Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

When booking a Free Night, you may only book one room at a time. Once you complete your Free Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 97 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful View We enjoyed the view from the room overlooking Grand Traverse Bay. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Activity Desk Steffanine at the Activity Desk always goes out of her way to be available for requests, local knowledge and makes me feel like I have arrived at home away from home. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable gettaway Beautiful location on the beach with sunset and water view. Easy walking access to downtown under busy road. Two pools great for your family. Had a lot of fun. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than some of the online reviews We had a very relaxing stay during one of the busiest weekends of the year and were positively surprised by the quality and value we received for the money and cannot understand some of the negative reviews. Admitted, the window for the lake view was small and not parallel to the shore line, but heck: the beach is right outside your door. Staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome; beer selection at the bar was a bit disappointing considering the great number of craft breweries in this area. June 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed bride I booked rooms for my wedding at this hotel and the experience was pretty terrible. Despite your claims about a beautiful bay view we were given a room with a great view of the parking lot. When we complained we were shown to a room with a view of the neighboring lot and the bay if you really craned your neck. Our room was not cleaned by room service the first three days of our stay ( no, we never once hung the do not disturb sign). Because our wedding was a destination we had several family members and friends staying at this hotel as well. I am embarrassed to even ask them about their stay since it is now three days after we checked out and three of my family members have experienced problems with their checkout/final bill. My husband and I were actually charged for a night less, which we assumed was because we complained. It was in fact due to the incompetence of the front desk, which we discovered when they called us to attempt to charge us correctly. The only redeeming qualities of this hotel are its nice location and friendly staff, however incompetent they may be at actually tracking and charging guests stays correctly. Very disappointing experience for a destination wedding and I would certainly not recommend. I couldn't even complete the survey I was emailed because they had my dates of stay incorrect. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfortable rooms We enjoyed our visit to West Bay Beach for a family get together. The resort was very clean, attractive and staff was extremely friendly and professional. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great hotel with very friendly staff. Rooms are up to date and the pools are heated (both the indoor and outdoor). Outdoor bar is great! On the Lake! Highly recommend and will stay again! Just a bit pricey, especially the food. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff was fabulous. I think everyone staff person I saw had a smile for you and said an appropriate greeting. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay! We had a very nice stay....loved the location, great food and service in the lounge, loved being close to everything! June 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Had Potential The room and staff service were very good to excellent. Disappointed in a few items: - for the price it would have been nice to have a complimentary continental breakfast. - did not sleep well, noise issues - upon arrival did not receive any information regarding hotel amenities offered June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Guest Service Guest Service was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to others. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorial Day This was our first visit to Traverse City. The West Bay was recommended and did not disappoint. The room with the lakeside view was great. Unfortunately, we did have to do a little work which was frustrating because the Internet was very slow. Once work was done; we enjoyed the private beach and lakeside bar. The band was phenomenal - Hidden Agenda - providing a great ambiance to the two night stay. The hotel itself was okay; a little dated; but they are making upgrades. The pool was perfect! It was a good stay; would have no problem going back. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location but barely to see the view I will totally suggest this hotel to my friends if they are planning to visit Traverse City. The bed is amazing but a bit too soft. The beach area is awesome but no beach view in the room. Price was just okay. May 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK - front staff super nice and helpful I was visiting on business and a very nice scenic place to stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The front deal staff always very helpful and nice. I was not so pleased with the weekend rates. I understand that the city was having a soccer tournament that weekend but to almost double the rates on a Friday and Saturday versus a Monday and Tuesday were a bit excessive. But I assume most places do this and that is the cost of business. I would return to this hotel but not at the inflated rates that I paid. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We shall return! The hotel was comfortable pleasantly decorated and staff quite friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for walking to restaurants and shops as well as having lovely views of The Bay. We were fortunate enough to be there for the Thursday night receptions. We were however quite surprised and disappointed to see that Michigan wines and beers were not being served. I think this is a major mistake of management, especially since the hotel is located in the wine growing region. I can't understand why California wines are served and national beers, except that the costs are less. Given that the reception is only half an hour, it would not cost much more to serve Michigan made beverages. May 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by TOO MUCH NOISE!!! This hotel has a nice setting on traverse bay but the noise at the site is terrible. They have a bar/lounge on the first floor that plays music so loud sleeping was nearly impossible, even with ear plugs. A coworker staying here had to deal with a drunk beating on his door at 3am that required security to remove him. I believe this site will need to decide if they want to provide a comfortable place to stay or provide rooms over a nightclub!!! May 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Need more family friendly dining. AC issues My family and I looked forward to a stay at the west bay beach holiday inn resort this past weekend to celebrate my son and daughters birthdays. We arrived Friday night. My daughter and I planned to go to the restaraunt downstairs as we had on prior stays. When we went down there was a hostess in front of shimmers nightclub. I asked her if the restaraunt was available for dinner. She stated no, they were only serving dinner in the bar. There was live music and people drinking, therefore I opted to not have dinner there with my daughter. She said in a few weeks there would be a second area to eat. I was a bit confused due to the fact tht we stayed about a month earlier and received excellent service for dinner in the main restaraunt. I told the hostess that it was too bad they did not provide a atmosphere appropriate for families with kids. We returned to our room and ordered carry out. I called the front desk and reiterated our disappointment and asked if there were times the restaraunt would be available for family dining. She told me if we wanted to eat in the main restaraunt we could come down and they would ask if one of the servers would be willing to serve us. About 10 minutes later I looked out my window which overlooked the pool and restaraunt. I saw a group of 3 older ladies eating dinner. I couldn't believe it. I called the front desk to say I was not happy that my daughter and I were not accomodated, but now there are others eating in there. they said we were welcome to come down and be served...too late..we already had carry out on its way. A lady did come to our door and apologize and provided us a dinner for 2 certificate for the following night. We ate and swam. The pool area was nice. At 10 pm we returned to our room. The temp was 80 degrees. The kids crawled into bed and I turned on the air. It ran a minute and quit. I called the front desk and they were sending a service man. He came and the air had come back on. It smelled terrible and was not cooling the room. He offered to get u a room change, but the kids were in bed and it was late. So we dealt with the warm stinky room for the night. The next morning we changed rooms. We were provided free breakfast for the trouble. The air ran in the second room, but did not start working properly untill about 2 pm. The handyman I saw in the hall asked how the night went and I explained. He said there was something wrong with the cooling system and it was finally fixed. When we went to the second room the cable didn't work so a tech came and fixed that. I told him we may have been the first guests in the room since the renovation considering there was a nail on the bed. Our stay wasn't all bad. The food when we ate was excellent and the staff for the most part were friendly. I have always enjoyed a get away at the holiday inn. Unfortunately this was not one of the best stays we have had. May 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, new carpeting, nice bar area The room was very clean and very large. Beds were very comfortable. The bar area downstairs was a lot of fun and the bartender (she) was very pleasant and nice. However, the cable was out for the entire second evening we stayed and was out all night . . . and still out when we left at 10 a.m. the next morning! Not very enjoyable without a TV. Also, I would have liked a balcony instead of a skinny window with a small view of the lake. May 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location! I regularly stay at this hotel when on business in Traverse City and the surrounding area. The hotel has gone under significant renovations in the last 2 years and is much improved. The rooms are what you would expect at just about any Holiday Inn, the views are great, the location is great and you can easily walk to downtown. The hotel can get noisy at times, specifically on the weekends in the summer because of all the tourists. I find it interesting when reviewers complain about people making noise in the halls and how the hotel in unable to control its guests. It isn't the hotels job to monitor every hallway for people having conversations. Any time I have had a noisy neighbor or a loud group in the hall the fix was as simple as calling the front desk and the staff promptly addresses the situation. I would say that at various times of the year the prices are higher than what you would expect for a Holiday Inn, however the demand for rooms in Traverse City gets very high. Overall this is a decent property and you get what you expect from this level of hotel chain. Don't show up at a Holiday Inn expecting to get the same experience you would if you were paying for a room at one of IHG's higher end properties. May 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great view I stayed over 2 nights and had someone bang on my door because my TV was too loud - they were on the floor below me. I didn't think it was too loud and the guy staying next door didn't complain. Hotel is much improved over last year - I was there during construction and it was a mess. Not sure I would stay there if the TV sound goes between floors - I don't recall that problem last year but the hotel was almost empty during construction. April 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Complete Disappointment Stayed April 4-6. Let me start by saying that I'm not a huge complainer and usually when I read reviews I take them with a grain of salt and we more times than not have a great experience, unfortunately not with this hotel. Not sure we will ever come back again. Upon entering our room #233. We found it to be extremely hot (79 degrees with thermostat set to 68). We turned on the A/C and headed out to dinner. Upon retuning the room had cooled off a bit so we shut the a/c off so it was not blowing on us in bed. Big mistake as it was extremely uncomfortable sleeping. We were with our 11.5 month old son and didn't want cold air blowing on him. Before we put him to sleep we decided to go for a dip in the pool. Yet another disappointment. We stepped into the pool to find it freezing cold (it may have been warmer to swim in Lake Michigan). We ended up in the hot tub with kids throwing balls at each other, I was afraid my son was going to get drilled in the face. The hot tub was the temperature of what the pool should have been. Not the great first time pool experience we were looking for with our son. After our swim we went back to the room and put our son to bed. We went to log-in to the wi-fi and that was a joke. All weekend if you could get the wi-fi to connect it didn't last for long and wouldn't open anything. Also we had to fix our tv before we could watch it. On Saturday morning I complained to the front desk about the heat issue and all maintenance did was turn on the A/C. They also promised me the pool would be up to temperature within an hour. We checked the pool at around 4:00, 7 hours later and it was still too cold to take our child swimming in it. Swimming was the main reason for spending a weekend in TC during spring break, next time I will save money and rent down the road for half the price. Maybe get a jacuzzi suite and let my son splash around in there. We rented the room under their stay and play promotion and I feel like we got terrible accommodations and service because of it being a discount rate. Beware when booking with this hotel. Apparently they were having heat issues with the pool and rooms (other guests complained too) but they didn't mention a thing at check-in! The place has been renovated but I think thy are still working out the kinks over a year later. Stayed April 2014 April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Getaway Stayed for a Wine Bootcamp with friends and had a great experience. They has a shuttle to take us to and from the wineries and brew pubs. Our 19 year old driver rocked! Rooms were upgraded and plenty big enough for 4 people if needed. Best location for downtown TC and Lake Michigan! April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy 2 nights The hotel is nice and located right on the bay with a very good view. But, our 2 nights were interrupted both times in the wee hours of the morning by rude and loud people coming in from (probably) the bar downstairs after it closed. One night, the noise went on for almost an hour. It may have gone longer but someone must have called security to tell these people to be quiet. Not surprisingly, when we checked out no one asked how our stay was - most likely because of the grief they'd been taking from other guests. We complained about it and they did take 1/2 off our 2nd night. Obviously, the hotel has no control over the rude behavior of some of their guests. But, if you stay here, realize that because there is an onsite bar/night club with music, you have a greater chance of having excessive noise at night. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by making a good hotel better with the remodel stayed here in the past when i'm in town for work. was very surprised to see the remodel. excellent job. looks great" will be back again. erin in checkin was super nice and professional. thanks again. March 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs upgrading Bathroom is way to small... Hotel was freezing.. Poor and hot tub were also cold.. Staff was outstanding.....Very friendly.. March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location! First time stay, after a Holiday Inn became a Resort property.... As always, the Holiday Inn is a wonderful place to stay while in Traverse City. We love that you can easily walk to the downtown area. We enjoy the pool and hot tub, after a long day of sightseeing. Looking forward to returning... March 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sunken King Size Bed I traveled to TC on business and had my wife accompany me for a little get away. The staff was very nice and accommodating when we asked for a room change. The room we stayed in seemed very nice but when we returned from dinner which was much later. We realized the bed sunk in the middle and even though it was a nice feature when we first got back I found myself hanging on the edge of the bed to try and sleep. Also the heating/cooling system didn't work very well. The room was very hot and when we lowered the temperature it did not seem to make a bit of difference it either stayed at the higher temp or went even higher. All in all the location to downtown TC was very nice but the overall experience was exhausting and not relaxing as we had hoped! January 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice location good job with the remodel. comfortable rooms. would like to have the resturant open a little later at night. December 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too expensive and needed to b cleaned with more detail The remodel of the was very nice. beds are comfortable..For the price of the room, a free continental breakfast should be offered. Also, the bathroom needed to be cleaned better - there was pink mildew in th shower tile grout and at the sink faucet....gross! There was also sand remnant in the corners of he granite sink top. Cleanliness attention to detail was lacking. This made me question the cleanliness in the bedroom. To me, cleanliness is more important than new stylish decor. Also,the music at the bar was too loud and was heard from my room. This is a hotel not a dance club. I do not want to hear music from the main floor at 2 am when I want to sleep! November 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4
We are excited to announce that this property completed an extensive renovation on 11/06/2013. In an effort to ensure that our guests have access to the most relevant reviews we have removed any reviews posted prior to the completion of this renovation. IHG has not in any way considered the rating of individual reviews, all reviews were removed prior to the date listed above to ensure that our guests have the most up to date, unbiased reviews from real guests who have completed a stay at our newly renovated property.