• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6KM
Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4KM
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1KM
Attraction:
Royal Yacht Britannia
Distance From Hotel:2.2KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired
You can feel the palpable
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired
You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood
If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’.

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.
Announcements
From 6.15am on 31st May 2014 you will be able to board the newly launched airport tram service from Edinburgh airport. Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is right beside the last stop on the tram line and
View More
Announcements
From 6.15am on 31st May 2014 you will be able to board the newly launched airport tram service from Edinburgh airport. Hotel Indigo Edinburgh is right beside the last stop on the tram line and getting to the hotel from the airport couldn't be easier. One way tickets will be £5.00 per adult and the journey will take approximately 30 minutes.Return tickets will be £9.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice hotel in a good location The hotel is in a good location, and well placed for a short trip to Leith (by car) or in town (by bus). The room was a fine size - make sure to ask for a room on an upper floor facing the castle, as the view is stunning. Breakfast was fine, and the star were very friendly. July 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by front desk arrived at noon --had informed that we will be checking in early.Still had to wait for 45 mins to get a room also, the bigger issue--the front desk wouldnot answer the phone despite me calling multiple times.They could have put me on hold and tell me to wait..The bell would keep on ringing without any response.That was frustrating July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room and friendly staff Excellent overall experience. The room rate was as agreed via internet, we were well received and we would certainly be happy to stay on another occasion (this was our second or third visit. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room and attentive staff The view from the room over Edinburgh was great, the room its self was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were all excellent, very efficient and happy which was nice, the breakfast selection and quality were excellent. However the stay was spoilt for me by two things. The access to the internet is unreasonably expensive and in this day & age should not be an expensive extra when booking a room. The other disappointment was paying 25Pounds for a Chicken Caesar Salad with chips and a 200ml glass of wine from room service. Overall though a very nice two night stay. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service if you need somewhere to stay either on business or leisure this hotel is central in Edinburgh great service very good business and meeting services July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by last minute booking last minute booking for early morning flight from Edinburgh airport. upgraded to a large room on the top floor with fantastic view over the city. The air conditioning was very welcome on a very hot day. Nice meal and very pleasant staff. Once again a very pleasant stay. June 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Who pays for internet anymore? We were to have been booked into a Holiday Inn close to the airport and with a pool. We were surprised when we arrived at this location and found we had received neither. The overpriced, in my opinion, room had no amenities and we had to pay extra to use the internet! Because the price of the hotel was so high, we did not spend more money for internet, which meant that the kids' electronics and such were not accessible. Dinner was fine but pricey, and the breakfast was very high priced so we skipped it. For the price we paid to sleep at this hotel (on our last night of holiday to be close to the airport), it was not worth it. June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very satisfied... As part of a trip we had two nights at this hotel. It was very nice, clean, the staff very attentive and the buffet breakfast perfect. The room had a wonderful view of Edinburgh. We would come back for sure! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, lovely staff and food We stayed for one night in June and we had a really nice stay. The room was lovely and clean and we had a fantastic view over Edinburgh. We stayed dinner bed and breakfast and all the food was lovely. We had to go out early but the restaurant manager let us eat early off the menu which was brilliant. Staff were very helpful and polite. Would definitely stay here again. June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed before, will stay again From the car park you enter the hotel through the bar, and as there is a table right next to the door this makes getting into the place quite hard and people having drinks have to move! Now that's a new one on me! Plat membership was not noted and no upgrade was offered, in fact I had a very small room that was tired and basic. The hotel did not seem full, but perhaps that was the reason. Breakfast was good, although the waiter's English was bad and he mumbled so I had no idea what he was saying. Not a bad HI by any standard and quite a good location for me. Good views to the east. Noise from the corridoor is quite bad. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Great Shakes Overvalued for the services offered. There is a need to offer more services for the price you pay for the room. There was nothing spectacular about the hotel or the room that warranted the price paid. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable and relaxing stay with great service Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful which made all the difference. Room was comfortable quiet and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Look forward to returning. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service and very pleasant staff at the reception, restaurant and room service. Very pleased with the stay and will definitely come back again. Great castle view from our room. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed. Bath room nice but, hand shower a bit awkward to use Over all good hotel to stay. Public transport in front of hotel. Good breakfast. Room spacious but bath room a bit small. Hand shower a bit awkward to use. Room cleanliness could have been better. Staff was wonderful. May 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An Average Hotel This hotel is good but there is nothing that gives it the "Wow factor". Rooms are clean and pleasant, food is OK and bar prices are aligned with city centre hotels. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy location to explore Edinburgh. Close to a bus line into the city, this is an easy hotel to get to and to use as a base for exploring the city. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was excellent. Holiday Inns are consistent in their high quality and high standards. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One Night in Edinburgh quite hotel and close from Shopping just 1 min. 10 min away from the centre of city using Taxi. i suggest for who has private car. April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Stay My wife and daughter and I really enjoyed our stay. Excellent recognition for IHG membership, front desk staff superb. Great upgrade to mini suites, food in restaurant better than average. All in all a super stay and will come back again. April 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 1st stay in this hotel - would recommend We have stayed in several Holiday Inn's including the Holiday Inn Edinburgh Zoo and were pleased with our choice of the City West Hotel this time. Good location, restaurant was good (both in terms of service and food) would definitely consider this hotel again April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by as expected Overnight prior to catching morning flight from Edinburgh airport. As always being a gold elite member I was upgraded to a large suite and a voucher for a drink from the bar. Room very comfortable. Good meal and service from the restaurant. Very nice overnight stay and would recommend. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exceptional value cannot fault this hotel,comfortable beds,controllable heating,plenty hot water,excellent food in restaurant,fantastic views of Edinburgh from bedrooms,second time we have stayed here and we will be returning later this year. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel & value for money This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and don't have any complaints always friendly staff and clean rooms . I prefer to stay here as it is cheaper but only a few minutes in a taxi and your bang in the centre ( about £7 in a cab) . Worth paying the extra and get the mini suite good size room with seating area . Good food and free parking so great for Edinburgh . Highly recommend this hotel . March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over all good experience Very kind staff. Good food in the restaurant, comfortable and spacious room. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A caring staff and Management I enjoy City West - recognition by The team of your needs and happy faces from Emma in the Restaurant and others help you to relax and be comfortable in the hotel March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Uncomfortable visit to this hotel which failed to meet expected Holiday Inn standards. Bathroom tiny and unsuitable for tall gentleman even though slim. Mattress uncomfortable but maid service good. Barman needs training as service inefficient. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very high cleanliness standards Cleanliness is a big deal for me, I am very OCD about it and a lot of my trips away can be ruined by the stress of a dirty hoteI room. Even some 5* hotels I've stayed at I have to clean the bathroom with my own products before using and I always find the bed sheets disgusting, but NOT in this Holiday Inn. I even used the towels they supplied, I can not say enough about the cleanliness of this hotel. The staff were also very warm and welcoming and it was in an easily accessible location. Would definatly look into staying at The Holiday Inn again when I next go away for a few days. The only con I can find with my stay were on the first morning there was an early fire evacuation, this would have been ok if it was just me but having to carry a 3 year old down 5 flights of stairs was difficult. I hear it was because of the steam on someone's shower so maybe warn guests to keep the bathroom door closed when showering. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MIXING BUSINESS WITH PLEASURE ARRIVED FRIDAY AFTER WORKING UP THROUGH THE COUNTRY FROM MANCHESTER. DECIDED TO EAT IN THE RESTAURANT & HAVE AN EARLY NIGHT. STAFF WERE ATTENTIVE & FRIENDLY BUT NOT IN YOUR FACE. FOOD WAS PROBABLY SLIGHTLY BETTER THAN USUAL FROM HOTEL RESTAURANTS. BOOKED BREAKFAST FOR SAT MORNING THIS WAS DELICIOUS WITH GOOD QUALITY PRODUCTS NOT YOUR VALUE SAUSAGE ETC. IT WAS A VERY WINDY NIGHT AND AS WE WERE ON THE TOP FLOOR IT WAS QUITE NOISY THINK THE WINDOW SEALS NEED REPLACING BUT ALL IN ALL A PLEASANT COMFORTABLE STAY. BIG ADVANTAGE IS THE FACT THAT THERE IS FREE PARKING AND A BUS INTO EDINBURGH COSTS £1.50 SINGLE OR A TAXI WAS APPROX £8.00 - STILL CHEAPER THAN MOST CAR PARKS. WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN. February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice mid range hotel with friendly staff They held our luggage for us when we checked in at 11am ish and when we returned after the football at 8pm or so our room type wasnt available so we got upgraded to a nice Junior Suite. The extra bed was made up immediately with no waiting time which was good. I found the staff friendly and attentive and overall its a nice hotel for the money and would be happy to stay again. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Always a fire alarm !! Great place to stay if only you can make it through the n ight without the fire alarm going off. Last stay it was 3am but at least this time it was 7am - but it was Sunday !! Not sure that we will go back. Too stressfull for a short break. Suspect smokers are to blame but no info from staff. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Visited during a busy Calcutta cup weekend. Staff could not have been more obliging. Large clean room and very quiet. Breakfast had great selection of hot and cold options. Would definitely stay there again. February 13, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading