• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: VIRGINIA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

GUIDE DOGS OR SERVICE ANIMALS ONLY!

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Farm Bureau Live
Distance From Hotel:13.0MI
Attraction:
NAS Oceana
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Fort Story Army Base
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Annual Neptune Festival - Sand Sculptures in Sept.
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:144
  • Car Parking Available
  • ONE COMPLIMENTARY PARKING SPACE AVAILABLE PER REGISTERED ROOM. CONSISTS OF BOTH ON SITE AND SATELITE PARKING.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:144
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:108
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:144
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:10
  • FEMA Property Number:VA 0762

Virginia Beach, VA Family Friendly Oceanfront Hotel is Waiting for You.

The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Virginia Beach, VA hotel oceanfront attracts vacationers, students, military and business guests alike. Our beautiful hotel sits on the Surfside of Virginia Beach, offering direct access to the boardwalk and sandy shores of Virginia Beach, VA.

Hotels on the oceanfront aren't hard to come by, but few compare to our 100% nonsmoking facility. With the Virginia Beach
View More

Virginia Beach, VA Family Friendly Oceanfront Hotel is Waiting for You.

The Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Virginia Beach, VA hotel oceanfront attracts vacationers, students, military and business guests alike. Our beautiful hotel sits on the Surfside of Virginia Beach, offering direct access to the boardwalk and sandy shores of Virginia Beach, VA.

Hotels on the oceanfront aren't hard to come by, but few compare to our 100% nonsmoking facility. With the Virginia Beach Fishing Pier, parasailing, bicycle and boat rentals and more, there's plenty of fun in the sun to go around. The Virginia Aquarium, IMAX Theater, Ocean Breeze Waterpark and venues like Farm Bureau Live are just around the corner, as well. Leisure guests love having convenient access to not only the beach, but also to attractions in the Hampton Roads area.

Our hotel's business guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, making it easy to work on-the-go. We're pleased to offer event space for up to 40 people, and we are located just a few miles from the Virginia Beach Convention Center and the Norfolk Airport. If you need a break, there are more than 11 golf courses near our Virginia Beach hotel.

Offering beach travelers rooms with amazing ocean views and private balconies in addition to free breakfast, a heated, indoor pool & whirlpool and a fitness center, our Holiday Inn Express® Virginia Beach hotel is the smart choice. Call us today!

View Less
Features
Our Virginia Beach, VA hotel's oceanfront location provides guests with direct beach and boardwalk access and is conveniently located close to several local area attractions. Have fun in the sun and "Stay Smart" when you visit Holiday Inn Express Hampton Roads hotel.
Announcements
Tired of the cold and snow? Spring is around the corner and the beach is waiting. Plan your family spring getaway now. There is so much to do; bike riding and walking on the boardwalk, deep sea
View More
Announcements
Tired of the cold and snow? Spring is around the corner and the beach is waiting. Plan your family spring getaway now. There is so much to do; bike riding and walking on the boardwalk, deep sea fishing, the Virginia Aquarium and miniature golf just to name a few. Book your stay now!
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 149 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable bed and great service THE STAY WAS EXCELLENT AT HOLIDAY INN.THE STAFF AND PARTICULIAR AT THE SERVICE DESK,THE YOUNG LADY WHOM ASSISTED US WAS EXCELLENT AND VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE.I FORGOT HER NAME BUT IF YOU CHECK MY RECORDS OF WHOM,SHE IS,THEN IT WAS AN EXCELLENT JOB AND SHE SHOULD NOTED ON HER WORK RECORD.I WILL BE STAYING AT HOLIDAY INN,WHEN I COME TO VIRGINIA BEACH.I HAD ORIGINALLY MADE RESERVATIONS AT MARRIOTT BUT IT WENT SOUR AND BY ACCIDENT,WHEN I CAME INTO VIRGINIA BCH,FROM HWY,I SAW YOUR BUILDING.I DECIDED TO SEE IF ANY VACANCIES AVAILABLE.THE YOUNG LADY AT THE FROM DESK MADE A GOOD IMPRESSION ON US,AND HELP ME TO WANT TO COME BACK.THE ROOMS WERE EXCELLENT IN ITS DECORATION AND VIEW WAS MANIFICENT. I'VE ALREADY RECOMMENDED TO MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS TO STAY AT YOUR HOTEL.PLS,GIVE MY APPRECIATION TO THE YOUNG LADY,WHOM ASSISTED.SHE IS AN VALUABLE INDIVIDUAL ON YOUR STAFF AND DESERVES SOME RECOGNITON FOR HER SKILLS.ONCE,AGAIN WE ENJOYED OUR AND LOOK FORWARD IN THE FUTURE OF COMING BACK. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome! The view from the 10th floor balcony was breathtaking! The room was everything I hoped for newly remodeled, nice king size bed and clean. Considering the view, it is probably one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. Thanks. September 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by General The room was fine liked the room but ran into a couple problems. One day came in from the beach to find someones dirty socks in the middle of the floor another day didn't use the beds and when ready for bed discovered blood on the sheets. They were changed that day so was very upset. All they did is give me a sheet to change by myself. Also in the morning suppose to have coffee 6-10AM. At 630 asked at the desk and the person was very rude. All other desk employees were good September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel and the employees were very friendly. September 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rude staff at the hotel's restaurant Very disappointed at the hotels restaurant staff. The manager and the server were plain rude. Have to get the bill corrected two times. No apologies from the staff for their mistakes instead just a rude attitude as if we have done something wrong in asking to get the bill corrected. There were dozens of flies in the restaurant, we could not eat our breakfast and when we complained, no action was taken, and the manager just gave us a rude look as if we are not supposed to bring that up. I like the convenience of eating at the same place as I am staying, but given the experience here, I am not staying here again. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Last weekend of summer stay This was our first time at this property. the location was great. The amenities for the kids was a plus. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome This place is great, that treated us like kings and queens! The staff cares and is very attentive. Will stay here every year. September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second stay mixed review This was our second stay at this hotel. First the dining threw us off. Last year we had an amazing experience in the hotel dining area, this year it was gross. Flies were everywhere, our dishes were dirty, and the service was below average. We had a king suite this year and I will say that we were allowed to check in almost 4 hours early on a holiday weekend but for the price we paid for our room it was not clean! It was dusty everywhere, there were weird white finger prints all over the dresser, the kitchenette area hadn't been wiped down and the toilet was dirty. None the less the only thing that appeared to be done was the bed had been changed. Upon calling to complain they did send someone up and she did an amazing job re-cleaning the room. We were also offered free breakfast. (Although we didn't eat in the dining area because of the experience the evening before). Our view was amazing but I do have an issue with the PVC pipes that are used on the balcony, even for adults its just not safe. The indoor pool was very fun and over all clean. The staff is very professional and even though we started off on the wrong foot we were happy with the front desk staff and how quickly our requests were handled. I wish they had bigger suites like a 1 bedroom suite instead of a studio for extra privacy. The bathroom in the studio suite is very very small. My 4 yr old had a blast and in the end that's all that matters. I would come back to this location because its right in the middle of all the festivities and the best location. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this Hotel and Staff We have stayed at this hotel 2 times in the last 2 months. Both times our experience has been excellent. It's location is good. The staff at the front desk are the best. My son who is 18 talked about them for about a month after we stayed there. He could not believe how nice and interested they were in us and our stay. Would stay here again without any thought!!!! September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Africana Festival We arrived early in the day around 1pm or so and we were checked in at the time of arrival with no hassle, To the front desk service on check in was WONDERFUL. I love the fact that all the rooms are ocean front with your own private balcony. From now on we will always stay at the Holiday inn when visiting VA Beach. I am mentioning this incident only because it was handle so fast..." I went to use the ironing board and the leg was broke I called got no answer from front desk went down spoke with someone at the desk and w/i 5 minutes I had a replacement. That just goes to show how well the staff took care of things. Check out was even a breeze. Thanks HI for making our staycation Great!! C U next Year!!!!! August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable View from my hotel room is Very nice & relaxing!!! August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Wonderful Back to School Stay My Daughter & I really enjoyed our stay. We hated to leave and return to the real world. Everything about it was great....I would like to have had a lil more sunshine however not to much we can do about that! :o) August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation Oasis Absolutely wonderful hotel with direct beach access, friendly staff, great eatery, comfortable beds and close to attractions. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic place to stay at virginia beach This place is a great place to stay at virginia beach, right at the heart of the city. Good places to eat walkable distance. All rooms are ocean front and need not worry about north, south side views. Parking is a pain, if full need to park on the other side. To get to the other side need to go around the block. Elevator long wait time. Restaurant staff very slow for breakfast and dinner. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long weekend at Virginia Beach Best parts of this hotel are the location (all rooms face the ocean and have a balcony), the restaurant (called Sip Sip), and the friendly and helpful staff. Worst part was the night we arrived it was very windy and the wind was so strong it made the windows vibrate which was very loud, this was nothing that the staff could have done to improve. Our TV also didn't work when we got to our room but the hotel sent someone up to fix it quickly and we didn't have any other problems with it the rest of our stay. Surprised how good the food was at the restaurant. I had a Santa Fe salad with fruit which was great, and the breakfast buffet was much better than Pocahontas Pancakes (a restaurant on Atlantic Ave). Other guests complained about the parking. There aren't numerous spots right in the hotel lot, however the additional parking is less than a block away, very short walk. My mom who has feet problems didn't find it a big inconvenience. It wouldn't keep me from staying here. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room with beautiful view of beach. My room was on the 10th floor. The room was nice and comfortable with a nice size balcony facing the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Vacation Stay The Hotel is well kept, the staff is friendly and accomodating. It is very close to a large number of activities, particularly if you don't wish to drive. We really enjoyed the stay. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxation for all of your senses The decor is perfect for relaxing. The scenery /ocean front is just breath taking when the sun rises and sets. The geographical location puts you right in the middle of everything you could possibly want or need. Oh yeah, did I mention the staff, they are the best. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Road trip to Virginia Stayed at the hotel two days with family. All the staff we encountered were friendly, courteous and helpful. My daughter enjoyed the indoor pool. We dined at the hotel restaurant Sip Sip, for breakfast and dinner. The food was good. Parking situation could have been better, not enough spaces in front of hotel. Overall, we had a good stay. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Ocean view Good size room, very nice view of the ocean, small pool but worked out well. We booked our room through a third party which ended up overbooking the hotel and since we checked in late they had no room for us. Holiday Inn was happy to accomidate us at another hotel but it was all the way in Cheesepeake. Long story short they were able to find us a room for the night in the hotel and moved us into our double bed room the day after. The girls at the front desk were very helpful and apologetic for what happened and comped us for part of our trip. Overall the hotel served it purpose and was good for the price we paid August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mini vacation My stay was awesome! My husband and I just wanted to get away and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Rooms were clean, customer service was great and not to bad on the parking which was a surprise. I really enjoyed my stay and will stay again same time next year!! Thanks for the wonderful experience!! Oh by the way every staff member we came across was helpful and very attentive to our needs with a smile on their face! And I liked that!! August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service We had a wonderful experience at the Holiday Inn thanks to the helpfulness of Verisis at the front desk. Since we drove from out of town we arrived several hours before check-in. Verisis helped us to get a parking pass so that we could go to the beach until our room was available. She also helped us to check in 2 hours early, and get a late check out the following day. Every encounter we had with her she was friendly and helpful, even though the hotel was very busy, I felt like she treated me as a valuable customer. We greatly appreciate all she did to make our stay as stress free as possible. Our only negative was the AC in the room. It was very, very loud. It would come on and run until the room was frigid, then stop and not turn on again until the room was very, very hot. The entire stay the room fluctuated from too cold to uncomfortably hot, and in the middle was a lot of noise. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by King suite was amazing! King suite was amazing, we stayed at a different hotel the year before and would never go back due to the uncleanliness. This hotel and room was clean. The view was awesome at 11th floor and the room just looked great, clean, and upto date. Only downfall is parking could be better and the resturant does not give continental breakfast. Next summer i will be requesting the same room at this hotel. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast While the hotel in General was nice, the parking could be a little better although for the location I guess it what it is. The restaurant in the hotel which offers breakfast/lunch/dinner, was not the best. My family went down for breakfast one morning, took 1/2 hour to be seated while waiting on tables to be cleaned off, then waiter came to table 1/2 hour after we sat down to get us our drinks, we wanted the buffet, while there were some breakfast foods the bacon was empty and never replace, same with the white bread for toast. then we waited for the bill which was over $30.00 for absolutely nothing. Was NOT happy about the service of the restaurant. Would def never go there again...as for the hotel I would stay there again, the front desk was friendly and helpful and answered all my questions. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Not bad, but not great either We did enjoy our stay in VA Beach as we had never been there before. The room was a decent size and beautiful ocean side view. The room was for the most part, clean. There was a huge lump of lint etc behind the bathroom door that did remain there for our entire stay. The alcove where the extra roll of toilet tissue was also extremely linty and dusty. As I related though, the majority of the room was exceptionally clean. I believe the smaller details just need attention. The breakfast fare was not up to par though. The food was not warm enough and the taste was just not there. In addition, the morning wait staff was not up to par and did not provide timely or quality service. This experience on the first day of our stay prompted us to eat elsewhere for the entire trip, along with the prices. I will say the bar staff in the evening, especially Paulie, was outstanding. We did have an incident where we inadvertently left items behind that had to be retrieved. The front office staff and housekeeping did a wonderful job in retrieving those items for us. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent The commode needed repair. A repairman was sent to fix it but it still needed more repair. Also the faucet on the vanity was hard to get hot water. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by August 2013 stay First time staying, and it was fabulous !! Zero complaints during my stay. The staff was friendly, rooms clean, comfy, and all round relaxing :) August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice renovation! I've stayed at this hotel on several occasions but the last time was at least 25 years ago. Admittedly, I was expecting the same old thing but was pleasantly surprised! Room was clean and bright. All fixtures, furniture, and bed are new or close to it. The lobby is gorgeous and welcoming, too. There are 2 complaints I have with this property. Parking is at such a premium, if you're unable to grab a spot on site, you're parking a block or so away. Since I had a $2000 bicycle in the back of my vehicle, I wasn't about to put it in jeopardy. Fortunately, I grabbed a spot next to the hotel the first night and didn't move until we left 3 days later. Second has to do with smoking. The hotel is smoke free which is great. Smokers, however, congregate right outside the entry door so you're faced with having to run the gauntlet to get inside. I'm a former smoker and understand their needs but I think this really looks tacky and is a huge turnoff when I'm trying to enter. Props to the staff. Everyone I came in contact with is very friendly and helpful. Thanks! August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good but not great Pros- Excellent location. Clean rooms. Nice staff. Cons- Hotel restaurant - Food is average to sub average.. Room 911. Air Conditioner is very loud and rackety. There is a problem with the thermostat - Air Conditioner keeps running regardless of what temperature is set. - Extremely difficult to sleep due to the noise. Hotel Parking is a constant problem due to limited space. However the hotel has alternative parking accommodations. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome! Awesome vacation!!! Very nice, very clean, very friendly. We will for sure stay there again!!!! August 12, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
The Holiday Inn Express Virginia Beach Welcomes You
The Holiday Inn Express Virginia Beach Welcomes You
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Express Virginia Beach Welcomes You Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hotel Lobby Every Guest Room features direct Oceanfront Views Surfing is a popular sport for the young and old Direct beach front access from hotel Hotel features direct access to the Boardwalk Hotel Lobby Many unique sculptures are located along the boardwalk Spend the day in Busch Gardens, only a short drive away The perfect family vacation spot! Ocean Breeze Water Park is just minutes from the hotel.
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.