• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

When booking a Free Night, you may only book one room at a time. Once you complete your Free Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: WILMINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 15.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Pet boarding facilities located approximately 5 miles away.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Water Park & Amusements
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Thalian Hall
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI
Attraction:
Bellamy Mansion
Distance From Hotel:11.0MI
Attraction:
Cape Fear Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:285
  • Car Parking Available
  • Two level covered parking deck. Parking is free and your car is out of the sun!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:184
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:57
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:127
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:184
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0759

Stay at Our Oceanfront Hotel in Wrightsville Beach

Welcome to the award-winning Holiday Inn Resort® hotel in Wrightsville Beach, NC. Our oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, family fun, water sports and relaxation.

Leisure guests appreciate that we're just minutes from the most popular attractions, such as downtown Wilmington, Screen Gem Studios and the USS NC Battleship. Families love our playground, video arcade, sports court and the KidSpree activity center that
View More

Stay at Our Oceanfront Hotel in Wrightsville Beach

Welcome to the award-winning Holiday Inn Resort® hotel in Wrightsville Beach, NC. Our oceanfront hotel boasts pristine beaches, family fun, water sports and relaxation.

Leisure guests appreciate that we're just minutes from the most popular attractions, such as downtown Wilmington, Screen Gem Studios and the USS NC Battleship. Families love our playground, video arcade, sports court and the KidSpree activity center that features an interactive gaming system and year-round fun. Visitors can rent bikes to ride along beautiful Wrightsville Beach, NC.

Corporate guests are pleased to know we offer a complimentary, 24-hour Business Center and free Internet access throughout the hotel. Quintiles, Coldwell Banker, General Electric, UNCW and Corning are all conveniently near our hotel in Wrightsville Beach. And our event facilities not only offer lovely rooms but ocean views.

When you stay here, you'll experience great amenities. Our concierge can schedule a massage, or you can take advantage of our multiple pools, Fitness Center, sundecks and beach access. You can choose al fresco dining at our full-service restaurant, Oceans Restaurant, room service or the fabulous view of the Atlantic Ocean at Gabby's Lounge. We offer a free area shuttle to shops and restaurants, as well as the Wilmington airport. Call today to reserve a room with a breathtaking view at our superb Wrightsville Beach hotel.

View Less
Features
While visiting Wrightsville Beach, NC, our hotel guests realize they can have a great vacation without leaving our property. We have three pools, two whirlpools, a playground, bike rentals and more! All of our guestrooms are also 100% smoke free; what else could you want?

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 153 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overall experience The hotel and stay we had were nice overall. The only issue we had was upon our check-in. We had reservations which were made two weeks before our arrival, we paid in full for the room ahead of time, and was told we could check-in at 3pm. We arrived to the hotel at 4:15 and literally had to sit in the lobby until 5:15 because our room was not ready yet. Other than that though, our stay was nice, the room was nice, and I would recommend the hotel. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful room It was a wonderful time. Great staff took good care of you. Only one thing they should have adult time for the pool July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great! very clean, wonderful friendly staff and management. I really liked the manager asking if I was enjoying my stay. breakfast was really good. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay A very clean and comfortable hotel. Rooms are big. Very close to several restaurants. Easy access to RT17 business (Market St). Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Wilmington. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great!! Had a great stay..everything was clean and the staff was excellant! They even sent us a basket of goodies as we were celebrating our 42nd anniversary. The manger constantly asked if we needed anything and was just a delight to stay here....will stay again! July 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by will not return We have been staying at this hotel for the past 9 years and will probably be our last. We checked in with an upgrade and when we arrived at our room, the door was open and maintanence was inside repairing the AC unit. One of the housekeeping staff was kind enough to go back down to the front desk to see what was up. We did not see her again, but another person, (no clue who) told us to go back down to the front desk to get a different room. We did and all the five people at the front just looked at us like they had no idea what we were doing down there. The maintenance guys (Tim and his supervisor) were very kind and told us they would get the room finished up in a few minutes and we could go back up and get settled in. We did and they were most apologetic about us having to wait and be in the room while they did the repairs. Upon unpacking, we noticed 3 of the peices of furniture had legs that were broken and sitting at a very uneven position. Tim did screw on of them back in while they were there. We noticed the others ones were broken after they left. We got a chance to unpack our bathroom stuff and noticed caulking comming out and some missing around the Jacuzzi, and paint peeling off the overhead AC vent. The shower was awful. There was no place to place any items other than the bar of soap, except on the floor. There was never any hot water, only warm and that was after we let the water run for at least 3-4 minutes in both the shower and the faucet. (what a waste of water, especially when they have notices in the room to hang your towels back up if you wish to conserve resources!) When we got back from our visit with our family, we sat down on the couch and I noticed the fabric on the whole arm of the chair was ripped off. There was only one trash can in the bathroom, and none near the desk or the kitchen. We did ask our housekeeper for another one the following day and she was great about getting two of them for us. There was also no dish towel in the kitchen near the sink. On Sunday , we arrived back into our room after breakfast and the ceiling was leaking. We were going to our daughters for the day, and maintence came up to fix the leak while we were gone. We had towels down, it was leaking that bad. When we got back late Sunday night, the towels were still on the floor where we left them and the filter was not put back in the AC unit. It was sitting by the wall near the TV. We didn't bother to notify the front desk as it was late, we were not going to move rooms, and we didn't think maintence was around to come fix the problem, and we didn't want them in the room at 10pm anyway. When we got up Monday morning to leave, housekeeping had not stocked our bathroom ( I am guessing that maintence was still in there working and she could not get in to the bathroom) so we had only one bath towel between the 2 of us. You can guess that we were not happy campers. The elevator has to be the slowest one ever. We took the stairs when ever we needed to go up or down. Every time we did, water was standing on the floor in the stairwell with towels and rolls placed near the door to soak up all the water. It was raining the whole time we were there, so we can understand where the water came from. We did notice while eating breakfast (which was good, well run and stocked) the manager was around the breakfast area checking to make sure everything was running well. I was going to tell him about all the missteps while we were there, but never could catch him and didn't have time to wait as we had family obligations right after breakfast. The housekeeping staff was great as were the maintenace staff. We had no problems with them until the episode on the last night. I do not think the hotel has been refurbished at all in the 9 years we have been staying there, and the whole place looks tired and run down. I got the impression this is a new manager and they are trying to attend to things, but we will not stay there again. We never once got a call from any of the staff to make sure the items we reported were taken care of. There is a nice Staybridge Suites just down the road, so will try it next time we visit. July 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Service The Holiday Inn Express in Wilmington is a great place to stay. They could use an upgrade of mattresses on the beds. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay We have stayed here three years, and will stay again. Great room and wonderful staff service. Friendly and helpful check in, easy check out. Great breakfast with attentive staff. Caring manager who checked in with people regularly to be sure all was okay, and was easily visible every day. Any concern or question was quickly taken care of. Great location near food, shopping and main roads. As a priority club member we always get special recognition. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I had a great experience and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Wilmington-University Ctr. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and entire facility was clean and well kept. Already have reservations for another stay in Sept. June 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay. Very Clean. Staff is super friendly. Excellent stay. Very Clean. Staff is super friendly. Pool is very clean and large. June 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Updating This property is in need of an upgrade which I think is possibly in the works as there was a note in our room to excuse the noise, but I couldn't tell that anything was happening yet. The linens were pretty old and dingy not giving me the feeling that my bed was real clean. The staff was ok, but not all that accommodating from what I observed. The breakfast was the best part, but the area wasn't laid out very well making it difficult for everyone to maneuver around in the space. This experience was definitely not what I have been used to when staying at a HIE property. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A little pricey but it's summertime at the beach, so.... No complaints. Clean room, good breakfast, fast check in, easy check out. Updated carpet, flat screen TV. Would stay again. June 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not going back I wouln't go back there again. The pull out sofa was terribly worn, and should be not be used to sleep on. They need to replace those. The bed was comfortable though. I wouldn't go back again. I was charged an extra 20 bucks with no explanation, and no I didn't take a single towel home with me. No one can explain why. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holliday visit Have stayed at this HI Express for several years over Christmas hollidays and are always pleased with the service. Much better value than condo's we had rented in years past. No let down in service eventhough holliday season. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly hotel A great and friendly welcome at ckeckin and recognition for priority Club members with a little attention. Spacious, quiet and comfortable room + nice breakfast. Complete amenities. I recommend this hotel. May 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay The Hotel is aged and going through remodel new paint carpets etc. however the room in which I stayed smelt of burned smoke as if a fire or otherwise had contaminated the air conditioner, No restaurant in hotel made it difficult to eat after a long day , the surrounding eateries were always packed with lines outside door or having to wait longer than normal for service when entered, if your into fast food burgers then eating is not a problem there are plenty to go around, suggest if staying for any period stock up and use the fridge and microwave. The beds are some what hard, not firm, and made sleeping difficult, turning over to avoid pressure points during the night. The staff is friendly and dedicated to service as much as possible, always fresh towels etc. I would advise another location if extended stay but for the night it would be alright May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay Great customer service. Room was comfortable and location of hotel was awesome for somebody not from that area. The parking lot is always well maintained, excellent for skating practice space. May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay The room was very clean the staff was prompt and courteous the breakfast was ok. May 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by RETURN STAY G'day. I returned based on my previous stay to visit my daughter at UNCW. The front desk staff were very helpful. I will return. Treasure Life, David Marine Vietnam Veteran May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE VERY COMFORTABLE. GREAT STAFF. MOST ENJOYABLE. WILL BE BACK. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Good Night Rest The room and the service were great! The location was perfect for my business meetings as well. Thank you May 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and great service We really enjoy staying at the Holiday Inn and Express in Wilmington, NC. The rooms are always comfortable and the service is great. May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. I did not eat breakfast at the hotel. I will come back to this location when I am in Wilmington again. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great place to stay Whenever I travel in the Wilmington area, this is my favorite place to stay. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. it is a very good value for the money. April 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Somewhat worn but comfortable The check-in experience was really very good. The breakfast was very good. The room was comfortable, convenient, and quiet, but was somewhat dated and worn. Would stay here again if in the area. April 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel - comfortable Nice place to stay. Pleasant staff. Will stay here again. April 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Usually does better Check In ok, no issues with Internet speed or service. Housekeeping dropped the ball. Left early on Saturday and did not return until late Saturday night, so there was no opportunity to correct the problem. Someone entered the room, placed a fresh towel on the rack and took the hairdryer out of the unit and left it on the bathroom counter - definitely not me, I'm bald and have little use for the hairdryer. Waste baskets not emptied, bed not made. Breakfast was a madhouse due to the hotel being sold out for the weekend due to various events at UNCW. Waste bins in the lobby were overflowing with styrofoam cups and plates for extended periods and not changed until after breakfast was over. Tables not cleaned as well. Bananas were out for consumption, but so ripe that they couldn't even be peeled. Ladies were working hard to keep the food stocked, but coffee and milk ran out. No management support visible. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay!! What a wonderful property; clean, comfortable, great staff!! Great value, and location. We were in Wilmington for a UNCW tour and we would definitely recommend it to other travelers. April 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long stay; I'll be back. First, let me say that I stayed at this motel for 6 of the last 7 weekends. Because of my extended stay in one motel, I got to see the good, the bad, and the ugly. The front desk help was always great. After a few weekends, they recognized me and would chat a lttle during check-in. They always acted glad to see me and that was comforting. Each weekend my room was excellent. The Internet service was good with rare problems. That was important as this was a buiness trip for my wife and me. That's a summary of the good. The bad was the cleaning crew. Some of the staff were good, but sometimes not. For example, once I had the do-not-disturb card hanging in the door and they still knocked anyway. Another time the room was available for cleaning after the first night and they never cleaned it at all. I had to go by the front desk and ask for towels; twice. The ugly was the stuck elevator. One of the two elevators jammed and they struggled repairing it all weekend. I have a phobia of elevators anyway. So, I avoided that elevator the rest of my time there. Overall it was a good experience. I realize mechanical difficulties are inevitable. I also realize all motels struggle to find good help. No question... I'll be back. But I believe these are some areas management may want to improve on. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great breakfast I have stayed at this hotel before and prefer it over some of the others I have stayed at in the Wilmington area. The staff is friendly and helpful to my needs. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. March 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Inviting Entrance to the resort
Inviting Entrance to the resort
Select to close.
Inviting Entrance to the resort Sculpted Dolphins welcome guests upon entering the hotel Beautiful view from above Relax in our oceanfront Piano Lobby  with cozy fireplace
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Click to learn about earning extra points with the IHG® Rewards Club Bonus Point Program.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading