• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Grassmarket
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 334 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service Excellent service Staff very helpful and nothing was to much trouble Rooms spotless and excellent position for seeing the center of Edinburgh. The bus stops outside the hotel and a short journey to the center Would definatley recommend and we will go again September 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice assistance in front desk I would like to recognize the kind and friendly assistance of the staff at the front desk. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Have stayed at this hotel many times. the reasons I keep returning are Friendly, helpful staff, cleanliness, relaxed atmosphere, convenient for shops, restaurants and public transport, pets welcome, good value (especially in Edinburgh) and free parking. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made our weekend Perfect My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August and it was brilliant. We really dont have anything bad to say at all. Its a little way out but theres a bus stop right outdside the front door, the bus takes 5 mins and they come quickly. It also means that you're away from the hustle and bustle come night time, and if you did fancy the walk its about 15 mins. Our room was so clean and tidy. We had a tv, double bed (which was sooooo comfy), dressing, wardrobe and couch. Our bathroom was equipped with sink, toilet and shower, with good mirrors. Breakfast was simple, buffet style, but not a lot of choice, the same options everyday, we didnt mind but could possibly get fed up after three or four days. The staff were very helpfull, friendly, chatty and someone was always avaliable at reception. We are planning to visit edinburgh again in Feb/March and we will be staying at this hotel again. Thanks Holiday Inn Waterfront for a great weekend!!!! September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great Holiday Inn Express We spent two nights here, the staff were always courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was great with plenty of choices. You even get the added bonus of Ocean Terminal shopping centre a couple of hundred yards away. Plenty of shops and restaurants to keep you going for your stay. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by accomodation Holiday Inn Express Waterfront is a very good Hotel, the staff was very kind and the room was very comfortable. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good position for buses but room very very warm We booked here to go to the Edinburgh Festival and found the prices very much inflated at this time of year. We also couldn't regulate the temperature and woke up to find the room at 30 degrees! the receptionist said it was a fault with their heating system when I mentioned it on checking out. However, the hotel is in a perfect position for buses into the city. A number 10 runs about every 10 minutes during the day and costs £1.50 per ride per adult. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and comfortable room A good value medium range budget hotel with excellent attention to cleanliness and service. Plenty of parking space and good range of restaurants nearby. Excellent bus service into Edinburgh city centre so it makes a good base for a holiday in Edinburgh. August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not good value for money Was a bog standard room, would of expected more for money. Was in a quiet location which was good, not too far from city centre. Breakfast was shocking! Stail and over cooked. Would of got a better breakfast from a basic cafe August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Did what is say on the tin Job done - needed somewhere decent to stay for the Edinburgh festival. Apart from a blocked sink, everything else worked just fine. We usually like to stay in this hotel because of the proximity to the shopping centre (which we have not used on this occasion ...) August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, well located but let down by breakfast service Everything was fine - comfortable room and beds, and friendly and helpful staff - except for the breakfast scrum. Too many people for the facilities available resulting in fully occupied tables, running out of some food and a lack of cleanliness. The staff tried but were overwhelmed. Apparently this is only a summer/fringe phenomenon. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in a great location Stayed here many times. Paid a lot this time due to the Edinburgh Festival which is dissapointing if you are a regular. Good rooms, helpful staff and lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Handy also for the City by buses that stop at Ocean Terminal August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super place with great service Arrived at holiday inn and was greeted by very pleasant staff at front desk.....room was very clean..the breakfast' s was excellent ...could have had a better selection....but not complaining....the bed was very comfortable ... And service excellent.... August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent budget hotel Clean, comfortable, spacious, wide variety of food selection for breakfast and extremely friendly staff. Would highly recommend. City centre is a 5 minute bus ride away and the bus stops just outside the hotel. August 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Friendly, informative and helpful reception staff. Twin room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Quiet location and excellent cheap bus service right outside hotel into city centre. August 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive After staying at Perth and Stirling holiday inn during late june/early July I thought the price at Edinburgh was extortionist . I appreciate that the Edinburgh festival is on in August but to pay more than double the price is wrong especially as the hotel looked tired compared to the other two we stayed at. We found it hard to find a table for breakfast. The food was fine and the staff helpful. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Start of three week trip My mom and I stayed here for four nights at the beginning of our three week Scotland trip back in June. The desk staff were very friendly and very helpful. The room was of sufficient size for us. The switches on the outlets and the connections between outlets was a little confusing at first (coming from the U.S.), but we figured it out with no problem. Pay attention to the breakfast queue information in the elevator if you want to avoid the crowds. Within walking distance to shopping (though limited) and the Royal Yacht Britannia. Public transportation stops next to the property. August 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was ok for one night Stayed at this hotel on many occasions , as a priority card holder , it's comfortable clean and easy to get to. There is plenty car parking space. . As a Gold PC member one of the benefits is usually early check in n late check out , when I did ask about the latter one guy in reception was very abrubt ! However we did find all the other staff very helpful . There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and plenty of buses to take you into the city centre . We will no doubt stay again . August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family room I think they need to put proper beds in family room, my 14year old son had to sleep on sofa bed which had seen better days, gratefull we were only there for 3 nights August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First-class service at economy-class prices I was travelling on my own to Edinburgh and don't know the city very well. The staff could not have been more helpful with local bus info., taxi numbers, local restaurants (which they had discount vouchers for), carrying an ironing board up to my room, and so on. I was really impressed. Breakfast was great and the room was spacious and comfortable. Would definitely recommend. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Even the seagulls were singing about the weather Enjoyed our two nights at the Waterfront. We asked for quiet rooms and we were given them, and we slept soundly. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and provided everything we asked for. At breakfast on the second morning... disaster!!! The delivery of fresh fruit had not arrived. The staff were up to the challenge, however. Charlene went across the road to M&S Food To Go and bought their stock of bananas and apples! Thank you Charlene - and your manager - and the rest of the team for making our stay so pleasurable. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and comfortable nice and confortable, very kind staff, location and all services acceptable. it is a good hotel. July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Parking is Free !! Got your attention ? Good, the parking is indeed free but be prepared to grab your space early to combat those selfish types that want a bay and a half. Either that or IHG get a clamp for inconsiderate parkers. Good value, good location and great staff unlike my experience in the Midlands. Breakfast, internet, reasonable prices in the bar again unlike the Midlands. The barman even coming over to me at the end of his shift to thank me and wish me a pleasant trip. Check out in the morning and again polite friendly desk staff. Brilliant, thanks for a great stay. Maybe it's a management thing ?. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just 1 night - suited us perfectly Lovely cool room during a hot summer. Reception team were so so friendly and great characters. Made to feel extremely welcome. Well done to the team. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Have enjoyed staying at Holiday Inn , Ocean Drive. This was a two night break to sight see Edinburgh. It was a good location, we were next to the Royal Yacht Britannia. The hotel staff where very helpful and very attentive to your needs. The room was very clean and comfortable. The Breakfast was all you could want to choose from. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just right for the start of a cruise, or a haven from site- seeing overload I chose this hotel as it is right next to the Cruise Terminal in Leith. The room was clean tidy and of the usual standard for Holiday Inn. The staff were extremely helpful in regarding my husbands medication, and effeicent in all that we asked of them. I would certainly recommend this hotel. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, and the shopping mall is just across the street with a variety of restaurants. If visiting Edinburgh to see the sites, it is easy to access by public transport and this hotel is a haven away from the bustle if that is your requirement after a hard days siteseeing. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spacious and clean fresh room excellent service We had an excellent stay here. We came to scotland for our daughters graduation and was recommended the holiday inn from a friend as he had stayed here. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel was excellent with nearby restaurants and a shopping centre in walking distance. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Problems handled nicely This is a very nice hotel and the staff is great. Upon checking in we encountered several facility problems with our room. This can happen at any hotel. The way the staff went out of their way to satisfy us speaks strongly for the way this hotel is managed. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel was lovely The staff at Reception did answer calls from the room and acknowledged us when we checked in, however when leaving or entering the hotel during our stay there did not seem to be much interest. July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by night in edinburgh Good location, close to city centre by bus, taxi or walking. Clean, comfortable bed and a good base for night out in auld reekie. June 30, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 12 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading