• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 28.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

25USD non refundable pet fee per night. There is no fee for guide dogs or service animals. This non refundable amount is used to deep clean our hotel room for the next guest that may be allergic to pet or pet hair.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Westfield Mall Hawthorn
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Village of Long Grove
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Keylime Cove
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Six Flags Great America Hurricane Harbor
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:140
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is for guest use only.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:119
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:119
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago Northwest-Vernon Hills Illinois located in Lake County and is close to neighboring towns such as Mundelein, Libertyville, Lake Forest, Lincolnshire, and Mettawa. This hotel is ideal for business travelers associated with local companies in town or the leisure traveler who just wants to relax and get away or will be in town visiting local attractions such as The Cuneo Mansion and Gardens, Six Flags Great America, Great Lakes Navel Base, Chicago Botanic Gardens, Gurnee
View More
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago Northwest-Vernon Hills Illinois located in Lake County and is close to neighboring towns such as Mundelein, Libertyville, Lake Forest, Lincolnshire, and Mettawa. This hotel is ideal for business travelers associated with local companies in town or the leisure traveler who just wants to relax and get away or will be in town visiting local attractions such as The Cuneo Mansion and Gardens, Six Flags Great America, Great Lakes Navel Base, Chicago Botanic Gardens, Gurnee Mills Mall, and many other attractions. Our hotel is perfectly suited to host teams for local sporting events, family reunions, or accommodating wedding guests with our location minutes from several banquet facilities. Located within walking distance to the Westfield Hawthorn Shopping mall and many local restaurants, our Holiday Inn Express is in a perfect location for your stay. During your stay at our Vernon Hills hotel, enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool spa and fitness center. Located across the street is Century Park which contains Big Bear Lake, great for leisurely walks or runs. Our Chicago area hotel also offers complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and our complimentary hot breakfast bar. Our hotel offers a Manager's Reception Monday-Thursday evenings from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, serving beer, wine, soda and hors d'oeuvres to help you relax at the end of the day.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hills offers a Manager's Reception Mon-Thurs evenings, with beer, wine, soda and hors d'oeuvres to help you relax at the end of the day.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 148 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Black Friday Shopping My sister and I have been shopping Black Friday for 17 years. This is the first hotel we have stayed at more than once. We normally stay 3 nights and have a list of amenities we like a hotel to have. First is a comfortable bed. Second is breakfast included with our room. That is very important before we hit the pavement shopping for the day. Third is a nice pool/hot tub. Very important for our return from shopping all day. Fourth would be an efficient and friendly staff. Last year the hot tub was not working and that was a downfall, however, the staff friendliness made up for it. We decided to return this year and we again were very pleased. The most important surprise was seeing a lot of the same staff from the previous year. That tells you the manager of this hotel takes pride in not only the appearance, comfort, cleanliness, etc...but also his employees. I also needed a hotel in November for my sons graduation from Great Lakes navel base. My family and another I recommended stayed here. They were also very pleased. It goes without saying my sister and I will again be staying here next November. December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff We have stayed at this hotel when visiting our son at Great Lakes. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is great!!...Will be staying again! December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff are just he begining. Stayed here to visit family and an appointment in Chicago. Located right next to the interstate and Gurnee Mall the location could not be more convenient. The welcome I received was warm and friendly. He King room was clean, modern, and with plenty of kids in neighboring rooms, quiet. Doors were secure without that annoying slamming found at most hotels. We had an amazing stay and will definitely return. November 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel No Free-bees! Good stay for the price. They charge for everything. No free local calls. A call to a pizza place 3 blocks away cost me 3.00! breakfast was ok but again not free and I have had better buffets for free at other hotels. Hotel was very clean and pool was almost new. Staff was freindly and helpful. I always stay at holiday inn around the USA and this was an ok hotel. Nothing special and nothing I could seriously complain about. Holiday Inn has made great improvements over the last 10 years and hope they keep it up! November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bar staff and service Everything was great and professional with the exception of the lady that was working the bar. She had an attitude both nights that I was at the bar. She closed the before closing time both nights and I got the vibe that she didn't want the guess there and she didn't want to be there either. Other than that I had a wonderful time and the front personnel were outstanding. Also, I think breakfast should come with all the rooms, paying $11.99 for breakfast is steep and it wasn't worth the money. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service My flight arrived at 5am in ORD. By 9am I was so tired and called the hotel to see what the earliest check in time could be. Since they had plenty of unoccupied rooms, the desk clerk let me have a room immediately with no extra charge! I was able to sleep, exercise and relax in the hot tub all before the usual check in time of 4pm!! Plus the hotel location is very easy to find right off the 94 and a large mall right across the street. Plenty of restaurants too. The hotel is clean, modern and comfortable! I was here for my daughter's graduation from Navy boot camp. Very pleasent stay! November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Price for Navy PIR I stayed in this hotel for my sailors bootcamp graduation. I booked early which allowed for me to get an excellent nightly rate. This hotel is located right off the Gurnee exit and it is about 10-15 minutes from the Navy base. The mall is across the street from the hotel and there are plenty of restaurants in the area. The hotel was very nice and looked newly renovated. My room was clean and the bed was a king, very comfortable. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are attending Navy PIR. November 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay for a wedding We stayed at this property for a wedding. At the last minute, I found out that I had made the reservation for the wrong nights. The reservation clerk was very nice and even though the hotel was very full, rearranged our reservation. The room setup was nice and the beds were comfortable. We did not eat there except for the wedding reception and the food was fine for that. They even accommodated my daughter's need for a gluten free entrée. It is also in a very convenient location to shopping and restaurants. October 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by get away over priced for what it is. Breakfast so so. Jus feels like a cheaper hotel the way restaurant is set up. Pool over crowded. Area in general over crowded and conjested. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place we stayed here to get away for a evening. the staff was friendly and the room and pool area were spotless. I cant say the whole place was clean very often but this one was. great job October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Atmosphere and friendly service Every one was very professional and courteous. Very comfortable every where. Thank you, Great job. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here! This Holiday Inn is outstanding! I travel on a regular basis and this IHG hotel is among the best experiences I have had around the world. We were given a generous platinum member upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite for 3 nights at no charge, along with free drink cards to use at the bar. The staff was very kind and accommodating; by far among the best. There was an accidental charge made to our room which I asked be removed and although I didn't ask for it, the manager gave us a very large number of IHG points as a way of saying sorry! Totally above and beyond!! This is the best customer service at any IHG hotel I have ever experienced! I highly recommend this hotel and will make sure to stay here on my future travels to the Gurnee area. Thank you! October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Presidential Suite! I stayed at one of their Suite room and boy was it ever "Sweet"! I was expecting Embassy Suite like room, but when I walked in I was treated to a Penthouse Suite. The room had a huge living room with a full set of sofa, love seat and lazyboy with ottoman. It had nice bar room with refridgerator & sink along with dining table. On the left & right side of the living room were big bedrooms - one with King size bed and the other with 2 Full Size beds. Each had their own huge bathrooms. It was the best hotel room I ever stayed at. Swimming pool was big and hot tub was nice and hot. Plenty of seating area with vault ceiling. Restaurant was very nice. good food. Breakfast was alright...not too great. Hotel front desk staff was very friendly and very accomodating. Very clean place with luxurious furnishing. I highly recommend this hotel. A+++ October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Guest I thought this holiday inn express was in a great location. Although, getting to some of the rooms were a hike from the front desk. Also, the breakfast buffet was overpriced for the selection of food. In saying this I still would suggest this location to any staying in the area. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was very relaxing I stayed at this hotel for a week, the service was excellent. I would recommend this Holiday Inn. Excellent customer service!!!! September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Taken Care Of I was there for a wedding, along with many other attendees. The staff worked hard to make sure that we were all together and treated us as if we were the VIP's for the weekend. Overall, very satisfied with service and personnel. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible I do a lot of travel and on this trip I was in two other cities and stayed at two other hotels. The experience at the Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center is one of the best experiences I have had at any. hotel on any trip I have taken. The staff was extremely helpful. friendly and professional. They are at the top of their game. September 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Courtesy of staff I was very disappointed in the customer service level of your staff. They were always "right" and didn't mind telling me so. The front desk staff, two different people on two different days, did not seem to understand how to enter data properly. I had reserved two rooms under my name and when I checked into my room I wished to put the second room in the name of the person who would be checking in the following day. Supposedly this was done, but when the second person came to check in a day later, the front desk clerk informed them that there was no other room with their name OR with my name. In fact, their name had been added to my name in room. I had to produce documentation of confirmation numbers to get this all straightened out. The clerk appeared to be miffed with me. There was a lot of misunderstanding about the breakfast buffet. The first morning I was there, I walked through the buffet line thinking it was available to anyone, like some other hotels. No staff member was in sight. I finally located the coffee pot on a tray and helped myself. I had to track down clean silverware from another table. Only later did I find out, from a friend, that I was supposed to present a voucher #which the front desk had not provided# and the staff was to have served the drinks. But the real problem came when I went down to eat breakfast on Saturday morning, 30 minutes prior to my departure time. This was the only time there was a gentleman stationed outside the dining room policing who entered. He informed me, quite emphatically, that I could not go into the dining room, that there would be a 15 minute wait. He was simply rude when I asked if there was anything I could do to get a little breakfast, that I could not wait 15 minutes. I decided to just walk away rather than to create a scene with him. It would have seemed that perhaps he could have pointed out that there was coffee available in the lobby and have at least been courteous. Overall, my experience with the staff at this hotel was quite disappointing and I have expressed this to our conference organizers. I simply hope that my experience was most unusual and that my friends did not have the same experience. September 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Girls Weekend While the appearance of the hotel was very pleasing we found the cleaning mediocre. We booked on line and found out the breakfast buffet was not included. The cost of breakfast buffet was outrageous. While the beds were comfortable the noise level was above average, kids in the hall, it was a soccer weekend. Make sure you ask for your priority club points. The staff was very helpful providing us with a mini fridge and microwave. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Stay We had a great time at this property. We came here along with 4 families. We were greeted and assisted by Jovanna who was really friendly and did the best she could to accommodate all rooms for 4 families on the 4th level. She is a real asset to the team at this property. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and smelled really fresh. Pool and hot tub was clean with lots of clean towels. Food at the breakfast restaurant was great. Selection was ample. There was a night male manager who was very helpful to our group in making sure we got what we needed on the last night of our stay. I would come back and recommend this nice property with really awesome people. Keep up the good job guys! Cheers. September 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 1st stop after flight from UK We asked for a quiet room as we were arriving on a flight from the UK and that is what we got. Lamar on the front desk was friendly and helpful. The pool was open from 6am which helped with our jet lag. Only thing we could fault was constant requests for vouchers at breakfast. We were asked at least 3 times each morning if we were paying, honestly it is only 9.99!! Either sell vouchers at the front desk or include it in the rate, don't badger guests who are in need of coffee! September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Only needed a one night stay the bed was very comfortably the room was very clean my overall experience was good, I would definitely stay again. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay I would highly recommend this hotel. My stay was wonderful. Everyone in the hotel was friendly and personable. The restaurant staff did an amazing job accommodating my large family. No request went unanswered. Absolutely every member of the staff was great. Thank you for a lovely stay. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Navy Graduation My family stayed here for Navy graduation. The hotel is nicely furnished and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a billing error with our rooms, and when we spoke to the manager, he was very accommodating. He refunded what was overcharged plus several meals and some amenities that were not gratuitous. I would definitely stay here again. September 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Reecent Stay I being Platinum member requested upgrade. One front desk staff said they can ,later another lady came said no they don't have any rooms available. For Platinum members all IHG group does provide breakfast coupons but no in this hotel. I have requested for 2 queen beds and came to know that this hotel doesn't have any 2 queen bed rooms. Very starnge. I have never come across any hotel without 2 queen beds. No previlege of being Platium member in this Hotel. August 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great pillows! More than adequate. Made for a convenient and comfortable lodging during my stay in Gurnee! August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sandlakesue I have stayed at this hotel twice this summer. Both times the staff was very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast that was included with our room. The kids loved the pool. Next time I am in the area I will definately stay at this hotel again. The rooms were very clean, and when I asked for extra towels for our room, the house keeper smiled and gave me as many as I wanted. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Rooms and great service We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived here. I had read several reviews and was not sure what to expect. The rooms were very nice and very clean. We got there early and were allowed in our room before we went on to Great America. We took the shuttle with Duane as our driver and he was great. When we got back that night we used the pool and it was also very nice. The pictures on the website did not do it justice. The whole visit was great. Would recommend. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience We had the opportunity to attend our granddaughter's graduation from the Great Lakes Naval Training Center and chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Gurnee Convention Center and we were not disappointed! From the moment we entered we were greeted by Lamar at the front desk and what a pleasure he was! He made us feel right at home. Our daughter had a slight problem which Patricia helped us with and she went above and beyond to make sure it got resolved. The rooms were clean and nice and very roomy and we had everything we needed. It was just like being at home. If I could give them a 10 star rating I would!!!! You couldn't find a nicer place to stay. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All around great experience. The staff was very friendly and meet all of our needs. We will be back next year. Thank you! August 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading