• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

A non refundable fee of 75.00 will be charged at check in. Pets over 40 pounds will not be accepted. Pets must be on a controllable leash at all times when outside of the guestroom. If in the room alone, pets must be placed in a crate or pet carrier.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Wrigley Field N
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Oak Street Shopping district
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
John Hancock Observatory SE
Distance From Hotel:0.7MI
Attraction:
Water Tower Place SE
Distance From Hotel:0.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:165
  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking - $45.00 overnight With in and out privileges
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:165
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:41
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:165
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12
Take a deep breath and feel the peaceful calm of the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Downtown Gold Coast hotel. Situated within minutes of the Magnificent Mile, Old Town and many attractions in downtown Chicago, the hotel's location puts you in the heart of the Windy City. Guests relish the soothing, contemporary decor and seasonal touches while enjoying the award-winning service. You can view the beautiful city sights while staying in one of the most rejuvenating boutique-style hotels in downtown Chicago. The
View More
Take a deep breath and feel the peaceful calm of the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Downtown Gold Coast hotel. Situated within minutes of the Magnificent Mile, Old Town and many attractions in downtown Chicago, the hotel's location puts you in the heart of the Windy City. Guests relish the soothing, contemporary decor and seasonal touches while enjoying the award-winning service. You can view the beautiful city sights while staying in one of the most rejuvenating boutique-style hotels in downtown Chicago. The hotel's proximity to Oak Street's Boutique Row, a famous shopping mecca, puts guests within steps of gorgeous shops filled with stunning treasures. Guests also have easy access to the Lincoln Park Zoo and both North Avenue and Oak Street beaches for great family outings. Business travelers enjoy our location's easy access to the downtown area while staying at one of the most centrally located hotels in Chicago. Commuting to the Loop and local universities, such as DePaul, Moody Bible Institute and Northwestern, is easy and hassle-free. Complimentary Wi-Fi access and a Business Center are ideal for putting those finishing touches on a business proposal or project. Indulge yourself in rooms with hardwood floors and luscious bedding, and visit the on-site nail and facial spa. Guests can find refuge from the bustling city life while relishing this Chicago hotel's sense of style and tranquility.
View Less
Features
Find yourself in one of the most charming areas of Chicago: the historic Gold Coast. The hotel's Torchbearer Award is evidence of the exceptional services our guests receive at this ideal location.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 492 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! My only concern is that parking is inconvenient. Everything else was excellent! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location on the magnificent mile! This hotel is in the perfect location to visit Chicago. After having your complimentary breakfast, it is about a 2 block walk to be in the heart of the Magnificent Mile. It is also a quick walk to reach the elevated train system or the river to take a river taxi or boat tour! All in all my family had a great time staying at this hotel! June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, service and price Excellent location, very walkable to downtown attractions and convenience to public transportation, above average service and great price for downtown. Would stay there again without question. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay at the Magnificent Mile Holiday Inn Express AWESOME time at the Magnificent Mile Holiday Inn Express These guys know how to make you fell right at home. Everything is within walking distance. The staff here are of the best that I have encountered. Front desk is so helpful along with the guys greeting you at the front door. Very recommended to others looking for a nice hotel downtown Chicago. June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service, comfortable and wonderful location small room but quite comfortable. Bathroom tiny but serviceable. Terrific location. Staff extremely nice and helpful. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Pillows We loved the pillow selection. I want to buy the "soft" pillows! Fran was your best asset. Great personality and very knowledgeable and helpful. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location and great staff Would definitely stay here again if the price is right June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great location. My recent stay at The Holiday Inn Express on Wabash Avenue was a very pleasant experience. I was particularly impressed with the staff and their willingness to accommodate me from changing money, recommending restaurants, using their freezer, and even finding a way for me to have refrigeration for my medication (a shout out to Princess for making this possible). I also loved the hotel's location. Trader Joe's across the street, the original Uno's a block away, PF Chang, shopping, Chicago History Museum, Navy Pier--all the sights and sounds that makes a native Chicagoan happy to be home. The room itself was very comfortable and yes, it is small, but considering the location, this is just a minor blip on the whole picture. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small room but convenient location and comfy I was very impressed bu the food choices for their free continental breakfast... including omelet, sausage, oatmeal and juice. The room itself was very small.. you walk in and there's the bed two feet away... however, the bed was comfortable and we slept well.. aside from the group of drunk party goers returning to the hotel at 1am and banging on my door, I slept well. It was very quiet, but if anyone were to talk loudly in the hallway, it would be very easy to hear. This place is right by the Magnificent Mile.. it's a really great location. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant Chicago hotel We stayed here to be close to downtown Chicago and it worked out perfect. Everything was in walking distance as we had not rented a car and the suggestions made by the concierge, doorman etc. were all excellent. We had a wonderful visit to Chicago and this hotel couldn't have been any better. Recommend it highly. June 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness lacking My room was not adequately cleaned, which includes the fact that the toilet was not thoroughly cleaned. Although this hotel is in a good location for walking, the lack of cleanliness was not acceptable, and I know that other hotels are better serviced in the downtown area for a decent price. Not worth the stay. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by May on Chicago This hotel has always been a good plase to stay if making bussiness at the McKormick Center. At only 10 usd from thair in taxi and at walk distance of all the Magnificent Mile this is perfect for Bussiness and families. The actual room rates have gone out of proportion, you can get better for less in the same area. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, wonderful breakfast, and great location. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I did not feel unsafe in the hotel and the parking, check-in, and checkout were all very simple and user-friendly. The complimentary breakfast exceeded my expectations as well. June 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by I was charged more and have not received my money back I made my reservation for two room long time ago for the expo held in Chicago. First they did not want to give me one of the rooms, because they said I had just one room, even though they had charged me already for both rooms. I decieded I was not going anywhere until I had the other room I was already charged for. Finally, I was given the other room. Next morning, I found out that they had charged to my credit card another charge for 400 USD. When I ask what this charge was for, they said it was because of a sudden change of rate, EVEN THOUGH I HAD RESERVED BOTH ROOMS FOR THE SAME RATE!!! I show the email with both reservations and they said they were going to change them. Next day I asked if the changes were done and they were not. The manager said she was taking care of that, and that she was changing the "mistake" right away. When I checked out, both bills appeared to be correct. I called the bank today, and no money has been refunded. I called the hotel, and they said no changes have been done (so no money refunded) and the manager is not available. WHAT A JOKE! May 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny Room My son and I were visiting Chicago and planned a 2 night stay at your hotel. The staff was extremely friendly which was such a nice welcome after a 13 hour car drive from Long Island. When we got to our room it was so small I was so happy we put all of our belongings into one bag for the stay, I don't know where we would have put a second piece of luggage! The carpet in the room and the bench where I set down the bag was filthy!! I think the streets of the city were cleaner! The beds were clean and comfortable but the gymnastics that one had to perform taking footware off at bedside so as to not touch the dirty carpet was crazy! The bathroom while clean did not have a counter to rest any of our toiletries...made it quite interesting trying to dry ones hair with the sink being the only place to rest the dryer. The location as other reviews have said was perfect. Someone just needs to pay more attention to room makeovers! May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well appointed, very small room with VG bed. The good points: The staff is first-rate; friendly, helpful, understanding. Breakfast is excellent: a good variety of hot and cold options. The room is attractive and the bed very comfortable. The bad: The room was tiny--the smallest we have ever been in, and we have been stuck with a couple "closets" in the past, all outside North America. It was so small there was no room for a desk and chair, so we had to sit in bed to use our laptops. The bath is large enough--if they would put a couple shelves on the wall next to the sink. The biggest problem was noisy guests. Two nights in a row we were awakened 2-3 times well after midnight by people boisterously exiting the elevator, going to their room, then moving to another room--and back again. Moral: ask for a room as far from the elevator as possible. It won't eliminate the problem but it will help. In the end, the manager gave us a credit on the room for lost sleep and we were grateful for her understanding and willingness to make amends. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good choice This hotel is well located for a visit to Chicago. We parked our car in the parking garage next door and walked everywhere. Parking is expensive, $44.00 per night for self parking. $49.00 for valet. But, this is Chicago and there is no cheap parking. The hotel was very nice, and our room was nice, but very, very small. The room would be suitable for a single person, but for a couple, it was extremely crowded. Breakfast was very good and seating was adequate. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have no complaints, except for the room being too small. We would gladly stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Chicago. May 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location but Too Small a Room Before staying here our considerable experience with Holiday Inn Express was all at Interstate Hwy Holiday Inn Expresses. Nice big rooms with room to relax (uphostered chair and footrest for example). We were shocked when we saw how small the room was at this location - more like a European Hotel than American. Maybe all hotel rooms in a big city like Chicago are this small, but I doubt it. You could barely move around, and unless you wanted to nap, there was certainly no way to relax in the room between sightseeing and dinner. To save space there was a beside table and proper lighting on only one side of the bed. Too bad if your companion wanted to read or set anything next to the bed. The bathroom was also very small with a toilet that was just the right size for a 7 yr old, but was a pain for an adult. The sink competed with the toilet for the "small" prize. On the plus side, we loved the location which was perfect fpr us. We would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget, want a great location, and don't plan on spending much time in the room. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and room The location is perfect, the room was great and clean. I would definitely recommend and go back. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy Pick I stay here almost weekly for work and the staff here is really friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean, though I try to avoid the smallest size of their rooms as they are a bit tight and some don't have a desk. Wifi is fast. The only thing I wish the hotel would change is to switch from using Styrofoam during breakfast. I think paper plates/bowls/etc would do the trick and be a bit more environmentally friendly. Thanks! May 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, convenient location and enduring style You'll notice this no ordinary Holiday Inn, even though it has the usual conveniences. The staff are exceptional, which helps guests past the quirks of an older property. With private bathrooms in each room and a high rise design, this was a very luxurious hotel when it opened in 1927 as Hotel Cass. Our expectations of luxury have changed, but this hotel delivers a comfortable stay today. Rooms are small for families, but adventurous couples will enjoy the charming personality of this hotel. Road warriors like me will appreciate that this place has a soul and connection to its neighborhood that makes for a memorable stay. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by housekeeping and staff Housekeeper Lorraine was very helpful. Front door staff and bell staff were friendly and helpful. Thanks for a pleasant stay! May 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small but comfortable and convenient We were four hours late via Amtrak. When our taxi arrived at the hotel, the bellman was right there and helped with our bags. Check-in was quick and we were soon in our room. The room was small but very clean. There was a window, but it looked into a solid concrete wall. and there was no light. I had a problem with a stuck zipper on my luggage and they had a service person help with that quickly and efficiently. The restroom was clean and supplied. The bed was extremely comfortable and the TV, Wi-Fi and coffee maker worked, Also the climate control worked as we like it so we had a good night sleep. The breakfast met our expectations which is why I always choose this chain. Unlike most Holiday Inns there was no swimming pool so I didn't get my morning workout. They had a fitness room, but as I am handicapped, I can't use the kind of equipment. Overall it was not the best HIE we've stayed in, but the basic needs were well met. I would stay here again. May 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by worst hotel and service - EVER!!! Arrived very late due to weather issues at Midway Airport.. When checking in at 3am I was told that the custodian would have to let me into my room due to key programming issues and they would slide my key card under my door once programmed. Never heard of this ever! After arriving at 3am in the morning I was put on the 14th floor where I was woken up at 7am due to construction going on rooms around my room, I called front desk and spoke to a gentleman who said they were not to start that early and he would handle it. Well...it continued. 9am...knocking on my door for maid service...note...I was just there for that night for a conference in Chicago (maid service should have a list of rooms of people checking out same day) I informed them I was checking out at noon that day - 10am, knock on my door - maid service - surprise!!! REALLY...after this I spoke with my wife and she travels 3 weeks out of the month and she made a call to the front desk and spoke with Jackie (Manager) who was very rude to say the least...and have left a call for the GM - Todd and no call back as of yet! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!! May 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff were bullies when told what needed to be done Staff told how to handle billing, told no problem then when problems were confronted they appeared surprised. Asked for cleaning the room before check out, should check which guests are about to leave avoiding to ask for room serviced to the ones who are about to leave within hours May 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Small, but comfortable rooms. The location is great. The hotel is well maintained and clean. Rooms are small with no comfortable seating. However, the beds are very comfortable and can easilty watch the large screen TV. May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is great. The staff here is great. Everytime I've checked in they great you warmly, and are always willing to ask questions whether they be about directions or restaurants. Keep up the good work, I'll be back. The hotel's location to Mag mile and restaurants on Rush is great! May 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown location I had a meeting at city hall so I chose this location for easy travel to/fro. Some of the staff were very helpful, but when I checked in, it was quite late and the front desk was less than helpful... May 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wonderf staff The front desk staff was absolutely wonderful. One particular front desk member called the guests by their first name...it made everything very welcoming when you were coming in and out and the staff would say "Welcome Back!" Or "See you Later". And the valet was awesome. Great guys! Rooms were a little on the small side...but the front desk assured us that even though the rooms were small, they would offer great service and they did :) April 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Alright but not too nice location wise is nice place in downtown Chicago but the room are too small to stretch. April 30, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 18 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Goldcoast Boutique Hotel Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast Entrance Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Experience our neighborhood story with our guide pages.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading