• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Grassmarket
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly adequate conference hotel Title of review says it, pretty much. Staff very helpful, comfy room, decent food at lunch and dinner, not quite so good at breakfast. Conference suite kept well supplied with coffee, tea and nibbles. Fairly unpreposessing exterior but better within. Pretty fair situation for access to city centre either by taxi or bus. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent stay at Holiday Inn edinburgh west, except for Vegeterian dinner It was a very Good, pleasant and homely stay for me and my wife at Holiday Inn Edinburgh west. However, My wife and me being a pure vegetarian from India the dinner at Hotel restaurant was not much liked by both of us. Rest every thing we liked and we were impressed with. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Arrived late and staff could not have been more helpful, both at reception and in the bar/restaurant. They were quite happy to serve us food, although it was getting close to time for last orders, and were happy to make recommendations etc. from the menu. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, efficient and attentive staff Easy to find. Ample parking. Comfortable rooms. Quiet hotel (Monday night stay). Everything you would expect from Holiday Inn ie decor, room size, facilities etc. Not exceptional, just good standard of hotel for business travel. But what makes this hotel is the staff who should be commended. From check in, to room service, bringing iron/board, bar, check out... every single person was friendly, attentive, knowledgable. There is a Holiday Inn near Edinburgh Zoo which is much bigger and has better facilities... but doesn't have the personal touch you get with Edinburgh City West. I stay in a LOT of Holiday Inn's (and other chains) for business purposes and I can't remember ever having a better staff-customer experience. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Service in hotel was generally excellent, and the staff in the dining room at breakfast and diner were attentive, efficient, and friendly. October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great views We were upgraded to a room with a view of the castle which was fantastic. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ryder Cup Great Stay and Edinburgh is a great place. Scotland is truly beautiful. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location I had good service, they helped me get a bus into the city centre and gave me advice September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience Thought the hotel might be a bit out of the way from the centre of town but it's easily accessible by regular bus services. Bit of a shame there aren't any other restaurants within walking distance of the hotel so unless you want to eat in the restaurant every night, you have to travel to find somewhere. Don't understand why Holiday Inn has some hotels which provide free Wifi and some (Like the Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West) don't.. September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and great hotel It was very good to visit this hotel. All my experiences were perfect. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very happy Stayed here whilst taking my son to University and very very happ September 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff/Restaurant Made The Difference Stayed here for 3 nights. The staff I met were helpful and polite and the quality of the food coming out of the restaurant was excellent. For these reasons I would say this Holiday Inn stands out above most of the others I have stayed at - and there have been a lot! :) I don't usually write reviews but the staff here deserve a special mention. Well done Edinburgh City West! September 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our favourite Edinburgh stopover location As always your friendly staff made us feel welcome and the room was of the usual very high standard. Unfortunately on this visit, due an early morning flight, we were unable to avail ourselves of the excellent breakfast buffet you always lay on but will do on our next stay later in they year! Many thanks and lang may yer lum wreak ... whatever the result of the Independence Referendum!!! September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overnight stay A lovely hotel just what we needed. The room was clean and bright. Nice to have two double beds (american style) in a room rather than a sofa bed. September 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service at reasonable cost Stayed 3 nights very comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. No parking fees which is a bonus in Edinburgh September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and delicious food We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. The room was comfortable and cozy, and the breakfast was delicious every morning. Guests in adjoining rooms made a bit of noise in the middle of the night, which disturbed our sleep and was the only bad thing about our stay. Other than this, it was perfect! August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by never lets me down! I am a regular visitor and whilst I have a choice and have tried other Edinburgh hotels from time to time, I always come back to Edinburgh City West to enjoy a friendly and comfortable stay and have never been disappointed. As with all venues it starts at the top and the G.M. is a very personable and hands-on guy who takes a real interest in visitors views and is genuinely pleased when they compliment the Hotel and concerned if they have issues. It follows that the staff respond to this positive style and are always cheerful and friendly, which is important to someone like me who is away from home a lot. I sometimes read negative reviews of the hotel and wonder whether the reviewer has actually stayed at the same venue. However, I guess you get out of life what you put into it and maybe their own approach to staff is not as friendly as others, or they are hyper critical! Anyway, for my money Edinburgh City West is an ongoing good experience and I look forward to my next visit, for the week commencing 15th September. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Great location - not too far out of town. Good transport - bus stop outside / taxi service Staff polite and attentive August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Reise Sehr gut! Sehr freundliches und kompententes Personal. Für Reise mit Kind (groß) das Zimmer mit 2 Doppelbetten optimal. Auf Anfrage glutenfreies Frühstück möglich. Frühstücksbuffet toll. Lage und Erreichbarkeit sehr gut. Kleine Mankos: Badezimmerbeleuchtung eher gering, kein Kosmetikspiegel im Badezimmer, keine Steckdose für Föhn im Badezimmer. Bei Reinigung im Bad/Zimmer leider Haare von Personal zurückgeblieben. Gesmat: Sehr gut August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Experience in Holiday Inn Overall a good experience. Peaceful stay but away from City Center and therefore somewhat inconvenient for the tourists with short stay. Staff is helpful and courteous.. I would have preferred choice of few more restaurants. I had visited with my wife and son and stayed in a suite. Perhaps I would have appreciated a little larger drawing room. August 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by windy, noisy room but comfortable. It was a windy night and room noise is loud. Overall, a comfortable hotel. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by allways well looked after During my wifes illness we have stop here regulary, and have allways been well recieved and looked after by all the staff. The hotel is handy for the centre and easly accesable.We would, and do,always recomend the hotel to friends. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comodidad y servicio excelente Facil comunicación con el centro de la ciudad la atención prestada por el personal de hotel es muy buena las habitaciones son muy comodas y bien equipadas buenas vistas de la ciudad de Edimburgo y del Castillo August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Enjoyed a relaxed family visit. We were provided with all our room and food needs without any problems. The bar was pleasant place to meet friends and the children enjoyed the outside playground. There is a large car park. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant!! absolutely brilliant stay; we both enjoyed ourselves at the Holiday Inn so much. We have stayed in Holiday Inn hotels preferentially in the past and the standard is excellent in all cases, but I think Holiday Inn - west edinburgh was the best! Well done to all the staff. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel & Casual Dining but Better Signage Please! I think the new Holiday Inn menses are just right for both lunch and dinner. The breakfast buffet is very good but I do not like that you have to order fried and poached eggs; just never sure how long before they come. Only real criticisms are that the car park is too small (arriving back late twice there was nowhere to park properly) and, unlike almost all Holiday Inns, it needs much better signage from the road, especially approaching from the west where the entrance is not very visible. August 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff but pity about the sofa bed Delighted to be given an upgrade to Junior Suite on arrival, but not so pleased when my 92 year old mother and I saw only one double bed. The extra sofa bed was very uncomfortable with lots of crumbs in the folding mechanism. Only a very light sheet thrown loosely directly on top of the mattress with nothing in between. Only one remote control for two televisions. Shower 'switch' failed to work in the bathroom. Mean tea tray with no biscuits .... but excellent breakfast and delightful staff who made our two night stay very special. The staff are a credit to the management, especially at breakfast and in the bar. Will return because of its good location, but I felt that the prices were actually pretty steep for two sleepless nights. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay in Edinburgh This hotel was a great place to stay with very friendly staff and just a short distance frome the centre of the city. Bus routes outside the entrance made it easy to come and go should you not want to drive by car. Made to feel at home and after staying the 8 nights I got know the great service team. They had very good knowledge at the front deck for a varity of tours you could go on and very pleased to help you should you ask for any thing you may have needed. Would come again when staying in Edinburgh. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by small bed and great service this hotel is perfect for a city break, handy for the city centre, opposite an outlet shopping mall, fab views across the city, good food, very caring staff, my only complaint if you can call it that, is that the beds are standard double beds and we are used to a king, we felt cramped and hot, so i would advise a twin room, it was july, August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A truly lovely hotel with brilliant staff! I use this hotel frequently for business and I always receive the same warm welcome from the helpful staff. It is always a pleasure to stay at this hotel because of this fact and the face that, as a lone traveller, I feel safe and secure. I would highly recommend this as a venue for business meetings and for anyone looking for a great base from which to explore Edinburgh - Excellent! August 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading