• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6KM
Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4KM
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1KM
Attraction:
Royal Yacht Britannia
Distance From Hotel:2.2KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired
You can feel the palpable
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired
You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood
If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’.

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.
Announcements
From 6.15am on 31st May 2014 you will be able to board the newly launched airport tram service from Edinburgh airport. Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is right beside the last stop on the tram line and
View More
Announcements
From 6.15am on 31st May 2014 you will be able to board the newly launched airport tram service from Edinburgh airport. Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is right beside the last stop on the tram line and getting to the hotel from the airport couldn't be easier. One way tickets will be £5.00 per adult and the journey will take approximately 30 minutes.Return tickets will be £9.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 207 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous service all round Would definitely recommend this hotel again, just a pity the rate was a little more expensive than expected but this was due to the Highland Show on in Edinburgh at the same time. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and small Tucked away behind the Royal Mile in the vey centre of the town is this small budget hotel offering great service. Service at reception was friendly and efficient. I was able to register although ahead of time. Room was welcoming, clean and very comfortable and provided everything needed for a good night's rest. June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't say enough about the STAFF. Conveniently located to all the sites. Within walking distance. If I could remember all their names I would list them but each and everyone that worked between June 16, 2014 and June 25, 2014 was very friendly, courteous, and very helpful in scheduling tours, taxis and anything I needed. I cannot think of anything that I ask for that I did not receive. If there was a higher rating of 10 I would give it. June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and good value. We stayed whilst visiting the University open day with our daughter. We had a family room which was comfortable and adequate for a short stay. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the location could not be beaten for proximity to all the central attractions. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Stayed at the Cowgate Holiday Inn for 6 nights on a trip to Edinburgh. Had a wonderful stay. We wanted a quiet hotel that was in Old Town near the Royal Mile. This hotel did not disappoint. We could walk to everything in Edinburgh. The staff was outstanding, worked hard to meet our needs. It is only one block off the Royal Mile but so quiet you can get a great night's sleep. Breakfast was adequate, good selection of items. We would not hesitate to stay here again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good reception and friendliness Excellent value, in this friendly hotel. Very good service and friendly and helpful staff, esp. at front desk, Room was comfortable and clean and quiet. Would use this hotel again and would recommend it to my friends It's location was perfect, near the bridge the buses etc. The fact that we had such wonderful weather helped. Do not think that I am too easily pleased, we did enjoy our stay. Many thanks June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect place to stay in Edinburgh This little hotel is tucked into a busy city in the perfect spot for tourists. Situated next to a quiet cathedral, it's only a couple blocks from the middle of the Royal Mile, so you can walk easily up to Edinburgh Castle or down to Holyroodhouse. It's comfortable, clean, and quiet. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a treat for a traveler The staff was what made the visit memorable. Great tips for tourism, smiles abounded! The site was absolutely perfect for exploring the Royal Mile, and the staff was so knowledgeable. We arrived early, but our bags were whisked to a safe keeping area so we could start our sight-seeing. The staff at each shift were positive as the service was delightful. We SHALL stay here on our return to Edinburgh! June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Overall, the experience was quite good. The area isn't very exciting and at night a bit dodgy looking, but certainly not "unsafe." Not many restaurants in the immediate area, so a bit of a walk to find a variety of places to eat. June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Royal Mile The internet situation was confusing. I had forgotten my IHG number at a previous stay (Glasgow airport) but internet seemed to be standard for all guests. What was confusing was that I had to register my email and set a password. Alas, I didn't remember my password two weeks later.b June 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Total disapointment I stayed in this hotel en route from Edinburgh to London. I was tired, but found to my dismay that you only served food at the bar, and that was either one of 2 meat dishes. I am vegetarian so I had to find my way in a strange city to find somewhere to have my evening meal. Compared to where I stayed the previous night, it was a third as good and three times the price. I was astonished to be asked to replace my tray and dishes back on the rack after a poor breakfast. The croissants were hard, and the bread not very nice either. It was all very basic, and I was surprised to find it so poor. June 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate Room clean, service good. But quality and choice of food poor. Breakfast was not great, and there was a lack of bacon to go with the over done eggs, low grade sausages and overly crispy and crunchy croissants. Equally low quality pizza and chicken tikka masala available 24 hours. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Good Holiday Inn Express Property Once again I couldn't fault the Holiday Inn Express. Good, clean and fresh rooms, comfy beds, good breakfast, felt safe. This property just off the Royal Mile is a fabulous location for exploring the city of Edinburgh. Reception staff were helpful and very friendly. Will stay here again! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grest Great hotel, great service, great location, yummy breakfast - easy all round... June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Comfy beds, clean rooms, free wifi, and breakfast! And all withing walking distance of Edinburgh's Royal Mile! June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 excellent location From the moment i walked in the door i felt welcome and comfotable. Fantasyic location 3 mins from royal mile pubs n restaurants. Cannot rate highly enough June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kansas Family Edinburgh is an old, compact city with fascinating places to walk and to find short cuts through the hilly streets and alleyways. In such an historic place, the Holiday Inn Express was conveniently tucked away in a location very accessable to wherever you would likely want to go. The staff was extraordinary and transitioned the family from the historical old to the modern convenience of excellent accommodations. Checking in on a wet day, it was a five-star experience. After a late evening of dining and pubs (there are many) the staff helped with printing out boarding passes and volunteering to have the breakfast bar open early since we had an early morning flight. The location was near the student district of the University and great local shops. I would encourage anyone to get off the Royal Mile and take advantage of the local shops and pubs just off the beaten path -- this is especially true if you are looking for the best woolen products and lifelong memories. I do wish there was a self-service laundry for wet clothing...but worth the sacrifice. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, clean, comfortable Great hotel for family stay. Nice location, we walked everywhere from here - with two small children. Staff helpful and friendly. Excellent choice for breakfast. June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel but over priced This hotel is very clean and close to town but parking is expensive in the nearby car park and hard to park while checking in bags etc. Breakfast was terrible and was worse than a school canteen, we opted out of breakfast the 2nd day as it was so bad. This hotel was very expensive for what it was and it would be better if they dropped the rate and did not provide breakfast. June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location, a little expensive We got this hotel at the hotel and hence got it very expensive. That may be because it was a long weekend. The hotel is at a very comfortable location - walking distance from station (or £5 by taxi), market and most of the attractions in old town. It is 15 minutes walk from Castle. We reached hotel much before check in time, but our rooms were ready. This is a great relief. Bed was comfortable, although can not say same for pillows. We had opted for buffet breakfast. The range and selection of buffet was excellent. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great service The location worked well for me. Walking distance from the Royal Mile. Also a nice park with a mountain to climb within walking distance. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Little hotel Nice little hotel, all staff were pleasant and friendly. Stayed in the guest room for 3 people, pretty basic room however we didnt spend much time in the room. We asked for extra pillows and by the time we go to our room they were on the bed- extra quick service. Hotel is very safe, you need tthe room card to get into the building and to use the lift and stairs to access the rooms, could be stood there for half an hour trying to get the lift to work but at least it was safe! Variety of breakfast choices more on offer than expected, some cooked breakfast such as sausages, scrambled eggs and beans. No queuing for tables at breakast whether you went down early or late. Could have changed the towels more regularly as they werent changed the 3 nights we stayed. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff. Good location of hotel. Good stay,staff went out of their way to accommodate us. The staff was able to provide me with an electrical extension cord so I could use my CPAP machine so I could sleep. The design of the rooms has all the electrical outlets located across the room away from the bed. This is my second stay at this location and each time the people here have been most helpful with any problems we might run into,thanks again. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Only one block off the Royal Mile in Old Town with good access to all venues and the train station as well. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and wonderful staff This location was perfect! We walked to everything we wanted to see in the city. The staff was extremely friendly and the person who checked us in actually remembered who we were and our room number when we needed to charge something to the room the next day. They were helpful with walking directions and restaurant recommendations. May 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location I stayed here recently for three nights and was part of a larger family party in Edinburgh for a wedding. There were several children in the party and although rooms are small if you have to have the sofa bed pulled out, in evey other way the hotel was fine. The continental breakfast was good but the sausages, reconstituted scrambled eggs and beans were not rated very highly. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was ideal as we only had a short time to explore the city. I booked and paid for the third night myself and was very happy with the value for money we received. However the other two nights, paid for by a relative as part of a block booking were charged at double this amount. He was only aware of this at checkout, having been under the impression that he would be paying a lower rate at the time of booking. The reason given was that it was a bank holiday in Scotland, although I don't understand why he was originally quoted a lower price. Unfortunately this has coloured my impression of HI Ex as in my opinion, the hotel is definitely not worth this amount of money. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Room was clean and the staff was great. The location was perfect. Easy walking to everything May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest service Absoutely everyone that we had the opportunity to interact with was very friendly and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. There were however 2 events that really stood out in separating your hotel from any other. While walking on the Royal Mile on Thursday I realized that my diamond earring was missing. Having no idea where it could be I wrote it off thinking I would never see it again and when I got back to the room it was laying on the shelf. I was amazed. I travel for work and stay in hotels more than 250 nights per year and left hundreds of dollars worth of items that were never recovered. There was also a young man working the night shift both Wednesday and Thursday night that was wonderful. There was a strange guy hanging out around the door and he was very concerned about the safety of all of the guests. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location in great city Great location. Helpful, friendly,polite,courteous staff. Comfortable, quiet rooms. Love free internet. Highly recommend in a great city. May 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location. Personnel very friendly. Excellent location as to the sights. May 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading