Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

When booking a Free Night, you may only book one room at a time. Once you complete your Free Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 110 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Look forward to next visit Staff and servers were great Outdoor patio is great place to relax and listen to the live music Sierra (bartender) was excellent and we enjoyed her company Main bar is very nice and modern, bartender introduced me to a new drink that was excellent rooms were clean and modern Big Bonus that they served Starbucks coffee July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn West Bay Traverse City Nice stay. Hotel has made some nice upgrades. Room was clean. Bed was very comfortable. The lobby needs some new carpet, which would greatly improve first impressions. Breakfast was great; lunch overpriced. Enjoyed the outdoor terrace entertainment in the evening. Beautiful location for a fair price. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Was under the impression that breakfast was included with this room but was not July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent hotel Best place to stay in TC. Rental equipment on site. Stand up paddle boards, kayaks, jet ski, etc. Can walk to town to shop, entertainment every evening, 2 pools. Will definitely stay there again. June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by my stay at the holiday inn traverse city, mi My 1st impression as I walked into the hotel, was of a very dirty carpet in the lobby. I figured that with the proximity to the beach, this might be understandable - to a degree. My 2nd impression was that although I was given a King bed room per my request, that the front desk should have mentioned that this room did not have even a view of the parking lot (looking out the window, I was able to see only the rooftop and the back of the hotel sign) When I returned to the lobby to exchange rooms, the staff was very accommodating and friendly, and I got a 2Q rm instead - with a view of the sunset and a warning about the band playing beneath my window each night till at least 9pm. The room was very nice, but it seems that all of the carpets throughout the hotel are filthy. Although the rest of the room appeared clean, I was uncomfortable with the linens, and walking on dirty carpet and getting into bed is rather gross. The temp regulator was broken, and the phone didn't work. Staff was helpful and made things right, when asked -no complaint there, but overall experience was not a good value for the $$$. Locals tell me the hotel recently spent millions on upgrades - they should invest in a carpet cleaner, as well. I'll give up the view for a clean hotel next time I'm in Traverse City June 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by It's OK It isn't quite as bad as some of the reviews state, although I couldn't imagine being on the "club" side of the hotel. My suggestion, close the "club" or leave the IHG family. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to get away!!! Pleasant experience! I will come here again! The staff were helpful and friendly. Glad we came here! June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room I have stayed at this hotel years ago. I was very disappointed this time around. I felt for the price that we payed it was very over rated. When I booked the room I told them it was our honeymoon and we wanted a view of the bay. The"view" of the bay was not good. We saw mainly the parking lot and barley the bay. Also there was some kind of bugs in the shower. They were like misquito size but didn't bite., thank goodness. Very disappointed i would look else where next time when we go back June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I had done a great deal of research regarding properties in this area and chose this property based on other review and location, and the fact that the TART trail ran through the property. The location was great, walkable and rideable to downtown and other areas of interest. Our room was acceptable with comfortable beds and plenty of room. Upon arriving we found a hairpin on the floor, making us question the cleanliness of the room. The rooms appeared to be newly decorated, however there were still unfilled holes where towel racks had been replaced or moved and the shower area did not look as though it had been recently renovated. The room was fairly noisy as we were located very near the outside bar, and the room next door had a television playing very loudly, but nothing we could not deal with. The Elevators were filthy with debris and an odor. They did not appear to be vacuumed on a regular basis. The steps in the lobby were quite run down and dirty as well. And the beach, described as "beautiful" was not, but could have been. There were cigarette butts and debris all over, not maintained well at all. Most disappointing and very disturbing and offensive was our witness to the treatment received by another guest at the hotel. While my teenage son and I were sitting on a lounge chair on the beach, the first night of our stay, the young man operating the booth for the boat tour, was being very loud and profane talking to friends and to someone on the phone, using vulgar language and making very loud, offensive and personal remarks about Muslims. There appeared to be a family of the Muslim faith on the beach, to whom his remarks were directed. The family clearly heard the remarks and left the area. I might add they had a young child with them. I was horrified, as was my son and felt quite helpless. We immediately left and reported the incident to the clerk at the desk, who told us the person with the boat tour is not in fact an employee of the hotel, but she would in fact report the incident. Employee or not, this type of incident should not be allowed to take place on your property, nor should any human being ever be treated with such hatred and disregard. I came very close to leaving the hotel that night and forfitting our pre-paid stay, and actually regret that I did not, just out of principle . June 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weird remodeling job... I stayed in this hotel for business and used no amenities other than a horrible Wifi connection (okay, maybe I didn't really use it since it didn't work much). The "owners" were very obviously skimping when they decided to remodel this place a few years ago and left it with this weird juxtaposition of 1970's old stuff and more modern features - old bathroom tile with very modern sink fixtures. I'm not much of a decorating type but this really bugged me and you saw it all over the hotel. The location is great and it would be a good spot if you have kids and don't mind noise from other rooms with kids. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We decided to stay close to the wine vineyards in the Traverse City area and chose Holiday Inn as opposed to a bed and breakfast which was a wise decision based on price and service. We were comfortable in our room and enjoyed the helpfulness and pleasant attitude of the line and management staff. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and modern The staff was so great and we loved how clean everything was. We loved the deck area so much I got up early and watched the sunrise. June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Most Holiday Inns in which I stayed had better dining service and the bed sheets weren't so wrinkled. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful View We enjoyed the view from the room overlooking Grand Traverse Bay. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Activity Desk Steffanine at the Activity Desk always goes out of her way to be available for requests, local knowledge and makes me feel like I have arrived at home away from home. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable gettaway Beautiful location on the beach with sunset and water view. Easy walking access to downtown under busy road. Two pools great for your family. Had a lot of fun. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than some of the online reviews We had a very relaxing stay during one of the busiest weekends of the year and were positively surprised by the quality and value we received for the money and cannot understand some of the negative reviews. Admitted, the window for the lake view was small and not parallel to the shore line, but heck: the beach is right outside your door. Staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome; beer selection at the bar was a bit disappointing considering the great number of craft breweries in this area. June 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed bride I booked rooms for my wedding at this hotel and the experience was pretty terrible. Despite your claims about a beautiful bay view we were given a room with a great view of the parking lot. When we complained we were shown to a room with a view of the neighboring lot and the bay if you really craned your neck. Our room was not cleaned by room service the first three days of our stay ( no, we never once hung the do not disturb sign). Because our wedding was a destination we had several family members and friends staying at this hotel as well. I am embarrassed to even ask them about their stay since it is now three days after we checked out and three of my family members have experienced problems with their checkout/final bill. My husband and I were actually charged for a night less, which we assumed was because we complained. It was in fact due to the incompetence of the front desk, which we discovered when they called us to attempt to charge us correctly. The only redeeming qualities of this hotel are its nice location and friendly staff, however incompetent they may be at actually tracking and charging guests stays correctly. Very disappointing experience for a destination wedding and I would certainly not recommend. I couldn't even complete the survey I was emailed because they had my dates of stay incorrect. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfortable rooms We enjoyed our visit to West Bay Beach for a family get together. The resort was very clean, attractive and staff was extremely friendly and professional. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great hotel with very friendly staff. Rooms are up to date and the pools are heated (both the indoor and outdoor). Outdoor bar is great! On the Lake! Highly recommend and will stay again! Just a bit pricey, especially the food. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff was fabulous. I think everyone staff person I saw had a smile for you and said an appropriate greeting. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay! We had a very nice stay....loved the location, great food and service in the lounge, loved being close to everything! June 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Had Potential The room and staff service were very good to excellent. Disappointed in a few items: - for the price it would have been nice to have a complimentary continental breakfast. - did not sleep well, noise issues - upon arrival did not receive any information regarding hotel amenities offered June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Guest Service Guest Service was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to others. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Memorial Day This was our first visit to Traverse City. The West Bay was recommended and did not disappoint. The room with the lakeside view was great. Unfortunately, we did have to do a little work which was frustrating because the Internet was very slow. Once work was done; we enjoyed the private beach and lakeside bar. The band was phenomenal - Hidden Agenda - providing a great ambiance to the two night stay. The hotel itself was okay; a little dated; but they are making upgrades. The pool was perfect! It was a good stay; would have no problem going back. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good location but barely to see the view I will totally suggest this hotel to my friends if they are planning to visit Traverse City. The bed is amazing but a bit too soft. The beach area is awesome but no beach view in the room. Price was just okay. May 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK - front staff super nice and helpful I was visiting on business and a very nice scenic place to stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The front deal staff always very helpful and nice. I was not so pleased with the weekend rates. I understand that the city was having a soccer tournament that weekend but to almost double the rates on a Friday and Saturday versus a Monday and Tuesday were a bit excessive. But I assume most places do this and that is the cost of business. I would return to this hotel but not at the inflated rates that I paid. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We shall return! The hotel was comfortable pleasantly decorated and staff quite friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for walking to restaurants and shops as well as having lovely views of The Bay. We were fortunate enough to be there for the Thursday night receptions. We were however quite surprised and disappointed to see that Michigan wines and beers were not being served. I think this is a major mistake of management, especially since the hotel is located in the wine growing region. I can't understand why California wines are served and national beers, except that the costs are less. Given that the reception is only half an hour, it would not cost much more to serve Michigan made beverages. May 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by TOO MUCH NOISE!!! This hotel has a nice setting on traverse bay but the noise at the site is terrible. They have a bar/lounge on the first floor that plays music so loud sleeping was nearly impossible, even with ear plugs. A coworker staying here had to deal with a drunk beating on his door at 3am that required security to remove him. I believe this site will need to decide if they want to provide a comfortable place to stay or provide rooms over a nightclub!!! May 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Need more family friendly dining. AC issues My family and I looked forward to a stay at the west bay beach holiday inn resort this past weekend to celebrate my son and daughters birthdays. We arrived Friday night. My daughter and I planned to go to the restaraunt downstairs as we had on prior stays. When we went down there was a hostess in front of shimmers nightclub. I asked her if the restaraunt was available for dinner. She stated no, they were only serving dinner in the bar. There was live music and people drinking, therefore I opted to not have dinner there with my daughter. She said in a few weeks there would be a second area to eat. I was a bit confused due to the fact tht we stayed about a month earlier and received excellent service for dinner in the main restaraunt. I told the hostess that it was too bad they did not provide a atmosphere appropriate for families with kids. We returned to our room and ordered carry out. I called the front desk and reiterated our disappointment and asked if there were times the restaraunt would be available for family dining. She told me if we wanted to eat in the main restaraunt we could come down and they would ask if one of the servers would be willing to serve us. About 10 minutes later I looked out my window which overlooked the pool and restaraunt. I saw a group of 3 older ladies eating dinner. I couldn't believe it. I called the front desk to say I was not happy that my daughter and I were not accomodated, but now there are others eating in there. they said we were welcome to come down and be served...too late..we already had carry out on its way. A lady did come to our door and apologize and provided us a dinner for 2 certificate for the following night. We ate and swam. The pool area was nice. At 10 pm we returned to our room. The temp was 80 degrees. The kids crawled into bed and I turned on the air. It ran a minute and quit. I called the front desk and they were sending a service man. He came and the air had come back on. It smelled terrible and was not cooling the room. He offered to get u a room change, but the kids were in bed and it was late. So we dealt with the warm stinky room for the night. The next morning we changed rooms. We were provided free breakfast for the trouble. The air ran in the second room, but did not start working properly untill about 2 pm. The handyman I saw in the hall asked how the night went and I explained. He said there was something wrong with the cooling system and it was finally fixed. When we went to the second room the cable didn't work so a tech came and fixed that. I told him we may have been the first guests in the room since the renovation considering there was a nail on the bed. Our stay wasn't all bad. The food when we ate was excellent and the staff for the most part were friendly. I have always enjoyed a get away at the holiday inn. Unfortunately this was not one of the best stays we have had. May 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
We are excited to announce that this property completed an extensive renovation on 11/06/2013. In an effort to ensure that our guests have access to the most relevant reviews we have removed any reviews posted prior to the completion of this renovation. IHG has not in any way considered the rating of individual reviews, all reviews were removed prior to the date listed above to ensure that our guests have the most up to date, unbiased reviews from real guests who have completed a stay at our newly renovated property.