• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WAUKEGAN
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

With the exception of Service Dogs we DO NOT accept pets

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Vernon Hills Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Wildlife Discovery Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Russell Military Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Temple Lipizzans
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • We are pleased to provide complimentary Parking for all of our guests with ample bus and trailer parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:96
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:72
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

This brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Waukegan, Illinois is near Six Flags Great America and Great Lakes Naval Base.

Our Waukegan hotel provides premium amenities and an ideal location off I-94 near the Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, the Greenbelt Forest Preserve and the scenic Illinois State Beach Park.

Your family will enjoy a comfortable stay at our Waukegan hotel near Six Flags Great America, one of the largest theme parks in the US. Our
View More

This brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Waukegan, Illinois is near Six Flags Great America and Great Lakes Naval Base.

Our Waukegan hotel provides premium amenities and an ideal location off I-94 near the Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, the Greenbelt Forest Preserve and the scenic Illinois State Beach Park.

Your family will enjoy a comfortable stay at our Waukegan hotel near Six Flags Great America, one of the largest theme parks in the US. Our hotel in Waukegan also offers quick access to many other area attractions, like the Rink-Side Family Entertainment Center, Russell Military Museum and the Wildlife Discovery Center.

Downtown Chicago is just 45 miles from our Waukegan hotel.

Business travelers looking for lodging in Waukegan will be pleased by our Waukegan, IL accommodations, located near Amhurst and North Point Industrial Park and area businesses including CDW, Abbott, Baxter, Akzo Nobel and HSBC. Take advantage of our business services, which include three large meeting rooms, catering available. 24-hour business center and free high-speed, Wi-Fi Internet access for your convenience.

During your stay at our smoke-free hotel near Six Flags be sure to enjoy the indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Waukegan hotel room deals and start planning your trip to the Great Lakes region today.

View Less
Features
Business and leisure travelers alike can enjoy staying at our Waukegan hotel, which is located near Great Lakes Naval Academy, Abbott Labs, Baxter and Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 93 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service This was a great place to stay. Great location. Had a wonderful time. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Shuttle Service and Friendly! Recently stayed for a Navy Graduation and they were the only hotel that offered a shuttle in the area plus they had a pool, jacuzzi, and breakfast at a decent price. They provide a free crib(play pen) for your infant. The only thing that could possibly be better is a change from Full size beds to Queens, especially if you're at max occupancy. Two average sized people to a full size bed or smaller is not enough room. Better learn to spoon! ;-) Overall, it was a great stay and I'll definitely be returning soon! May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience I stayed at the hotel for a review course that was held on site. It was comfortable and conveniently located to several chain restaurants across the street. May 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent front desk staff The front desk staff was very kind and polite and went our of there way to make our stay very comfortable. Especially Robert the shuttle driver was very kind and courteous went out of his way to provide transportation service to me and my family. The only complaint i would have would be the maid service stayed there 3 days and would not change the sheets even though i requested for change of sheets twice i even mark the sheets with a pen to see if they changed them and no they didn't same pen mark once i came back to the room that evening besides that In would recommend this hotel. The maid service needs improvements. May 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An iffy choice I guess it was the best thing in the area, being surrounded by a dead mall, a dead cornfield, and a huge cemetery, none of which were advertised. Thank goodness there was a pool and jacuzzi and gym, but the hot tub was tepid at best and needs to be looked at. But no bath robes? The staff were wonderful and very attentive during the conference. The food was horrible. The Asian fusion was very questionable and the "Chinese" lunch was just barely palatable. We did enjoy the chicken lunches though. And why so stingy with the complimentary shampoo/lotions! For the 5 nights we stayed, they were replaced only twice. The pillows were extremely comfortable and I wish I could take one home with me! May 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by mr holiday My stay in April 13 was a ok stay, Requested a refrigerator because i was staying four days, and they wanted 20 dollars a day, i thought that was crazy,, It's an ok hotel but i nwouldn't recommend, It's to pricey for what you get. April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Gurnee The staff was wonderful. Made you feel welcome at check in and in the bar and restaurant. The work out room was well equipped and all the equipment was in working order. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Friendly attention ,nice and clean place... The best in the area. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Personnel, Restaurant, Rooms, Pool Precious at the front desk and Duane who drives the shuttle van went over and above their job descriptions for our convenience. The other employees were pleasant and helpful as well. They were so friendly and personable. Restaurant. Good food and fair prices. Rooms, comfortable and clean. Pool area conducive to friendly activities. March 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience For this being a fairly new hotel it was not in great shape. The pool area was stained with rust marks of some sort the hot tub was roped off and not working. We were wokeup at 1 am with doors slamming and yelling . Called front desk to complain and still went on for another hour after the call to the front desk. The only thing we were told upon checking out was why we did not call back! If they would of taken care of it in the first place it wouldn't of continued. Will not recommend or return here. March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by RunTime International Excellent customer service. My car was broke down and they went out of their way to help me. I will stay here again. March 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room/internet Room was nice and large and comfortable. Bathroom was very small and the tub would not hold water (kept draining while plugged). No fridge for that size room (had to out and buy a cooler to keep my food/drinks cold). Internet stopped working - password changed and I was not informed when I checked in that the password changes. Had difficulties with the luggage cart going through the doors. The doors would not stay open. Had to hold the door and move the cart through the door at the same time. Very difficult when your by your self. Could not use the hot tub down for repair (which is understandable) the pool did not use for 2 reasons (1-temp was cool, 2- the smell from the hot tub repair stuff) was too much to handle just checking the pool out. Great hotel if you are staying for a night only. December 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Services! It was such pleasant surprise when I checked into the hotel for a work trip I was greeted nicely and received free drink cards and a $20 certificate to spend at the hotel restaurant and bar! Thanks for the great customer services! I'll definitely stay here again if I have another project near Gurnee! December 4, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Broken Shower I first need to commend Grant. He is first class at the front desk. With that said, I did nor receive an upgrade or welcome gift as expected, even though the hotel was pretty close to empty all week. Beyond that I asked twice for the shower in room 305 to be fixed. The handle did not allow for proper adjustment of the water temperature. I was either scalding myself or freezing myself out. I have never written a negative report for this hotel and have stayed there on many occasions. I will try this hotel once again. November 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Experience My family and I stayed at this Holiday in over Thanksgiving. The staff was more than helpful as my daughter and I woke up early in the mornings as to not disturb my wife and infant. One staff member even offered to get us some food from the cafe as we reclined in the lobby to watch some tv. Another employee brought us the remote to turn the large flatscreen to any channel we wanted. Truly the most helpful staff at any hotel I've stayed at. I'm very impressed. Also clean, quiet, comfortable. I will be staying here when we visit family in Gurnee again. November 29, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Shopping trip After a long day of shopping at the mall just across the street which is one of the reason we chose this hotel we settled in to sleep. There was a party going on in the room next door and at first they weren't too loud but they woke us all up at 2;00am and one was my 11 yr. grandaughter.We called the desk who came right up and they soon had things quiet. Will stay again but will be sure that they don't put us in a room next to a planned function like that when we have children with us. November 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience! One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Entire hotel attractive, very clean and well run. I got the impression facility was fairly new. Regardless, customer service at front desk, shutte service, bar & banquet room was excellent, all were very friendly. Room was very clean & comfortable - great bed! I would highly recomend this Holiday Inn, and if I should find myself in Gurnee, IL again, I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. November 23, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by AFTER YEARS OF PATRONAGE I AM VERY DISSATISFIED The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The omelette chef was fantastic, however, the facility for breakfast was a huge letdown as it seemed to be a meeting room converted to a dining room. I only stay where there is an indoor pool available and this one was nasty. On top of it being being nasty, it was closed the day of my check out so I did not get to swim with my grandchildren before leaving as planned. On top of all of this the staff messed up my billing, caused me a great deal of time in fixing the problem they created, and then offered me nothing in return for the problem and inconvenience they created. November 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The hotel staff was extremely courteous and helpful. I did not have a car and was so worried how I would cross the expressway to get to Gurnee Mills. The shuttle service was a god send and such a help. I would rate this service as the best I have ever received. November 14, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff The staff was wonderful and very helpful with my rooms and upgraded us to a suite for being a member. It saved my company money and made a nice stay for us. November 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by YOU MUST STAY HERE! This place and location BLOW my mind......FIVE STARS all AROUND......would be there next year each time my family and i visit SIX FLAGS..... November 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great housekeeping services The stay at this property is always a wonderful experience. In spite of the hotel being completely full to capacity, the stay was comfortable, the housekeeping staff were very courtesy and mindful of the guests. October 26, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Experience at a Hotel!! Very great place to stay! Can't wait to come back. Best location and the shuttle service was AMAZING!!! The front desk staff was very kind and very helpful. I can't wait to come back. October 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place To Stay! The hotel was newly remodeled and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was a nice size and the temperature was great. I might have been upset had I not known the hot tub was not working but I had already read the reviews and asked before we booked. We ate the hot breakfast buffet in the morning. Not a huge selection but it was plenty and it was very good. The dinning and bar area are very classy although we didn't get a chance to eat there on this trip. We choose this hotel because of the shuttle service to Six Flags. Our first shuttle driver was very disappointing. He acted as if we were a bother to him and hardly said two words to us. We were never so relieved when a different driver, Duane, came to pick us up. He was very accommodating and made up for the first one. Thank you Duane! The rest of the staff was friendly. It was a packed house and they were very busy but friendly. Overall, we would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. October 18, 2012
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stuck in elevator and rude management We stay one night. on the day we checked out on our way down for breakfast we passed one set of elevotors that was out of order. We got on the front set of elevators on the 3rd floor. THe doors closed and the elevator went down about an inch then stops and the doors open a couple inches.The elevator would not move. THe alarm started going off and we hit the call button. IT took us hitting the button 3 times before we could get someone to answer and then we could barely hear them over the alarm and the speaker. They said help was on the way. After about 15 minutes help did arrive and it was an easy fix to get us out. We walk downed stairs to the front desk to talk to them about what had happen. The young lady working the desk was very friendly, nice and very sorry about what had happen. She did not know what had happen but the manager who was standing behind her talking to some one else finally turn to us and said that he had receivced the call for the contact company about the elevators being stuck. He was was rude and never apologize for what happen. in fact he acted like it was no big deal that he had guest stuck in the elevator. Again the front desk clerk was nice and friendly. She gave free voucher for breakfast at the hotel resturant. Which was not very good. I am was glad that we did not have to pay for it. it was a breakfast buffet. September 28, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.