• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: EDINBURGH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide dogs and service animals are welcome in our wheelchair accessible guest bedrooms and public spaces.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Real Mary King's Close
Distance From Hotel:0.4MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Dungeon
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Edinburgh Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.1MI
Attraction:
Grassmarket
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:5
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo Edinburgh has five secure, private parking spaces at the rear of the hotel only 100 meters from the entrance to reception. Please note that from 14th July York Place is closed for private vehicles. Please contact our reception team on +44 (0)131 556 5577 for directions to the hotel and further information. Our secure parking is accessed by electronic key fob, available at the reception. For frequent access to the car park a deposit may be required, returned in full when the key fob is returned to the reception desk. Parking is subject to availability and can be reserved with the hotel directly at the time of comfirming reservation. The Hotel Indigo Edinburgh accepts no liability for damage to vehicles or theft of their contents, and parking is strictly at the owner's risk.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:60
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:1
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:60
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired
You can feel the palpable
View More

In the heart of the Scottish capital, our distinctive Edinburgh boutique hotel is housed in a beautiful listed building dating from the 18th century. Step through our doors and you’ll see how our chic and contemporary interior reflects our surrounding area’s history and Edinburgh’s many modern-day festivals. As you settle into your room, you’ll also feel immersed in Edinburgh’s rich culture, thanks to our locally inspired design touches.

Locally inspired
You can feel the palpable sense of history which runs through the streets of Edinburgh, particularly where our Edinburgh boutique hotel is located. Our hotel occupies five original Georgian townhouses dating back to the early 1800’s and we’ve preserved many of the building’s historic features, including our stunning stairwell, and each of our floors takes inspiration from a different side of Edinburgh’s rich historic or modern-day culture. Nearby Thistle Street provides the inspiration for our restaurant and lounge, Turquoise Thistle, which serves the best of Scotland’s great produce.

Discover the neighbourhood
If you want to enjoy the wonderful taste of haggis, Scotland's national dish, ask our staff to direct you to Crombies, a renowned butcher’s shop about four blocks from our Edinburgh hotel. And a visit to the Whiski Room in Edinburgh Old Town is a must if you're a fan of a wee dram. Find out more in the Local guide section, then ‘What’s Nearby’.

View Less
Features
Situated in the heart of the city, walking distance from Princes Street and Edinburgh Castle. With Edinburghs brand new airport tram link you can now hop on a tram at the airport and get off at the last stop on York Place right in front of our door steps. The journey will take just under 40 minutes and getting to Hotel Indigo Edinburgh could not be easier.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 303 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Stayed in a double room on the top floor with a sea view. Lovely hotel with helpful staff and a clean room. Location was convenient for the city and airport (bus stop right outside the hotel) but quiet and away from busy Edinburgh itself. Would recommend for people looking for a quiet break. Some good Priority Club benefits too! June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great location & great service. Front of house staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast was a added bonus. Bedroom clean & Tidy…. June 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Stayed overnight as our daughters were taking part in moonwalk. Reception staff were very helpful. Would stay again June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MADE TO FEEL WELCOME VERY COMFORTABLE,STAFF FRIENDLY ALTOGETHER A VERY ENJOYABLE STAY June 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff were extremely helpful. Could not fault service. Very good shower! We had a good comfy two night stay - very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. Good value and would use again. June 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Goold location, friendly, helpful staff. Hotel in good location near Ocean Terminal, Leith. Bus stop at front door for journeys into Edinburgh or Leith Shore. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room though comfortable enough was in need of a little TLC. Free car park a boon. Would use this hotel again. June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Did what it said on the tin, provided a bed, room and breakfast. Room a little small but clean as was the bathroom, great powerful shower though. Breakfast OK reasonable selection, we were a little concerned about getting a table but even at .9.00 it was fine. Bus stops right outside and plenty of places to eat at the Ocean Terminal. Staff maybe could have been a little more friendly and the main lift took an age, there was obviously something wrong with it as the plant door was always open. June 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful reception staff Our stay at Edinburgh Waterfront was greatly enhanced by the helpful staff on Reception who willingly helped us out with several taxi arrangements and were always cheerful and efficient. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, good location Stayed here over Edinburgh Marathon Festival weekend. Good location with car parking, frequent buses in & out of town and close to Ocean Terminal. Room excellent & well priced. Staff helpful & knowledgeable. Late check out option appreciated - worth becoming a Priority Club member fir that alone. Lobby and eating/bar area a bit jaded and untidy slightly lets down the overall experience down. May 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice for my family We enjoyed our stay. My family and I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and attentive. The location near bus stops was convenient, and parking was sufficient. We were in Edinburgh as tourists, and the only thing to consider is that the hotel is somewhat far from the city center, so you'll need a bus or you'll need to drive to parking. Another consideration is that one is near the docks, and there seemed to be few nearby restaurants of interest. We were told there was a shopping center at the cruise ship dock, but we did not investigate. The only other considerations were the very slow WiFi in the lobby. It was good enough for checking email and very brief, light, work. It would have been frustrating if I had important things to do that required Internet access. We choose this hotel for its value, and it did not disappoint! May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good locality and comfortable staff very good,helpful,stay was worthwhile,i would choose it again-Dr.RS Patil,Bangalore,India May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great reception We arrived at this hotel knowing very little about the area. When we asked about dinner available locally, we were given a list of recommended hotels and discounts too. We were also given a map of the area. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Breakfast was up to the usual Express standard. May 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend break From the moment of booking untill checkout the staff were most helpful and friendly. Clean comfortable rooms and drinks machine available in the lounge all day. May 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by does the job Good location for a couple of days, next to ocean terminal. Rooms are large and functional. Parking can be tricky if you get there late. May 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Choice I had read that this hotel was too far from the city which is insane. It is a short 10-15 minute walk depending on your walking speed to the main strret Deansgate. A taxi to the train station was under 10GBP. The breakfast was reasonably priced and had a good variety. The staff were excellent and so helpful. This hotel was recently renovated and it shows. It is clean, looks clean and is kept clean. We had a small issue with the water not being hot enough and it was immediately taken care of. The evening meals were reasonably priced especially the bar menu and very good. I would recommend the rooms away from the road because while this is not a main road there can be a little traffic in the morning but quiet at night. There is a shopping mall approximately 100 yards away with stores, a drug store, Boots and pharmacy. The free With-Fi was a nice bonus. We walked to Old Trafford but a taxi is only around 8GBP. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy with this place Comfortable room and bedding provided and the price is exceptional. No noise - wonderful May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable service with a smile. We have stayed here on several occasions and have always found staff to be very helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are always clean and the beds comfortable. The choice of soft and harder pillows is always welcome. The position of the hotel is great for browsing in the Ocean Terminal Centre with its choice of eateries or for visiting the Royal Yacht. Plenty of car parking room on site and with easy bus access to the city centre, this means you don't have to drive into town! May 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor reception service When I was received, the staff who attended to our check-in didn't bother to look up to even smile and say hello or make any Casual eye contact conversation. His tone was not at all welcoming and he treated as we were just a waste of time. I am sure, I was paying to be there, I have been in several holiday inn express and well as holiday inn's in other cities and countries for both business as well as personal visits, but never have been treated that manner. He was like "You have to pay, before you check in" well I know that I will be paying but I felt like he doubted if I could pay. I wouldn't like to be treated in such a manner in any circumstances. He didn't even say "enjoy your stay", looked down and handed the room accessing cards. All your other staff treated us well but I am sure first impression should be the best impression. I felt insulted and my whole mood was spoiled. Disappointed. Now I will rethink before booking in holiday inn in the future. May 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by lovely room brilliant staff we had an exellant stay staff were briliant great location very helpfull and friendly staff there could have been a bit more variasion to the english breakfast very little to choose from but the heating in the room leaves very little to be desired extra blankets wouldnt go a miss we wer freezing at night and the heating kept blowing cold apart from that lovely many thanks mr r nuttall May 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ALL ROUND - GREAT! GREAT - As always... I have been told that my "review text is too short" what more can I say? .... If you want/need to stay in Edinburgh this is the place to check in. - They'll look after you there : ) May 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy to be in Scotland Situated in the Leith/ Ocean terminus area this hotel was perfect for shopping, with all the visitor attractions either a short bus ride away or in the case of the royal yacht brittania right on the doorstep. The hotel staff were excellent in all respects, the room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was good. May 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent hotel , but... Hotel location, service, staff all first class! - the only minor niggle was the state of the carpet in the room - rather stained and worn. That apart we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will be back! May 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Ideal place to stay near Leith. We have stayed here quite a few times, just gets better, handy for town and Leith. Great service and friendly staff, comfortable rooms. Will return. May 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean & bright our night was a bit spoiled due 2 our room being next 2 the lift & we were disturbed most of the night with people comming & going at various times we have 3 children & this was supposed 2 be a peaceful night , had we realised this would have been a problem we would have ased for a room change when we booked in. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great short break Though we only stay 80 miles away on the West coast of Scotland it is nicer to have a short city break staying in Edinburgh than travelling home on the same day. This is our third visit to this hotel . All stays have been good but this stay was the best probably because of the friendly and professional staff - especially at reception. The location, while not in the centre of Edinburgh, is good being opposite a shopping centre and a cinema. There are also excellent and frequent bus services to the city centre. There are several good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel was clean and the bed very comfortable. Everything worked in the room which has not been the case with some recent stays. Breakfast was the standard for the chain but as it is included in the price it was more than adequate. Although we did not take advantage of the extended check out time offered we were able to leave our car parked in the hotel car park while we visited the city. May 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Visit Enjoyed our visit to Hotel,clean tidy,rooms very comfortable.Plenty variations for Breakfast.Staff very helpful,friendly.Great location for local transport,shopping site seeing etc.Will use Hotel again on next visit to Edinburgh. May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location ideal for business in the local area As always, good service, comfortable room and pleasant surroundings. Plenty of choice close to the Hotel for a meal / bit to eat without having to drive. Second stop in two weeks - speaks for itself. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn V Premier inn This hotel had great staff at reception. The room was very basic compared to the premier inn and I found the bed un -comfortable.The breakfast was also fine however, the freshness of some of the breakfast products could have been better. I would now in future always book premier inn its a all round better product. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location My husband is wheelchair user. We parked and accessed hotel without a problem on busy Saturday lunchtime. The bedroom was fully accessible and comfortable. We were able to leave car and go across to cinema within shopping mall and enjoy meal with glass of wine afterwards. Staff friendly and helpful throughout, May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Edinburgh Trip Reception staff friendly and welcoming, also arranged taxi for return to station. Nice breakfast selection in clean surroundings. Bed sheets were a bit grey in colour, but clean. En suite was clean and kept so by hotel cleaning staff. Overall a good stay with good public transport connections to the city. April 24, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 next>>
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night.
Select to close.
24 hour reception welcomes you any time, day or night. Welcome to 200 years of history Hogmanay fire works over Edinburgh castle Edinburgh plays host to the biggest art festival in the world Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh's New Town Fantastic views over our neighbourhood New airport tram link taking guests directly to York Place Enjoy complementary newspapers in our reception lobby. Marvel at the artwork reflecting our neighbourhood at check-in. Unique cupola, part of the original Georgian townhouses we occupy
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading