• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Grassmarket
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 364 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel situated in a great place If travelling to Edinburgh, I would recommend this hotel, its situated in an ideal spot. Its practical, clean and the staff are lovely an friendly. October 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Confortable room but poor breasfast The hotel is very well located and gave an attractive, comfortable stay. The main downside was the poor range of hot items at breakfast-a much smaller range than at other budget hotels we have stayed at, including some other Holiday Inn Expresses. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel is in a great location! If you are visiting Edinburgh on Holiday, it is hard to beat the location of this hotel. It is located a short walk from most of the major tourist and shopping locations in the city. The train station is only blocks away, and if one is lightly packed with a small roll aboard or backpack, it is an easy walk to the train station. There are ample dining experiences right around the hotel, and a nice British pub across the street. The Edinburgh City Centre Enterprise Rent-a-Car facility is right around the corner (less than 1 minute walk). The rooms are typical European small (as compared to much larger American style hotel rooms), but they are clean, comfortable, and quiet. This is a great get away hotel! September 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second Express on trip through Scotland The location was great for visiting the Castle, Royal Mile etc. Spent 3 nights and walked everywhere easily. Super access from the airport via the Tram. One block from the end of the line to the hotel and one block to catch it back to the airport. Can't get easier. Only knock on the place was the bed! It was very low to the floor and very soft. We both had poor sleeps. The bed at Sterling was much better. The other beef was the room temp. No AC so they relied on a fan. It was rattling and with the weather humid the room was warm. Under the covers you got warm and sweaty and then off with the duvet and you got cold and damp. They don't use a top sheet over here so it was the duvet on or off. If there was a top sheet it would have helped. Not sure why they don't use a top sheet but seems like all the HIEX are the same here. If we had of been staying for a week we would have gone to the Crown Plaza's. But for 2 or 3 nights it was ok but would have been much better if they had a comfortable mattress. September 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Going downhill Very slow and unorganised at check in - not recognised as IHG member - one room completely messed up on a group booking - brusque don't care attitude - breakfast a complete scrum - used to be great - isn't now September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! Great hotel very centrally located. Great breakfast, good choice of rooms. Very clean. September 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & Well located Hotel We stayed at this Holiday Inn Express from Friday 12/09/14 till 15/09/14 as a, long week end away from London. The location was ideal as it was our first visit to Edinburgh, a vibrant city. When we booked we asked for a standard double room and we expected a double bed. Unfortunately when we arrived late night on Friday we were given a room with twin bed. I suggest when you book and if you are couple make sure that you specifically mention that you want a double bed. However the following two nights they re-allocated us a new room. The staff are friendly and polite and breakfast is ok. September 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not the Holiday Inn that you are used to Booked this hotel based on great experiences staying at Holiday Inn hotels for both buisness and liesure travel in the past........ This hotel did not live up to the expectation that comes with the name. The staff at the front desk were great, friendly and curteous, no complaints there at all. Aside from the staff at the desk, the rest of the stay felt like I was in a cheap hotel somewhere in eastern Europe. Had it not been for a lack of availability at other establishments in the same part of town, I would have checked out immediately. I will not in the future judge Holiday Inn hotels based on this stay, but I will be more cautious when booking. September 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average HIE Great building from the outside, and good location. Interior is not so great, with a few strange steps and creaking hallway floors, and no wardrobes. Breakfast is good. September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A hotel my family and I can count on The HIE Edinburgh City Centre is the hotel of choice for my family and me. From the time of booking to the time of check-out, we know we can count on it. It is that kind of 'no worry' experience that makes us go back to this hotel from time to time. The quality of service, the nice people, the no nonsense breakfast, the great location (just minutes' of walk from Waverly Station), the excellent value for money, the recognition of IHG membership and enjoyment of benefits, etc, all make this hotel stand out amongst the rest. September 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Muy buen hotel Muy recomendable por trato del personal, ubicación y precio-servicio September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room good breakfast poor Room was clean and spacious enough but too warm. After opening window it was obviously noisy. Bathroom good. Breakfast very poor, bland , with little fresh healthy choice. Poor quality white sliced bread was the only bread on offer. Croissants were not fresh tasting. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs air conditioning Excellent staff Brilliant location Very warm rooms needed air conditioning September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central location Brilliant central location just at the end of the tram line. Friendly & helpful staff, usual comfortable, clean & modern rooms. Breakfast lacks the quality that could be achieved with better ingredients but is adequate. Plenty of good restaurants & pubs within short walk. August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Warm and welcoming staff Great location. Great welcome. Good choice of breakfast. Superb weekend break. Thanks August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location good value for money Great location when visit the Fringe. the price was included breakfast which was great. August 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location but poor sleep Very convenient central location but I had an interrupted night's sleep because the room was too hot and the cleaning staff woke me in the morning by knocking loudly on the door despite the "Do Not Disturb" sign being displayed. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent efficiency Always expensive in Edinburgh during the festival but worth it for staying close to all the venues etc. especially as I needed to keep going back to hotel to warm up and dry out as it was so rainy. Lovely calm, efficient and polite staff at such a busy time. Please, please get some real coffee for breakfast! Had to go out to get a decent cup, such a shame. August 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive but worth it for a one-off. I was in Edinburgh for a one-off event and this was one of the few places left which was relatively near to where I wanted to be. I expected it to cost a bit more, not only because of its location but also because it was Edinburgh Festival time. On the whole it was a nice stay. My only minor complaint was the Great Room at breakfast - the tables were crowded so close together, it was a bit of a struggle to get around, especially with a loaded tray of food. The hotel claims to have accessible rooms but there is no way you could get a wheelchair or someone on crutches even near the breakfast bar because the aisles left between tables were so very narrow. Given this is likely a very popular spot, the layout of the breakfast room really does need a rethink. Perhaps there should be an overspill into the extensive bar one floor down? Or perhaps reduce the number of tables? Apart from that, it was a lovely stay. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Leisure Vacation Nice little spot convenient location, tram to airport across the street and close to all attractions. Very basic but what more do you need. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff We enjoyed our stay. Any staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We were kept awake by a fan until around 2a.m. Excellent location for all attractions. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CALM IN THE MIDST OF STORM We arrived at the hotel on a very busy morning when the city was packed with visitors for the Festival and the Tattoo. Although busy, the reception staff greeted us warmly and allocated us our very comfortable room. The hotel is centrally situated a few hundred yards from the York Place stop for the Edinburgh tram and within walking distance of all the city's main attractions. We enjoyed our short stay at this hotel and would return again. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Don't be late for breakfast Nice central location very close to the end station of the tram from the Airport.. Quiet, clean rooms with kind and friendly staff. The only negative experience was a very crowded breakfast room with too little staff for keeping up with the consumption of milk and production of waste. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great all round hotel Good central location and friendly staff , room was spotless and very quiet considering how busy the hotel was . August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and location Looking for a hotel is difficult during the festival and glad this came up as an option. Really conveniently located and really good value for booking in advance. Compared to similar hotels, great to have a free hot breakfast option. Will definitely consider in staying in other HI Expresses. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in central location Enjoyed our stay during festival. Clean comfortable rooms Breakfast was plentiful but disappointed with sliced bread and no breakfast type fruit eg BANANAS! We don't eat apples for breakfast! However I did ask and on our second morning the very helpful lady produced bananas . We are vegetarian so were able to eat eggs but there was no veggie sausages either.. perhaps we could have ordered, I am not sure. Overall though a great stay would def revisit Thank you August 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by disasterous hotel do not use this hotel if you need a good nights sleep followed by a relaxing breakfast August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by central only one real gripe,too hot ,had little fan but did not cool down very well August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent overall service We really enjoyed our two nights at the Hotel.At some stage we would like to come back and spend a week there,and see some more of the sights.The Hotel is quite near most of the sites.,and the bus service is good..Just one complaint.We usually find a Gideon Bible in the room,but looked in vain this time.Trust that will be available next time August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well looked after in good position for city All in all a good experience in a comfortable hotel close to the main sights and station. Staff were attentive and happy to help. Pleasant bar/lounge area for drinks and as a meeting point. As a family room a little cramped but acceptable and unconventional design of bathroom a little odd. Breakfast could have offered more variety and pastries were a little dry. August 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading