• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 247 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Central Hotel Overall a very nice hotel which suited our needs. The only downside was the breakfast choice - arrived down about half hour prior to close of breakfast to find little choice left especially with hot food. Staff were very quick to switch of toaster and clear away items. I have never experienced this in any other Holiday Inn. It will not deter me from staying again as front desk staff were very obliging and friendly. 10 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home from home a monst friends Great welcome by willing to help staff. Always do their best to cheer you up when you've had a long day and can't do enough to help. Home from home. 10 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff were excellent Rooms (2, for my family) were spotless, smelled clean, plenty of towels. Staff were extremely courteous and kind, nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Fantastic location. One blot on the landscape were the men shouting and swearing at about 5am in the courtyard, but Newcastle on a weekend is a party city, so no real gripes there. I would definately recommend and stay again. 09 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by K.J. Very clean and comfortable hotel and well positioned for our Birthday Bash nearby.Excellent service during our brief stay.Well done. 08 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay thank you All better than could possibly have hoped. Thanks to all staff. Very useful also to be able to leave baggage on departure day (shame was extra cost) but understood room only small so facility needs to be discouraged 08 October 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Too noisy - terrible night's sleep My room looked out on a dual carriageway - St James Boulevard - and the sound insulation was poor: traffic noise woke me 3 or 4 times and after 5.30 I couldn't get back to sleep. Breakfast mediocre and room facilities limited - no fridge, minimal clothes hanging, no biscuits with kettle - all cheapskate stuff. When next in Newcastle I will definitely find somewhere else and will recommend my colleagues to avoid this hotel. 08 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to book and all I wanted All round an excellent place to stay. No frills just all that is needed for a comfortable, clean place to stop. The hotel is central to many of the attractions Newcastle has to offer and very convenient for the railway station. Rooms are clean and whilst not luxurious they contain all the basics for a restful stopover. 30 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff very welcoming room basic but clean my friend and i stayed here for 2 days/nights we had a fab time and staff were amazingly cheery and very helpful ,, nothing was a bother to any off them would definetly stay again .... thank you soo much x 29 September 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No Internet Hi After staying in many holiday inns over the years this has to be my worst yet. No Internet after i reported this i was told it must be my laptop so after an hour of trying i returned to the help desk where the member of staff was rude and didnt seem bothered. i had to check out early and do my webex from a starbucks hardly ideal when i work in a confidential sector. 24 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great friendly service We found the staff really welcoming and thoughtful, anticipating something that might be an issue and taking action to ensure that did occur. The breakfast was good quality with good variety - but unfussy. The toasters were the most efficient I had ever used in a hotel!! 24 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Easy prebooking, swift check-in, excellent facilities in room, friendly staff and reasonably priced parking at adjacent city centre multistorey carpark. 24 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best choice in town Other than a recurring pumping noise during the night which did eventually stop,I enjoyed my stay.When I need to go back to Newcastle I shall be staying here. 21 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant and efficient service. I had a very pleasant stay at this Holiday Inn. All the staff were keen to help in a nice low key, no fuss and competent way. 17 September 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff but overpriced chain off Hotels hotel is in a great position and staff were very pleasant. The rooms are okay but there is huge competition in this "budget" market and this brand does not rise to the challenge. I stay away often and this is my first time of an Express for several years, this has reminded me why that is. Breakfast choice was poor for a vegetarian and the plates were freezing!!! such a simple thing to correct . I have booked the "full monty " Holiday Inn in the same city and look forward to being impressed by the full experience! I hope so anyway. 17 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant night's sleep Excellent customer service! Lovely and comfortable rooms. Breakfast let me down as it wasn't organised and not a fan of the quality of the food. Would of been ideal to have some bacon and wide range of options to have. The lovely guy that was working the breakfast service ensuring that he was clearing tables for people to sit at was lovely but he was on his own trying to do that and it was very busy. 17 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located and comfortable room I stayed here for 2 nights last week and it was perfect. It is a simple hotel with good amenities, a simple and tasty breakfast, and very friendly staff. Room was expectedly small but I was traveling alone. Wifi access worked flawlessly and room was comfortable. Hotel is just 5 minutes walk from the central train and Metro station (about 30 mins to airport), around the corner from many pubs and takeaway food places, and near the shopping district and the riverfront. My room faced into the courtyard where the entrance to the hotel is, and was probably quieter than facing out to the street. 12 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. After initial dissatisfaction, Michael, the duty manager, enabled all our needs to be met, which contributed to a very pleasant stay. All the staff were great. Thank you all for a pleasant stay! 10 September 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No bacon served at breakfast at all This hotel is fine in all aspects except that I found it incredulous that an English hotel did not serve bacon as a standard breakfast item. I was gobsmacked when I asked the person attending to the breakfast area, if bacon was on it's way out, only to be told "I am sorry we do not serve bacon". It is true that there were other items on offer, including suasages, but come on Holiday Inn Express, get your act together. Bacon is an absolute must and may well influence my decision whether I use your hotels in the future or take my business elsewhere. 08 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfy room and friendly staff Stayed for 2 nights in September. Reception staff were very welcoming. Room was ready on arrival and was very clean. Bed was comfortable and I liked the choice of pillow. Bathroom also very clean and the towels were good quality. Breakfast was adequate but could have offered slightly more choice. 07 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Convenient positiont for Station We found the hotel matched up to our expectations perfectly. It was in a very convenient position for Station 06 September 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good staff, good location, beware the stag and hens Fantastic location, five minutes stroll from everything including Central Station. The staff were friendly, and efficient. Rooms and facilities were clean and fresh. Breakfast (included) was pretty good, and they had a take-away service for people in a rush. Caveat : we left on Friday, and as we picked our bags up from the left-luggage facility, multiple stags and hens were starting to arrive. Well behaved, but there was a lot of them. I'm pretty sure the staff would be able to keep a lid on them, but if you're planning a weekend there, be aware of it. 04 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great location, helpful and friendly staff. Had a disabled room which was large and had a good sized bathroom (with all the disabled amenities). Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast included in price. 02 September 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for caring for us. We had an excellent stay,it seemed that the staff could not do enough to make us comfortable and to feel at home.More coffee, tea ,sugar, milk, no problem.Have you any idea how to get to this place? No problem i will print you a map.thanks we had a great stay 31 August 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good but not perfect Poor maintenance in the bathroom spoilt this stay. Coupled to a very dirty dining area on the last morning for breakfast an otherwise good experience was somewhat marred. Staff did a good job. 31 August 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to city center and train station, great service by staff We had a great stay for four nights, location is great for seeing Newcastle, and jumping off to other locations for day trips. Staff was most helpful, great experience. 30 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GreatHotel Friendly and helpful staff, a clean and comfortable room. Couldn't ask for more from a hotel. 29 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good breakfast this is the best hotel i have stay in. i will be staying in the hoilday inns again.value for money.very clean.ideal based near newcastle train station.anyone coming to newcastle upon tyne uk is a must for them. 28 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by JHP Business trip Hotel is in a great location for travel, shops and waterfront. Facilities always excellent, and staff always professional. I appreciate the flexibility of being able to bring evening meals into the hotel to eat. 19 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel with knowledgeable and considerate staff. Hotel was clean and comfortable with knowledgeable and considerate staff who more than helped to make the stay a pleasure. 17 August 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, home from home Good to stay again. You do not realise how good it is to stay at a professionally run hotel with fantastic friendly staff. Credit to all the staff John and Lauren to name a few. see you all again soon. 17 August 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Our Reception desk Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading