it was great and the price was excellent. We would stay there again next time we visit our daughter who goes to college in Utica. Great location too. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff I've stayed at this location on several occassions and return here primarily because of the professional, friendly and helpful attitude of the staff. This includes front desk, housekeeping, restaurant and management. Excellent restaurant. The only complaints I have are: Hallways too cold during winter as exits are entrances w/o a vestibule allowing alot of cold air in. Room doors loud when closing. March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Recent Stay Room 137 I don't know what's up, but the toilet in room 137 is running after flushing indefinitely until I lift the lid and manually close the valve flap. This was supposed to have been fixed previously and upon close inspection, does not appear to have been corrected! Please repair! Thank you. February 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by terrible front desk staff. The most memorable part of my stay was the girl at the front desk who was unfriendly, did not acknowledge I was a Platinum member and refused me an upgrade. The heating unit in the room was poorly sealed to the wall and cold air rushed in all around it , also it was not working properly and cycled on and off every few minutes continually, based on my initial experience with the front desk I did not bring this to their attention assuming nothing would be done. February 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by last time I ever stay here on check in I am promised 500 bonus points. to date I have still not been credited the bonus points. I stopped staying here over a year ago for this very reason, but thought I would give then one more try. I am a platinum elite member and asked for free upgrade to suite. I was told there were none available, yet as I walked around the building I noticed they were all vacant that night. most of the hotel was vacant that night as well. I will now be saying at the Holiday Inn express in Utica from now on. February 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but too hot Although the room was very neat ane accommodating it was so hot in the room , we had to go out, open the windows , it was crazy. The bar would not serve us without ID. We are and look well over the drinking age. We are priority club members . My husband will. It stay there again for that reason. January 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Room 137 Toilet All was good except Room 137's toilet needs an overhaul! The toilet runs and runs and runs when flushed. I figured out how to fix by lifting the lid myself (every time I used the toilet!) to properly "seat" the flush valve so it didn't stay open. Fixing this would be greatly appreciated! January 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Staff Was not happy when I put my do not disturb on my door for the day and the staff still entered my room. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice The room was very nice on the second floor. The elevator was s big +. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We Will Come Back Here Again My wife and I were very happy with our holiday stay at the Holiday Inn Utica. The room was clean and the king-size bed was very comfortable. The desk was the biggest I've seen in some time and the desk chair--a real office chair-- was as good as any I've ever had in any hotel. I didn't have to use passwords or fiddle around to get Internet wireless service--it just worked. We ate a delicious breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The room was quiet and the bathroom large and well stocked with quality towels. We did have snow during our stay but the parking lot was kept plowed. Unbelievably, this hotel is also pet friendly. When we are back in Utica again we will stay at this hotel. I just wish I could find more hotels like this in the other cities we travel to. --Mike from NJ December 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by snow plow? Room was just average. Nothing bad but not impressive. First room given the heater would not turn off. Staff quickly provided another room and was very helpful. Food at restaurant was underwelming. Side entrance door was covered with ice and wouldn't shut all the way. All of this is minor compared to the most annoying issue of the parking lot not being plowed all week. I arrived on a Monday when it snowed. Not much snow but an inch or two. By Tuesday all the snow had melted from the roads and lots at the stores in town. However the hotel lot still was 3 or 4 inches deep in snow and made driving and parking in the lot an adventure. December 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Noisy Hallways My ONLY complaint is the noisy hallways. The doors in the room I was in had a large gap at the bottom of the door and we could hear EVERYTHING in the hallway. Very disturbing after a while. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Staff are excellent espcially Front Dest emp Liza and Michelle, Housekeeping emp Debbie and Restaurant emp Ellie. Would stay here for staff alone. Was there for 5 weeks and all staff mentioned very attentive to my needs. December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and comfortable bed The New Hartford Holiday Inn was remodeled and the new look is very good including the Lobby, the room, the bathroom and the new furnishings. The Maid service is very good and the front desk people and others provide excellent service December 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bad internet service Do not plan on using the internet to get your work done. Been staying there on and off for over a year with very poor internet service. Had to use my cell phone for a wifi hot spot. December 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Experience Hard to find unless you have a GPS. Also, I got the last bed in the city and had to stay there - even though I was in the middle of a group staying together for a junior cheerleading competition. They all had their doors open and drinking heavily - their kids running up and down the aisle screaming very loudly. I called the front desk to be told it would probably end about 9 or 10pm - At 11:05pm I called the front desk again and they asked the group to go in their rooms. When the staff left - these people yelled obsenities at us and pounded on our door and slammed their doors to make noise. They yelled awful things and we were getting very scared. I almost called the staff to escort us out of the building so we could leave - but had no where to go. We just wanted a quiet night to sleep and get back on the road. This carried on all night and was not given any satisfaction - only excuses from the front desk. Will NEVER stay there again!!! November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Hotel staff were very courteous, helpful and resposive to my needs. October 29, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Complimentary access to Powerhouse Gym a short drive away
Complimentary access to Powerhouse Gym a short drive away
Select to close.
Complimentary access to Powerhouse Gym a short drive away The Adirondack Scenic Railroad is less than a mile from the hotel The Utica Memorial Auditorium hosts hockey, concerts, and more Our manager reception features cookies and other snacks nightly Just a short drive for our guests to enjoy Utica Comets Hockey Enjoy some of our cookies or snacks during our evening reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-09-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Availability
Loading