• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 28.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

25USD non refundable pet fee per night. There is no fee for guide dogs or service animals. This non refundable amount is used to deep clean our hotel room for the next guest that may be allergic to pet or pet hair.
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Westfield Mall Hawthorn
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Village of Long Grove
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Keylime Cove
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Six Flags Great America Hurricane Harbor
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:140
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is for guest use only.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:119
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:60
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:119
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago Northwest-Vernon Hills Illinois located in Lake County and is close to neighboring towns such as Mundelein, Libertyville, Lake Forest, Lincolnshire, and Mettawa. This hotel is ideal for business travelers associated with local companies in town or the leisure traveler who just wants to relax and get away or will be in town visiting local attractions such as The Cuneo Mansion and Gardens, Six Flags Great America, Great Lakes Navel Base, Chicago Botanic Gardens, Gurnee
View More
The Holiday Inn Express Chicago Northwest-Vernon Hills Illinois located in Lake County and is close to neighboring towns such as Mundelein, Libertyville, Lake Forest, Lincolnshire, and Mettawa. This hotel is ideal for business travelers associated with local companies in town or the leisure traveler who just wants to relax and get away or will be in town visiting local attractions such as The Cuneo Mansion and Gardens, Six Flags Great America, Great Lakes Navel Base, Chicago Botanic Gardens, Gurnee Mills Mall, and many other attractions. Our hotel is perfectly suited to host teams for local sporting events, family reunions, or accommodating wedding guests with our location minutes from several banquet facilities. Located within walking distance to the Westfield Hawthorn Shopping mall and many local restaurants, our Holiday Inn Express is in a perfect location for your stay. During your stay at our Vernon Hills hotel, enjoy our indoor pool, whirlpool spa and fitness center. Located across the street is Century Park which contains Big Bear Lake, great for leisurely walks or runs. Our Chicago area hotel also offers complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and our complimentary hot breakfast bar. Our hotel offers a Manager's Reception Monday-Thursday evenings from 5:00pm until 7:00pm, serving beer, wine, soda and hors d'oeuvres to help you relax at the end of the day.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hills offers a Manager's Reception Mon-Thurs evenings, with beer, wine, soda and hors d'oeuvres to help you relax at the end of the day.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 141 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable We stayed here after a day at Great America. The room, pool and spa, were good. However the restaurant food needs to be addressed. They are trying to get to fancy for a Holiday Inn, no kid friendly menu, the burger on the kids meal was burnt. There were no "family style meals" What I did eat was fine but wanted a regular style meal after a day at the park. We were a little late for breakfast bar so could not eat before we left, would be nice if it was open later. The wait staff in restaurant were very nice. If had a better restaurant would have gave higher rating. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Traveler I come here every week for business and they couldn't make my stay more comfortable. As a Platinum member, they give you drink coupons and coupons for their store (snacks and drinks) that aren't usually given at most hotels. I would highly recommend this property. It's clean, updated. The Suites are huge and spacious. The Staff is very friendly and they accommodate you when at all possible. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Who would of thought? The perfect, Hotel room. After a full day of Great America...and it was a hot day! We were suddenly in a family environment! The Holiday Inn family....from the time we checked to a very spacious room, big surpise....beautifull..Has updated to a great look, Ice on each floor...w/vending area..quick service. Awesome matress..great temp control! Could not have been happier! July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Great Price We stayed at the hotel because we were going to the Bristol Renissance Faire one day adn Great America the next. It was 15 minutes from the Faire and 5 minutes to Great America. Great price for such a convience, also located directly across from Gurnee Mills mall so we didn't have to travel far for a great dinner. You can go as fun as Rain Forest Cafe or as simple as McDonald's. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by. While we used a side door for our "in and out" our experience with staff was always great (very friendly). Very clean rooms and hotel overall with nice restaurant downstairs. Overall very good stay and trip. July 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff was excellent with service and hospitality. Everyone from the desk staff, van drivers, waiters, housekeepers and maintenance were helpful, pleasant and eager to assist with whatever it was we needed. The hotel looked nice and appeared clean. What was disappointing was the elevators were always dirty. They could certainly use a good vacuuming. The carpet in the elevators is starting to fray and looks worn out. The same was true in our room. Carpet was starting to fray at the edges and there were snags in the carpet in various areas of the room. The room was clean and comfortable. Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of this visit was the breakfast. Probably the worst tasting hotel breakfast I have ever had. The eggs were hard and dry, the sausage greasy. Pancakes were dry and hard, the milk expired according to the carton and taste. On my previous visit, the breakfast food was fresh and tasty. Perhaps they changed chefs? Overall, the hotel was a good deal, it just needs some attention to detail. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOLIDAY INN GURNEE The hotel staff was great. Rooms were clean. Cost was not competitive. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, comfortable beds, ideal location The staff was very friendly and helpful, the beds comfortable, the location ideal, great value. The hotel could be a four star with a few improvements. I was there with my family reunion, upon check-in, we discovered three families were booked in the same suite.The AC in my room was leaking water soaking the carpet for three days. The Breakfast food was not good. There was a big hole in the door to the bedroom. We had a hospitality room for the entire weekend, we were told we could bring in our own food. However, that Friday night, we told no food allowed. creating a inconvenience for 35 hungry people. The convention service was excellent, the food was good, they did forget to serve our rolls (no rolls), Other than that minor glitch. I would highly recommend the banquet service and facility. and I will used them again for future family reunions, I was promised extra points for inconvenience, I did not get. July 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not what i needed. we recently stayed here with a youth group. I called two months ahead for a reservation, i explained we needed three rooms adjoining or right next to each other or I would not make the reservation. and we needed some sort of continental breakfast even if only cereal. I was assured they could do that knowing there were only two adults for the group. we arrived after a long day at great america and was given our rooms which were on the fourth floor BUT... one room was right on the end of the hall, one in the middle and one on the total other end of the hall! I was not happy , could not sleep had to worry all night about kids that i most likely did not have to worry about but being a leader was very upset that i had to pretrol the whole floor rather then a couple rooms like we needed. I voiced my opinion on what happend and was just told in a kinda snotty way. " well we are all booked up for to night and this is what you get" ummmm what is the point of make a reservation if you get what is left over????? no breakfast either. well unless you want to pay 10 bucks a person. this is a very nice fancy hotel but when the service is bad, I dont recomend dealing with it. Just my opinion. July 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel. Big rooms and great service. Great hotel. Big rooms and great service. Excellent service from Manager and General Manager to accommodate myself and my crew. Recommended to my company so now everyone is staying there. July 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Expectations Not Met We booked an overnight stay at the Holiday Inn this past weekend. That way, we were able to go to Six Flags for two days. Our expectations were not met, and staff were not courteous at all. We arrived at 9am to retrieve our two day passes to the park. For some reason they were not ready and we were not taken to the park until 11am. Nearly two hours waiting for tickets and our shuttle was a bit much for my liking. The room was very nice and clean, so we had no complaints there. The television however appeared to be broken as the color kept going in and out and there was a bright white line across the screen while the television was on. The following morning, I woke up to see a piece of paper half-way shoved under our door. It was our express check-out paper work. Upon looking at it, the wrong credit card was charged. I went downstairs to inquire about the matter. Tim, the overnight staff was rather ignorant of his job duties and clearly did not want to deal with hotel guests. He proceeded to tell me that the original card ran was declined and he attempted to place the cost of the room on the second charge card, which was declined. He then told me "What are we going to do about this?" First off, the first card ran DID go through and the amount of the room was already deducted from the account. The second card was placed on file for incidentials only. I was asked if I wanted the first card ran again and I said no, because it wasn't my card and that the cardholder should be the one to authorize that. I let Tim know that I would be back within a few minutes. When myself and the cardholder returned, Tim had left for the day. We spoke to another staff person who assured us that the proper card was ran and that there were no issues. She said that Tim does in fact print up the express check-out paperwork overnight, and he must have entered it incorrectly. She did apologize and comped us breakfast. This may seem bad to say, but I was glad to not pay for breakfast; it was awful. Bacon was harder than the dining room tables, as were the French toast. Even though the hotel did attempt to make up for the issue we experienced, if staff were trained in their duties to begin with, this wouldn't have happened. Tim could have been a lot nicer about the matter. I couldn't even imagine what he would tell a guest whose card may have actually declined! This one experience pretty much ruined my time, because I had to wait until Monday to make sure that my credit card wasn't charged in addition to my friend's card a second time. Needless to say, we will stay at another hotel the next time we visit Six Flags. July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay Even with a last-minute reservation and a 2:00am arrival, I experienced a great welcome and stay at this property. Nick (front desk at check-in) greeted me like a valued customer, and, with a great mix of friendliness and speed, took care of my registration and room set-up (internet, etc.). The stay was just as I have expected from Holiday Inns. Nice, clean, well-appointed room, Great location. Friendly staff - even a housekeeper out in the parking lot! Highly recommend this property. July 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room was comfortable, but service ... Breakfast service is too small for a hotel of this size! Staff did their best, but there needs to be more staff and space to eat. When we finally got our food it was cold! One night the maid service did not clean our room, which was probably an oversight. Rooms were up to date and comfortable, but plan to eat breakfast somewhere else. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and shuttle service to Six Flags I used my Priority Reward points for this stay thought it was a great value. The shuttle service was excellent to and from Six Flags (had to use it to return to hotel midday). I thought the staff did a great job even though at the time there was a soccer team staying there that made things hectic. I was impressed with the maintenance staff able to fix my room's noisy toilet soon after I reported it. Breakfast was available but it wasn't complimentary and the line was long due to the soccer team. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and pleased with the service and modern atmosphere. July 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The Staff was very very rude! I booked my room on June 8 or 9 2013, for The Moore’s family reunion on July 12-14, 2013. I have stayed in many hotels in the past but none like this. I have to say this was the worse. The staff was very discourteous, not accommodating and almost disrespectful. I went to the front desk to check in the young man at the desk ask want can I do for you, not how I may help you or welcome to Holiday Inn. The phone begin to ring…He did not say to me excuse me or one minute please, he took the call and started helping the person on the phone just as if I was not there. My room had been booked to two other parties in the reunion. I was given another room that did not fit what I needed. I spoke to a Bryan he gave no last name, Director of rooms on July 15, 2013, between 10:00 a.m. 11:00 a.m. He stated that he would credit my rooms for both nights back to my credit card and to this day I have not seen the credit. I really hate that thing turned out the way they did, I just know that I will not stay Holiday Inn or any hotels that or part of InterContinental Hotels Groups again. I know my money spend just like the next person regardless of my skin color. July 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The desk staff and kitchen staff are excellent! The room was very comfortable! The hotel is squeaky clean. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very nice place to stay My husband, grandson, and myself spent the day shopping at the mall. We wanted to stay somewhere with a pool so my grandson could have some fun after putting up with the shopping. The Holiday Inn is located right across the street from the mall. This was our second stay there. The room was very nice. The bed was comfortable and even though the hotel was full for the weekend, it was very nice and quiet. The pool was clean, the water just the right temperature. My husband and grandson had the breakfast buffet and said the food was great. Nice choices for both an adult and 7 year old. All of the staff were very friendly and made us all feel welcome and at home. A nice family atmosphere. We will definitely return. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Six Flags Vacation We had a great experience during our visit to the Holiday Inn. We had a bit of a panic the day we were to go to Six Flags as our rate included the tickets and we were told the morning of that they were sold out, but they did get us some shortly after. I would have liked to have a fridge and microwave in the room since we ended up throwing out a lot of food we couldn't store. Overall the experience was great as the room was clean and comfy and the staff was nice. I would stay again. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice clean place to stay. This hotel is very nice stayed here many time before. That means I like the place a lot. I think it is a very clean and classy place. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service This was a great place to stay. Great location. Had a wonderful time. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Shuttle Service and Friendly! Recently stayed for a Navy Graduation and they were the only hotel that offered a shuttle in the area plus they had a pool, jacuzzi, and breakfast at a decent price. They provide a free crib(play pen) for your infant. The only thing that could possibly be better is a change from Full size beds to Queens, especially if you're at max occupancy. Two average sized people to a full size bed or smaller is not enough room. Better learn to spoon! ;-) Overall, it was a great stay and I'll definitely be returning soon! May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience I stayed at the hotel for a review course that was held on site. It was comfortable and conveniently located to several chain restaurants across the street. May 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent front desk staff The front desk staff was very kind and polite and went our of there way to make our stay very comfortable. Especially Robert the shuttle driver was very kind and courteous went out of his way to provide transportation service to me and my family. The only complaint i would have would be the maid service stayed there 3 days and would not change the sheets even though i requested for change of sheets twice i even mark the sheets with a pen to see if they changed them and no they didn't same pen mark once i came back to the room that evening besides that In would recommend this hotel. The maid service needs improvements. May 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An iffy choice I guess it was the best thing in the area, being surrounded by a dead mall, a dead cornfield, and a huge cemetery, none of which were advertised. Thank goodness there was a pool and jacuzzi and gym, but the hot tub was tepid at best and needs to be looked at. But no bath robes? The staff were wonderful and very attentive during the conference. The food was horrible. The Asian fusion was very questionable and the "Chinese" lunch was just barely palatable. We did enjoy the chicken lunches though. And why so stingy with the complimentary shampoo/lotions! For the 5 nights we stayed, they were replaced only twice. The pillows were extremely comfortable and I wish I could take one home with me! May 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by mr holiday My stay in April 13 was a ok stay, Requested a refrigerator because i was staying four days, and they wanted 20 dollars a day, i thought that was crazy,, It's an ok hotel but i nwouldn't recommend, It's to pricey for what you get. April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Gurnee The staff was wonderful. Made you feel welcome at check in and in the bar and restaurant. The work out room was well equipped and all the equipment was in working order. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Friendly attention ,nice and clean place... The best in the area. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Personnel, Restaurant, Rooms, Pool Precious at the front desk and Duane who drives the shuttle van went over and above their job descriptions for our convenience. The other employees were pleasant and helpful as well. They were so friendly and personable. Restaurant. Good food and fair prices. Rooms, comfortable and clean. Pool area conducive to friendly activities. March 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience For this being a fairly new hotel it was not in great shape. The pool area was stained with rust marks of some sort the hot tub was roped off and not working. We were wokeup at 1 am with doors slamming and yelling . Called front desk to complain and still went on for another hour after the call to the front desk. The only thing we were told upon checking out was why we did not call back! If they would of taken care of it in the first place it wouldn't of continued. Will not recommend or return here. March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by RunTime International Excellent customer service. My car was broke down and they went out of their way to help me. I will stay here again. March 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room/internet Room was nice and large and comfortable. Bathroom was very small and the tub would not hold water (kept draining while plugged). No fridge for that size room (had to out and buy a cooler to keep my food/drinks cold). Internet stopped working - password changed and I was not informed when I checked in that the password changes. Had difficulties with the luggage cart going through the doors. The doors would not stay open. Had to hold the door and move the cart through the door at the same time. Very difficult when your by your self. Could not use the hot tub down for repair (which is understandable) the pool did not use for 2 reasons (1-temp was cool, 2- the smell from the hot tub repair stuff) was too much to handle just checking the pool out. Great hotel if you are staying for a night only. December 8, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading