• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: GRAND RAPIDS
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not allowed. Services animals must contact front desk prior to arrival

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
West Michigan Whitecaps Baseball
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Grand Rapids Art Museum
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Grand Rapids
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:94
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:94
  • Total number of suites:17
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:47
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:94
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:MI669

Hotel's Staff in Grand Rapids, MI Welcomes You

Just minutes from downtown Grand Rapids, the 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Rapids-North provides comfort at a convenient location. Our friendly staff treats you well and helps you enjoy all there is to do in Grand Rapids and western Michigan.

This hotel's the ideal place for the business traveler to unwind. With DeVos Place Convention Center, Bissell, Meijer, General Motors, DeVos Children's Hospital and Spectrum
View More

Hotel's Staff in Grand Rapids, MI Welcomes You

Just minutes from downtown Grand Rapids, the 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Rapids-North provides comfort at a convenient location. Our friendly staff treats you well and helps you enjoy all there is to do in Grand Rapids and western Michigan.

This hotel's the ideal place for the business traveler to unwind. With DeVos Place Convention Center, Bissell, Meijer, General Motors, DeVos Children's Hospital and Spectrum Health so close, you can make the most of your time in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The hotel's free high-speed, wireless Internet access and 24-hour Business Center make it easy to stay productive while you "Stay Smart" with us. There is so much to see and do here! Within minutes of the hotel, you can find great art, history and culture at the Grand Rapids Art Museum, Grand Rapids Public Museum, Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park and Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library and Museum. You can catch a West Michigan Whitecaps game at Fifth Third Ballpark, feel the thrill of the race at Berlin Raceway or enjoy the shores of Lake Michigan, all in the Grand Rapids area. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Grand Rapids-North has the amenities you can count on like free Wi-Fi access and beautiful surroundings. Get ready for your busy day with the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar and end it relaxing in the indoor pool. Welcome!

View Less
Features
You can stay connected with free high-speed, wireless Internet access in all of the hotel's areas. While in Grand Rapids, MI, you can keep up with work and family in the room or at the breakfast bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 277 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and easy parking Great location downtown. Parking was easy and convenient. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable! Would definitely stay here again. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall comfort of room Very good to excellent. Was only in room for a short stay. Room certainly met my expectations. Very close to venue I was attending. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by recent one night stay My recent stay for one night was comfortable and the location made it easy to walk downtown to our wedding location at the B.O.B. Our short stay didn't allow us to check out the hotels amenities, but please be sure to ask what they have to offer as the front desk didn't communicate any of the "extras" (didn't know they had a pool, didn't mention the free bike use until we asked) July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient downtown location Needed to stay close to downtown due to a family member's stay at Spectrum Hospitals. The location was nearby and the staff was very welcoming. Meals in the restaurant were very good and it was nice not to have to travel somewhere to eat after a long day at the hospital. The highway noise was a little troublesome when it came to sleeping, but overall not a problem. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown convenience, excellent facility Our wedding party and guests booked HIGRD for the convenience, but it gave us so much more. Clean, well maintained, decorated beautifully, great facility, and exceptional staff were the extras we didn't know we'd receive. So pleased and highly recommend to any large group. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Out of Towners-Chosen for location We were part of a wedding guest weekend coming from Maryland. Not being familar with GRapids this was really going in blind. What a delightful surprise. We walked just about everwhere-the reception was right across the street in the Public Museum. The hotel is obviously an older Holiday Inn but the renovations and upkeep are delightful and clean clean clean! Sink area in our room a bit small for all the personal items of 2 people but that is about the only complaint. For the price I could not imagine a better place. The higher end folks up the street could not be that much better. Free parking too! Grand Rapids is very walkable city from this location and your Art Museum is wonderful. Also the "Beer Trail" is something you can enjoy from thei Holiday Inn location. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great Price My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while my father-in- law was in the hospital. This hotel was close to hospital. Manager cheerfully greeted us & front desk was very efficient and helpful. The first impression was warm and inviting. Our room was very clean and bed was very comfy. The pool and hot tub was great. The hotel sits next to the freeway, but you'd never know, (very quiet). We didn't eat at restaurant but enjoyed the little store next to lobby for snacks and cappuccinos. I highly recommend this hotel. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay...eat elsewhere. We stayed here while visiting Grand Rapids to see the Ford Presidential Museum. The hotel was a short walk from the museum. The hotel staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The room was nice and clean with a good view of the Grand Rapids museum. We arrived late and didn't want to walk to a restaurant, so we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. There was nobody at the host stand when we arrived, but a man arrived shortly coming from the bar area. We were seated in a nice boot facing the open kitchen. The menu had a good variety of items and were reasonably priced. The waitress finally came after several minutes and took our drink orders. We were still looking at the menu so she didn't take the food order. The drinks arrived after about 5 minuets and we ordered our food. My wife ordered a pizza while I ordered prime rib. Having a good view of the open kitchen was interesting. I watched a cook open a refrigerator, pull out a large slab of prime rib, cut off a slice, and place it in a warming tray. It was in there for about 15 minutes. When the food came, we realized that the waitress didn't ask how I wanted my streak cooked, and I guess that was why...it only came in one doneness level. My wife didn't like the pizza at all. She said it was worse than frozen pizza. The crust reminded her of the school band fundraiser pizzas. Overall the meal was a disappointment. July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Highway noise The condition of this hotel is excellent. For the price, however, I was disappointed in the size of the room and the bathroom/lavatory facilities. The sink is out in the entryway of the room, separate from the toilet/tub area. This is usually a plus, because someone can be using the sink/mirror while someone else is showering. However, there was no way to close off the sink area from the room. Therefore, when I got up to take a shower and get ready for the day, I could not dry my hair, etc. without disturbing my husband and daughter, who were still sleeping. Also, this hotel is close to an interstate highway, but there was a lot more traffic noise than I have experienced in other hotels situated similarly. I was also disappointed that the middle of July was the time chosen to seal the asphalt driveway and parking area in front of the hotel, making it unusable. It seems before Memorial Day or after Labor Day would be a better time for this maintenance. July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice for a two day getaway. We were visiting Grand Rapids for two days of sightseeing. Check in time was 3pm, but we were allowed to park one of our two cars in the lot while we did some sightseeing, and until check in time. We did appreciate that! Easy on and off the expressway. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff We had a great view of the park across the street where they were setting off fireworks. The hotel had a grill outside which was nice with good burgers. The staff always had a smile for you. The only complaints were the room smelled of cigarette smoke and a caterpillar in my bed! July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Staff, Great Location I decided to use some of my reward points and check out the grand rapids fireworks and festivities. I had a friend from out of town coming to visit as well. Due to the fireworks display all the main roads leading up to the hotel where closed. The staff went above and beyond in giving my friend directions and spent almost 30 minutes on the phone guiding him around the detours. I spend a lot of time in hotels, and I would say by far this is the best experience I have had at any hotel within the IHG group July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location My son and I were in town for the Fourth of July fireworks, and the location of this hotel was perfect. We were able to walk everywhere we needed to go, and we were able to view the fireworks easily from the lawn area in front of the hotel. I especially liked that the hotel has convenient and free parking. This saved us from parking in public lots in the area or having the hassle of driving around searching for a parking space on the busy streets. The staff members at the front desk were all polite and friendly. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a nice desk area, a comfortable chair with an ottoman, and a flat-screen television. I was happy that there was free Wi-Fi, and it worked quite well. There wasn't a microwave or fridge in the room, but there was a great little one-cup coffee maker with delicious coffee included in a little tray on the desk. The bathroom was small, but it had a great shower head and a curved curtain rod. The sink was located outside of the bathroom, and so was the light switch. I was disappointed that there wasn't a fan, though, for the bathroom. Also, having the sink right in the room made it difficult to run water at night without waking up my son. As for sleep, I got a fairly good night's sleep, but for those who are light sleepers, be aware that the hotel is close to the freeway, so there is some road noise. I woke up a few times due to hearing sirens passing by outside. There is a restaurant on the first floor of the hotel. We dined there for dinner, and we ordered room service for our breakfast. Both meals were good, although I felt that the service was very slow, especially at dinnertime, and the prices were high. My son played for about an hour in the pool, and although it is small, it was clean and there were seats around it. I didn't feel that the walkway around the pool was safe, though. It was very narrow, with only inches to spare between the chairs and the pool. Someone who is handicapped or elderly, or just not able to balance well, could easily slip and fall into the pool. Overall, I was pleased with this hotel. It was comfortable and clean. We will definitely stay here again. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location The property is close to all downtown attractions and offers complimentary bikes to travel around the city. It is next to the highway and very loud at night. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff As stated within this survey, the staff was exceptional. The restaurant was excellent, especially our waitress, Cecille. She was very friendly. Front desk was always accommodating especially when they recommended museums around the Grand Rapids area. July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff the staff was very helpful in helping us find things to do and easiest way to the hospital June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bikes! A rock solid place to stay for business. Great location. Easy access to downtown and...bikes! Nice work adding a few bikes for us guests to grab for free and use to get around town. On a nice day you can avoid the taxi. Also like having the YMCA next door to get a few laps in. Looking forward to returning for my next business trip. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfy and convenient Nice, quiet, and comfortable rooms! was located with easy access to downtown events and venues. Does not have the usual free breakfast, but has restaurant on site. I did not eat at on-site restaurant so cannot comment on that. I would have liked to have at least complimentary coffee in the lounge; there is a coffeemaker in the room, but it is very small. The area does have several other places for coffee/breakfast that are only a block or so away. Pool June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! My stay at the holiday inn was great! The staff was friendly and the hotel was close to downtown! Great value overall! June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Weekend I stayed at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids because of its close proximity (walking distance) to many spots I wanted to visit in the city. Because these destinations included the consumption of alcohol (Founders Fest) I wanted to stay close enough to walk and not use a car or have to rely on a taxi. Check in was very easy, the desk personnel were warm and friendly. IHG Club Status was recognized and bonus points were posted to my account. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The room included a small dorm-style refrigerator and microwave which came in handy. The room - like the common areas of the hotel - was clean, freshly appointed, and issue-free. Most importantly - the temperature control worked properly and the room was dark enough to get some great sleep. An issue-free stay in a comfortable room means I will be back each time I visit Grand Rapids. June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK I've stayed at this Holiday Inn lots of times in my past. It's not Downtown GR, but not far, thus the value. However, according to the front desk staff, they stated that IGH has made some minor changes. While minor, they are dissatisfying! When I used to stay, the front desk staff would ALWAYS give me 2 bottles of water (no questions asked) and a choice between extra bonus points or free items/drinks at the food place within the building. This time, I was given "IGH has eliminated all of those items". With no additional explanation. I travel a ton! The bottled water is nice just to bring with you on the road or to appointments. Granted they only cost ~$1 each, but at the sundry shop, in house, they are considerably more expensive. Also, the coupons/food vouchers aren't that big of a deal, but nice to receive as a gesture. I have to say, this puts this Holiday Inn on par with others and I may look to other places to stay. There are a ton of options in GR, this was my "go to" place, always. That has changed. - Bummer. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed for wedding next door in Grand Rapids Public Museum It was wonderful to be able to stay there. I felt getting a group code should have been more beneficial to my guests and I. I felt there should have been a group rate discount or at least given me a free night or something. I was only allowed to book 10 rooms for guests and they filled really fast and I couldn't add more. Some of my guests missed out on staying over after the wedding. It was a great room and having multiple to get ready in was very handy. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and enjoy downtown Stayed for business reasons and had a great experience. From the minute I walked into the lobby, the staff were pleasant and welcoming. The room was perfect, clean, comfortable, spacious and relaxing. Short walk across bridge brings you right into downtown Grand Rapids. It was a beautiful night with plenty of places to eat. Had breakfast at the Pearl Street Grill and both the food and service were excellent. Anytime I am back in Grand Rapids, I will be making this a perferred place to stay! June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, fabulous staff. Maybe a tiny bit pricey... Stayed for a conference during June of 2014 and had a great stay. I slept wonderfully, the accommodations were really quite nice and clean. I have to say that the staff members were super kind and helpful. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Comfortable bed and great service. The room was very bright at night because there were no room darkening shades. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Great location. Friendly staff. Welcoming. High end lobby. Very clean. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and attention to detail Front desk staff followed through on sending me a detailed room service food order receipt that I needed for my business expense report. It showed up in my email promptly and without need for my to call and inquire. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I really did love my stay here. The poor sleeping conditions would be due to the massive amount of light coming in from the hallway. I am someone who needs total darkness to sleep well so I would recommend that others bring a sleep mask if they have a similar need. Also if you like really firm pillows, bring your own. Restaurant was great. LOVED the BBQ pizza and being able to order and bring it to my room was a huge plus. Beautiful view of the Grand River. Overall it was a great hotel. Would for sure stay again. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Full service urban hotel advantages The lobby directs me directly to a well staffed and knowledgable front desk staff. They actually know how to tell me how to get on the free way and how to find 3 places to eat within walking distance. The bar food service was great in terms of service/quality/choice and hours of operation. As a non-alcohol user, I felt welcomed and a part of the atmosphere. I was able to work there for 3 hours with all of the advantages of being out of my room, eat, sip coffee, glance at sports/news without loud sounds... in an inviting public space. Not Starbucks or home - but close (to Starbucks). Only suggestions would be better discount and USA Today delivered at the door for Priority Club folks. Also, you ight put a sign up at the sliding-glass-door-room with the solid doors. Funny! (You could sign the glass and call it a work of art!) Parking is great. Lots of carts that work. Two museums next door. Great staff! Third multi night stay for me next week for business. - Boyd June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall service I totally enjoyed my stay at your hotel. The staff throughout the hotel was helpful in every areas. Our breakfast was both quick and delicious. I will make it a point to use your facility any time I need to spend a night in GR. June 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading