• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 28.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

25USD non refundable pet fee per night. There is no fee for guide dogs or service animals. This non refundable amount is used to deep clean our hotel room for the next guest that may be allergic to pet or pet hair.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Westfield Mall Hawthorn
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Six Flags Great America Hurricane Harbor
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Art Institue of Chicago
Distance From Hotel:36.0MI
Attraction:
Genesee Theater
Distance From Hotel:16.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is for guest use only.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:119
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:119
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago Northwest-Vernon Hills Illinois located in Lake County and is close to neighboring towns such as Mundelein, Libertyville, Lake Forest, Lincolnshire, and Mettawa. This hotel is ideal for business travelers associated with local companies in town or the leisure traveler who just wants to relax and get away or will be in town visiting local attractions such as The Cuneo Mansion and Gardens, Six Flags Great America, Great Lakes Navel Base, Chicago Botanic Gardens, Gurnee
View More
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago Northwest-Vernon Hills Illinois located in Lake County and is close to neighboring towns such as Mundelein, Libertyville, Lake Forest, Lincolnshire, and Mettawa. This hotel is ideal for business travelers associated with local companies in town or the leisure traveler who just wants to relax and get away or will be in town visiting local attractions such as The Cuneo Mansion and Gardens, Six Flags Great America, Great Lakes Navel Base, Chicago Botanic Gardens, Gurnee Mills Mall, and many other attractions. Our hotel is perfectly suited to host teams for local sporting events, family reunions, or accommodating wedding guests with our location minutes from several banquet facilities. Located within walking distance to the Westfield Hawthorn Shopping mall and many local restaurants, our Holiday Inn Express is in a perfect location for your stay. During your stay at our Vernon Hills hotel, enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool spa and fitness center. Located across the street is Century Park which contains Big Bear Lake, great for leisurely walks or runs. Our Chicago area hotel also offers complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and our complimentary hot breakfast bar. Our hotel offers a Manager's Reception Monday-Thursday evenings from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, serving beer, wine, soda and hors d'oeuvres to help you relax at the end of the day.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hills offers a Manager's Reception Mon-Thurs evenings, with beer, wine, soda and hors d'oeuvres to help you relax at the end of the day.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 32 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Basic needs exceptionally covered Nice room, great price. Nice gym, groceries. Great spot for longer stays, in a good location, 1 hour from Milwaukee or O hare December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT!! GREAT ROOM!! GREAT AND PLEASING STAY!! My 11-year old grandson and I stayed at Candlewood this past Thanksgiving night. I took the queen bed (new/firm mattress) with TV; he took the sofa bed with TV in a separate room. REVIEW/COMMENTS Very pleased with the hotel and our room! Very, very pleased!!! The room was super clean and super quiet!! We did not hear a soul all nite in the hallway. Maybe because our room was about a block from the elevator (#302). I will not take a room with room# less than 350 (closer to the elevator). ROOM DESCRIPTION The room looks almost new!! Especially the carpet which looked new and completely unsoiled. ENTIRE HOTEL IS NO-SMOKING!! Which was WONDERFUL as I am a non-smoker! No stale, musty smoke odor!! Convenient sized kitchen with all appliances (all new looking & clean) -- frig, stove, microwave, silverware, pots & pans. Frig makes ice in 15-45 minutes; pitcher in frig (no need to go out for ice). New Silverware for 4; plates, saucers, cups & glasses for 4; clock radios in both rooms, flat screen 32" Panasonic TVs in each room, DIRECT TV 41 channels (5 ESPN channels, 3 HBO), tub & sink new looking; lighting fixtures that are modern and all worked. Stove is a 2-eye black electric plate. Toaster and coffee-maker. Room had hair dryer; iron, ironing board. Set your own heat/air -- room is energy-savings and knows when you leave/return to your room -- allow 15 minutes for it to return to your original desired setting. I DEFINITELY WOULD STAY AT CANDLEWOOD AGAIN AND RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY!! My grandson said "I wish we could stay here a week" and wants to go back (it was his first hotel stay). December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Quiet Location With Good Service I stayed in this place from July through November. Overall I rate it very high as it is located in a quiet nice place away from crowd & noise. It also has a pond with birds to watch. The service is overall good & the place seem to be well managed. Whenever I had an issue in my room, the staff was very attentive except one which I will describe below. My only complaints which I brought it to the attention of the front desk staff several times was smoking in the hallways & rooms by other guests. It is supposed to be a non smoking place but the third floor where I stayed smelled a lot of cigarette smokes every single day & night I stayed there. The smell was strongest in the middle of the third floor hallway but it was throughout the third floor & in my bathroom through the vent. When I raised the issue, the front desk excused the smell as Incense burning which is a lot of fabrication as cigarette smoking is quite different than incense burning. I could smell the incense burning as well since it had a sweat smell to it. So, if cigarette smoking does not bother you, then this is a nice place to stay but if you are sensitive to it, avoid this place. Overall, I hope IHG bans smoking in their hotels globally like many other hotel chains do. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This could a a 5 star hotel! What an awesome experience and an amazing deal! I will look for Candlewood Suites again! The stay was perfect! I wish I could have been there longer! November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Nights Sleep at Candlewood Elgin, IL Our company stay here for business, and the rooms are great comfortable beds, flat panel TV's, and full kitchen's. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for extended stay This hotel is great for extended stay. The 1 bedroom suite was spacious, clean and well maintained; The bed was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with the necessities and includes a dishwasher, stove, pantry and fridge. There is a laundry area and a gym as well. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The price was very reasonable for what you get. Will recommend to anyone looking for an extended stay. November 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room comfort - no hot water We stayed 3 nights (3rd floor) and got cold showers every time even when we waited until 11 am. We should have complained the first morning but thought it was due to early morning overload. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice base of operations We have now stayed a total of three times at this location, using it as a jumping-off point for visits to Six Flags Great America (about a 15-minute drive). The property has performed admirably for this purpose. The staff were helpful and efficient, and the rooms well-equipped. The standout feature for us as relatively short-stay travellers was the well-designed wall unit with plenty of counter space on which to spread out clothes, laptops, and such. The kitchen area and full-size fridge were also welcome, as was the cozy recliner -- a nice surprise. My Platinum status was noted and rewarded at each stay -- another nice plus. Upon the first visit, our initial disappointment with the absence of breakfast facilities turned out to be a complete non-issue as we found an excellent Greek restaurant just a couple of minutes down the road whose breakfasts were excellent -- and it did not deter us from returning for subsequent stays. All in all, a perfect base of operations for a 'Great America weekend'. October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful staff and service The room was very clean and more spacious that I expected. I was specifically impressed by the friendliness of the staff. During the checked in, I was asked to do a spinning wheel and given some small gifts based on the spinning result. This was a very creative way to welcome the guest. I liked it a lot. The staff was very friendly and nice. I needed a late check out and it was taken care of right away. There was little hiccup on the late check-out information being communicated to the house cleaning staff. That was said, it got resolved quickly. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away from Home The room was 'very' clean and the bed was 'very' comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped and everything was in very good condition, if not like new. We had a wonderful 'home away from home' experience. A special thanks to the great staff. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My stay a Candlewood Suites Friendly inviting staff, very clean and comfortable accommodations, reasonable rates. Only on thing that would would have made my stay even better, a morning continental breakfast because there are no places to eat within a mile. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Long-term Business Stay I stayed at this hotel from March through August 2013. While I was in the area, I scouted other extended stay hotels and this is by far the nicest in the Libertyville area. It was even nicer than the Holiday Inn Express in Vernon Hills. The rooms have been recently renovated with Ikea kitchen, bed and bath cabinets. The cooktop is two-burner glass as opposed to electric coils. The desk wrraps around one wall and also serves as the dining table, allowing me to set up my mobile office and have plenty of room to work. There are 32" flat screen tv's mounted in the wall with swing-out mounts. The staff is also very friendly and attentive. I had the chance to speak with them all while I was there. All concerns were handled quickly and efficiently. The hotel is in what the locals call "the country" which makes it very peaceful. However, there are abundant shops, restaurants within 4 miles of the hotel. Downtown Libertyville is only 1.5 miles from the hotel. There are also plenty of opportunities to sight-see and explore in that area of Illinois, and Wisconsin is only a short 20 minute drive. The Metra Train stations are less than a mile from the hotel and weekend passes are only $7 for the entire weekend and can also be used to get to downtown Chicago, Botanical Gardens, the zoo, and Arlington racetrack. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Clean rooms and dog friendly. Helpful courteous staff August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood suite in libertyville, IL Usually, any IHG property will have a gift bag waiting for my arrival as a platinum member. On my arrival, the receptionist looked up my reservation and seemed surprised that I was even a platinum member and, needless to say, had no gift bag awaiting nor even provided one later. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No Worries Here Our stay was business related for slightly over 30 days. The property is recently renewed; and our room was in excellent condition, as were hallways, entrances etc. All contacts with employees were positive in every respect, from housekeeping to the front desk. The grill outside; and the pond nearby were a nice touch at the end of some long days. While it's not real central to dining and groceries, nothing is really more than 15 minutes away, and it is a great value for the money, as most other properties nearby are significantly higher in nightly rates. I travel a lot; and can only hope to bump into another Candlewood. I haven't used the brand in quite some time; and I like the changes. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Comfortable! Great hotel in the area for short or long-term stays. Staff is always upbeat and willing to help. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good trip I arrived and had forgotten a hardcopy of a document I needed Asked front desk to print on their computer from my jump drive and they graciously did that for me and brought it to my room . It was about 50 pages and they had no charge - very nice service - I'll remember that. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Been here 2 months I have been using this hotel for extended stays since early Jan 2013. I'm in a one bedroom unit with a separate living room.The bed is very comfortable. The staff is always responseive. The building engineer is able to fix stuff which is not always the case in hotels where I've stayed.. Location is in a safe part of town. they allow pets. I like having the animals around as long as they're not mine. Please note they don't have any king beds (all Queens). March 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent option I stayed just one night, but I would have been extremely comfortable there for longer. The property was new, very clean, and the staff was great. Very pleasant and helpful in spite of being quite busy. The on-site gym was a pleasant surprise...small but with great options. So many perks, such as movies, laundry, all included in the room. The room itself has a nice, more modern feel to it. Excellent choice! Definitely beyond my expectation. March 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and confortable room. The room and the public areas are very clean, also the bed are confortable. The staff are the best. March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff, very frienly and helpful, the room was confortable and clean. February 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exelent service and very comfortable room. The hotel is very clean and the room was very comfortable . the staff is frienly and profesional. I realy enjoied the stay and will recommend it to any one. February 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortably meets the need I spent 6 weeks here while going through a relocation. The room was clean and up to date (the remodel was nicely done). The hotel has the essentials (kitchenettes, cable, wireless, exercise room, pantry to buy small food items/supplies, and FREE laundry facilities). It does not have a pool, lounge or restaurant, but those weren't needed for my stay. Compared to other options I researched, it was a good value for the money. January 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice in Autumn! LIBERTYVILLE was the nicest little town. Dining out was great. The parks were the best in the land. little way from the highway, but close to industrial park and town strip. Not far from mall, but a full hour to drive to Chicago. October 15, 2012
<<prev2
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.