• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Grassmarket
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 360 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb customer service on reception desk Excellent staff in reception and could not be more helpful. Everything went extremely well and I will return in the future. I visited to attend a formal dinner on the Royal Yacht Britannia and the location was just perfect, with good free parking and free wifi access. I didn't even need to ask for the code, it was offered at the check in process. Thank you all. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 relaxing and enjoyable stay The staff are very friendly and helpful, the buffet breakfast had a very varied selection to cater for all tastes. No need for a car as bus stop is just outside hotel with a frequent service to city centre. We have stayed at this hotel before and will certainly return again.Thanks to all for a lovely break. November 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice helpful staff at front desk on Sat 2nd Nov. I have been to this hotel many years ago and I found it great value and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The only thing I would change is the bed I was in .It was too firm for me. However my Husband loved it . November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced and cramped Although a pleasant welcome and lovely reception, the room was tiny and basic. It was right beside the lifts and could hear every person coming in and out and their conversations. Breakfast was very poor with cold sausage and beans. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, bus stop at Hotel door. The hotel is well situated as easy the get around Edinburgh as there is a bus stop right outside the Hotel.The Hotel has it`s own car park free of charge and you can park there for the duration of your stay.The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are many good restaurants within minutes walk, also there is a large shopping centre minutes from the hotel with a cinema, The Royal Yacht Britannia is also berthed there. The staff at the Hotel were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean and bed linen was changed every second day. The breakfast was basic but hot and plentiful.Overall is is a very good hotel at a very reasonable price.WE have stayed there 3 times in the last 2 years and will stay there again. November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay We stayed in this hotel for only one night and have no hesitation in recommending it. The staff were very helpful and the room was very clean and crisp. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Considerate and light touch staff allocating Avery nice room I phoned up the staff the morning of my visit and said I had extra needs as the result of knee replacement surgery. They kindly allocated me a spacious room with a wet room and supporters around the toilet which was very helpful. Plenty of local advice and a friendly welcome and a very pleasant if simple choice of breakfast. Good to have wifi throughout now, for free at least at lower bandwidth levels. I'll be back- excellent value October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice Place to Stay The only problem faced me in this hotel is the internet. Need to log-in every time I start my laptop which annoying. October 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable visit Staff were extremely helpful and polite. The reason for the 'average' rating on the 'sleep quality' was because our room was across the corridor from the ground floor lift. Yes - you can hear the automatic voice system telling you the doors are now closing or opening! Also inconsiderate people returning to their rooms at night making lots of noise whilst waiting in the corridor. Should we choose to come to Edinburgh again, we would use this hotel, but would request a room away from the lift! October 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reasonable Have stayed here a few times with no complaints but this time felt that standards had slipped a bit Children had the double bed which was comfortable but unfortunately for me, I was sleeping on the fold down sofa which was chronically uncomfortable enhanced by even harder pillows. Shower water was hot for about 5 minutes and then got cold very quickly - not good with 3 people wanting a shower! Breakfast was ok but if you timed it wrong then it was difficult to get a table and it was very congested when trying to get your breakfast. However, all the hotel staff were lovely, very helpful, the room was clean, plenty of towels and the hotel location is good October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very comfortable night in a reliable hotel. The staff on reception were very friendly and welcoming. We had asked for a quiet room and were given one close to a lift which was 'out of order'. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Air-conditioning could be turned off, as the sound was slightly irritating. Hotel was very convenient for shopping in the centre of Edinburgh, as there is a bus stop outside and buses run every few minutes. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Class As a wheelchair user it is the exception, rather than the rule, to find an hotel that caters 100% in every way for the wheelchair user. Our stay was a fantastic experience from start to finish. Absolute care and attention given by every member of staff. All amenities were beyond expectation. Tremendous value. Will certainly visit again and recommend to friends. Thank you Waterfront! October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mostenjoyable We stayed at the Holiday Inn to go to a theatre performance and found the whole experience most enjoyable. We received a friendly receptiion, a comfortable room and good service throughout. A minor problem with a light in our room was settlled to our satisfaction. As a result we would have no hesitation in recommending it to any other potential visitors to Edinburgh. An added advantqge of the location is the ready availability of public transport from the location to most parts of Edinburgh October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accommodation This hotel is one of the friendliest I've been to , the front of house staff make it so easy when you arrive always very accommodating , the breakfast has a wide range something for everyone October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would stay here again Very convenient for parking and visiting edinburgh. Have stayed here before .Rooms clean and tidy. Staff very pleasant. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A shame we couldn't stay longer. Convenient and comfortable place to stay, near Ocean Terminal, which have many shops and cinema, a 24hr Asda five minutes walk away, on bus route if you want to travel to Princess street etc., stop is outside hotel, but you need right money which the hotel are able to give you. Receptionists were very cheery and helpful, especially as we needed to check in a wee bit earlier, we also needed to get up town for a certain time and they ordered taxi for us, it arrived promptly and got us to our destination on time even although we had to make a detour. Breakfast had a variety of choices and well worth it. Will definately use hotel again, its just got that wee bit more sophistication. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice size room Whilst the room was large and fairly comfortable , I'm afraid the choice at breakfast let you down. A plus was the hotels position situated opposite the royal yacht Britannia and just ten minutes to the centre of Edinburgh by bus, with a bus stop right outside the hotel . The staff were very pleasant and helpful. No problem with the cleanliness of hotel , October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a favourite The Waterfront is always our 1st choice whenever we stay in Edinburgh. We are always welcomed by name every time we stay. The hotel always looks and feels like its home from home. The staff are always exceptional, call you by your name and are full of lively banter. The rooms are great with a fresh feel to them with everything you need. Car parking is always available free of charge and its easier to get a bus into the city centre. Faultless in our opinion. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Stay Overall the hotel is very good, it could do with more tea, coffee and milk in rooms, as when you have just arrived after a long journey or have been out you often enjoy a drink when you relax in the room. for the price you are paying for the room these few things would not go amiss. It would be worth telling drivers who want to go up into Edinburgh how bad it is to get around by car, as it took me 55 mins to do a 17 min journey. September 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Disappointment with Hotel We were given a room on ground floor room no 5, which was adjacent to the public toilet, the bar was opened until 2am, as a result of this we were kept awake with the constant opening and closing of the toilet door which went on well into the morning. The room itself was not particularly clean with several stains on the carpet also dust on the back of the sofa. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Over night stay On arrival found staff very friendly and helpfull, we arrived early and our room was ready. Room clean and tidy, bed a little on the firm side. This location was really good for trips to city centre with buses running every 10 to 15 minutes from right out side the hotel. shoping centre and cinema just across the road. Breakfast was average with the choice of hot or cold meals. Booking early gave us a good savings. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service, Pet Friendly, Great Staff Good alternative to the centre of Edinburgh. Easy to find location. Room we were allocated was fine. Great staff - best I've experienced anywhere for a while. Very friendly and helpful. We travelled with our small dog and everyone made us very welcome. September 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very tired hotel We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by friendly staff. The reception area is ok. We wemt to our room which was dusty and extremely tired. The bathroom was in need of an overhaul. Our wonddows were so noisy that they sounded as if they were open, which was very noisy as we at the front of the hotel. It was expensive and disappointing. September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by perfectly positioned Had an enjoyable stay and perfectly positioned for shopping and transport links. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient .My only gripe is it was very expensive to other Holiday Inns I hav e stayed at which was disappointing as was booked a week in advance to take my daughter to University and Edinburgh was very busy . September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable Stay and good location Nothing negative about the hotel. Few things I would like to highlight that the breakfast was not very lavish and the quality of fruits and croissants was also not very good. Staff is usually very friendly but in one instance while I was with my six yr old sitting in the looby in the evening and my son went to the Bar counter to ask for some water, the staff at the Bar started to tell him that the water in the cold tap of your room toilet can be used and then she pointed him towards the vending machine where my six yr old can buy water. I was surprised with this behaviour, but this could be individual attitude also. All in all good stay September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay at The Waterfront Holiday Inn, Edinburgh We arrived at 12 noon on Monday. The check-in time is 2pm. but we were given our room straight away which was good. The bathroom lights were not working, but the girl from reception came up straight away, and when she could not fix the problem, we were offered another room along the corridor and a free drink at the bar. Our room was comfortable and the bed was lovely and firm. The Waterfront is close to a good shopping centre and The Royal Yacht Brittania. There is also a bus stop directly outside the Inn and buses into Princes Street etc. were around every 10 minutes. Plenty of free parking space available, and I like the fact that breakfast is included in the cost of your stay. I would recommend the Waterfront to anyone who wants an enjoyable stay in a comfortable location with good friendly service and attention. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by service Excellent service Staff very helpful and nothing was to much trouble Rooms spotless and excellent position for seeing the center of Edinburgh. The bus stops outside the hotel and a short journey to the center Would definatley recommend and we will go again September 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice assistance in front desk I would like to recognize the kind and friendly assistance of the staff at the front desk. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Have stayed at this hotel many times. the reasons I keep returning are Friendly, helpful staff, cleanliness, relaxed atmosphere, convenient for shops, restaurants and public transport, pets welcome, good value (especially in Edinburgh) and free parking. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made our weekend Perfect My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August and it was brilliant. We really dont have anything bad to say at all. Its a little way out but theres a bus stop right outdside the front door, the bus takes 5 mins and they come quickly. It also means that you're away from the hustle and bustle come night time, and if you did fancy the walk its about 15 mins. Our room was so clean and tidy. We had a tv, double bed (which was sooooo comfy), dressing, wardrobe and couch. Our bathroom was equipped with sink, toilet and shower, with good mirrors. Breakfast was simple, buffet style, but not a lot of choice, the same options everyday, we didnt mind but could possibly get fed up after three or four days. The staff were very helpfull, friendly, chatty and someone was always avaliable at reception. We are planning to visit edinburgh again in Feb/March and we will be staying at this hotel again. Thanks Holiday Inn Waterfront for a great weekend!!!! September 4, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading