• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: WATFORD
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. French
  4. Hindi
  5. Japanese
  6. Punjabi
  7. Polish
  8. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only guide dogs allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Whipsnade Zoo
Distance From Hotel:19.0MI
Attraction:
Cassiobury Park
Distance From Hotel:0.8MI
Attraction:
Warner Bros.Studio Tour-The Making of Harry Potter
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
West Herts Golf Club
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:22
  • Car Parking Available
  • Limited pay and display car parking available at the back of the hotel. Please collect parking permit from reception. The car parking is owned by IIB company. Additional spaces available at the FLAG car park next to IIB car park.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 5.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:98
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:71
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:98
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:8

Choose the Holiday Inn Express London Watford Junction for all your Business and Leisure Visits to London and the South East of England.

Watford Junction Train Station is located only 2 minute walk away and the fast train can take you to Central London or Wembley in just 20 minutes. Heathrow and Luton Airports are only a 30 minute drive away, and with the Heathrow bus stopping at Watford Junction getting to us could not be easier.

We are also very
View More

Choose the Holiday Inn Express London Watford Junction for all your Business and Leisure Visits to London and the South East of England.

Watford Junction Train Station is located only 2 minute walk away and the fast train can take you to Central London or Wembley in just 20 minutes. Heathrow and Luton Airports are only a 30 minute drive away, and with the Heathrow bus stopping at Watford Junction getting to us could not be easier.

We are also very close to The Making of Harry Potter, Warner Brothers Studio Tour. Visit the place where it all began and where all eight of the Harry Potter films were brought to life. With original sets, masses of props and even Harry’s house, it is a great day out for all the family. There is a shuttle service leaving from Watford Junction Bus Station every 30 minutes

Relax in our lounge bar and check emails using our Free WIFI. Ask our friendly staff about our seasonal dinner menu served in the hotel Great Room or to recommend one of the many restaurants located a short walk away. They will also be able to help you find the best place to go shopping as well as direct you towards Watford’s bustling night life. When morning comes, kick-start your day with a free breakfast consisting of everything you would expect from a Continental breakfast as well as eggs, sausages and baked beans to warm you up as you prepare for a busy day ahead.

View Less
Features
We have 2 meeting rooms available to hire. Either room can comfortably seat up to 30 people theatre style and are equipped with large flat screen televisions, a projector, white boards, mineral water, coffee machine and all the stationery you need to host your meeting.
Announcements
A Major upgrade to track and signals in the Watford area means London Midland services will be suspended three times during 2014. 2nd-5th May | 9th-25th August | 24th-29th December. During these
View More
Announcements
A Major upgrade to track and signals in the Watford area means London Midland services will be suspended three times during 2014. 2nd-5th May | 9th-25th August | 24th-29th December. During these periods there will be no rail services between London Euston and Hemel Hempstead. The Overground will continue to run from Watford Junction to London Euston.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 150 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast and comfortable and clean room. our first time at a holiday inn. very impressed with it. we had 2 rooms for a family of 6. very comfortable and clean room. great selection at breakfast. Would definitely recommend the hotel and would choose a holiday inn again. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value From check in to check out we were delighted with every aspect of our stay and most importantly of all, we considered this to be superb value. In fact the interaction and help from the HI team was exceptional - only 1 of the restaurant greeters let their colleagues down on the Saturday night, but that was quickly and efficiently dealt with. All facilities used so the gym and swimming pool enjoyed to the full. Breakfast amazing and the dinner from the buffet was further value as kids eat free. A la carte steak option cooked to perfection. Cannot wait to come back November 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Comfort We had a lovely stay at this hotel due to the friendliness of the staff, we encountered many members of staff from reception to dining room and found them all to be very helpful, professional and approachable. Our only slight disappointment was with the pillows.... they were not very comfortable....even the so called "soft" ones were not of a great standard. Well done ladies in the breakfast room and reception, you definitely made us feel very welcome! November 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal family friendly weekend Family weekend away to visit Harry Potter & air museum, so great location. Room big and comfortable even with children's beds made up. Evening meal was nice and staff friendly. Although we had to wait for a table at breakfast it was worth it, enormous choice kids loved making pancakes! Also chose the hotel as it had a pool etc again we enjoyed the swim in the morning and used the steam room but a real shame there was a private swimming lesson happening that took up a 3rd of the smallish pool. We would definitely use holiday inn again. October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beds Hotel was let down by the poor quality of the mattresses in our room. Unfortunately it has put me off wanting to book other Holiday Inn Hotels. Asked Reception for extra pillows in our room and had to ask yet again for them. Lack of communication by staff is another let down. October 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, facilities getting a bit tired Was looking for a base for Six months and this hotel was conveniently located, when i first walked in i thought i might have to continue on my search as the reception area was looking a bit tired as was the room, however my opinion soon changed as the staff were so friendly and welcoming so immediately took away the sterile feel you can often experience in Hotels. Refurbishment's have started in some areas of the hotel but the reception and restaurant areas are long over due. Menu could do with changing a bit more frequently but the staff are happy to help if you don't fancy something on the menu. Have to mention Ash,Hayley, Crystal, and Katie as they have been brilliant. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel.friendly staff Enjoyed our 1 night stay,lovely evening meal and breakfast.very comfy room.nice hot power shower.overall.great hotel.well done.stop at this hotel a must October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Hotel in good location. Our room wasnt very big but clean. Room was looking very tired in need of some tlc. Breakfast was good with a good choice. Friendly staff, good value would stay again but different room. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We stayed here for just one night, before going onto the Harry Potter studios (15min drive away). We used the pool, which was clean and not to busy. The room was also clean, with hair dryer, towels, TV etc Evening meal, although not to much choice, was nice and the breakfast was one of the best we have had. The staff, especially our waitress, were all very helpful and friendly. We will be going back to the HP studios as it was brilliant and will be using this hotel again, 10/10. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by fabulous breakfast, uncomfortable sofa bed Great place for breaking the journey between Derbyshire and London and the overnight stay made it into a mini holiday. Very friendly and efficient staff and a clean and comfortable family room at a great price. We all enjoyed a swim in the lovely pool, both on the first evening and after breakfast the next day, but a few cubicles in the changing rooms would have been welcome as I had to take my 2 small sons in with me and I know it made some of the other female guests changing in the communal room uncomfortable. Breakfast was absolutely fabulous - an incredible choice and the new pancake-making machine was the highlight of my children's stay! Only complaint about our stay was that the pull-out sofa bed was so uncomfortable. My very lightweight son could feel every spring and I had to fold his quilt double for him to lie on and give him and his brother our double bed quilt to cover them, leaving my partner and I with the second child's quilt between us for the night. October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All round good experience Used HI HH as just somewhere to stop (on my IHG points) whilst we were taking daughter for an audition. Family room was a good size and comfortable - but does annoy me when I have to ask for a ironing board, also 3 people need more large towels. Food and service in the bar were excellent. Front of desk very helpful. Gym and swimming pool looked great but didn't get chance to use them. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Facilities I have stayed here on a number of occasions and for long periods of time for both work and leisure reasons. I have always found the staff to be the greatest asset at this hotel - From Front of House to Catering to Health Club. My children have always felt like royalty when they've stayed here and frequently asked when we will be going back. The Gym is a little on the small time but the equipment is in good condition and the pool, sauna, steam room etc.are excellent. Menu a little limited and could do with a rotation now and then but the buffet selection did make up for this with variety and choice. For the weekend visits the running of Harry Potter Specials was well received. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Legoland trip with Caledonia Travel staying at Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead This hotel is excellent value in conjuction with Caledonias Legoland Break from Glasgow We had two fabulous adjoining rooms as we were a party of 4 adults and 6 kids . The staff are so friendly and helpful and the food at both breakfast and dinner was of the highest standard and catered for all tastes with plenty to choose from and as much as you could eat. The hotel has a fantastic pool which we used on the first night but not on the 2nd after a day at Legoland not for us afraid we were all too tired. 4 star accomodation with great beds ,high standard of cleanliness,pleasant staff and good food we would stay there again and do the trip with Caledonia as well October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service! Very friendly & helpful staff. Me and my 3 friends stayed here for a girlie get together. We had 2 rooms next to each other. We were given a free upgrade to one of the executive rooms, and they were superb! The extra little touches were lovely. Complimentary water and chocolate were a big hit as were the bath robes. When we checked in we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff. We were given our keys and off we went. But when we got to our rooms only one of them was ready as the other was just being finished. This was by no means a problem, we just all went in the room that was ready. However, 10 mins later we were called by reception to apologise for the inconvenience and given a bottle of wine! Fantastic customer service. We had a lovely afternoon and evening in very comfortable surroundings. We had dinner included in our price and that was very good too. After several glasses of wine we headed of to bed and all 4 of us had a brilliant night sleeps, the bed and pillows were very comfy. The next morning we headed off down to the spa before breakfast, the bathrobes were very handy... The pool, jacuzzi, sauna & steam room were lovely and every thing was very clean. The breakfast was delicious! Lots to choose from. This was my 2nd stay here and I'm sure it won't be my last. Well done Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead for a fantastically priced, very friendly hotel. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service have stayed at several holiday inns and crowne plazas but must say the service here was excellent nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff here and would definitely stay here again hopefully in the not so distant future well done to all at Hemel Hemstead great time September 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Service i have to mark this hotel on this visit as poor. We have stayed at this hotel before & it has always been excellent. It was my wife's & my 30th wedding anniversary but on this occasion the expectations of this hotel were not up to standards. The food was very poor. The room was not up to cleaning standards & to round it off there was disturbance from other guests, but as i've said it is unusual for this hotel & I will be staying again hoping for a better visit September 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average accommodation - five star prices Hotel is in a good location, everything is fairly standard, food is OK but expensive, breakfast is average. Premier inn has nothing to worry about from here particularly when I got £30 WiFi charges for a one night stay - get a grip HI even MCdonalds supplies free WiFi - when you charge that much for food and drink surely you don't need to charge those sort of numbers for WiFi. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An over night stay at Holiday Inn we had an over night stay at Holiday Inn, as we were visiting the Warner Brothers studio which is a 15 minute drive away. The Family room was spacious and comfortable and wevy clean. Only a couple of issues which were the fridge was out of order and the sliding door to the bathroom jammed when closed fully. luckily someone else was in the room to let me out, but if had been in the room on my own i would have been stuck. The staff were very friendly and the food was great. The all inclusive continental breakfast was superb offering an extent range of foods and a well presented hot food section. i would certainly recomend Holiday Inn and would stay here again if i was in the area. September 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and clean comfortable rooms Very friendly staff that go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Food OK at best and proximity to the motorway an make some of the rooms a little noisy with the window open but attitude of the staff make up for it. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good until breakfast Reception and room very good but breakfast was a bit of a fiasco, a 10 minute wait to be shown to our table, large urn of coffee but no sign or note to say the is coffee, tables not cleared, but would stay again. you keep refusing my "nickname" is this because you do not like my review. Lete and numbers have been included. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Harry Potter Visit Great hotel to stay for Harry Potter! The bar is a little expensive, but we got a great rate on the room so it wasn't too much of an issue. Pool and Spa facilities were clean, and the pool was warm! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice will be back A very nice relax with the children. It was an overnight stop on our way down to Bournemouth. From the outside not up to much but inside very nice. We stayed in a family room and a good size very clean suited our needs. We had lunch in the bar after a day shopping in London and it was nice. Portion sizes could of been bigger but quality and taste nice. The pool was amazing the best I have come across in a holiday inn. If you drive to st albans it is half an hour on the train to London . A real little find I think well worth a visit. September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean, happy and comfortable hotel We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the past and it never fails in it's standards, the breakfasts are excellent and the staff are so friendly. Def will be staying again. August 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by potter rules ok we stay at this hotel every year for the rugby challenge cup as do/did lots of others supporters,but this year was full of kids doing a harry potter ? following them at meals well? the help yourself was wrecked, not nice at all . you did not fancy having scrambled profiteroles and the likes when these had been let loose on the food and the change in staff bits of kids looking after kids the manager at the restaurant had gone to pastures new [blackpool area he would have had a diky fit ] it was only the older staff who had been there many years that looked after you tried to keep things tidy ,the bar staff were not as good as in past visits the food was poor £45 for the so called carvery dried out meat raw veg and massacred pudding , the hotel is still good, rooms are great but staff this time were not we were coming back in November for more rugby but not so sure, but if harry potter is the norm well will have to rethink in future and that will be a shame we like this hotel. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Night's Sleep My stay here was very comfortable, the room was quiet & well equipped. The staff were very friendly & efficient. I was checked in & out by Charlotte, a well trained & friendly young lady who is a credit to the team. The guy in charge of the gym was also efficient, friendly & welcoming. The gym was well equipped & everything worked. The pool is also a decent size, for a hotel pool. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super staff and Lovely food We were a family of four who stayed overnight whilst visiting the Harry Potter studio tour. The service by every single member of staff was friendly, polite and helpful and they were brilliant with the children too. The room was clean, well equipped and comfortable and we had a good and quiet nights sleep. Both evening meal and breakfast offered a good selection of food which was nicely cooked and well priced. We made use of the pool during our stay and again the staff were great, the pool and changing rooms were clean and the pool was lovely and warm. We really enjoyed our stay and fully intend to return. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel & it was as good as the last time we stayed there. The staff are excellent & can't do enough for you. I would particularly like to thank the check-in assistant when we arrived at 12:00 mid-day, as we wanted to check in after a long over night flight. He went out his way to make us feel very welcome & managed to sort a room at within 10 minutes of our arrival - Thanks. The facilities are excellent as well. Particularly the fitness area/swimming pool, which we used a great deal & was a perfect end to a great holiday. By the way we always stay at a Holiday Inn, as they simply a very good a providing a good service where ever you go. Finally thanks for making us feel at home, we will be back! August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy! The hotel is comfortable and well maintained. I considered the price of breakfast to be very high. In fact I did not see anybody eating in the restaurant at breakfast time. The stumbling block for us was that after changing rooms once because of the noise of a young family next door we then had an air conditioning unit droning on and off all night long outside our room even though we did not have our unit on. Hence we had no sleep before our trip to the continent the next day. I must add that the receptionist at the Holiday Inn took pity on us and refunded half our bill! Luckily the hotel we used in Belgium was fantastic and we slept soundly even with the air conditioning unit on in the room! August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay We stayed 2 nights in the hotel. It is very easy and quick to find the hotel from the m1. It was a great location to stay for our trip to legoland. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely. Nice food. Would totally recommend this hotel. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Harry Potter Stay We were recommend this Hotel thru the Harry Potter site. Great choice. The rooms were very clean, the pool was a welcome relief to the heat. A big Shout out to PAULA, who made our breakfast so welcoming. She is truly a STAR. The breakfast gave not only the adults a range of goodies, but the children didn't have one complaint. Really everything would of been perfect expect for the fact of the lack of free wifi. What year are we living in that a hotel can't provide free wifi to there guest. That would made the icing on the cake for me. August 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express London Watford Junction
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express London Watford Junction
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express London Watford Junction Hotel Exterior The Entrance to the modern and vibrant hotel. Reception
Select to close.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.