• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

A non refundable fee of 75.00 will be charged at check in. Pets over 40 pounds will not be accepted. Pets must be on a controllable leash at all times when outside of the guestroom. If in the room alone, pets must be placed in a crate or pet carrier.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Wrigley Field N
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Oak Street Shopping district
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
John Hancock Observatory SE
Distance From Hotel:0.7MI
Attraction:
Water Tower Place SE
Distance From Hotel:0.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:165
  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking - $45.00 overnight With in and out privileges.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:165
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:41
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:165
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12
Take a deep breath and feel the peaceful calm of the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Downtown Gold Coast hotel. Situated within minutes of the Magnificent Mile, Old Town and many attractions in downtown Chicago, the hotel's location puts you in the heart of the Windy City. Guests relish the soothing, contemporary decor and seasonal touches while enjoying the award-winning service. You can view the beautiful city sights while staying in one of the most rejuvenating boutique-style hotels in downtown Chicago. The
View More
Take a deep breath and feel the peaceful calm of the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Downtown Gold Coast hotel. Situated within minutes of the Magnificent Mile, Old Town and many attractions in downtown Chicago, the hotel's location puts you in the heart of the Windy City. Guests relish the soothing, contemporary decor and seasonal touches while enjoying the award-winning service. You can view the beautiful city sights while staying in one of the most rejuvenating boutique-style hotels in downtown Chicago. The hotel's proximity to Oak Street's Boutique Row, a famous shopping mecca, puts guests within steps of gorgeous shops filled with stunning treasures. Guests also have easy access to the Lincoln Park Zoo and both North Avenue and Oak Street beaches for great family outings. Business travelers enjoy our location's easy access to the downtown area while staying at one of the most centrally located hotels in Chicago. Commuting to the Loop and local universities, such as DePaul, Moody Bible Institute and Northwestern, is easy and hassle-free. Complimentary Wi-Fi access and a Business Center are ideal for putting those finishing touches on a business proposal or project. Indulge yourself in rooms with hardwood floors and luscious bedding, and visit the on-site nail and facial spa. Guests can find refuge from the bustling city life while relishing this Chicago hotel's sense of style and tranquility.
View Less
Features
Find yourself in one of the most charming areas of Chicago: the historic Gold Coast. The hotel's Torchbearer Award is evidence of the exceptional services our guests receive at this ideal location.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 522 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bob and Gwen We wanted to visit the Magnificent Mile, Nave Pier and sites along the river. We wanted to be able to walk these sites from our hotel. This Holiday Inn Express, formerly the Cass Hotel, was an excellent jumping off spot from which to visit these sites. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is noteworthy. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, updated room, friendly staff This HIExpress is in a great location, the rooms were updated and staff was friendly and professional. The only down side I would have to say was the elevator was a tad bit slow and the street noise was a surprise (we were on the 16th floor). Overall we had a great experience and would recommend it highly. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff There are quite a few IHG properties in downtown Chicago. We've stayed at many of them, however this was our first time at the HIE / Cass Hotel. It won't be our last. The location is great, but the best part was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff. They were absolutely fantastic! I would highly recommend this hotel! October 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This Holiday Inn Express is in a great location for the downtown area of Chicago. We were able to walk everywhere and took the "L" to Wrigley Field. Staff was friendly and helpful and the property is very clean and safe. The staff in the breakfast area were very friendly and helpful, making sure that the area was well stocked with fresh food and very clean. We would definitely stay here again. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DOOR MAN VERY HELPFUL AND NICE; BED COMFORTABLE, ROOMS VERY CLEAN, ALL THE HELP WAS VERY HELPFUL AND ANSWERED ALL QUESTIONS WHEN ASK September 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better than avg hotel in Chicago Decent value in North Loop area. Comfortable beds, normal HIE breakfast, good access to subway. September 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small room but reasonable price for the location The room is very small but given the location, the price and quality were excellent. September 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small but excellently situated If you are looking for value, friendly staff, good amenities and excellent location in a safe area- this is your place! It was so perfectly situated in the middle of everything that we rarely had to take a cab and could walk everywhere without fear of danger or distance. September 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mid-September stay Stayed at this lodging location in Mid-September of 2014. Staff were accommodating and attentive. September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful location The location is walking distance to everything you might want to see. The staff is super friendly especially the desk clerk Corey. He made us feel so welcomed and went out of his with maps and directions. He even came running after us a block away because he thought he gave us wrong directions. The rooms were a bit small but without destroying the character and charm of an older hotel, there is not much you can do to change the size of a room. September 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Better options elsewhere All this had going for it was location. Run-down furniture, lax housekeeping, tiny rooms were not worth the money I paid for it. I will find other accommodations on future trips to Chicago. September 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location! Although the room was small, the hotel is an old hotel and we had what we needed in our room.... a bed and bathroom. We were within walking distance to everything we wanted to do. We were not far from the trolley stop, the Red Line, Navy Pier and there were many restaurants within walking distance. The area is safe and there are many people out walking this area at night. When we were looking for the hotel we nearly missed the small Holiday Inn Express sign, but admired the old Hotel Cass sign. A great old hotel in a bustling area! September 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall I understand this is a hotel in downtown Chicago. You cannot control things like outside noise ( sirens traffic, etc) and I cannot expect a large room. so taking that into account the experience was very nice for my wife and me. The staff was very nice. I think the big problem that soured it was the attitude of the person I talked to at the call center about my reservation. I had made the reservation using my points and was willing to pay an additional cash amount as was agreed to months before. The reservation using my points was denied though and I was told I was to pay the full amount . I asked for something in return because this was a lot of money that was unexpected and your rep was very belligerent about not giving up anything, not points, not a reduction in bill just nothing back. I agree that I was angry at that point but it was really because of her attitude. Eventually I got 5000 points but only because Corey was so helpful. September 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small Room, Convenient Location l stayed in room#311, it was a small room with poor room setting. The bed is right next to the door and no room for a medium size lugguage bag passing through. No recognition for my IHG Rewards Plantium Membership - no room upgrade offer, assigned with small poor room despite my booking with two months in advance. September 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, noisy/small rooms Rooms were very small and cramped except for the handicapped room we experienced (group of 7 with 3 rooms). You could hear EVERYTHING in the neighboring rooms (especially bathroom and water running). Neighboring buildings VERY noisy with early construction. The wireless access kept kicking us out but, in their defense, we didn't complain to see if it could be fixed. Breakfast was great for an express hotel. Wouldn't stay again unless the price was MUCH better than competitors. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chicago Adequate Hotel for a Holiday Inn Express. Hotel was a little smaller and older than what I'm used to, but otherwise, OK September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and convenient This Holiday Inn Express was clean and convenient, and located near a business meeting near Chicago's Magnificent Mile. Special kudos go to the breakfast staff, which provided a variety of items that were fresh. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel for the Right Price The location was awesome. You are in the middle of everything. The rooms are small but its a old hotel that was renovated so you can't do anything about that. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is solid but not spectacular. September 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good Location Easy to access the hotel, just a few small blocks from the Red Line station. Could do with an obvious alternative to stairs into lobby from street. Room was perfectly adequate other than lacking place to stow luggage (no luggage stand). Room was not as small as some in Europe, but my king bed room was average size for Chicago. Staff I interacted with were all courteous and efficient. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just what one needs This building, now operated by the IHG group, is an old Chicago hotel. Consequently, its rooms are a good deal smaller than more modern hotels in the group but nothing can really be done about that without major structural interior alterations. Many reviews I have read regard this as a negative factor but it did little to detract from my overall satisfaction. The rooms are well-equipped and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is really good and gives walking-distance access to many of the city's major shopping and tourist points. What you get is what you need for a relatively short visit to the Windy City. It is also what you expect of a Holiday Inn Express. If you expect a luxurious suite, you will be disappointed, but you must also be crazy to book here. If you are realistic in your expectations, this will more than meet them. September 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. The rooms are small and no chairs available in room. If you want to sit in a chair there is a lounge area downstairs you can use. The staff was great, rooms clean and aside from the lack of a seating area in room, you had all the comforts of home. September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property for location, staff We stayed here last weekend for a combination work / personal trip to Chicago. The location is fantastic with its proximity to all of the downtown attractions. We caught the bus and were able to travel down to Millennium Park for the Art Institute and the World Music Festival. The staff were wonderful, friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are small, but well apportioned. The breakfast was terrific as well. We'd stay again! September 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The Walls are Closing In .... Or Size Does Matter I just checked in for the 2nd time and was shocked at how small the room is. Called down to the front desk and they indicated that only rooms this small or slightly larger but with no desk were available. You walk in the room and hit the bed. It has half a closet and they put a mini dressor in their because there is no room for one. So your clothes can hang all the way down. It has a coffee maker but no plug anywhere by it's location. So you need to crowd it on your desk (if you are lucky enough to get one.) Last time I stayed in a room with a king bed and the room was small but not super cramped. I won't stay here again unless I can confirm a king bed a hope to get a whole room not half a room! September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente ubicación y amabilidad del personal Un hotel muy bien situado en el downtown de Chicago para acceder con comodidad a los lugares turísticos y de compras. Pequeño y confortable, su personal destaca por su amabilidad y disponen de wifi y acceso al business center gratuito. Totalmente recomendable. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel is very well situated and clean. The staff was great, Corey from front desk and Haji really helped in making our visit memorialble. They provided great information. Would definitely return. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Magnificent Hotel Cass The Hotel Cass / Holiday Inn Express Magnificent Mile is located very conveniently, only a couple of blocks from the Red Line (L Trains) and close to a bunch of restaurants and shops. Also a couple of car hire places within 2 blocks as well. This is a great little hotel with very friendly staff. A plentiful breakfast is included. My only niggles were that the external noise could be heard through the window and that the air conditioning is quite loud... that said, I sleep with earplugs in anyway so it didn't affect me, September 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean The staff was friendly and the room was clean. Breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn Express choices, unfortunately it was a sausage day, not bacon. The room was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The air conditioning unit was loud and the outside noises were clearly heard in the room. I think next time I stay in Chicago I'm going to try somewhere else. September 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well located and good staff We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in total and liked the hotel. Very well located and staff were helpful and courteous. Some guest rooms are however very small but after our first night we were moved to a better, more adequate room which was very satisfactory. We would recommend the hotel to others. September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by WAY TOO SMALL We were here in August 2014 for a One Direction concert. My complaints about this hotel that would have been nice to know ahead of time is the bathrooms are EXTREMELY TINY! My daughter had to change in the bathtub! We had 2 women and 2 girls in our room, this made it very hard. And the elevators were so slow. One morning we waited over 4 minutes for an elevator to come to our floor. I love Holiday Inn Express, but I won't be back to this one. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Access and Great Stay I traveled with two of my children and felt safe in the area. We were on foot most of the time and the staff was great at letting us know where bus lines ran and how to get around. Our room was small but very nice and exactly what we needed to relax and sleep. September 3, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Goldcoast Boutique Hotel Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast Entrance Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading