• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Grassmarket
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 401 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Quiet and relaxing As first time users of Holiday Inn Express we were very impressed by our overall experience and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 OK for one night! We were 4 ladies on a shopping trip. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. We were allowed to check in early to leave our luggage while we went for lunch and shopping. The room was well equipped and modern if a little small. Bed was comfy. Shower excellent. Room temperature ok. Breakfast was excellent and a good choice but no bacon or haggis or black pudding. On checking out we were allowed to leave our luggage again to do more shopping before catching the train home. Good wifi. All in all it was worth what we paid and would stay again when next visiting edinburgh. November 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Staff during my 2 day stay were always polite, helpful and cheerful. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast had plenty of options. Amazing price. Central for the Playhouse and Princes Street. Would quite happily stay again next time I visit Edinburgh. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good base for visiting Edinburgh A warm, clean and value for money hotel in the City centre ideal for any City break. Will be back again!! November 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing room room situated at rear of hotel on ground floor, was just what was needed to get on with the last part of work, reports emails etc. the front hotel rooms would I'm sure offer an excellent view of the area, with shops and many places to eat... worth looking into. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by chill out overnight stay from the excellent position of hotel to the very pleasant November 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No frills, good service, great location My experience here was consistent with that in Holiday Inn Express locations in the US. No frills stay, decent price (I booked well in advance). A bus from Edinburgh airport takes you to within walking distance of the hotel. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We spent 1 night here and couldn't fault anything. The staff at reception were very helpful and the cleanliness of the rooms 1st class . Will certainly recommend this Hotel and hope to be back. November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2014. We arrived late morning and were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we went off exploring. The hotel is well located, close to the tram and local buses. Also close to numerous restaurants and a cinema. The room was a bit sparse but otherwise okay and the bathroom was not as updated as some HIE places I have stayed at. It was very stuffy in the room overnight and I needed to put a fan on as I felt like I was suffocating - there is no AC in the rooms. The breakfast room was cramped and busy. It pays to breakfast at 7 - 7.30! Some of the advertised breakfast items were not available. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would easily recommend to anyone wanting to visit Edinburgh. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient and well located The title says it all, for work stays it is great, even if the sausages aren't ;) November 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First visit but not last Convenient location to tram system, quiet room at rear of hotel , friendly accommodating staff , standard fair for breakfast which is included in room rate November 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Hotel ever to be in Watch out for flies in food. Staff not cooperating Be prepared to sleep on springs of the bed. October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel visit My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your Edinburgh city centre hotel. With the staff very helpful in all aspects of their preferred work .This is the handiest place to stay if you are going to the Playhouse Theatre because of its location and also for shopping. October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location Very good location for theatre, cinema, restaurants, shops, train and bus stations. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Excellent location near to visitor attractions. George Street and Princes Street minutes away and also not far from Waverley Station. Very handy for us as we were at the Playhouse Theatre which is just across the road. October 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location overall very good in terms of price and location - tv didn't work and window wouldn't open October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bar prices. Thought the prices for drinks were expensive. I know this is city Centre prices but the hotel is not tourist area. Overall I will be back. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Professional, well-run hotel Nicely located and well-presented, the hotel has a lot going for it. It seems well-managed, with pleasant staff and agreeable decoration,and looks as if somebody cares about appearances. The big gripe was breakfast: it felt like a feeding frenzy - nowhere to sit, no space. We had to carry our tray of breakfast down the stairs to the bar below on our first morning. No big deal. But breakfast couldn't be relaxed and the choice stayed the same each day and the choice wasn't appealing. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Night away from home My stay was great the only thing i thought was a problem was that i neede more towels other than that it was good October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location Have used this hotel for overnight stays while at the theatre opposite. It has always been clean and tidy and the staff always helpful. Room was comfortable and well equipped, breakfasts were a bit chaotic but you soon get the hang of it, plenty to eat and drink, great variety or beverages. Luggage storage is a great benefit. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay Clean, comfortable quiet room. Friendly staff. Relaxed atmosphere in bar in the evening. Only complaint - breakfast very busy and a bit stressful but the hotel was full. October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, ideal location, great value for money. This is a Holiday Inn Express hotel, so it has a bit less luxury than the regular HI hotels (no in-house gym, for instance). But I was positively surprised. The rooms were basic but clean, breakfast was good (again, more basic than the HI hotels), and checkin / checkout was very efficient. Besides, the location of the hotel is great. Recommended! October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Booked this hotel as being the most convenient for visiting the theatre which was immediately across the road. Reception staff was welcoming and explained about breakfast times and free Wi-Fi etc. The room was a good size as was the shower room. The breakfast was a self-service buffet. The breakfast room was very crowded as it was not very big and it was difficult to get a table. Over all our one night stay was ideal and met all our needs. October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Theatre Break We have stayed at several Holiday Inn Express throughout the UK including 2 others in Edinburgh and this particular Hotel tops the list for us,excellent access to all attractions especially the Playhouse Theatre would highly recommend to all. October 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and reliable city centre hotel We normally stay in this hotel when visiting Edinburgh, and always find it just right for our needs. On this occasion, one or two small things needed attention in the bathroom, and we were disappointed by finding very stale croissants at breakfast; but apart from that, HIE lived up to our expectations, and we shall continue to use it. October 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, poor breakfast I booked two rooms at this hotel due to it's close proximity to the Edinburgh Playhouse. The staff were helpful and pleasant, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the carpark was a bonus. In the morning we went down for breakfast, the selection looked good, but unfortunately the coffee was foul, the scrambled eggs were like tasteless rubber and the remaining cooked items looked so unappealing we left to go to a nearby coffee shop for breakfast. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location For shopping,theatre or sightseeing the hotel is perfect. Clean and comfortable room and very helpful and pleasent staff Nice relaxing bar with music and TV not to loud overall we had a excellent stay October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for a theatre visit. It was an excellent location just across the road from the theatre and very close to many excellent restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable.The staff were helpful and welcoming. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel but needing some minor caring The hotel is in a very central position ans would suit theatre goer or business guest. It was very busy and the breakfast in the "great room " was a squeeze with too many tables and chairs for the space allocated. The room we were given had a very annoying squeaking floor when we moved about in the room and air conditioning was not fitted at all. The shower gel ran out and no replacement was in the bathroom, I would have to go off to find a maid in the middle of my shower (I didn't bother !!) All in all the hotel was satisfactory but as a loyalty card holder I would have expected more. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient comfortable hotel Return visit to the hotel which appears to consistently provide good service and value for money. Breakfast is knowingly limited but simple and substantial. It's location in a very popular city attract many visitors and is always busy. The service provided always matches most needs. October 21, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading