• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Grassmarket
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 395 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great easy base when visiting Edinburgh I have stayed here 3 times now with my partner and we have always found the hotel to be consistent in overall comfort and the level of service from staff. It is great value, rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast is lovely ad the location is great, not too far to walk into the city or buses run every few minutes from right outside. Free parking on site is a great bonus too. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location,good value Stayed for three nights in this comfortable good value hotel. The location was great with a bus stop right outside to get into the city centre. Also plenty of bars, restaurants and an indoor shopping centre within walking distance.The room was clean,comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was good catering for all tastes. Staff friendly and helpful. Overall a pleasant experience. We will Definitely use holiday Inn again and recommend to our friends. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location to explore Edinburgh Stayed at the Holiday Inn for my first visit to Edinburgh. We found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and the breakfast was hot and plentiful all three mornings we were there. The location was great as there is a bus stop just outside the front door with 5 different routes connecting the hotel with the city center, The Leith harbour area - 5 minute walk from the hotel has some wonderful restaurants and bars. The staff were helpful and friendly but not very knowledgeable as they were unable to answer some fairly basic tourist type questions. Will recommend this hotel to anyone who asks and would stay here again if i return to Edinburgh. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great A great hotel in a great location with great staff. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by brilliant staff we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on sunday 29 and mon 30 dec. i unfortuantly lost my suitcase on route ( long story) but the staff and in particular Douglas ( he lent me his belt to keep me trousers up) could not have made us feel any more welcomed than they did, this included staff from all shifts. The quality of the rooms, cleanliness and breakfast was 1st class, and if anyone has a bad word to say about this hotel, well think again cos for us this is up there as one of the best. Thanks to all at Waterfront Leigh. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by as usual spot on good attentive staff good quiet room breakfast best yet January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for a night away, near the city This was the perfect place for a night away and I would definitely return. A much better sleep than any of the city centre hotels we usually stay in - this (and the price) makes the added trip into town worth it. There is limited parking if you bring the car, and buses to town can be caught right outside the hotel. Shopping, restaurants, cinema etc. only a couple of minutes walk away. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Rooms are compact but everything you need. Easy to control the temperature, so a lovely cosy room on a windy December night. Loved the hot powerful shower too (no bath). Breakfast is very basic, but as a lot of hotels in this price range don't include breakfast I suppose this is a bonus. However I've never known a cooked breakfast not to include bacon. So a 'cooked breakfast' is actually only sausages and scrambled eggs #and baked beans for those who consider this a breakfast food#. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A Good Experience We have stayed here before, and came back because it is, for us , ideal for a visit to the capital city. The rooms, while not huge, are spotless and there is free Wi-Fi. The staff are always very welcoming, very knowledgeable about what's going on in Edinburgh and how to get there, and always interested to find out how you've spent your time. The free breakfast is a good start to the day, and is very welcome. If you wish to go uptown, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel door and you can leave your car in the free car park. Buses are very frequent. All in all, a good experience, which we will certainly repeat. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The heating failed this hotel Great property. Excellent location and access to transportation for tourism. The problem lies in the heating. During one of the worst storms to ever hit the U.K. The heating never really worked. December 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great little hotel I have just enjoyed a three night visit to this hotel. It must be said that it punches way above it's weight. The hotel is a credit to the chain the rooms are clean and comfortable and the beds are so comfortable I had a lay in every morning. The staff are very polite and helpful and treat you as a returning friend not as just another guest. It's location is excellent away from the city but within easy access so after a day out you are met with quiet surroundings. I look forward to my next visit. December 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Matresses due for replacement Holiday Inn Express is our favourite Edinburgh resting place as it is convenient for parking and shopping and is excellent value for money. The breakfast is particularly good for this budget of hotel. We have stayed here over a few years now and the mattresses are due for replacement as they feel past their sell by now but otherwise is still a good choice for a visit to Edinburgh. December 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location Lovely family feel to this hotel , friendly staff , great location would recommend this hotel and shall be returning when in the area . December 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Ideal for Edinburgh stay Clean,comfortable and next to the Ocean Terminal. Breakfast is a good start to the day after a comfy nights sleep. Pleasant cheerful staff and there is a terrific bus service into Edinburgh every few minutes. Could not be better for your stay in Edinburgh. December 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value stay in a pleasant location My stay was pleasant and apart from 2 minor maintenance issues in the room which meant the room was slightly noisy everything else was to the usual high standard. I would be more than happy to stay here again as it represents good value in a location I like with easy access to all areas I would want to visit. Though it is not a problem as the hotel is more than willing to hold luggage in a secure area it would be handy if all Holiday Inn express hotels had the same check out time. December 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great nights sleep Staff were very helpfull at this location, rooms were clean and tidy. Shower room also very clean with a more than adequate shower. We had a very comfortable nights sleep, before coming down to a good choice of breakfast. Many thanks to all December 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Staff very helpful. Done everything to help. Would use this hotel again December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by brill 1st class for everything in edinburgh, will stay again 1st chance i get December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Great price for a weekend of shopping and seeing the city. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable & reasonably convenient The room was clean, a decent size and the bed was comfortable. It was relatively easy to get into the city centre, the bus service (No 22) ran every few minutes and took around 20 minutes to get to Princess Street in the centre, for £1.50. A day ticket cost only £3.50 enabling as many journeys, on different routes, as necessary. Unlike city centre hotels, there was plenty of free parking within the bounds of the hotel. The staff were polite and friendly and I would certainly stay here again. My only word of criticism is reserved for the hot breakfast, this wasn't great, ok perhaps, but a little basic in many respects, i.e. cheap sausage, no bacon or fried eggs, very thin runny beans and scrambled egg you coud stand a fork up in. December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT VENUE FOR EXPLORING EDINBURGH WE ALWAYS TRY TO STAY ATH THE hOLIDAY INN EXPRESS (IF WE CAN GET BOOKED IN) WHEN VISITING EDINBURGH, USUALLTY TWICE A YEAR. IeXCELLENT FOR PARKING AND BUSES RUN REGULARLY INTO THE CITY. STAFF ARE ALWAYS SO ACCOMMODATING - WE HAVE NEVER HAD A BAD EXPERIENCE YET. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel great service great hotel great service and staff who understand good customer service December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, great staff but beds could be bigger! My wife and I enjoyed our stay, great location and friendly staff. On a down side the beds are only double and possibly due for a refresh given the softness of the mattress ? However, as noted above the staff are great and so very helpful without doubt this alone made our stay enjoyable. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great as always Veery much enjoy staying here, but this time the carpet in the room really needed cleaning. December 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good accommodation Second time staying first time room was very cold second time it was fine only complaint I would have was the price the second time and the lift needs to be replaced very slow and makes a lot of noise December 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would go back! Staff were probably the friendliest hotel staff we have encounted. Breakfast excellent value, easy to navigate! Good location especially as you can park for free. One tiny negative, shower was not very powerful took ages to rinse conditioner out of hair! December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay, lovely surroundings, comfortable room I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh for a shopping / pub & club weekend. It was clean, comfortable, light and airy rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good quality and well cooked. The beds were very comfortable and cosy. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Good location (5 minutes walk) for Royal Yacht Britannia and Ocean Terminal Shopping Centre (shopping and restaurants). Bus number 22 outside hotel will take you to Princes Street in 15 mins, everything to a good standard for the price, room service not provided but you can collect an iron and ironing board from reception and they even have an ice machine next to reception to chill that romantic bottle of wine in the room ! December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room far too cold. Because of the room temperature our stay was unsatisfactory . The heating is completely inadequate as it is unable to cope with the freezing winter temperatures in Scotland. In future, if the hotel heating doesn't improve we'll only visit when the outside temperatures are more clement. In addition, I am disabled and found that we had to park at some distance from the entrance, in the rear car park as the disabled spaces were all occupied by cars which were not displaying a Disabled Blue or Green badge. Needs to be monitored. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well looked after The room was exactly as expected and the sofa bed was fully made up for our son, this hasn't been the case in a number of other hotels. The staff could not have been more helpful and the Manager at the front desk was excellent. Great advice on local amenities and he even checked if we needed any food discount vouchers as we were on our way out for the evening. Excellent. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quietest room ever! Had a great night yet again at the Holiday Inn Express, Leith. Speedy check in and out, great breakfast and lovely comfortable room - the quietest room we have ever had. Excellent location for visiting the city. :)) November 20, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 14 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading