• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 8 INDIGO
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings Link will open in new browser window. tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.8MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Registered assistance dogs only. Please contact the hotel directly should you have any specific requirements.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Hotel Indigo has its own private car park offering over 80 spaces on two levels. Charges will apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:148
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:127
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:148
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local
View More
Welcome to Our Neighbourhood at Hotel Indigo Newcastle Hotel Indigo Newcastle is situated in and inspired by Grainger Town, the heart of this historic city. Unique among Newcastle hotels, our building and interiors draw inspiration from the area’s neoclassical architecture. We love the historic 1830s beauty of our local area which is why it’s made a strong impact on the look of our rooms, lobby and lounge. Bold printed rugs and subtle room details reflect the patterns of the local buildings and connect the interior of our hotel to the city’s vibrant and lively streets. Locally inspired Our interiors are inspired by the neoclassical Tyneside styles you’ll see nearby, featuring classical proportions and repeating patterns. You’ll find photos and artwork depicting Tyne Bridge, Grainger Market and many of the city’s best buildings on our walls, meaning you can explore the local area before you step outside our doors! Grainger Lounge, our bar and restaurant uses bold colours, monochrome patterned floors and chic design. It takes its name and design inspiration, from Robert Grainger, the architect of our local area. Discover the neighbourhood The wonderful, Grainger Market is a stone’s throw from our boutique hotel and a good spot for coffee and people watching. And if you’ve got a head for heights, the nearby Sage Gateshead Arts Centre offers an exhilarating guided roof experience .
View Less
Features
Hotel Indigo Newcastle is located in the city centre, close to the railway station and some of the UK’s best shopping and nightlife. You can enjoy spacious bedrooms, warm service and modern facilities, including invigorating spa-inspired rain fall shower, iPod docking station and Free WiFi. Why not enjoy a delicious meal or relax with a cocktail in our Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill?

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 276 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, provided by friendly and helpful staff. Can't fault the staff at this hotel, they were very pleasant and very helpful. I have special dietary needs, in that I have to avoid gluten, lactose, wheat and some other foods. The staff and chef made sure I was served with a delicious and satisfying meal and adapted the menu to accommodate my needs. 13 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Much better than last stay We had a great stay at the hotel - the key factors were the enthusiasm and friendliness of all the staff, from cleaners to reception, bar and restaurant. Nothing was too much trouble. We have stayed at this hotel a few times before, but this stay made the best impression 11 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely rooms so long as you are in the new wing! The food was excellent which exceeded my expectations. The standard of my room on the first evening compared to my other 2 colleagues who had been given a complimentary upgrade was below standard. My complaint was resolved efficiciently and my second night stay was enjoyable. 10 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Business Hotel Well located for travel into North Newcastle and the Airport. Clean, good value decent service. 10 November 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Good Hotel, however the bar food is every expensive for what it was worth! £13 burger with a modest portion of fries! Rooms could also do with a facelift. 09 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I arrived exhausted and had friendly banter with the Chef at reception. My bed was comfortable. Room service arrived promptly and was very nice. Breakfast was surprising to see the wide choice of food available, staff were very friendly and helpful 08 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Halloween Stay I received a warm welcome and staff were extremely helpful. If I visit Gosforth again the Holiday Inn will definately be on my preferred list of places to stay. 06 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by would i go back Yes, that is my third visit once with my wife and when she died twice with my daughters and family.Just what i want. 05 November 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and good location ideal spot to travel around Newcastle and Northumberland Rooms were very nice - however compared to other HI Ive stayed in, this one needs some modernisation. pool is small and dated and the changing rooms were cold which meant my daughter unusually didn't spend long in the pool 01 November 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing hotel All staff, reception down to housekeeping, were very efficient and friendly. The hotel felt friendly with comfortable room and bed. It is about 3 years since we stayed her and whilst it was good then it is even better now. Will definitely stay here again. 30 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good service thought the staff were particularly friendly and amenable and nothing was too much trouble.Pleasure to stay there. 30 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too far away from Newcastle for my needs Should have checked more thoroughly, not actually very near to Newcastle or Gosforth Park. 30 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by It does what it says on the tin Stayed for an overnight stop before flying from Newcastle airport in the morning. In comparison to other 'airport hotels' it was no better, no worse. Plus points were the staff, the bar area and the comfortable beds. Negative points were our bathroom which needed some TLC and the 6 mile drive to the airport which we hadn't realised when we booked. Not the hotel's fault but we had been misled by the travel agent- our fault for not checking but worth knowing if you prefer to be close to the airport. All in all, no real issues. 29 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money We have used this hotel on numerous occasions and although first impressions can be deceiving, it is nice inside. I used my accrued points to pay for our stay here so was of good value. Was slightly disappointed with our check in but usually staff are helpful and pleasant. 29 October 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great breakfast the biggest disappointment for me was the use of mobile phones and laptops in the restaurant during the evening meal. the first night I was dining alone but I got a taxi to another hotel to dine. the second night I was being joined with a friend but again the laptops were out so she suggested we go elsewhere. the plus side was the massive bed and choice of pillows, a good night was followed with a five star breakfast. 27 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming Hotel Be assured of a warm welcome at this Holiday Inn. The Reception staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are comfortable and the public areas pleasant to be in. The breakfast was delicious! 26 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Refurbished rooms - nicer inside than it looks from the outside Newly refurbished rooms have been very well done. Easy access from the A1 and plenty of room to walk a dog on the lawns at the back. Portions a bit small at dinner, but food was good and breakfast above average. Don't get too excited about the gym, which is tiny. 25 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An imroving hotel Refurbishment of the rooms to a high standard continues. Great staff and excellent breakfasts.. Bar food ok and service acceptable Terrible bar prices--far too high! Problems controlling the room temperature / air con system. 23 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LUXURY Lovely hotel to stay in. very spacious, lovely staff. 23 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD SERVICE AND COFORTABLE ROOMS. WE STAYED OVERNIGHT PRIOR TO GOING ON HOLIDAY,CHECK IN WAS EASY,THE ROM WAS MODERN CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE,WE HAD A MEAL IN THE BAR WHICH WAS GOOD BUT THE BEST THING WAS THE FRIENDLYNESS OF THE STAFF AND THE HELPFULNESS WAS SECOND TO NONE. 22 October 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 14th October 2014 Heating needs sorting out. in bedrooms and conference rooms. 20 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay This was our first visit to this hotel, and it was a very good experience all round. As we were going to Newcastle races it was ideal for that purpose. The lounge area and food were great. The staff were excellent and made us very welcome. We had a problem during our first night with a very noisy radiator, which kept us awake most of the night. It was banging almost every hour and I managed to clear it, but it just kept banging. I reported it to the night porter at approx. 4am and he said nobody could do anything until the maintenance staff arrived later that morning. They set about a repair as we were at breakfast, but the receptionist had already agreed for us to move to an upgraded room, where we moved to later that day. It was all done very efficiently with no fuss. Thanks 19 October 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Service We waited in the resteraunt on sunday for twenty minutes for our drinks a further 30 for poor quality tepid food with tough meat. Workmen were drilling on Saturday morning at 8am. I was not warned that there are major road works around the hotel, overall the stay was awful. S Boyd platinum elite member 18 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Refurbished hotel The new rooms are a great improvement however the new heating is inadequate for the size of the room and extremely noisy. It would be impossible to sleep with the heating / air conditioning switched on. The heated towel rail in the bathroom that worked was a pleasant experience and at least the bathroom was warm! Breakfast was poor with un cleared tables and staff that clearly did not want to be there. I was even asked if I had finished when my plate was half full and I was still eating!! 18 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding guests Ok but not fantastic, definitely room for improvement. 16 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GOSFORTH HOLIDAY INN GREAT SERVICE All staff at the hotel were kind courteous and helpful and we will certainly be staying there again in the future Top marks to all the staff for their attitude and helpfulness 16 October 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed I stayed at this hotel on Sunday 5th October with my family.Firstly the lady at the reception was very rude and not at all welcoming.I had booked for breakfast and pre-paid,when i mentioned this she said i had not booked breakfast and i was told to pay extra,i said quite a few times that i had book breakfast and she still refused to listen to me,then when she looked at her computer she said "oh you have booked breakfast" but never apologized,very stern faced.Next we had to wait along time for our rooms,this was ok to start with as some of our party had not arrived but when they did the rooms were still not ready,it was turned 4-0 clock when they were ready,not good.The pool was not in use which was a big disappointment,that is one of the reasons i chose this hotel.The room was cold as the radiator switch was missing and couldn't turn it on,also some of the lights didn't work.On a positive note, the bar staff were very friendly and the food was good.When i went to reception later there was a lovely young lady who was helpful and friendly,it's a pity the other lady wasn't the same,it is not nice entering a hotel to be greeted by someone who couldn't be bothered with us. 10 October 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a good experience I've been using Holiday Inn for a long time.We've recently stayed for 3 days at one of their hotels Unfortunately on the second day they didn't clean our room.The hotel was brand new but during the day there was loud construction noises in the room next to us.The coffee machine at the Restaurant was very dirty and the cups weren't clean. 08 October 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent upgraded Executive Rooms Another great stay at the Gosforth Park. Nicely decorated exec room, breakfast excellent. Will definitely be back to enjoy all the facilities 02 October 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed messages Have stayed here before and had a great time but this time it was a bit mixed. Had dinner in hotel first evening and staff were excellent, food was good and it was good value for money. This was in contrast to the service from reception/housekeeping. We were with our two children in a double room, newly renovated and excellent to stay in, very clean and comfortable, but with only towels, cups, mugs etc for two people. Phoned reception and they said they would sort. Nothing ever arrived. Complained again next morning and this time it was resolved. All going well until the last day. Had pre-arranged for a later check out as we wanted a long lie in and were then going to use leisure facilities. At 07:30 hammering and drilling from the room above woke us all. Phoned reception and they said they didn't know anything about it but would try and sort. They got it stopped at 07:50 then right on 08:00 it started again. I understand that repair work has to be carried out but why before 9am? Is 9am not reasonable for a hotel where guests could be trying to get some sleep/have a relaxing break? No lie in, couldn't hear television and had to get out of room to even hear ourselves talk comfortably. Went for breakfast and this compounded problem. Apple juice was extremely strong and undrinkable, milk was warm, coffee tasted very cheap, same with black pudding and sausages. Overall not worth the money and wish we had gone to Little Chef next door where food would have been of a much better quality. Overall breakfast standard not what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Overall a very mixed experience. Great hotel in great location but service was abysmal and breakfast a total waste of money. 30 September 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Indigo at night Welcome to Hotel Indigo Newcastle Our Reception desk Angel of the North 15 minutes drive from the hotel Fancy watching NUFC while here Grainger Market gave the inspiration for our bedroom design China Town is a must while here Monument is the centre of all the action Central Station is just 2 minutes away from the hotel Newcastle Assembly Rooms are located nextdoor to the hotel Excellent shopping at Eldon Square just minutes form the Hotel River Tyne just a short walk away Sports Direct Arena is just a ten minute walk from the hotel China town has amazing  art work Visit Castle Keep whilst staying at Hotel Indigo Newcastle World famous Tyne Bridge Just some of our amazing Scenery which is just a short drive away Angel Of The North at night Vist the must see Baltic A must see while visiting the North East - Tynemouth coastline Just minutes away from the hotel the Blinking Eye bridge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover the nights.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading