• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Slovak

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

A non refundable fee of 75.00 will be charged at check in. Pets over 40 pounds will not be accepted. Pets must be on a controllable leash at all times when outside of the guestroom. If in the room alone, pets must be placed in a crate or pet carrier.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Wrigley Field N
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Oak Street Shopping district
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
John Hancock Observatory SE
Distance From Hotel:0.7MI
Attraction:
Water Tower Place SE
Distance From Hotel:0.7MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:165
  • Car Parking Available
  • Valet parking - $45.00 overnight With in and out privileges
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 45.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 45.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:165
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:41
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:165
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:12
Take a deep breath and feel the peaceful calm of the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Downtown Gold Coast hotel. Situated within minutes of the Magnificent Mile, Old Town and many attractions in downtown Chicago, the hotel's location puts you in the heart of the Windy City. Guests relish the soothing, contemporary decor and seasonal touches while enjoying the award-winning service. You can view the beautiful city sights while staying in one of the most rejuvenating boutique-style hotels in downtown Chicago. The
View More
Take a deep breath and feel the peaceful calm of the Hotel Indigo® Chicago Downtown Gold Coast hotel. Situated within minutes of the Magnificent Mile, Old Town and many attractions in downtown Chicago, the hotel's location puts you in the heart of the Windy City. Guests relish the soothing, contemporary decor and seasonal touches while enjoying the award-winning service. You can view the beautiful city sights while staying in one of the most rejuvenating boutique-style hotels in downtown Chicago. The hotel's proximity to Oak Street's Boutique Row, a famous shopping mecca, puts guests within steps of gorgeous shops filled with stunning treasures. Guests also have easy access to the Lincoln Park Zoo and both North Avenue and Oak Street beaches for great family outings. Business travelers enjoy our location's easy access to the downtown area while staying at one of the most centrally located hotels in Chicago. Commuting to the Loop and local universities, such as DePaul, Moody Bible Institute and Northwestern, is easy and hassle-free. Complimentary Wi-Fi access and a Business Center are ideal for putting those finishing touches on a business proposal or project. Indulge yourself in rooms with hardwood floors and luscious bedding, and visit the on-site nail and facial spa. Guests can find refuge from the bustling city life while relishing this Chicago hotel's sense of style and tranquility.
View Less
Features
Find yourself in one of the most charming areas of Chicago: the historic Gold Coast. The hotel's Torchbearer Award is evidence of the exceptional services our guests receive at this ideal location.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 443 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive for an Old hotel This hotel is old, and the supposedly renovated rooms leave one wondering who they employed to chose the decor. The beds were awful, and the rooms were dark and dingy due to the decor. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room was spacious I was impressed with the size of our room and the two queen beds. The staff was very friendly. The view of the skyline was great. Location of the hotel was perfect. The only bad side was the website advertised a 40th floor restaurant which was closed. Also, the restaurant menu was changed and not updated. The digital cable went in and out so you could not enjoy a show. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay Staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were clean. Was located in a great location. No complaints. September 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by this hotel is not to be recommended due to cost-benefits the Sky lounge descripted online is not available You can have your breakfast in a dark restaurant at the ground floor of the hotel, opened also for out visitors, where you cannot receive special setting or welcoming as a guest of the hotel The room was dark also if it was at 14th floor. Dusty smelling everywhere Not smiling or welcoming staff at my arrival September 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by don't stay on the 15th floor - NOISY one of the noisiest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. constant noise from the loudest ice machine ever and some mechanical equipment that would grind to a start, last 15 seconds, then bang to a stop and repeat every 90 seconds or so. if you aren't a heavy sleeper make sure you aren't on the 15th floor. otherwise, the hotel is in a great location, the staff and the rooms are nice. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by impressed I was very pleased with my recent stay at Crowne Plaza on Mag mile. I stayed here for 2 nights to attend concerts downtown. The location was convenient and there was a lot of nightlife in the area. The bed was so comfortable and the hotel is clean. I would stay again and recommend it to anyone looking! September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Get Away My wife and I just stayed two nights in the Crowne Plaza for long leasurely weekend and had a wonderful time. The location was perfect for getting around down town, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was very nice and clean. We had a room with a view the Magnificant Mile toward the north, which was a nice touch. The English Pub in the lobby was great and the people there were very friendly as well. We will definitely come back and stay. Soon, I hope! September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing views from the high floors There are many beds in Chicago. There are few though with a view matching the one from a corner suite on high floor in the Chicago Magnificent Mile. To wake up in the morning and see the sun rising over Michigan lake from your bed without even getting up - how many places can say that? Add to this the friendly and helpful staff and you get a place you want to come back to. From the seasoned front desk supervisor Krassimira to the receptionist-in-training Stephan - you get the help you need and the attention you deserve. Will definitely come back. September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lacking and Loud My husband and I frequently visit Chicago and stay at a different hotel each time. The rate at the Crowne Plaza is what attracted us to the hotel this time. The location is great. Just a block off Michigan Avenue. I will say the air conditioning unit in our room was extremely noisy. Every time it kicked on in the middle of the night it would wake us up. Also, upon arriving back at the hotel in the evening, I was sadly disappointed that they didn't have a gift shop at all or anything on site to get a bottle of water. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The "Heart of Chicago!" Our stay at the Crowne Plaza exceeded our expectations! The location was in the heart of everything that we had planned. The room was great and it even overlooked Geno's East Deep Dish Pizza! The hotel staff answered all of our questions and were most helpful. My wife really enjoyed the swimming pool on the roof! We ate in the Crown Plaza Restaurant and all the meals were great! My wife and I will return to Chicago and we will select the Crowne Plaza again! September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! Very comfortable room and the staff was great at meeting all my expectations. I was a little disappointed that the sky lounge was closed so unless I order room service I had to go out for breakfast. The accommodations were great, very spacious, clean, and modern. Room had a great view of the lake! September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience Went to visit Chicago for the first time. Loved the location and the hotel. Staff was very pleasant, gym was nice and clean, overall great experience. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect night for our Anniversary Booked this with IHG points for our 10th anniversary. Stayed Friday night of Labor Day weekend. Front desk staff was attentive and courteous - had to ask for valet, as they were off doing other things, but they showed up before we were done with check-in. Not sure if valet is required - I believe you can self-park for the same price in garage connected to hotel. So, as many others have written, this is next door to Northwestern Memorial Hospital, so it's a near constant parade of screaming sirens. If you like or need quiet, I wouldn't recommend staying here. To minimize the impact, here's your tips: 1. Ask for a high floor - there's 40 floors, the lower you go, the louder the street noise. 2. Ask for a corner suite upgrade - you can't book with points, but we were upgraded (based on IHG level or availability, not sure) and the views were AMAZING. Room 3616 had views of all of downtown, Mag mile below, and the lake to the east. Not to mention, the room is very large and comfortable. 3. Read the sign - Don't touch anything in the mini-bar that you don't want to pay for - don't even open the door. There's sensors and if you move it, you bought it, even if you try to put it back. September 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value for the Location The location if the hotel was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful to me in finding my way through downtown. The room was ok. I could tell they had been renovated, but I pay attention to detail so the walls were a bit dirty, as well as the windows. The carpet looked a little old and overall the room was small and boutique like. It appeared the hotel had a different name prior to being the Crowne Plaza. It would have been nice to know this upfront. The value was good, especially to be smack dead in the middle of great shopping and restaurants. I like a little more luxury and bigger rooms, but I would recommend it. September 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would love to visit post renovations Staff were excellent. Friendly, knowledgable and accessible. The converted train station was pretty cool. Due to renovations we could not experience all that this will have to offer. Only downside was there was no natural light (no windows to outside). September 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by great dissapointment We chose the Crown Plaza because we had a very positive experience with the one in Copenhagen. As soon as we arrived, we realized that this hotel was not in the same class. The carpet in our room had a large tear. Of the two queen beds, one was so soft (old?) that one rolled to the center in it. There was no water fountain in the entire hotel and no refrigerator in the room - only a minibar with a sign indicating that opening it would result in a charge and that refrigerators could be rented at a cost of $20. The in-room coffee maker was a very inexpensive model of poor quality. One had the impression that the management of the hotel were cutting corners despite the 5 star price of the room. The staff were warm and helpful but this did not make up for the poor quality of the accommodations. As a result of our experience, we will not choose a Crown Plaza hotel again. August 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by OK stay not without issues I stayed here for one night and the service from the staff was good but the room had a few flaws. The refrigerator was behind the door to the room and almost blocked access to the entry way. The toilets didn't flush very well and took 2-3 flushes to clear a single tissue. The sink also didn't drain very well but at the point we found the toilet issues it wasn't worth the hassle to change rooms. Atleast in regards to the sink you would think the cleaning staff would have noticed that. The next time I am in the area I would definitely stay at a different hotel. Not terrible just seemed like some attention to detail was lacking. August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Book missing. I left and realized I did not pack my book that I had gotten as a gift. Then I realized I didn't see it before I left. It wasnt there. I last saw it on Friday, and we checked out Sun. Because I booked with two points nights, and one reward night, I felt that the cleaners may have mistaken that I was checking out Sat and not Sun. So, I called, asked for housekeeping, and told them my room number, that it was left on the table by the TV, and was a book about the FDNY on September 11th. I was already a few hours away, at a rest area, riding my motorcycle home. I was told I was going to get a call back by housekeeping. I never heard back. I am not saying my book was stolen, I just don't know where it went because it was so important to me (I am a firefighter from Boston) and was autographed by a very prominent firefighter/author. I was ashamed that I was already on the road, but didn't have the book. I checked the room for my belongings twice before leaving and since it wasn't where I left it, I just forgot about it, until it hit me like a ton of bricks when I was riding down the highway. So I pulled over, checked my little storage space, and not seeing it or having it, called the hotel. My concern was that my reservation was spilt in two, and as a Priority Club member, I could not book my three nights together. This was apparent when I tried to get into my room on my third night when my card didn't work. It only recognized the first two nights, not my reward night. So, I don't know if the cleaner thought I was supposed to be out of the room and removed the book. I was also very disappointed because I left a nice tip and then realized it was definitely gone a few hours later. If it was stolen and the manager was covering up for her people, I was still expecting a call stating it was not found, as I had given my phone number to contact me. I have never had an item go missing from a room, nor have I ever written a review. I have always praised Holiday Inn/Crown Plaza/IHG but am perplexed on how this book that was very special to me would just disappear or go missing and not get a return call. August 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely heated pool on top floor with super views. Very comfortable bed. Nice room temperature. Everything was super, we got a double room with a sitting room off it. Location was great just off Mag mile. Only gripe the bar and restaurant were very old fashioned and smelled like a wet dish cloth, but there are lots of lovely bars and restaurants about. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Diamond This hotel is a diamond one block off the magnificient mile. They recognize IHG rewards members, room upgrade and a complimentary pack with water and energy bars; no executive level with snacks and drinks. Front desk was more than accomodating, provided exceptional service. Doorman gave recommendations on local restaurants and pointed out area of interest. In reading many reviews, i was hesitant as they tell that reward members are not recognized. When I arrived, I was given a welcome bag, a room upgrade and coupons for discounted breakfast and free drinks in the attached tavern. Drawbacks are the $60 a night parking, but parking is pretty pricey everywhere, and the rooftop pool. Small pool, but it is a rooftop pool. I would recommend giving it a go. Room was clean and property was well maintained. August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pool area is very small Overall, I would say that our stay was fine. We didn't have any issues with the room cleanliness. But we did have a couple of minor issues over all: We had eight women staying in two rooms, and two women staying in another room, and yet, the two women were given the larger room (which was odd). We ended up switching rooms. We also had a bit of problem checking in. I paid in full for the three rooms, but the entire payment went onto one room. So, when two women tried to check in, they attempted to bill them for their room. They waited for an hour until I got there with my paperwork in order to check them in. Also, the pool is very small. I think that there is a total of 10 lounge chairs. So, our entire group took up basically every chair that they had, and I felt bad that other people staying in the hotel were unable to relax at the pool. There were atleast 30-40 people out at the pool at the height of the afternoon. The location is great. It was clean and well maintained. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Location The staff was exceptional from check-in to check-out. Very informative and always happy to help. Smiles and greetings all around. Room was very clean and daily service did not miss a beat. This is a great location for a girls weekend. Food, shopping and drinks all in walking distance. PS: It would be great if IHG Club Members received a small discount on the mini bar. Even $1 off the bottles of liquor would have been great. We went out of our way and went to the bar next door. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing room! 2 friends and myself stayed at Crowne Plaza, expecting to share a king size bed. The lady upgraded our room, and we had a king size bed and a couch! She was amazing and so friendly! Would definitely stay there again! Loved Chicago! August 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Forgettable Experience Beginning with my arrival, this location failed to impress. Employee working front kiosk barely made eye contact and did not greet me with a smile. There were 3 or 4 visible employees and I suppose I chose the wrong one to approach. She gave me a standard welcome while looking down at either a computer screen or something on the desk more interesting than myself. When I gave my name it took a few moments for her to find me in the system and issue a room card. I had made the reservation two weeks in advance so it shouldn't have been a surprise that I was arriving. D minus for not being more welcoming. My room was on 14th floor and while fairly large, this room is in dire need of updated furniture. The bed was comfortable and the linens seemed clean but overall the room was a little dingy. The carpet and curtains both looked old and even with lots of windows the room felt too dark. The door to the outside balcony was locked. Would have been nice to take advantage of the view or step out for air. My stay was for 3 nights and I considered changing hotels after the first day. Location is great...attached restaurant basic and again, felt the staff there could have been more friendly. I travel constantly with my job and usually stay in hotels 10 to 15 nights per month. I've been treated worse but I have also been treated much better. I plan on choosing a different hotel on my next trip to Chicago. I hope this feedback helps. Thank you. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just Perfect Amazing location. Reasonable price. They offer upgrate and the staff was great. Perfect hotel in the pefect location August 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convient location and easy access to premiere shopping Had a great experience. Rooms were comfortable. Staff was very helpful in directing us to excellent restaurants and helping with city navigation. Location was easy to access CTA train system. Biggest help was staff was willing to hold luggage after check-out until ready to leave for airport. Only con was some staff members were difficult to understand because their English was heavily accented. I have a hearing loss and this made hearing and communication difficult. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Flexible and accomodating My friends and I stayed for two nights during the chaos that is Lollapalooza. They managed to not only merge two single-night reservation for us seamlessly, but since they couldn't fulfill our request for 2 queen beds (we booked king-size rooms so they were under no obligation to do so), they offered to upgrade us to a corner king suite with a fold-out couch for no up-charge. It's hard to argue with that kind of service when the staff's nerves were probably pretty frayed from madness I'd guess is second only to St. Pat's weekend. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location The property is just off Michigan Avenue and in a great spot to walk to everything you'll want to do in that area. We did receive a very nice room but the condition was a little "tattered". Obviously an older property that had been remodeled and still utilized floor model heating and air conditioning units that were noisy. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First time in Chicago First time in Chicago and this was an amazing location, walk to everything! Very reasonable price for location, room was very spacious. Only low point was desk staff were very slow compared to other hotels I've stayed at, took about 30 minutes at check in - this was with the check in person, not including the wait time in line. August 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it! Great location and service, and comfortable updated room. The staff was very efficient and helpful. Would definitely return. August 10, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Goldcoast Boutique Hotel Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Boutique Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast Entrance Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading