• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: VAN BUREN
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed for a nonrefundable nightly fee of 25.00 USD per pet. Nondeclared pets are charged 200.00 USD. No charges for service animals.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Van Buren Fine Arts Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Devil's Den State Park
Distance From Hotel:40.0MI
Attraction:
Drennen-Scott House
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Historic Downtown Shopping District
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:72
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. Ample parking is available for trailers and oversized vehicles.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:68
  • Total number of suites:22
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:45
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Stay at Holiday Inn Express® Van Buren, Arkansas Hotel

This IHG hotel in Van Buren is situated northeast of Fort Smith and the Arkansas River and is close to a variety of attractions and corporations, perfect for business and leisure travelers alike.

You're invited to stay at the best among Van Buren, AR and Ft. Smith hotels. These premier accommodations are near a many attractions, including Crawford County Speedway, Lake Fort Smith and White Rock Mountain. Our hotel's close proximity
View More

Stay at Holiday Inn Express® Van Buren, Arkansas Hotel

This IHG hotel in Van Buren is situated northeast of Fort Smith and the Arkansas River and is close to a variety of attractions and corporations, perfect for business and leisure travelers alike.

You're invited to stay at the best among Van Buren, AR and Ft. Smith hotels. These premier accommodations are near a many attractions, including Crawford County Speedway, Lake Fort Smith and White Rock Mountain. Our hotel's close proximity to Fort Smith grants you easy access to places like the Fort Smith Country Club, Fort Smith National Historic Site and Kay Rodgers Park.

Don't settle for lesser hotels in Van Buren, Arkansas; choose our quality corporate accommodations, as we offer extra space and sophisticated conveniences, as well as a location close to local businesses. Crawford Memorial Hospital, Innovation Utility Products, Magna Form Corp and Garner Abattoir & Meat Processing are within three miles of our Van Buren, Arkansas hotel.

You can enjoy a wide variety of comforts while staying in Van Buren, AR, as our hotel's amenities range from an indoor pool and a state-of-the-art Fitness Center to free high-speed, wireless Internet access. Wake up to our Express Start Breakfast Bar that features our signature cinnamon rolls and our 100% Arabica bean coffee. Our contemporary hotel in Van Buren is the practical and productive choice for your stay in the Fort Smith area.

View Less
Features
When you are looking for hotels in Van Buren, Arkansas, you want the best amenities. That's why we offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access in all of our rooms, suites and public areas. You can keep the world at your fingertips 24/7 when you Stay Smart with us!
Announcements
Only 2 Miles from A&M (Arkansas Missouri ) Railroad Van Buren depot.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 134 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst HI I have ever been in I have been staying at your hotels for many years and was appalled by everything in this hotel. The only good thing about it was the check in clerk on Saturday night. The breakfast buffet on Sunday morning was not fit to eat. We waited 25 minutes to be seated even tho we were only the second couple there. We were there at 9:00 am. As I said, the food was horrible. The sausage was as hard as a rock, the potato's hard and cold. One taste of the gravy made me not eat anymore. I can honestly say I will never stay here again and most certainly not recommend it to anyone. In addition, my wife stayed two more days at a convention there and things got worse. The sheets were NOT changed even tho they were obviously soiled. It was not vacuumed, and in general, the only thing that was done was the bed made. The food service at the convention was so bad that my wife and other attendees has to help set and service the tables. I'm sure you will get other complaints so I won't give you any more. I suggest you look into this ASAP before anyone else gets this kind of service. As I said earlier, I have stayed in numerous Holiday Inn's on business over the years and in fact used points to stay here one day. April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and decent rooms Stayed here for a night and had a pleasant stay. I checked in and was given a nice room on the 9th floor, however, the room smelt like someone had smoked in it so I went back to the front desk and they promptly changed rooms for me. I appreciated their promptness. I will be using this hotel for future stays. March 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Old Hotel Its obvious that this is an old hotel. They have done a very good job keeping the lobby updated, but not so much the rooms. My husband and I stayed there and as soon as we walked into the room there was a strong musty smell. Upon staying in the room a while we noticed hair in the shower and one wrapped up in a towel. I travel for work and stay in hotels often. Usually the ones that have ball rooms and a bar are a little nicer. I expected this one to be. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Birthday Getaway This place was beautiful, the staff was helpful and sweet, and the pool felt GREAT! Our room had a little trouble with the Air Conditioning working (it really needs to be updated or replaced completely) But other than that we had an amazing time! March 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Started bad ended Great When we first arrived at the hotel we were told our reserved room was ready (2 pm). We went straight up and got into our room and it was a disaster! We went back down to inform them that the room they gave us was NOT ready for anyone to stay in it and we were told to come beck later so they could sort it out, which was annoying but we did. I came back at 7 pm thinking it was plenty of time and went up to our room, IT LOOKED EXACTLY THE SAME! Went downstairs very angry and the apologized again and gave us an upgraded room, free breakfast and a little more. After moving to our new room it was very clean and beautiful, the staff was very friendly and we got a call later to make sure everything was fixed and we were happy, We were :) One thing I did not like about our room though is it had no blackout curtains so it was a very bright morning and we couldn't sleep in. March 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Sadly Disapointed Long story short, our reservation that was made months in advance was put under the completely wrong phone and address, so when to hotel had to move people because of a system error of overbooking, we were not informed out reservation was cancelled. I just happen to call a few days before our trip and was informed we were moved to another hotel. (Only after getting the run around from 5 or so employees who couldn't tell me why my room was cancelled.) The next day they said a room became available and they asked if we wanted it. We said yes but after seeing our room after we checked in, we wished we had went to the other hotel! Our AC had to be worked on almost immediately which kept us up late. The room was disgusting, dirty and in dire need of some TLC. Cereal on the floor, stains on the furniture and curtains, an eyesore of a AC unit, hair in the bathtub. Let's just say we were very sadly disappointed. We have heard such great things so I don't know if we just got a bad room or what, but in the current state of things, we won't be returning. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!!! This Hotel gave us what we wanted we had 2 double queen beds and wanted to get a queen bed with couch instead and they gave us a room with a couch in its own living room awesome!!! We loved our room would love to always get this room!!!! They let us check in early and check out late because I got sick and needed a place to stay while family was at an assembly.. Great Prices!!! Thank you so much for all the great kindness that you showed us. Stephanie March 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Won't Stay Here Again Old hotel that got a new sign. Thermostat didn't work. Couldn't get the room below 80 degrees. Room smelled musty. Awful stay. March 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff but poor quality hotel When walking through the doors of this hotel, it looks beautiful. However, the rooms are old and need updated. The furniture is old and the air conditioner made noise throughout the night. I was going to stay 2 nights, but after 1st night, I decided to stay at another hotel in Fort Smith. I am sure this was a very nice hotel when it was first built. However, the owners need to update the rooms, air conditioner/heating systems, etc. I felt sorry for the staff because they were excellent. I know the problems I encountered at this establishment was out of their control. They did give me bonus points for my trouble and I appreciated this. Again, all of the staff I dealt with were awesome. I wish I could have said this about the facility. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SG One of my favorite hotels. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Breakfast was great. February 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Cold room The room was so cold I took the covers off the other bed and ran hot water in the shower to try to stay warm this is after I called the front desk and they sent someone up he beat on the valves and told me to run it on low. He also said they were having trouble with the boiler but it never got warm and now I have a Cold from that night February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Battle at the Fort Enjoyed a very good stay at Fort Smith-City Center. We were there 2 nights for the Battle at the Fort volleyball tournament held at the convention center next door. Everything was top notch - desk service, room comfort, food service. No complaints whatsoever. Looking forward to coming back next year. February 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Battle at the Fort Volleyball Tournament 2014 We were in town for Battle at the Fort Volleyball Tournament 2014. The hotel staff us very helpful during are stay. The rooms were clean. After talking with Each of the team parents we would stay at this hotel again. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff and a very nice hotel Thank you Amanda for being so helpful everyday. The hotel was so busy and yet we received personal attention at all times. Thank you Terry for helping my mother and daughter get our luggage up to the room while there was a line at the elevator from the event that had just ended. She has difficulty walking and standing and that meant a great deal to her. We will be back!! February 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unacceptable Service and Disrespectful Staff I understand that hotels may become busy and crowded but there is no excuse for being completely rude and disrespectful to customers under any circumstance. After all, isn't a hotel's business all about being busy and crowded with people? During my stay this is exactly what I encountered with not one staff member but all staff members I spoke to. The brunette at the front desk was totally inexcusable in how she handled my military family. She wanted my husband to be present AND in uniform, and wouldn't accept MY military ID! What kind of policy is that, Holiday Inn? This inept kind of customer service continued with housekeeping and bar staff. I strongly urge you to reconsider your staff choices and how you choose to operate your facility. I will NOT tolerate such disrespect to myself or my children! You have lost a loyal customer! February 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Crazy stay. Arrived and my reservation was under someone else's name. Didn't have a room. This is after I had arranged. For 13 rooms that were cancelled last year. Staf called to make arrangements for this year, which I thought was great. However , not having a room was not acceptable. MAnagement needs to be punished for not hVing enough staff to deal with the masses at check in. Not enough food at breakfast and no t enough staff at breakfast. Manage genet should have been there. Tmanagement did show up on Sunday, too late to do anything. The two poor girls at check in were very polite and professional for the toverwhelming task they were facing. The poor wait staff at breakfast were scrambling to keep up, again no management. SHOULD HAVE BEEN THERE! Lucinda did apologize for my delimna, a little too late. Could not contr heat in rooms, UNBEARABLE! Would never stay here again. February 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, thats about it. The hotel was a reasonable price for such short notice, and the bed was comfortable. Our room was ice cold. The heat clearly did not work, had to wear a hooded sweatshirt to bed. Tried ordering room service for breakfast: the phone just rang and rang. Called the front desk to see what was going on, they told me they were too busy to help. Bottom line: Don't offer services you can't provide. January 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Super hot room When I first walked into the room the heater was turned up all the way, I turned it down and left for a few hours and came back and the temp had gone down maybe 5 degrees. Made for an uncomfortable nights sleep. Hotel was full so we couldn't switch rooms. We had no issues with the cleanliness. The brunette lady at the front desk was not the nicest of people but the poor blonde lady was and was trying so hard to help out. Since I couldn't sleep I took my son down to the restaurant as soon as it opened the next morning and got something to eat, the restaurant staff was amazingly nice and very helpful. January 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Average When I was younger, this Holiday Inn was THE place to go. There were two restaurants, there was a piano player in the lounge, there was a sense and air of style. Now... It's just average. On the plus side... The bartender was sweet, and the lady at the front desk was very nice. The room was pretty clean.. On the negative side... There was only one towel in the room... All the furnishings, draperies etc are old and outdated. And as mentioned in other reviews , the HVAC unit sounded like an old man slurping soup through a fork. Very loud and obnoxious. It made it very difficult to sleep. It would be really nice to see this hotel returned to its former glory. January 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Run Down, No a/c only hot air Hotel seemed old and run down. When I came in, the hotel seemed very hot so I turned on the a/c, but only hot air came out. I told the agent at the front desk, but she mentioned all rooms were like that. She didn't even check it out. Nice location, though. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel Stay My wife and I have been to this hotel many times over the past six years. We always reserve a night's stay on symphony dates, as the auditorium is a pleasant five minute indoor walk from the hotel lobby. While the rooms are showing some age, -the hotel is nearly 30 years old-, the staff members are professional, friendly, and always helpful. Renovations are underway, and we look forward to the improvements, as this is one of our all-time favorite hotels. The restaurant and bar are very good, and the lobby with its waterfall and nine-story-high ceiling gives this Holiday Inn a 'wow' factor more than most. Special thanks to Crystal and Alexis for making us feel right at home. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel great stay, great location, great staff, great food December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very relaxing with a great staff. Next time I'm in Ft Smith this hotel is the only place I'll stay. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and knowledgeable staff Stayed here for my business trip, The hotel and location is good with nice clean rooms the customer service is excellent! the reception and the desk did everything they could do to please you. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I stay here several times a week great place and great staff. December 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tim is great! He needs to share his experience with other clerks. I have stayed in this hotel quite a few times. The previous time was in November 2013 and I was waiting until I returned from our December stay, giving them a second chance, before writing my review. First, if you have any issues, talk to Tim. He seems to be the only one that make a guest welcomed, comfortable and actually means it when he says he is there to help. I have had conversations with other desk clerks and while they are very good at talking you through a situation and telling you how it will be resolved, little is done. Tim not only took care of the situation, when he saw me later that night, caught my attention and made sure we were okay. November, no excuse for poor service, December there was a bad ice storm. Either way, if it wasn't for Tim, this review would be extremely unpleasant. In November, our room heater didn't work. After writing a note and delivering to the front desk, talking to the front desk and calling 2x, maintenance finally came to manually turn on the heater the second night of our stay. I was told by maintenance there were certain rooms that the heater worked properly and since we were returning in a month, to request one of those rooms. When checking out in November, I went to the front desk two fold. 1-to request a room that the heater worked and 2-to tie my split reservation together so I didn't have to switch rooms. Well, when the front desk clerk tied the reservation she changed my rate on my room which was $32/night plus tax more than my original rate. Thankfully, I had enough points and just cancelled the reservation and extended my points reservation. While the Holiday Inn in Grand Rapids had zero issue combining reservations, this task was a bit more than the clerk could handle in Ft Smith. I was told in December that she was new and since my rate was the internet rate originally, that once she goofed, she couldn't change it back. I am standing there thinking that she could have at least told me that she goofed rather than me finding out when getting my documents together for the next trip weeks later. Positive, the hotel let me check in at 1:30, nice since I was trying to miss the storm. Positive, platinum status recognized. This did not happen in November, so that was an improvement. Upon checking-in in December, I again asked for a room where the heater worked. I was assured the heater worked in my assigned room. After sitting in a freezing room for almost an hour and just about ready to call downstairs the maintenance person showed up to turn on the heater. He said it would take about 20-30 minutes to warm up the room. Well, okay. I waited another hour and still in my jacket and hat. Finally, I called downstairs and Tim switched me to a room that the heater indeed worked and we were comfortable for the remainder of our stay. Still a pain to switch rooms, but there was no way I was spending 3 more nights in a room with no heat and 1/2" of ice outside. Positive... when requested extra towels, delivery was within 15 minutes. Overall bathroom cleanliness is marginal at best. Both stays, I found hair in the bathroom that was not ours nor did it looks to be any of the cleaners roaming the floor cleaning other rooms. The other is the cleaning staff is exceptional slow. Again, I would say it was because of the ice storm, but it was the same in November. It was 4:50pm one of the stays before housekeeping knocked to clean. At that point I had decided to pack up and go home a day early. There were some other minor maintenance issues... but those wouldn't make or break a trip. This was an average stay had it been an average hotel. It is not what I have become accustomed to as a Holiday Inn preferred "go-to" hotel. The hotel is understaffed on all levels or folks just don't want to put out effort. Not sure which. Also, if the staff would inform the guests when they check in that if the heater is not on to call maintenance rather than sit for hours or even through the night with having no idea that the thermostat doesn't do anything, I think guests would be more understanding. Of course the better course of action would be for the heaters to be turned on prior to the arrival of the guest and not assign guests to rooms where the heater doesn't work at all. December 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by WET CARPET We stayed 4 nights as we were visiting my sons and grandchildren, over the Thanksgiving holiday. Room 508. I also had room 509 for 2 nights, for one of my Sons and his family, in from OK City. I enjoy staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown Fort Smith, when we get down to visit. This was our first bad time with it. The carpet in front of the window was soaking wet 2-3 feet from the wall. I couldn't have people over to visit. I had to go to their homes or restaurants, wherever. My sons room was the same but not quite as bad. Amanda at the front desk was the one bright spot. Very pleasent. A front desk man named Tim ? I believe....was rude, short and should not be in the greeting or helping people field AT ALL. How he got the front desk job, I have no idea This is my first complaint ever about a Holiday Inn. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, but poor food and loud The hotel staff was great. The front desk clerk was awesome. The only problems I encounterd in my 9 day stay was that you can hear people and sounds from other rooms. Im guessing either by the windows or the heating/air system. You can also hear people walking around above and below you. I would have assumed the hotel would have done a better job taking that into consideration. The beds are comfortable, but the sound of theair conditioner ticking is LOUD.The food was so-so. Very basic and desserts were almost non-existant. This maybe due to the fact they are in between chefs. I was told that by the staff. Overall, Ive stayed in worse and better. Its average. November 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by We absolutely froze! The hotel was fine; we weren't there long. Be advised, however, that adjusting the room temperature from heat to air-conditioning cannot be done in room on your own. When we were there, our room was an ice-box while our neighbor's was a sauna. I did not know to call to have maintenance come and switch something in the heat/air vents to change over from cool to heat and kept waiting for the room to heat up when I adjusted the thermostat to hot. When the temp is changing, the front desk needs to alert people at time of check-in that they cannot adjust from ac to heat on their own. Re: food - we had the buffet breakfast and received poor service and food was not refilled on the buffet. Barely anything was on the buffet the whole time and we were there around 9AM so not too close to the end on the weekend. November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hot and Cold (but otherwise great) We loved the open central atrium that the rooms overlooked - really created a great feel instead of long stuffy dark hallways. Rooms also seemed well sound-proofed. But the air conditioning unit options pretty much came down to really cold or nothing. We would turn the AC on for an hour just to freshen up the air (was a bit stuffy otherwise), but then had to turn off as was way too cold! Also the hot was was so hot that you could really burn yourself if you weren't careful when turning on the sink/shower. And my husband is really picky about beds and pillows and he didn't sleep well at all. But otherwise great facility with free wi-fi in the rooms, free breakfast, and a nice atrium. And conveniently connected to the Convention Center, which is a really great facility. November 13, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading