• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

A non refundable fee of 75.00 will be charged at check in. Pets over 40 pounds will not be accepted. Pets must be on a controllable leash at all times when outside of the guestroom. If in the room alone, pets must be placed in a crate or pet carrier.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Wrigley Field N
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Oak Street Shopping district
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
John Hancock Observatory SE
Distance From Hotel:0.7MI
Attraction:
Water Tower Place SE
Distance From Hotel:0.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:165
  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking - $45.00 overnight With in and out privileges
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:165
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:41
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:165
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12

One of the Most Unique Chicago Gold Coast Hotels

Take a deep breath and feel the peaceful calm of the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Downtown Gold Coast hotel. Situated within minutes of the Magnificent Mile, Old Town and many attractions in downtown Chicago, the hotel's location puts you in the heart of the Windy City. Guests relish the soothing, contemporary decor and seasonal touches while enjoying the award-winning service.

You can view the beautiful city sights while staying in one
View More

One of the Most Unique Chicago Gold Coast Hotels

Take a deep breath and feel the peaceful calm of the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Downtown Gold Coast hotel. Situated within minutes of the Magnificent Mile, Old Town and many attractions in downtown Chicago, the hotel's location puts you in the heart of the Windy City. Guests relish the soothing, contemporary decor and seasonal touches while enjoying the award-winning service.

You can view the beautiful city sights while staying in one of the most rejuvenating boutique-style hotels in downtown Chicago. The hotel's proximity to Oak Street's Boutique Row, a famous shopping mecca, puts guests within steps of gorgeous shops filled with stunning treasures. Guests also have easy access to the Lincoln Park Zoo and both North Avenue and Oak Street beaches for great family outings.

Business travelers enjoy our location's easy access to the downtown area while staying at one of the most centrally located hotels in Chicago. Commuting to the Loop and local universities, such as DePaul, Moody Bible Institute and Northwestern, is easy and hassle-free. Complimentary Wi-Fi access and a Business Center are ideal for putting those finishing touches on a business proposal or project.

Indulge yourself in rooms with hardwood floors and luscious bedding, and visit the on-site nail and facial spa. Guests can find refuge from the bustling city life while relishing this Chicago hotel's sense of style and tranquility.

View Less
Features
Find yourself in one of the most charming areas of Chicago: the historic Gold Coast. The hotel's Torchbearer Award is evidence of the exceptional services our guests receive at this ideal location.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 476 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Superior Staff!!! Let me preface my comments with the fact that we were not acquainted with this facility prior to our making our reservation. That said, we were not prepared for the small size of the rooms. All things being equal however, the size of the room was not a critical factor. What I do want this review to reflect is the superior service provided by the entire staff. That to me should speak volumes. The staff went to great lengths to ensure that all of our requests and needs were met with expedience and satisfaction. For that reason alone, this location should be considered by anyone visitng the Windy City. The location is ideal for travelers doing business in the vacinity of the Magnificaent Mile. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel We vacation in Chicago every summer and have stayed at a variety of hotels. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful no matter what time of day or night. While rooms may be small, we don't spend much time in it, they have everything we need. Easy off/on access to I-90 and close location to the L makes this an amazing place to stay. This just became our hotel of choice!!!! July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure Trip to Chicago We found the hotel, quaint, on a relatively quiet street and not too far from anything we needed to enjoy while exploring Chicago. From check-in to our final day we had fantastic service. it felt like a home away from home. Fran is an amazing, friendly and personable employee and we really appreciated everything he told us and helped regarding tickets and transportation. You rock!!! Across the street is Starbucks and a Trader Joes if you need anything, how convenient. The beds were very comfortable and pillows were awesome. The rooms were small but seriously, we weren't planning on performing cartwheels during our stay ha ha ha. Resting your head in a place that feels comfortable after a long day of exploring is exactly what they offer. Never a problem getting a cab out front, the door men certainly took care of that, and fast! Breakfast was delicious each morning, offering something for everyone, no disappointments. A lounge with big screen tvs to enjoy your coffee/tea and breakfast before heading out the door. Thanks again for a wonderful stay. If travelling to Chicago again . . we will definitely stay with you! July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We will definately stay again. My daughter and I stayed for a fun girls trip. We loved the location and could walk to everything. We will definitely return. July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and good service We were there for a long weekend and everything was good. The only comment is about the bathroom having the closet door broken and only bath amenities for one person and we were two. Breakfast good, as always. Good location and very kind staff. Recommended. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as always This is a great little hotel that is well positioned for workers and travellers alike. A clean environment from the moment you walk in the front door right through to your bathroom. The staff are great and welcoming and will help you out with local knowledge too on how to get somewhere are places to dine. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is this hotels greatest asset!! Short cab ride from the Union Station. We were greeted by an extremely polite and helpful staff. All of them were very helpful with directions, bus schedules and suggestions for local events and attractions. We were greeted everytime we entered the hotel. The doormen\baggage handlers were polite and helpful as well. I will certainly stay here when I return to Chicago. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by poor custom service The problem with this hotel is not the small rooms or the limited breakfast; it is the custom service. I will certainly never stay at this hotel again. My original booking was made in March for a stay in July. At that point, I made an online reservation for a standard room. I called that day or the day after to request two double beds as it was not an option to do so online. In early June I called to add an additional night and again requested two double beds. I was told this request would be guaranteed. I arrived at the hotel last Friday (over an hour before stated check-in time) only to find out that my room contained a queen bed (which was actually the size of a double). After inquiring about my specific request for two doubles, I was told there was no record of any of my phone calls. That response was quickly taken back when I stated there had to be some confirmation that I called to add an additional night. Clearly I called, and it is not my problem that my preference was not noted. After much back and forth, I was told by an extremely rude manager that my preference could only be guaranteed had I paid an extra rate. As I see it, I never had a chance for anything other than a queen bed since my preference was never recorded. I was told I could not move to a room with two double beds as the hotel was sold out but I would be the first to be called if another room became available. I was put in a room that accommodated a roll-away but then we had absolutely no room to move around. I received a phone call around noon the next day stating that another room with a king bed had become available. When I went down to get the key, I was greeted by an apologetic front desk clerk who said she had called the wrong room and the newly available room was actually going to be given to the family next door. I should note that she used my name in the original phone call and I had been told the previous day that I would be the first to be notified. I was furious at this point and, after a few more phone calls, got an additional room. I was grateful for that but, honestly, this should have been offered in the first place. Or, if the hotel was truly full, a room with two double beds should have been found for me at a nearby hotel. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. I went to Chicago on vacation and was busy out on the town most of the time. The room was very small but the bed was incredibly comfortable. It is probably the most comfortable bed I've ever had at a hotel room. Since all I really wanted the room for was to sleep, the small room didn't bother me at all and the bed made the room completely worth the money. However, it was a little bit noisy in the morning since the walls were rather thin. When we checked in it was really late and the person at the front desk was a bit short with us but later we went down to ask about restaurants and there was different person there and she was so helpful. When we checked out, everyone went above and beyond for us to hold our bags for the day so we could go around town before our plane left. Overall we had a great time staying here and would definitely come back. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay Location was great for visiting the Magnificent Mile, shopping, eating, and seeing sights. Unfortunately I had a 20 minute walk to my place of business. This was not the hotel's problem though, as it was the last hotel with room availability that could be direct-billed by my office. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to getaway for a long weekend. This hotel is at the perfect location - everything is in walking distance. We walked to the Taste of Chicago, Navy Pier, and along Magnificent Mile. The breakfast room/lounge area was spacious, very clean and modern too. The rooms were tiny, but we weren't in our room long anyway. They have small elevators, so be prepared to cram in because the hotel was overbooked each day we were there. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff were very courteous and accommodating. The room was clean, well kept, and the breakfast was a welcome addition. The location made it perfect to access for shopping the Northwestern University Medical Center July 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room Not Cleaned We waited until 4 pm for the call that our room was ready. When we got into our room, there were clothes in the drawers, food in the refrigerator and no toilet paper. We called the desk and they responded quickly to the cleaning needs but did not change the sheets. We figured that since the room wasn't cleaned, they likely didn't change the sheets from the previous visitor and then requested a room change. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Mag Mile This was the 3rd time I've stayed in this hotel, and will continue to do so. Very convenient walking distance to many of the tourist attractions in downtown Chicago, and only a few blocks from a transit station. If you are looking for a hotel with large rooms, this hotel is NOT for you, the rooms are quite "cozy", but who goes to Chicago to stay in the rooms, right? The prices are about average for the hotels on Mag Mile, but if there are events going on in the city, expect to shell out. Looking forward to my next visit! July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable weekend stay Good location. Room was not ready when I showed up shortly after 3PM, but I did get my room in less than 15 minutes after I made a bit of a fuss. Quality of breakfast food was not quite up to the level I had previously experienced at other Holiday Inn Express properties. Had to ride the elevator from the 15th to the 2nd floor to get ice or use the vending machines. As a senior citizen, I wish the hand bar above the tub was located in the middle rather than the back. Staff was friendly and helpful. Computer and printer in the Business Center worked perfectly for printing my boarding pass. Bed was very comfortable. July 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Only if you need this exact location The only reason I would stay here is if I needed this exact location. I stayed on the 12th floor, room 1203 I believe. The room is more or less the size of a large closet. You have about a 3ft perimeter of walking space around the bed and that is it. My room was street view, and there is a parking garage across the street that has one of those bell/alarms that goes off any time someone leaves the garage, which is quite often. The place is ok as far as cleanliness goes. The area behind the front desk was dirty with a layer of stuff on the tiles and a few small pieces of paper trash. The room was about par. The bathroom tissue had one roll of good stuff and the replacement rolls were thin and scratchy. If you need this exact location like I did it may be worth it. Next time I come for work I will just stay in the other holiday inn a few blocks away. They did not seem to care that I was a platinum rewards member with a healthy point balance. I even booked the higher rate room for the extra points and probably ended up with the smallest room they have. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and location The hotel location is excellent and close to everything. Chicago is very walk-able and this location is ideally suited to shopping, dining, and sightseeing. The hotel includes free breakfast and wi-fi, making it an exceptional value. I would highly recommend this property and would definitely stay here again. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service! I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family. the customer service was awesome. I was traveling with a toddler and arrived a couple of hours before check-in. I called and was told room wasn't ready but I could store my luggage there if I wanted to. By the time I arrived there, the room was ready, which was only about twenty minutes from when I called. So I was able to check-in and freshen up before heading out to enjoy the town. It also rained while I was there and the staff provided me with an umbrella. The rooms a little smaller than most, but overall it's a great hotel. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable beds, great staff very friendly staff, very accommodating. the room was very clean and comfortable. July 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Feelings The location of the hotel is great, the staff are very friendly and responsive, but I cant get past the fact that the room size is extremely small. If you are traveling alone or with just one more person I would say they are adequate. Any more than two and you are tripping over each other. The hotel it's self does not offer the same amenities I am accustomed to at a Holiday Inn Express. Less is not always more! July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and location Staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Location is also excellent. Very pleasant stay. July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great location, but..... Very excellent location. Rooms are really, really small....family of four very crowded, can't hardly move in room and bathroom is like a closet. Nice and clean though. Heard a lot of street noise into the night. Breakfast a bit sub-par for HIE, kept running out of things and had to ask staff to replenish. No cinnamon rolls at all on Sunday! However, I would stay again for location and price. July 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Zealous (Targeted?) Parking Enforcement Area Beware Out-of-State Visitors! This hotel seems to be in a targeted city parking enforcement zone. Soon (5 min) after arrival, while car in possession of valet, received $60 city ticket for one missing tag (my State does not enforce front tag requirement). Welcome to Chicago (not)! Staff claimed surprise, but seemed too coincidental. Rooms are small and street noise provided a few unwanted wake-up calls. Won't be back....with or without a car July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awsome Front Desk service As visitors for two days, we can not say enough good things about the ability and desire to assist us in directions and recommendations by the front desk staff. They helped us with directions, suggestions on places to eat and drink...entertainment, parking, and local favorites. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by everystaff member was wonderful- every staff member we saw said good morning. all had smiles! you could see that everyone loved their job. room was so clean! after being out all day-we came back to our room being cleaned- even our dirty laundry left on the floor was neatly folded. fresh sheets,and towels and refilled coffee packs ready. you can feel the staff cares about the whole experience we had. the front desk even helped my son find the perfect place to have lunch. they knew what bus # and the stop to use, to get us every where we wanted to go. from the early check in to the last minute- this hotel went way above my expectations. thank you so much for everything you all do. ms.virginia you rock! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Stay My spouse is disabled. We had the best customer service and room conditions we could have ever asked for! The rooms were clean. The staff was more than helpful with everything from information about the area to assisting with transportation, shuttles, etc. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff and Location Location is great for shopping in Chicago and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Room was small, but well designed and clean. Hard to get room to keep a comfortable temp and the windows didn't really block outside noise very well. But, would tell others to stay at this hotel based on price, staff and location. July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Won't be back! The overall design of the rebuild was based on getting as many people as you can into a small space. I would have paid more for a larger and more comfortable room. It reminded me of the "sleeper" compartment on Amtrak. The staff were great, but the accommodations were unacceptable. chuck hodge Maine July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and good value My stay was consistent with other HI Express locations: good location and good value based on the services offered. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Vacation - great location and service We have a family of 5 and used reward points to book 2 rooms on the 8th floor. The rooms are small but clean and served our purpose. The service from the front desk to the cleaning staff was great. They made us feel welcome and assisted as needed. The breakfast allowed us to eat for free before starting each day with a variety of items. The location is great for walking to shops and various places to eat. We ate across the street at Pizzeria Due and really enjoyed the food and service. The parking situation was not clear to me until arrival. Its a public parking garage around the corner for $44 per day or valet for $48. We chose the public parking and the walk was minimal but still a bit of a hassle - probably should have went with valet. Overall we would definitely recommend it based on the location, service and price. June 29, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Goldcoast Boutique Hotel Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast Entrance Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Lobby
Select to close.
Experience our neighborhood story with our guide pages.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading